126 Pages « < 109 110 111 112 113 > » Bottom

Motorola Milestone official thread V2, Flashing sbf & rooting guides @ 1st post

under18
post Apr 22 2011, 06:14 PM

142 posts

QUOTE(sinach @ Apr 19 2011, 02:12 PM)
is it true it can only 8-9 hours? i read somewhere,muiu's batt life better than any other rom. hmm,  i plan to switch to MIUI as its seem better than CM7. i hate the iPhone style but wanna have stable rom. maybe using launcher pro once flashed. currently using CM6. ok but not that smooth sometimes.
hehe..8-9 hour for 3g use. if standby, 12 hour 10% only. that when i sleep la.
not sleep, i play internet too much.then last 6 hour..
i like the way apps popup for MIUI like sms.
and the support like error fix, so fast by lalit.DSI are fixed.no black screen when scrolling.
and SD card read and write now more faster as they fix it.no lagg loading pic in gallery.
use ext2 will save your internal space and make phone smooth also.now support ext4 also.
Sinach, try to OC your phone to 1GHz.will smooth i think.
xxboxx
post Apr 22 2011, 06:36 PM

The mind is for having ideas, not holding them
5,261 posts

QUOTE(nightzstar @ Apr 22 2011, 04:22 PM)
official 2.2? doesn't it lag and the sensitivity sucks?  hmm.gif

btw, any recommended sd card for milestone? the recommended size and seller  icon_rolleyes.gif
the default launcher very laggy so i changed to ADW, sensitivity is ok only when you press something it will takes around 2 seconds before the app open. OC will also helps.

the faster speed of SD Card the better, fastest now is Class 10 if not mistaken.
sinach
post Apr 22 2011, 11:42 PM

36 posts

QUOTE(under18 @ Apr 22 2011, 06:14 PM)
hehe..8-9 hour for 3g use. if standby, 12 hour 10% only. that when i sleep la.
not sleep, i play internet too much.then last 6 hour..
i like the way apps popup for MIUI like sms.
and the support like error fix, so fast by lalit.DSI are fixed.no black screen when scrolling.
and SD card read and write now more faster as they fix it.no lagg loading pic in gallery.
use ext2 will save your internal space and make phone smooth also.now support ext4 also.
Sinach, try to OC your phone to 1GHz.will smooth i think.
i have flashed muiu for, i think 5 mins. then switch back to CM6. ahaha.cannot tahan the iPhone style at all. and pening liao on the function.
but now i'm using latest CM7. i donno but i think i dont have many as problem as per complaint in the xda forum. all smooth. OC to 1000mHz.
i love gingerbread. i love simple but attractive UI like gingerbread. all those shiny2 icons on iPhone really killing me off. no offend tho.

Anyway, i've read alot about partitions on SD, ext2, ext4 etc. but still cant understand. anybody can to guide me. and other user here. Thanks!
neato4u
post Apr 24 2011, 12:02 AM

Cha La, Head Cha La!
1,664 posts

Just flashed to Gingerbread custom ROM - Miui-4/22 Full Miui ROM.
My review : The MIUI interface sucks (like Iphone), sorry but when I use Android, I want it to be like an Android, not some clonewars. I like the screen off animation, cool. GUI lags to the max! Overclocked it to 1Ghz and still lags!!! Memory is super, I got 150MB free on first boot. OK, enough of Gingerbread, flashing to another ROM.

Here - really a clone of Iphone or wut sweat.gif
imranzero
post Apr 24 2011, 03:51 AM

238 posts

hi guys, i will perform my 1st time flashing android for my milestone...i would like to ask something

to install this rom :
Leaked official APAC: http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=929646

is this the correct method? just replace the 5th step with this rom?

