54 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Bottom

Gamers Gate., Steam hasth noth thou gameth?Look here!

talexeh
post Jul 21 2010, 01:25 PM

One man's meat is another man's poison.
3,093 posts

QUOTE(temptation1314 @ Jul 21 2010, 12:52 PM)
That might because there's people like me, for example, who prefer all the game to stick on one platform than Many many other platform.

Easier to keep track on our spending + games.

Not to mentioned Steam have that community friendly services.
Hope you don't take me as trying to argue or shove my points but GG is almost equivalent to a retail copy in the sense that you don't need to run a client nor require internet connection to play your game (unless there's DRM involved). How many times have we seen users going rage over Steam update / connection issue? biggrin.gif
Deimos Tel`Arin
post Jul 21 2010, 01:30 PM

The LYN Kondom Man
4,202 posts

ooooh gamers gate is download and install only oh, just like retail box, except no need put DVD inside DVD ROM oh.

no need run gamers gate client, like steam must run steam client etc.

hmmm well in that case if the deals are very very good then maybe i will consider hohoho.

but for certain games, say series, if already got on steam, then will buy on steam lor.

for example, i already got mount and blade on steam, so i buy warband on steam also lor.
temptation1314
post Jul 21 2010, 01:31 PM

Specials : 1,000,000 Spam Post Attack
2,287 posts

Steam update issue is not entirely about Steam.
It's about our ISP problem. How come I can update and log in smoothly while the others cannot? I also Streamyx user what.

Same thing with Steam, you can play game on offline mode also. Just that in many millions of the Steam user, there's most likely 1% or less know about the offline modes.

Provided your Steam is up-to-date. Offline play is possible.

There's also a possibilities that U might ditch Retail box, if those game ever made it into DD platform in the future.
Deimos Tel`Arin
post Jul 21 2010, 01:34 PM

The LYN Kondom Man
4,202 posts

well, retail box is still useful since some games are very huge.

like star wars force unleash sith edition on steam, is like 29K MB

temptation1314
post Jul 21 2010, 01:36 PM

Specials : 1,000,000 Spam Post Attack
2,287 posts

29K MB? lol, that's new. tongue.gif

I don't mind lah spending hours of downloading.
After all, you can do this during working hours mah.
kianweic
post Jul 21 2010, 01:40 PM

Work hard, play hard.
3,809 posts

QUOTE(Deimos Tel`Arin @ Jul 21 2010, 01:34 PM)
well, retail box is still useful since some games are very huge.

like star wars force unleash sith edition on steam, is like 29K MB
Huge. However I won't be surprised since a lot of my games are like 10-15gb these days.

QUOTE(temptation1314 @ Jul 21 2010, 01:36 PM)
29K MB? lol, that's new. tongue.gif

I don't mind lah spending hours of downloading.
After all, you can do this during working hours mah.
Generally, I'll use my older PC to do that because it doesn't require as much power as my current work / game station PC.

Will use my USB thumbdrive / HDD to copy the files over thereafter.
talexeh
post Jul 21 2010, 01:43 PM

3,093 posts

QUOTE(temptation1314 @ Jul 21 2010, 01:31 PM)
Steam update issue is not entirely about Steam.
It's about our ISP problem. How come I can update and log in smoothly while the others cannot? I also Streamyx user what.

Same thing with Steam, you can play game on offline mode also. Just that in many millions of the Steam user, there's most likely 1% or less know about the offline modes.

Provided your Steam is up-to-date. Offline play is possible.

There's also a possibilities that U might ditch Retail box, if those game ever made it into DD platform in the future.
You got a point there. Well, for me whichever DD can provide me my desired game at lower price will get my moolah. biggrin.gif

I'm pretty OK with Steam but had a horrible experience with the CC declined issue during the last Summer Sale. Steam support wasn't very helpful when it comes to the duration required to get the issue resolved. While others may argue that it's a good anti-fraud mechanism, you can be pretty darned sure that it's a boon when the whole Steam forum was filled with customers going FFFFFUUUUU... due to the same issue. biggrin.gif
Deimos Tel`Arin
post Jul 21 2010, 01:45 PM

The LYN Kondom Man
4,202 posts

what happened during summer sales oh?
talexeh
post Jul 21 2010, 01:48 PM

3,093 posts

QUOTE(Deimos Tel`Arin @ Jul 21 2010, 01:45 PM)
what happened during summer sales oh?
You were sick in Taiwan. biggrin.gif

Joke aside. Steam refused to accept my CC, claiming that my bank put it on hold. Checked with bank, they didn't receive any transaction request from Steam at all. Support request to Steam took more than a day to unlock my account & after purchase another game, BAM! CC declined again. You can't imagine how much hair I'd pulled out. cry.gif

This cycle repeated for 3 times & when I checked the forum, HEY I'm not the only one with such issue. So confirmed it's Steam's problem. vmad.gif

This post has been edited by talexeh: Jul 21 2010, 01:49 PM
Deimos Tel`Arin
post Jul 21 2010, 01:50 PM

The LYN Kondom Man
4,202 posts

hmmm technically you are correct. haha!

i was sick a day before i went to taiwan, got sore throat + fever, fever subsided on the flight day, at taiwan, i only got sore throat so i took great care of what i consumed over there hohoho.

oooh. i see.
yes, i can understand how you feel.

my steam account got blocked 2 times liao hohoho.

first time, was during xmas 2009, this one my problem since i think i bought too many region locked games.
2nd time, i think after summer sales 2010 since many people affected.

i did not realize it until i tried to buy game for people last week.
steam support was fast in unlocking my account though.
night time i send support ticket.
morning, unlocked liao.

