Sony Ericsson Xperia X8, Code Name Shakira

awis
post Dec 24 2010, 10:31 PM

25 posts

edit EDIT: I've created sh script for this method and someone in xda-developers tried it and work all fine
1. go back to 1.6 and root like sos_tiram's instruction (below)
2- download all files in this thread(x8rooted.img, unyaffs, busybox)
3-put it all at the root of your sdcard
4-extract this install script to the root of your sdcard (attachment)

how to run:
in adb shell
CODE
su
cd /sdcard
sh install.sh

then, flash with 2.1 firmware
copy loader.sin from 1.6 firmware
REMOVE system.sin

voila. you will get 2.1 rooted.

QUOTE(leo0089 @ Dec 24 2010, 09:18 PM)
ur wifi still okay? even with app2sd installed? is this the one u used? http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=880387
yes. all working fine

my xperia x8 2.1 have problem of rooting..use both z4root and SuperOneClick oso kenot... anyone help? BTW, my running games :

1.Fifa10
2.Hyperjump
3.Angrybird
4.Radiant
5.Ninja Kaka
6.Slice it!
7.Sky Reloaded
8.Solipskier
9.SpeedX 3D
10.Doodle Jump
11.Doodle Dash
12.Guitar Hero 5
13.Zenonia
no shortcut to root on android 2.1
use this instead
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=880576

Yeaahh, finally I made it yesterday, I cannot tahan seeing you root it laugh.gif
I prefer this step http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=880576

congratulations!

This post has been edited by awis: Dec 25 2010, 09:24 AM

Attached File(s)
Attached File  install.sh.working.zip ( 561bytes ) Number of downloads: 21
uan
post Dec 24 2010, 11:40 PM

571 posts

hi all. new x8 user here. bought from one forumer. pengguna windows mobile yg tegar sebelum ini (currently still using wm).

first experience of android:
1. the os feels light weight
2. complicated file system (oppose to wm, yes i know it is linux)
3. so much app. too much perhaps. funny, none of them could match the one in wm (or i still need to hunt more?)
4. papago app 150+Mb? wallawei... other option?

ok noob (stupid) questions:
1. how do i know my x8 is rooted or not?
2. why my market only show free app?
3. why those app contain adv? even while playing angry bird, i can't focus. sick...
4. more to come

yes, please show me those links.

thank you in advanced. i'm in the leaning curve of android.
awis
post Dec 24 2010, 11:49 PM

25 posts

QUOTE(uan @ Dec 24 2010, 11:40 PM)
hi all. new x8 user here. bought from one forumer. pengguna windows mobile yg tegar sebelum ini (currently still using wm).

first experience of android:
1. the os feels light weight
2. complicated file system (oppose to wm, yes i know it is linux)
3. so much app. too much perhaps. funny, none of them could match the one in wm (or i still need to hunt more?)
4. papago app 150+Mb? wallawei... other option?

ok noob (stupid) questions:
1. how do i know my x8 is rooted or not?
2. why my market only show free app?
3. why those app contain adv? even while playing angry bird, i can't focus. sick...
4. more to come

yes, please show me those links.

thank you in advanced. i'm in the leaning curve of android.
stock is not rooted. if you have super user app, your device might be rooted.
paid android market apps is not available in malaysia..you can use market enabler to view paid apps.(need root)
most free apps contains ads. you need to pay to remove them or use applanet instead(black market)
sos_tiram
post Dec 25 2010, 03:16 AM

42 posts

I manage to screenshot my screen while I'm doing it for future reference, sometimes I forgot how to do it again biggrin.gif

You need to downgrade to 1.6 first

1) Download the flasher here http://www-stud.uni-due.de/~sfanmakr/X10Fl...10Flash-2.1.zip

2) Download 1.6 Firmware http://rapidshare.com/files/432487345/E15i_1.6.rar and 2.1 firmware http://www.mediafire.com/?vkjdu0m2ramajng

3) Next, put the 1.6 & 2.1 Firmware inside the flasher folder

4) Run the flasher by clicking on x10flash.bat and click flash

5) Select 1.6 Firmware and click ok

6) The flasher "searching for Xperia". Turn off your phone. Hold down the back button and connect the USB to your phone while holding back button. Once start flashing, release the back button.

