150 Pages « < 118 119 120 121 122 > » Bottom

Unifi Latest UNIFI Coverage, Latest UNIFI Coverage

Ahn3hn3h
post Jan 8 2013, 06:56 PM

82 posts

For Sungai Petani, the open fiber project at Bandar Laguna Merbok is getting very good response from the residence there.

They approach TM earlier to join as one of their ISP list but TM arrogantly rejected their offer.

So far they have 92% subscription. Subscribers can choose between Celcom and Jaring.
Local network traffic is capped at 100mbps.

Due to the high interests shown by the Sungai Petani locals, TM is afraid that SP residents will wipe them out of the market in the next few years if the project continues to expand full city wide. This is the reason behind their sudden move to concentrate in Sungai Petani ahead of even the state capital, Alor Setar and many other state capitals such as Penang Island, Ipoh, Seremban and Malacca.

Upload speed is very much closer to download and consistent. Pings will also show lower than Unifi without surges during peak hours of use.

This post has been edited by Ahn3hn3h: Jan 8 2013, 07:03 PM
pokchik
post Jan 8 2013, 07:06 PM

I'm getting too old for this sh*t
1,304 posts

Kampung Pengkalan Batu, Melaka.. none so far.. slowwwwww la TM..
Ahn3hn3h
post Jan 8 2013, 07:22 PM

82 posts

The consistency of download/upload speeds as well as low pings by Fiber@Home is shown to be even better of Time Fibre Broadband.

This is because they use different FTTH technologies.
Visionardexterous
post Jan 8 2013, 10:38 PM

QUOTE(Imros @ Jan 8 2013, 07:51 AM)
Taman Universiti, Skudai got? If got I straight go subscribe. Like right now

None so far for tm uni skudai.. will try to follow up and inform you if have
bryan
post Jan 9 2013, 01:01 PM

Dreadnought
2,389 posts

Could someone help check, I'm in Luyang, Kota Kinabalu.
bryan
post Jan 9 2013, 05:05 PM

Dreadnought
2,389 posts

Was told today they are targetting industrial areas, cause less individual users and easier to to adjust capacity. Last time they rolled out Streamyx too fast and had too many complaints. Honestly I'd rather they roll it out slow then too fast and give us crappy service... of course who knows service might still be crap. smile.gif
totally_skint
post Jan 9 2013, 07:24 PM

1,185 posts

QUOTE(Ahn3hn3h @ Jan 8 2013, 06:56 PM)
Local network traffic is capped at 100mbps.
I read somewhere that fibre line rental is RM20 with local network at up to 100mbps.
For international access you need to sigh up with an ISP.

What exactly is "local network"
erickyoko
post Jan 9 2013, 09:50 PM

532 posts

When bukit indah Johor got unifi?
wahizul
post Jan 10 2013, 01:56 PM

314 posts

Taman Sukma area which just opposite TM multimedia college also still dont have UNIFI coverage.. Sigh
Ahn3hn3h
post Jan 12 2013, 08:02 PM

82 posts

QUOTE(totally_skint @ Jan 9 2013, 07:24 PM)
I read somewhere that fibre line rental is RM20 with local network at up to 100mbps.
For international access you need to sigh up with an ISP.

What exactly is "local network"
Local network can be anything from your intranet access, locally hosted landing site(similar to the first page Maxis redirects you) when you use prepaid, SP Pirate FTP site, IPTV or local video stream sites hosted by the town municipal council itself.

However I don't think they are implementing all of those. Local network in their case is the physical line rental.
Like you need to rent a phone line before subscribing Streamyx or pay extra ISP charges for dialup - (Standard Line rental(circuit charges) + ISP).

The ISP price plans might have already included the rental all in 1 bill, so you don't have to pay 2 separate bills.
Ahn3hn3h
post Jan 12 2013, 08:08 PM

82 posts

QUOTE(bryan @ Jan 9 2013, 05:05 PM)
Was told today they are targetting industrial areas, cause less individual users and easier to to adjust capacity. Last time they rolled out Streamyx too fast and had too many complaints. Honestly I'd rather they roll it out slow then too fast and give us crappy service... of course who knows service might still be crap. smile.gif
Now that they are launching 8M Streamyx, Phase 2 HSBB might be delayed or they are going to focus less on Unifi expansions from this year onwards.