This post has been edited by Deimos Tel`Arin: Jul 21 2010, 01:51 PM
Edison83
post Jul 21 2010, 01:53 PM

No Games No Life.
1,374 posts

Dont u mention it........ i cant handle whole LYN customer alone LOL

@@
TSashx
post Jul 21 2010, 02:07 PM

230 posts

I'm for one don't like to put everything to one, just me against monopoly biggrin.gif who ever gives better deals gets my vote. community/browser. etc etc those are small issues as compared to game selections and price. Consumer FTW!

And for steams Paradox sales.. their selections are waayy too limited compared to GG's offer.

This post has been edited by ashx: Jul 21 2010, 02:09 PM
talexeh
post Jul 21 2010, 02:10 PM

3,093 posts

QUOTE(ashx @ Jul 21 2010, 02:07 PM)
I'm for one don't like to put everything to one, just me against monopoly biggrin.gif who ever gives better deals gets my vote. community/browser. etc etc those are small issues as compared to game selections and price. Consumer FTW!

And for steams Paradox sales.. their selections are waayy too limited compared to GG's offer.
Couldn't agree more with bolded part.
Abyssio
post Jul 21 2010, 02:27 PM

196 posts

QUOTE(ashx @ Jul 21 2010, 02:07 PM)

totally agree there man. Cheaper games for everyone!!!
Edison83
post Jul 21 2010, 02:49 PM

No Games No Life.
1,374 posts

like recently i brought Avatar for only USD9.95 at GG, which steam still stand at 49.99USD....

Only this steam and GG can match la

other like impulse, DD, and the rest is too region lock or whole year without interesting games offer.GoG not bad as well, but only offer oldies.

Thats my opinion la. I'm sure others have other opinion.
If the case like bioshock at GG is USD5 and steam is USD9.99, and he wan buy from steam because steam better, that i got nothing to say.
kianweic
post Jul 21 2010, 02:54 PM

Work hard, play hard.
3,809 posts

QUOTE(Edison83 @ Jul 21 2010, 02:49 PM)
like recently i brought Avatar for only USD9.95 at GG, which steam still stand at 49.99USD....

Only this steam and GG can match la

other like impulse, DD, and the rest is too region lock or whole year without interesting games offer.GoG not bad as well, but only offer oldies.

Thats my opinion la. I'm sure others have other opinion.
If the case like bioshock at GG is USD5 and steam is USD9.99, and he wan buy from steam because steam better, that i got nothing to say.
Could be several reasons:

1. He does not want to open another DD account
2. His Bioshock 2 is on Steam
3. He prefers the delivery from Steam.

and etc.

Not everyone makes a decision based on price.

Similar to my case, Starcraft 2.

If I wanted to save money, I'll just get it from Battlenet for less than RM200 instead of buying retail copy from Deimos which is RM235 (including postage)

This post has been edited by kianweic: Jul 21 2010, 02:55 PM
talexeh
post Jul 21 2010, 02:58 PM

3,093 posts

QUOTE(kianweic @ Jul 21 2010, 02:54 PM)

and etc.

If I wanted to save money, I'll just get it from Battlenet for less than RM200 instead of buying retail copy from Deimos which is RM235 (including postage)
*points to Deimos* Tsk tsk tsk... never thought you're the type to make a killing out of your fellow LYN bros. shakehead.gif

HAHAHAHA... joking joking. tongue.gif

I guess we just need time to get more visibility to GG. It's true that GG used to provide uninteresting titles but from the look of it, things are improving now. smile.gif
Deimos Tel`Arin
post Jul 21 2010, 03:13 PM

The LYN Kondom Man
4,202 posts

fuuuuuu manaada.jpg

i earning peanuts from this deal la, possibility making loss also.
i need to split half to my friend mr. J also.
plus i throwing in my doms also.

well, talexeh, do keep us updated on the deals on gamers gate hohoho.

This post has been edited by Deimos Tel`Arin: Jul 22 2010, 12:13 PM
TSashx
post Jul 21 2010, 03:15 PM

230 posts

QUOTE(kianweic @ Jul 21 2010, 02:54 PM)

and etc.

buying digital and retail is a differend thing. If i like the game a lot and i want to get it for collection and what not.. yes i'd do the same. It's just for those who are not in the know that there are other options rather than following the crowd that you must buy in steam brows.gif In any case, your money you do what you want with it whistling.gif
Edison83
post Jul 21 2010, 03:17 PM

No Games No Life.
1,374 posts

QUOTE(talexeh @ Jul 21 2010, 02:58 PM)
*points to Deimos* Tsk tsk tsk... never thought you're the type to make a killing out of your fellow LYN bros. shakehead.gif

HAHAHAHA... joking joking. tongue.gif

I guess we just need time to get more visibility to GG. It's true that GG used to provide uninteresting titles but from the look of it, things are improving now. smile.gif
i agree on some point
Now i keep my eyes on some games that i miss on steam sales or some games that steam didnt offer b4 biggrin.gif

54 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0257sec    0.36    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 03:58 AM