Flashing SBF, rooting & installing custom ROM guides:
Method 1 - Provided by our very own member, Charcoal
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1461907/+1640#
under18
post Apr 24 2011, 10:32 AM

142 posts

imranzero
the important step is until u can setup Andrioani OR. then try boot into Andrioani OR until u get the MENU.
after get the menu, u can go to nandroid and make backup for current ROM.(in case your new ROM not working, u can revert back to ori ROM by restore nandroid).
after that step, any ROM can be installed.

important tips to know your ROM file type:
1. nandroid backup(need to unzip the file): need to put the file under nandroid folder in /sdcard/nandroid/openrecovery/xxxx folder/*.img and *.md5
if you unzip this file, you will find alot file with .img and .md5

2. update .zip(dont unzip.let it in .zip): need to put .zip file under /sdcard/OpenRecovery/updates/xxxx.zip
if you unzip this file, u will find 2 folder (META-INF and system) and 1 image file (boot.img). so confirm this is update.zip file

then in Andrioani OR to update new rom:
a)choose nandroid for nandroid restore.
b)choose update for update .zip
sinach
post Apr 24 2011, 12:51 PM

36 posts

QUOTE(neato4u @ Apr 24 2011, 12:02 AM)
Just flashed to Gingerbread custom ROM - Miui-4/22 Full Miui ROM.
My review : The MIUI interface sucks (like Iphone), sorry but when I use Android, I want it to be like an Android, not some clonewars. I like the screen off animation, cool. GUI lags to the max! Overclocked it to 1Ghz and still lags!!! Memory is super, I got 150MB free on first boot. OK, enough of Gingerbread, flashing to another ROM.

Here - really a clone of Iphone or wut  sweat.gif
bro, why enough for gingy? gingerbread is the next. u cant stuck at froyo. if enough of Muiu, i agree. me even flashed to muiu for just 5 mins before restore CM6 back. haha. iPhone interface sux.

anyway, u shud try CM7. i'm happy rite now with the CM7.
under18
post Apr 24 2011, 01:19 PM

142 posts

any launcher can be used in MIUI. also can apply theme easily by download them.
just i try CM7 for 3 month,alot of issue.camera also laagy and force close.
now trying MIUI and see alot improvment.maybe diff apps installed make our phone act differently.
imranzero
post Apr 24 2011, 01:31 PM

238 posts

QUOTE(under18 @ Apr 24 2011, 10:32 AM)
imranzero
the important step is until u can setup Andrioani OR. then try boot into Andrioani OR until u get the MENU.
after get the menu, u can go to nandroid and make backup for current ROM.(in case your new ROM not working, u can revert back to ori ROM by restore nandroid).
after that step, any ROM can be installed.

important tips to know your ROM file type:
1. nandroid backup(need to unzip the file):  need to put the file under nandroid folder in /sdcard/nandroid/openrecovery/xxxx folder/*.img and *.md5
if you unzip this file, you will find alot file with .img and .md5

2. update .zip(dont unzip.let it in .zip):  need to put .zip file under /sdcard/OpenRecovery/updates/xxxx.zip
if you unzip this file, u will find 2 folder (META-INF and system) and 1 image file (boot.img). so confirm this is update.zip file

then in Andrioani OR to update new rom:
a)choose nandroid for nandroid restore.
b)choose update for update .zip
thx bro, already complete all files download..now will follow the step
sinach
post Apr 24 2011, 02:14 PM

36 posts

QUOTE(under18 @ Apr 24 2011, 01:19 PM)
any launcher can be used in MIUI. also can apply theme easily by download them.
just i try CM7 for 3 month,alot of issue.camera also laagy  and force close.
now trying MIUI and see alot improvment.maybe diff apps installed make our phone act differently.
exactly. i'm quite lucky to have no problem using cm7. but im not using too much widget except for agenda and emails. it's depend actually.

actually once flashed to muiu, i'm kinda blur where to go, what to do. the UI is total different. i not really love the grey n shiny style, so its basically a no go for me. but i wont suggest people to not try this one. the rating is high, that the reason i'm flashed to it in the first place.
neato4u
post Apr 24 2011, 03:37 PM

Cha La, Head Cha La!
1,664 posts

sinach,
Yea I know why must I stuck at Froyo (or Eclair even!). I've just tested several ROMs yesterday night, including CM7 Gingerbread, but all of it lags, even when I OC to 1Ghz.

What I want is a snappy phone, a real phone which doesn't tell me to 'Wait master, I need to do something here...', but a phone which goes 'Master, it is done'. All the features of Gingerbread is NICE to have, but is not NECESSARY to me - including Flash and the nice turn off screen animation (but it's super cool laugh.gif).

under18,
Yeah I know but even using LauncherPro lags. I just can't take it.

