Sony Ericsson Xperia X8, Code Name Shakira

sos_tiram
post Dec 8 2010, 06:08 PM

42 posts

QUOTE(mattawis @ Dec 8 2010, 04:21 PM)
can i update from v1.6 to v2.1 with the pc companion??
Yup, boleh jer. using SEUS also can (which I'd prefer)
sos_tiram
post Dec 22 2010, 10:16 AM

42 posts

there is new style of rooting 2.1, not sure I gonna do it or not, because I'm already on 2.1 and need to go back to 1.6 rooted doh.gif
anybody want to try 1st? brows.gif

This will provide you with a fresh and unmodified 2.1-system, exactly like you would do the official update - only exception is that it is rooted. So all the apps and games of the official firmware are available and nothing else. You can remove the crap (like the games or timescape for example) by yourself after doing the steps below.
Download these files:
x8-2.1rooted.img.yaffs.rar
and
ISO-8859-1__unyaffs-arm.rar

Also download the 2.1-firmware from here or here. Unpack it on your computer and delete the "system.sin".
Unpack "x8rooted.img", "busybox" and "unyaffs" to SDcard.
You need 1.6 with root on your phone. By the way, all the data on your phone will be lost after doing the following steps, so making a backup is advised.
Use "adb shell" to connect to your phone and become su:

more at http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=880576
sos_tiram
post Dec 23 2010, 01:14 PM

42 posts

QUOTE(awis @ Dec 23 2010, 03:03 AM)
tried it. succes..both method
this
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=876868
and this.
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=876868

rooted, JIT enabled, app2sd enabled.

shocking.gif Oh my!!! You did it! congrats, yes, the steps are complex.. I'm not confident to do it sweat.gif
sos_tiram
post Dec 24 2010, 02:47 PM

42 posts

Yeaahh, finally I made it yesterday, I cannot tahan seeing you root it laugh.gif
I prefer this step http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=880576

sos_tiram
post Dec 25 2010, 03:16 AM

42 posts

I manage to screenshot my screen while I'm doing it for future reference, sometimes I forgot how to do it again biggrin.gif

You need to downgrade to 1.6 first

1) Download the flasher here http://www-stud.uni-due.de/~sfanmakr/X10Fl...10Flash-2.1.zip

2) Download 1.6 Firmware http://rapidshare.com/files/432487345/E15i_1.6.rar and 2.1 firmware http://www.mediafire.com/?vkjdu0m2ramajng

3) Next, put the 1.6 & 2.1 Firmware inside the flasher folder

4) Run the flasher by clicking on x10flash.bat and click flash

5) Select 1.6 Firmware and click ok

6) The flasher "searching for Xperia". Turn off your phone. Hold down the back button and connect the USB to your phone while holding back button. Once start flashing, release the back button.

7) Downgrade to 1.6 done. Now turn on your phone, it may take a while for it to load. You need to root the 1.6, I assume you all already know how to root 1.6. So I'll skip this part.

8) Next, download this 2 files http://pashkovsky.com/x8/x8-2.1rooted.img.yaffs.rar & http://forum.xda-developers.com/attachment...19&d=1292599074

9) Inside x8-2.1rooted.img.yaffs.rar contains x8rooted.img while ISO-8859-1__unyaffs-arm.rar contains busybox and unyaffs. Copy x8rooted.img, busybox and unyaffs to your SDcard.

10) Next, open CMD (command prompt), change directory to the flasher folder. Follow the picture below.

11) Once completed, your phone will hang, force close error. Turn off your phone by removing the battery.

12) Go to 2.1 firmware folder. Remove system.sin. Copy loader.sin from 1.6 firmware to 2.1 folder

13) Run the flash again, this time select 2.1 firmware

14) While your phone turn off, Hold down the back button and connect the USB to your phone while holding back button. Once start flashing, release the back button.

