HTC Desire Official Thread V3, FAQs on First Page

Cynox
post Jul 22 2010, 11:23 PM

Back to AMD camp!!!
5,362 posts

QUOTE(KTCY @ Jul 22 2010, 11:18 PM)
Just got myself a unit. Whole Penang no stock sweat.gif
congrats on your new toy! I was stunned by its solid performance and good look when I got it 2 weeks ago. It is light years ahead of my aging Treo 680 that been replaced. rclxm9.gif
alphafiz
post Jul 22 2010, 11:27 PM

221 posts

QUOTE(KTCY @ Jul 22 2010, 11:18 PM)
Just got myself a unit. Whole Penang no stock sweat.gif
welcome to the club!!! rclxms.gif
KTCY
post Jul 22 2010, 11:31 PM

BumbleBeeā„¢
12,505 posts

QUOTE(Cynox @ Jul 22 2010, 11:23 PM)
congrats on your new toy!  I was stunned by its solid performance and good look when I got it 2 weeks ago.  It is light years ahead of my aging Treo 680 that been replaced.  rclxm9.gif
Now waiting for your pouch thumbup.gif

QUOTE(alphafiz @ Jul 22 2010, 11:27 PM)
welcome to the club!!!  rclxms.gif
Thanks. Hand itchy for Froyo already laugh.gif
persia
post Jul 22 2010, 11:38 PM

17 posts

i bought my HTC desire 2 weeks ago. i have rooted my device and flash it with the latest custom ROM froyo 2.2 and 720P video recording. it's awsome. i recommend every body flash their device. rclxms.gif
here is the features and What you get :

Base: HTC Froyo Sense 2.06 FR91 thumbup.gif
Adobe Flash 10.1 thumbup.gif
deodexed /system
zipaligned
Lots of Free space on 1st boot!
FrOyO Apps to SD rclxm9.gif
A2SD+ <<< 1.4 and up YOU WILL NEED AN EXT3 PARTITION brows.gif
Super Battery % + Circle MOD
New superuser permissions
Spare parts
Working HSDPA Icon
Working Wifi N icon_rolleyes.gif
Working Voice Search
Very fast, Clean & stable
Video Capture, 720p & 480p (FPS Work in progress)
All Apps in market for all regions
Added Nano command-line text editor support
Added Bash command shell support
Busybox is there!
Android IME + Voice input! 100% working
HTC IME MOD
Trackpad to wake
Desk Clock
Supported Languages: English, Chinese, Arabic, Czech, German, Espanol, French, Italian, Dutch, Polish, Russian, Norwegian, Japanese, Korean, Greek, Swedish, Danish, Portuguese, Finnish

AbsolutWayne
post Jul 22 2010, 11:44 PM

160 posts

Can any1 tell me how was the gaming performance in desire?? Saw a video clip for quake on desire and it seems quite laggy =.=
alphafiz
post Jul 22 2010, 11:47 PM

221 posts

QUOTE(KTCY @ Jul 22 2010, 11:31 PM)
Now waiting for your pouch thumbup.gif
Thanks. Hand itchy for Froyo already laugh.gif
and welcome to the "itchy waiting for froyo" club too!!
LOL
cruzzmz
post Jul 22 2010, 11:56 PM

uh weeee !!!!
6,904 posts

GUIDE: How to install WWE 2.1 Root Rom, Update Radio, Change Kernel & do Apps2SD

Ok guys / gals
This is what i did with my Desire
too lazy to do screen shot .... so sorry sweat.gif

Better do all step below on Linux (Ubuntu should be fine)

No 1
To install ubuntu on a windows pc u have 2 options
a. Live CD
b. dual boot

I'll go with b

So what u need is an ubuntu iso file, Wubi Installer. <-- with this u can uninstall ur ubuntu using add remove program in windows
Put the iso & wubi in one folder
Click on wubi.exe & follow instructions till finished
Boot in Ubuntu

No 2
Download:
a. Rom at http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=694564
b. unRevoked 3 for linux at http://unrevoked.com/recovery/
c. Kernel with a2sd inside at http://forum.xda-developers.com/showpost.p...90&postcount=27
d. AmonRA 1.7.0.1 Recovery at http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=721792
e. Radio at http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=678313

No 3
a. Untar unrevoked3 linux (reflash.tar.gz), Double click a folder reflash will appear
b. Open Terminal app in ubuntu
c. At terminal type: sudo ./reflash
d. Plug in your desire
e. Wait until all flashing done with enrevoked3
f. Copy Rom to SD & rename to update.zip
g. Copy radio file to SD
h. Copy kernel file to SD
i. Turn off your Desire
j. Boot into HBOOT by holding Back button & Power Button
k. Choose Recovery by using Volume down & choose by pressing Power button
l. At clockworkmod recovery choose update using update.zip at menu
m. Wait until finish flashing

n. At clockworkmod recovery choose update using zip file at menu and do
i.flash radio
ii. flash kernel

o. Reboot Desire using clockworkmod recovery by choosing reboot at menu
p. Check your Desire software version

it should show

CODE

Baseband ver: 32.37.00.32U_4.06.00.16_2
Kernel Ver: 2.6.29-bravo-uvoc-r14 trip@trip-laptop#6
Software No: 1.21.405.2

