7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

Nokia N900 Thread V3, Where Tablet meets Mobile Phones

jananan
post Jun 29 2010, 04:01 PM

Android
1,513 posts

Tomorrow's the big day - Meego with UI will be released. how it will run on n900, and to what extent no one knows...

whether it will only have tablet mode, or will it support all modules in the phone ?

attached is a pdf file explaining how the new meego ui is supposed to look like...

http://maemoarena.com/2010/06/meego-for-ha...ected-tomorrow/

some youtube video of the interface demoed in another phone in the link above, its an unpolished version. (moblin i think)
jananan
post Jun 29 2010, 05:33 PM

Android
1,513 posts

i dont think it will be a good experience, meego that is. not even beta...
jananan
post Jun 29 2010, 05:37 PM

Android
1,513 posts

hopefully it will be almost fully functional... almost that is. but if its too closed a platform..ill stick to maemo....

Added on June 29, 2010, 5:45 pm
QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Jun 29 2010, 05:34 PM)
u mean the ads steve said users are holding the phone the wrongly? Must hold steve way?
i mean the photo i posted... see carefully... nothing is changed from iphone3

This post has been edited by jananan: Jun 29 2010, 05:45 PM
jananan
post Jun 29 2010, 08:57 PM

Android
1,513 posts

QUOTE(super_evil_alien @ Jun 29 2010, 08:10 PM)
@Aspire
Add this at front page.This has been explained multiple times.

This 125MHz is clock speed when your phone in power saving mode.
Meaning your phone is currently in 125-800MHz profile.
Your phone will automatically go to 800MHz clock speed when you open apps & etc.
Downclock back when you're not using anything.

It's similar to Intel desktop processor.In Intel processor it's called speedstep.Dunno what it's called with ARM processor.
intel's x-scale ARM ?
jananan
post Jun 29 2010, 09:04 PM

Android
1,513 posts

QUOTE(super_evil_alien @ Jun 29 2010, 08:27 PM)
1)Even if Nokia release it as non dual boot,I think we can use NITDroid method to dual boot.
2)Yeah,I'm sad about that too.But it give us chance to test whether Maemo 5 apps works in MeeGo.Who know if Angry Bird works in Meego? brows.gif
3)SDK going to be release tomorrow only.Cannot complain on that part.

About MicroB I have mixed feeling.Undoubtedly MicroB is one of the best mobile browser(if not the best) but after seeing froyo+n900 browsing,I think there are still things to be improved.Perhaps the usage of webkit will help.Else need to hope fennec to be perfected.

I dunno about proper term for throttling/step down in ARM.New to ARM architecture blush.gif
1. meego need ui acceleration.

2. to run meego ui on n900 means meego is accelerated for n900.

3. same situation on desktop, thats why non-atom platform (celeron, VIA) cannot run meego for x86.

4. different desktop manager and multitasking interface, but still linux based.

5. example is the shell replacement for windows, e.g. litestep - windows apps still run fine, including games. in fact games run faster because litestep is in fact lighter.

6. i will be pissed off if meego is a half-hearted attempt to shut us up. i bought n900 because i know nokia said it would be compatible with meego / continue support maamo5/6

Added on June 29, 2010, 9:12 pmPS : i feel microB is a good /fast/lightweight/featured browser for maemo/meego, and mozilla should help nokia develop it further. rather than trying to stuff firefox/fennec into it.

PS : meego is a distro that must run on multiple mobile phones with as little mods as possible. same like android.

so u know why android runs easily on n900. in fact it should be easier to run maemo on android phones because its more open, just a matter of getting the right drivers for the hw. just no one interested to port it.

so meego is built for mobile phones, esp nokia hw. so it will be easier to get meego to work perfectly with n900 than getting android on n900.

even android froyo runs smoothly on n900.

one reason, arm platform.

its like any linux OS, runs on Intel / AMD / VIA / other lesser known processors.

the only thing is getting manufacturers to write drivers for linux. not generic drivers but accelerated ones.

that has been the main issue thats preventing linux from launching into mainstream...

now i am contradicting myself, suddenly doubt meego / then support meego.

damn i must be too excited bcos tomorrow meego coming...