That's all. You'll have 2.1 rooted. In case you have failed, go back to step no.4 biggrin.gif
If I miss anything, feel free to add it or modify this guide. Have fun rooting. smile.gif

sos_tiram
post Jan 1 2011, 11:34 AM

42 posts

QUOTE(uan @ Dec 26 2010, 11:17 PM)
sos tiram illustrated rooting procedure is a great guide. since we live in community, hope you don't mind my comment:
- need to add to pre-requisite: download & install SEUS (for the driver)
- please include superoneclick 1.6 rooting tools

great if we can have x8 thread
ooo yes, you're right, I forgot to show the most important part, installing the driver doh.gif
I do hope someone update the 1st page to summarize everything, or open a new thread and merge with this thread.
Going to Jit my phone after this.

and bro awis, do you change the top bar notification colour and icon? It's kinda hard to alter the framework, maybe you can give a good link/xda forum for us to try it

btw, Happy New Year all laugh.gif

-Edit-
I'm trying this http://androidforums.com/sony-ericsson-xpe...ck-theme-d.html
but stucked at Sony Ericsson Logo doh.gif

Just found out there's a thread at xda forum http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=889963
so user propc is Awis, this is great, we have a master on Lyn notworthy.gif
and I manage to changed the framework, luckily I got Xrecovery installed biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by sos_tiram: Jan 1 2011, 02:46 PM
sos_tiram
post Jan 2 2011, 12:37 AM

42 posts

QUOTE(doggydogg @ Jan 1 2011, 04:53 PM)
yo sos tiram, ;D
can spare a few simplified tricks on how to JIT a? xD
and some backup tips also ;D
No problem, you said backup, yes, it's a good idea to do backup, if anything happened, just do the restore, no need to re-flash back biggrin.gif

For backup, I'd prefer xRecovery, here http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=878426
The installation seems to be easy to follow.
Manual Installation:
- Download and unpack the recovery package
- use Root Explorer to remount /system rw
- copy the content of the package (3 files) into /system/bin folder

To activate
Press BACK button few times right after white SE logo appears.

It's better to test 1st whether it's working or not

How To JIT: http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=877565 (I'll explain again with picture biggrin.gif )

1) Download JIT http://bit.ly/JiT-toggle

2) Open CMD (Command Prompt) and change directory adb folder. Type this command
CODE
adb pull /system/build.prop build.prop

the file build.prop being pulled out to the folder, as below: make 2 copies of the build.prop file, 1 is original, 1 is modified

3) Open the file build.prop with notepad. Modify it as below
Change
dalvik.vm.heapsize=30m
debug.sf.hw=1

add this at the end:
dalvik.vm.execution-mode=int:jit
save the file.

4) Extract and Copy JiT-toggle-0.1 folder to the SDcard.

5) Inside JiT-toggle-0.1 folder, copy & overwrite original build.prop to vmlibs_stock. Copy & Overwrite modified build.prop to vmlibsv2
picture below

6) Next, type
CODE
adb shell

then
CODE
su

important: check your phone, superuser request will pop out once you type su, allow it. In case it's not pop out, manually go to superuser, and allow it. Otherwise you'll get permission denied.

7) Type
CODE
cd /sdcard/JiT-toggle-0.1

important: in your phone, Turn off USB storage (unmount). Otherwise you'll get error can't cd to sdcard/JiT-toggle-0.1

8) Type
CODE
sh enable_jit.sh

your phone will reboot and you'll have jit enabled laugh.gif

Below is the picture

Before JIT:

After JIT:

Feel free to modify, in case I forgot anything smile.gif

p/s: Remember to install xrecovery 1st, sediakan payung sebelum hujan brows.gif
sos_tiram
post Jan 2 2011, 09:12 AM

42 posts

This method works but better to backup if it goes wrong. When disabling the jit, yes, it will hang the phone. enable jit again then it's ok. I just leave it enable anyway, so far no issue biggrin.gif

sos_tiram
post Jan 3 2011, 09:36 PM

42 posts

QUOTE(jcloudsnetwork @ Jan 3 2011, 08:42 PM)
Hi, when I run the last step, enable_jit.sh, The command prompt show cannot find busybox but my busybox in the sdcard root and accessible by titanium backup too
Here, use my version of busybox
http://www.fileden.com/files/2007/9/16/1435290/busybox.rar

Copy the busybox to system/bin in your phone, not sdcard smile.gif
sos_tiram
post Jan 16 2011, 11:15 AM