No 4
Now to do the partition to get a2sd to work

a. At Terminal type: sudo ./reflash
b. at unrevoked3 menu choose File --> Custom Recovery --> recovery-RA-desire-v1.7.0.1-R5.img (AmonRA recovery img you have downloaded earlier)
c. Plug in your Desire & wait until the flashing of custom recovery finishes
d. Power off
e. Enter HBOOT (holding Back button & Power Button)

From Now on you will format your SD, all data will be lost!!!!

f. Choose Partition sdcard from Menu --> Partition sd

Partition as follows
i. Swap = 0
ii. ext2 = 512
iii. rest will be fat32

g. After finished, choose change ext2 to ext3
h. Reboot from menu

If all went well then you will get what the above title says smile.gif

RECOMMENDED SW AFTER ROOT:
1. SetCPU
2. QuickBoot
3. Titanium Backup
4. ROM Manager
5. CacheMate

This post has been edited by cruzzmz: Jul 23 2010, 01:03 AM
stanum
post Jul 23 2010, 12:18 AM

SharePoint enthusiast
706 posts

Thanks cruzz,
should be put in the 1st page!
maliqu3
post Jul 23 2010, 12:29 AM

218 posts

just want to share some pics with u guys;
OpenDesire 2.3, with ADW Launcher

My Homescreen

My App Drawer
menghua84
post Jul 23 2010, 12:31 AM

462 posts

anyone bought the iDefense carbon series? seems cool though... got photos for this??

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/729138
alphafiz
post Jul 23 2010, 12:50 AM

221 posts

QUOTE(menghua84 @ Jul 23 2010, 12:31 AM)
anyone bought the iDefense carbon series? seems cool though... got photos for this??

ive never been a fan for this kind of things though..
prefer conventional casing...
r47z
post Jul 23 2010, 02:47 AM

686 posts

what suddenly I feel as tho I'm reading in XDA.
darkcroation
post Jul 23 2010, 03:10 AM

Safe Trader
520 posts

lol..everything from xda might bring in here to shareXD

Mr Percia...which rom u using??
pluginbaby
post Jul 23 2010, 08:35 AM

2,661 posts

QUOTE(r47z @ Jul 23 2010, 02:47 AM)
what suddenly I feel as tho I'm reading in XDA.
u feel this thread is like in XDA desire development thread? lol.. who knows perhaps one day there would be a rOM developer born from this thread also thumbup.gif
akachester
post Jul 23 2010, 08:49 AM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

Well, 2 things is currently halting me from flashing to Froyo. Hopefully you guys can help me here.

1) How many apps currently are actually Froyo able? I really do not like the idea of using any App2SD other than the native Froyo version and i did a search over at the Market, and it seems quite a number of them do state, compatible with Froyo. Does this mean they can install to SD via the native App2SD?

2) I always thought Froyo was suppose to be more battery saving but it seems otherwise. Many did say Froyo consume more battery than the Eclair. Is that true? I came from a 1 day battery life Diamond to about 2 days Desire now, and anything lesser would not go well with me at the moment.

noprob
post Jul 23 2010, 08:57 AM

1,982 posts

QUOTE(menghua84 @ Jul 23 2010, 12:31 AM)

Looks like too complicated to install it ... scared might spoilt it , even put on SP took me a while hehe smile.gif
owen1509
post Jul 23 2010, 10:17 AM

18 posts

err.. sorry if a bit off topic.
i bought a desire last week from the maxis store in e@curve. Yesterday a lady from HTC called me saying that i was invited to some party on the 31st of July 2010 as a token of appreciation, and that she will e-mail me the details of the party. Couldnt get more info from her as i was driving at the time. Anybody who bought the desire from maxis recently get this kind of call? I never got the e-mail. Is this some sort of SCAM/SPAM? biggrin.gif
snakevenom
post Jul 23 2010, 10:20 AM

SO MANY STARS!!
1,121 posts

hmmm seems like my friendstream facebook is not working at all..i've even got back to unroot my desire and try also cannot login. now back to rooted still same issue. meh~ i guess just have to wait for new release of custom ROM see if it resolve my issue.
KTCY
post Jul 23 2010, 10:25 AM

BumbleBeeā„¢
12,505 posts

Anything better than 3g watchdog ?
winterwish
post Jul 23 2010, 10:27 AM

141 posts

Not sure if this has been posted before, just want to share.

Any of you guys/gals tried the SwiftKey keyboard? It's free now since it's still in beta. So far so good, I think it's better than the stock HTC one.

Try it out http://www.swiftkey.net/download.html

p/s - I never really couldn't get used to Swype.. haha.

Added on July 23, 2010, 10:28 amI'm using 3G Watchdog as well, is there something wrong with it?

Tried NetCounter? http://www.appbrain.com/app/net.jaqpot.netcounter

This post has been edited by winterwish: Jul 23 2010, 10:28 AM

126 Pages « < 85 86 87 88 89 > » Top

0.0300sec    1.24    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 12:03 PM