7) Downgrade to 1.6 done. Now turn on your phone, it may take a while for it to load. You need to root the 1.6, I assume you all already know how to root 1.6. So I'll skip this part.

8) Next, download this 2 files http://pashkovsky.com/x8/x8-2.1rooted.img.yaffs.rar & http://forum.xda-developers.com/attachment...19&d=1292599074

9) Inside x8-2.1rooted.img.yaffs.rar contains x8rooted.img while ISO-8859-1__unyaffs-arm.rar contains busybox and unyaffs. Copy x8rooted.img, busybox and unyaffs to your SDcard.

10) Next, open CMD (command prompt), change directory to the flasher folder. Follow the picture below.

11) Once completed, your phone will hang, force close error. Turn off your phone by removing the battery.

12) Go to 2.1 firmware folder. Remove system.sin. Copy loader.sin from 1.6 firmware to 2.1 folder

13) Run the flash again, this time select 2.1 firmware

14) While your phone turn off, Hold down the back button and connect the USB to your phone while holding back button. Once start flashing, release the back button.

That's all. You'll have 2.1 rooted. In case you have failed, go back to step no.4 biggrin.gif
If I miss anything, feel free to add it or modify this guide. Have fun rooting. smile.gif

awis
post Dec 25 2010, 04:07 AM

25 posts

nice work there!, sos_tiram

EDIT: easier method above

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1459355/+320#

This post has been edited by awis: Dec 25 2010, 09:16 AM
ghost_301
post Dec 25 2010, 09:15 AM

500 posts

QUOTE(sos_tiram @ Dec 25 2010, 03:16 AM)
I manage to screenshot my screen while I'm doing it for future reference, sometimes I forgot how to do it again  biggrin.gif

You need to downgrade to 1.6 first

1) Download the flasher here http://www-stud.uni-due.de/~sfanmakr/X10Fl...10Flash-2.1.zip
2) Download 1.6 Firmware http://rapidshare.com/files/432487345/E15i_1.6.rar and 2.1 firmware http://www.mediafire.com/?vkjdu0m2ramajng
3) Next, put the 1.6 & 2.1 Firmware inside the flasher folder
4) Run the flasher by clicking on x10flash.bat and click flash
5) Select 1.6 Firmware and click ok
6) The flasher "searching for Xperia". Turn off your phone. Hold down the back button and connect the USB to your phone while holding back button. Once start flashing, release the back button.
7) Downgrade to 1.6 done. Now turn on your phone, it may take a while for it to load. You need to root the 1.6, I assume you all already know how to root 1.6. So I'll skip this part.
8) Next, download this 2 files http://pashkovsky.com/x8/x8-2.1rooted.img.yaffs.rar & http://forum.xda-developers.com/attachment...19&d=1292599074
9) Inside x8-2.1rooted.img.yaffs.rar contains x8rooted.img while ISO-8859-1__unyaffs-arm.rar contains busybox and unyaffs. Copy x8rooted.img, busybox and unyaffs to your SDcard.
10) Next, open CMD (command prompt), change directory to the flasher folder. Follow the picture below.
11) Once completed, your phone will hang, force close error. Turn off your phone by removing the battery.
12) Go to 2.1 firmware folder. Remove system.sin. Copy loader.sin from 1.6 firmware to 2.1 folder
13) Run the flash again, this time select 2.1 firmware
14) While your phone turn off, Hold down the back button and connect the USB to your phone while holding back button. Once start flashing, release the back button.
That's all. You'll have 2.1 rooted. In case you have failed, go back to step no.4  biggrin.gif
If I miss anything, feel free to add it or modify this guide. Have fun rooting.  smile.gif
Great stuff! This make me want to try to root it! biggrin.gif
Ultima
post Dec 25 2010, 09:37 AM

KiRiSuTe GoMeN
5,197 posts

izzit possible to use other firmware besides russia?

Added on December 25, 2010, 10:38 ambtw, juz wanna ask.. thrs an open source file 2.0.a.0.504 for x8 on se developer site.. wht does tht file do? wht izzit for?