42 posts

Just want to share,

X8 themes with battery percentage & animations
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=907198

And there's a news about the new update 2.1.A.0.390.
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=914427

have a nice weekend biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by sos_tiram: Jan 16 2011, 12:29 PM
sos_tiram
post Jan 19 2011, 06:01 PM

42 posts

Here is the basic apps that's a must for me:

1) LauncherPro (Default Launcher is really sucks, this is a good replacement)

2) Advance Task Killer (Kill Running Application in the background, I set to autokill every 30 minutes)

3) Simi Clock

4) Dazzle (Good Widget for shortcut Wifi, Data, Bluetooth, etc)

5) PowerAmp (Good Music Player than Winamp, but it's paid, google around for this app)

6) Astro File Manager

7) Barcode Scanner

8) Titanium Backup (Root device only)

9) Root Explorer (Root device only)
sos_tiram
post Feb 6 2011, 12:05 AM

42 posts

Guys,
new update is available 2.1.1.A.0.6

Change the SI to 1241-4645, you'll get the update.

It's still rootable don't worry biggrin.gif

sos:

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=941458

This post has been edited by sos_tiram: Feb 6 2011, 12:17 AM
sos_tiram
post Feb 19 2011, 12:48 PM

42 posts

Aiyarghh, same lah, my default SI code unable to received any update, that's why I use orange SI code. sigh...

Ultima, may I use your code? biggrin.gif
sos_tiram
post Feb 20 2011, 12:15 AM

42 posts

QUOTE(Ultima @ Feb 19 2011, 02:59 PM)
Sure, mine is 1241-3833..
Owhh.. Thank you. This time flashed for 151 times maybe biggrin.gif

And hopefully custom ROM will be successful, 2.2 & 2.3 drool.gif
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=914513

sos_tiram
post Feb 21 2011, 12:30 AM

42 posts

QUOTE(piumiu @ Feb 20 2011, 10:58 PM)
yes. i never root. just teach her how to use android market.
i never root mine as well.
If not root, at least change the default Launcher. Should be fine if she's don't mind a bit lag.

Well, if root it would be nicer, for girls can use pink themes biggrin.gif
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=951316
sos_tiram
post Apr 10 2011, 11:30 AM

42 posts

Guys, for the stable Custom ROM use this:
2.2.1 MiniCM-1.0.0-RC1 CM-6.1.3
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=964223
Everything is working, So far I didn't encounter any problem with it and it's really fast. Give it a try guys thumbup.gif

sos_tiram
post Apr 10 2011, 10:15 PM

42 posts

QUOTE(Farlz_89 @ Apr 10 2011, 08:33 PM)
Have u try this?
any improvement for phone performance?
Yes, currently I'm using this custom rom now, lot of improvement, I don't know how to describe it, just give it a try biggrin.gif

sos_tiram
post Apr 11 2011, 07:28 PM

42 posts

Here, but my score not as high as WooTz biggrin.gif
Its jit enabled already. I don't face the reboot problem when turning off usb. and I'm using floyo skin because I don't like cm default skin, too glowing biggrin.gif
user posted image user posted image user posted image user posted image
sos_tiram
post Apr 11 2011, 07:59 PM

42 posts

QUOTE(Farlz_89 @ Apr 11 2011, 07:49 PM)
oic
i like your phone skin
btw u have any tutorial how to install JIT for newcomer like me ?
and you follow instruction from xda to do custom rom?
Yes, you just follow the tutorial at xda, if you have any problem installing the custom rom, just let us know here
the jit is already bundled with this custom rom and also app2sd rclxms.gif

sos_tiram
post Apr 11 2011, 09:59 PM

42 posts

QUOTE(Farlz_89 @ Apr 11 2011, 08:17 PM)
hmm..but my phone just 1 week already..scare if im brick my phone..haha  biggrin.gif
im just root and link2sd to my phone  tongue.gif ..scare to move more further but your skin poison me  drool.gif
oh..u mean the phone also root when install this custom rom?
Yes, it's already rooted, since you're already mod you android, why don't install custom rom? biggrin.gif
take your time buddy smile.gif

0.0344sec    0.36    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 05:13 AM