The Phase 1 of the HSBB which ended in 2012, might not have been taken off well enough because they are so silent about it until now. There's no expansion maps released until now to any other capital cities and areas after the current Unifi service area list.

Furthermore they are now launching Streamyx 8M mainly in Unifi areas? Isn't that an overlap service which means Unifi subscriptions are not getting anywhere?

totally_skint
post Jan 12 2013, 10:45 PM

1,185 posts

QUOTE(Ahn3hn3h @ Jan 12 2013, 08:02 PM)
Local network can be anything from your intranet access, locally hosted landing site(similar to the first page Maxis redirects you) when you use prepaid, SP Pirate FTP site, IPTV or local video stream sites hosted by the town municipal council itself.

However I don't think they are implementing all of those. Local network in their case is the physical line rental.
Like you need to rent a phone line before subscribing Streamyx or pay extra ISP charges for dialup - (Standard Line rental(circuit charges) + ISP).

The ISP price plans might have already included the rental all in 1 bill, so you don't have to pay 2 separate bills.
So, what is the use of spending 20 bucks? Faster checks for your AES summons? rclxub.gif
Ahn3hn3h
post Jan 12 2013, 11:22 PM

82 posts

QUOTE(totally_skint @ Jan 12 2013, 10:45 PM)
So, what is the use of spending 20 bucks? Faster checks for your AES summons?  rclxub.gif
You forgot the main obvious advantage which is you truly get to choose your favourite ISP and voice/Tv services. No backbone and B-RAS sharing. The next hop after your OLT will be your ISP's own equipment and not owned by the monopoly telco that owns the whole infrastructure like the HSBB. Therefore you don't see unfair practices and prioritization given to the incumbent owner of the network as well as the same ISP operator such as Unifi.

92% sign up by local SP residents by choice can't be wrong.
xKeneshirox
post Jan 15 2013, 12:31 PM

338 posts

Anyone know if Covillea in Bukit Jalil has Unifi? Having problems checking and wondering if anyone has any idea? Renting there for IMU since the Komanwel apartments are too expensive >.<.
baiah10
post Jan 15 2013, 08:10 PM

When will this UNIFI thingy reach to Kota Bharu, Kelantan? My bad i am posted to Hospital Kota Bharu for my medical practices.

Is it also because of political reason it does not cover for Kelantan?

Imros
post Jan 15 2013, 09:38 PM

QUOTE(baiah10 @ Jan 15 2013, 11:10 PM)
When will this UNIFI thingy reach to Kota Bharu, Kelantan? My bad i am posted to Hospital Kota Bharu for my medical practices.

Is it also because of political reason it does not cover for Kelantan?
hahaha. for the upcoming election they better cover kelantan
Madgeiser
post Feb 7 2013, 07:52 AM

433 posts

Good news to Seremban peeps, TM has started working on HSBB at Seremban. I was driving home yesterday and notice some TM staff working. I am sure it is HSBB, as the cone they put up on the road site was labelled TM HSBB.

They were working around the town and lobak. So in 3 to 6 months, i think coverage will be available. smile.gif
skylinelover
post Feb 7 2013, 08:51 AM

Future Crypto Player😄👊Driver Abamsado😎😎
11,251 posts

QUOTE(Ahn3hn3h @ Jan 12 2013, 08:08 PM)
Furthermore they are now launching Streamyx 8M mainly in Unifi areas? Isn't that an overlap service which means Unifi subscriptions are not getting anywhere?
2 shut off the users who wanted unifi but area not covered i guess laugh.gif doh.gif
wildwestgoh
post Feb 7 2013, 10:17 AM

2,215 posts

Anyone has any idea on the expansion in Kuching, Sarawak?
So far I only see coverage around Jalan Song, it's so near my home, just few KMs away and yet it's been half-a-year ago... anyone sees TM working near Jalan Chawan or Wan Alwi area? (Fiber cable of course)
emperor_o4118
post Feb 7 2013, 10:51 AM

69 posts

hi all.. anybody know when unifi will avaible for sitiawan perak? any insiders? hehe

150 Pages « < 118 119 120 121 122 > » Top

0.0345sec    0.72    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 01:57 AM