This post has been edited by Ultima: Dec 25 2010, 10:38 AM
awis
post Dec 25 2010, 03:12 PM

25 posts

QUOTE(Ultima @ Dec 25 2010, 09:37 AM)
izzit possible to use other firmware besides russia?

Added on December 25, 2010, 10:38 ambtw, juz wanna ask.. thrs an open source file 2.0.a.0.504 for x8 on se developer site.. wht does tht file do? wht izzit for?
yes, you can but you need to decrypt,convert and extract on your own using tools,
the source is for developers to compile it and use it to build roms
Ultima
post Dec 25 2010, 08:06 PM

KiRiSuTe GoMeN
5,197 posts

bro, when im trying to jit, when i type adb shell, it shows $ not #, izzit ok to proceed?
awis
post Dec 25 2010, 08:17 PM

25 posts

QUOTE(Ultima @ Dec 25 2010, 08:06 PM)
bro, when im trying to jit, when i type adb shell, it shows $ not #, izzit ok to proceed?
you need to type su after adb shell.
Ultima
post Dec 25 2010, 08:23 PM

KiRiSuTe GoMeN
5,197 posts

yeah i did tht, n it shows $ not #, so izzit ok to proceed?

Added on December 25, 2010, 8:24 pmits weird tho, as it shows # b4 when im trying to root..

This post has been edited by Ultima: Dec 25 2010, 08:24 PM
minlekoq
post Dec 25 2010, 08:34 PM

102 posts

nice work sos tiram biggrin.gif
leo0089
post Dec 25 2010, 09:01 PM

147 posts

guys, anything i have to do first before i can use su command? it keep giving me "permission denied"

do i have to turn off phone? take out sim card? take out sd card?

have runned cmd as administrator..
icon_question.gif
awis
post Dec 25 2010, 09:13 PM

25 posts

QUOTE(leo0089 @ Dec 25 2010, 09:01 PM)
guys, anything i have to do first before i can use su command? it keep giving me "permission denied"

do i have to turn off phone? take out sim card? take out sd card?

have runned cmd as administrator..
icon_question.gif
no need to remove anything

1-check your phone is rooted or not, if not. then root
2-if rooted, check the phone to allow su command

yeah i did tht, n it shows $ not #, so izzit ok to proceed?

just try. if permission is not denied, then it should be ok to proceed

This post has been edited by awis: Dec 25 2010, 09:15 PM
Ultima
post Dec 25 2010, 09:17 PM

KiRiSuTe GoMeN
5,197 posts

another problem when jit, it says 'cant cd to /sdcard/jit-toggle-0.1' sweat.gif
awis
post Dec 25 2010, 09:21 PM

25 posts

QUOTE(Ultima @ Dec 25 2010, 09:17 PM)
another problem when jit, it says 'cant cd to /sdcard/jit-toggle-0.1' sweat.gif
did you rooted your phone? it should be like this

CODE
su
cd /sdcard/jit-toggle-0.1
sh enable_jit.sh

Ultima
post Dec 25 2010, 09:26 PM

KiRiSuTe GoMeN
5,197 posts

yes i did root my phone..

when im on cd /sdcard/jit-toggle-0.1

i got an error message saying cant cd to /sdcard/jit-toggle-0.1 sweat.gif
awis
post Dec 25 2010, 09:34 PM

25 posts

QUOTE(Ultima @ Dec 25 2010, 09:26 PM)
yes i did root my phone..

when im on cd /sdcard/jit-toggle-0.1

i got an error message saying cant cd to /sdcard/jit-toggle-0.1 sweat.gif
do not mount your sdcard.
if not, try chmod 777 /sdcard/jit-toggle-0.1
Ultima
post Dec 25 2010, 09:57 PM

KiRiSuTe GoMeN
5,197 posts

also cant, it says no such file or directory, hmm...
KeithCheeFB
post Dec 25 2010, 10:23 PM

373 posts

hi guys. need some help. I JUST GOT MY X8 TODAY. but it seems that i cant input chinese for my sms's . how to solve this prob? mine is 2.1... =(

74 Pages « < 16 17 18 19 > » Top

0.0282sec    0.72    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 01:40 AM