I've flashed Telus 5.2 Eclair and felt really good. ROM is just super fast and snappy. All of my required apps and games works, so I'll be stickin with Telus for a while thumbup.gif I didn't even have to change launcher because it's so freakin fast!
imranzero
post Apr 24 2011, 05:00 PM

238 posts

successfully flash to cm6..duno why apac leaked fail just now.. biggrin.gif ..thx for the guide.

Added on April 24, 2011, 5:11 pmanyone can help me? why news and weather,music,mesagin and other things keep on auto start itself even after i already use task killer..any other way to solve this?..

this make my memory left 43mb only..zz

This post has been edited by imranzero: Apr 24 2011, 05:13 PM
neato4u
post Apr 24 2011, 11:46 PM

Cha La, Head Cha La!
1,664 posts

imranzero, that's the way it is. Android automates things, when you have too much of free memory, some app will auto launch.

Task killer is not what you need. You need Autokiller Memory Optimizer. It actually set your core Android settings - I malas nak explain sini, go download install and set it up first. You will get more free RAM afterwards.

So how's CM6?
imranzero
post Apr 25 2011, 12:03 PM

238 posts

QUOTE(neato4u @ Apr 24 2011, 11:46 PM)
imranzero, that's the way it is. Android automates things, when you have too much of free memory, some app will auto launch.

Task killer is not what you need. You need Autokiller Memory Optimizer. It actually set your core Android settings - I malas nak explain sini, go download install and set it up first. You will get more free RAM afterwards.

So how's CM6?
oic, ..CM6 so far so good.. biggrin.gif ..i have this one problem where my screen didn't lock while i'm on call.is there any setting that i need to set ?
neato4u
post Apr 25 2011, 03:03 PM

Cha La, Head Cha La!
1,664 posts

hm I don't know about that.. Milestone comes with a proximity sensor, so during a call and if you place the phone near to your face, it will auto off the screen.

This didn't happen on your case?

There is a manual workaround - get "myLock phone tools" which locks the touchscreen once a call is placed after the phone screen goes blank. You have to push the camera key to activate the touchscreen again.

But I would highly recommend that you ask the dev or the forum which you got the ROM from (XDA I presume?). Maybe they have a fix which you didn't apply after flashing the ROM.
imranzero
post Apr 25 2011, 05:27 PM

238 posts

QUOTE(neato4u @ Apr 25 2011, 03:03 PM)
hm I don't know about that.. Milestone comes with a proximity sensor, so during a call and if you place the phone near to your face, it will auto off the screen.

This didn't happen on your case?

There is a manual workaround -  get "myLock phone tools" which locks the touchscreen once a call is placed after the phone screen goes blank.  You have to push the camera key to activate the touchscreen again.

But I would highly recommend that you ask the dev or the forum which you got the ROM from (XDA I presume?). Maybe they have a fix which you didn't apply after flashing the ROM.
eh, its working actually.i messed up with the setting b4..now ok alrady..any suggestion for what battery shud i get for my milestone..is sunglobal have good battery life?
nightzstar
post Apr 25 2011, 07:58 PM

Col. Samantha Carter
2,702 posts

QUOTE(xxboxx @ Apr 22 2011, 06:36 PM)
the default launcher very laggy so i changed to ADW, sensitivity is ok only when you press something it will takes around 2 seconds before the app open. OC will also helps.

the faster speed of SD Card the better, fastest now is Class 10 if not mistaken.
u can overclock with the stock froyo? hmm.gif mine cant.. i root using androot and milestone overclock apps. It reboots. Mine is milestone europe version, those from pda gadgets ones.. hmm.gif

imranzero
post Apr 25 2011, 09:05 PM

238 posts

anyone know what is the battery last for normal usage ..texting,phone call,wifi a bit...i've just buy new battery..is sunglobal.
xxboxx
post Apr 25 2011, 09:19 PM

The mind is for having ideas, not holding them
5,261 posts

how many text and call per-day?

mine normal day can last 24-30 hours.
weekend can last 60 hours. tongue.gif
imranzero
post Apr 25 2011, 10:56 PM

238 posts

can anyone assist me? i cant install http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=929646 using the method provide on 1st page

126 Pages « < 109 110 111 112 113 > » Top

0.0364sec    0.64    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 10:53 AM