Added on June 29, 2010, 9:40 pmtimeline for meego if you are interested...

http://wiki.meego.com/Release_Engineering/Plans/1.1

beta only coming in august, most probably all function will work in beta, since they call it "beta"

Added on June 29, 2010, 9:44 pmhave to wait till october for RC1, but we know nokia likes to delay, i dont know about intel.

PS : intel has a bad habit of abandoning older hw and stop writing drivers. one good example is gma video drivers for windows 7 for older chipsets. they totally abandon it, even though some of the slightly older machines can run windows 7 smoothly...

and we all know nokia likes to abandon their phones fast too... except for a few like 5800xm. i am still waiting to see if they will come out with v60 firmware for symbian based 5800xm since they are focusing on symbian^3.

but who knows, symbian^3 for nokia 5800xm... nokia is unpredictable nowadays...

Added on June 29, 2010, 9:49 pmWARNING : if you want to try the pre-alpha. do it at your own risk. dont come crying if your phone cannot boot...

http://repo.meego.com/MeeGo/builds/1.0.80/...go-core-armv7l/

This post has been edited by jananan: Jun 29 2010, 09:49 PM
jananan
post Jun 29 2010, 10:19 PM

Android
1,513 posts

anyone wanna try ?

http://wiki.meego.com/ARM/N900/Install/Dual_Boot

i dont have microsd to try...

i have sold off my microsd, dont have any 2GB microSD. waiting for my new microSD to experiment...

1. it will not change your maemo on device

2. only need to install the apps needed, e.g. bootmenu

3. your n900 will have a boot menu if keyboard open during boot

4. remove and format your microsd and no more meego. no permanent changes...

5. or WAIT for the release tomorrow... haha...

Added on June 29, 2010, 10:20 pm
QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Jun 29 2010, 10:18 PM)
Steve jobs way of holding iphone haha
good one... haha...

This post has been edited by jananan: Jun 29 2010, 10:20 PM
jananan
post Jun 29 2010, 11:33 PM

Android
1,513 posts

QUOTE(super_evil_alien @ Jun 29 2010, 10:53 PM)
Symbiian 3 is impossible to run in 5800 since dedicated graphic required to run symbian 3 & 5800 don' have it.

N900 have 800 x 480 pixel which almost as many as iPhone 4(though iPhone4 use totally different technology).This is part of the reason for the heavy power consumption.

MeeGo 1.1 could be buggy as hell & probably early review will kill it but I still want to try it tongue.gif
some ppl are working on backporting symbian3. not entire os but just components. its still symbian, not much difference. symbian4 will be entirely different...

of cos we all wanna try meego even though it means our devices might crash and die... not die... i mean need reflashing... haha...

- sent via iPhone

Added on June 29, 2010, 11:34 pmi mean emulated iPhone browser on n900....

Added on June 29, 2010, 11:35 pmdont tell me japan going to go home empty handed...

Added on June 29, 2010, 11:45 pmit would be nice if our phone has 3 stage brightness, i dont have turn it so low. level 1 now. going blind...

3 stages, with user set time out. when actively using - level 3. when left alone 5 seconds - level 2. when left alone 15 seconds or more - level 1.

and the sensor too damn sensitive sometimes...

This post has been edited by jananan: Jun 29 2010, 11:45 PM
jananan
post Jun 30 2010, 01:22 AM

Android
1,513 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Jun 29 2010, 11:55 PM)
Yea better emulate mozilla. I already prepared a 2GB microsd card from my old E71. WIll try it when its out

- sent via iPhone 5GS
iPhone formatted pages have bigger easier to click buttons... and nice bold text. i am NOT saying iPhone is good. i am saying the web developers and programmer really did a good job to format the web for the iPhone. for example the facebook touch. nicer to use on n900 as well.

touch.facebook.com

try it !

Added on June 30, 2010, 1:25 am
QUOTE(blackrobin @ Jun 30 2010, 12:36 AM)
hmmmm i got one problem after 2 days of testing and even reflashing my device...i still couldn't figure it out...
my wifi connection after 10 minutes or so..just stop working... i mean my phone is still showing that it's connected... but it is as if there is no internet connection...so each time it happens i have to reconnect it..so annoying

i don't think my connection has any problem.
power saving mode is off ..sakit kepala la...i duno what's wrong..anyinsights?
i kena before with my 5800xm. incompatible / old router.

some old routers just go silent even though connected. u restart the router, reconnect and its ok. weird thing is, rj-45 connection works still. just wifi goes silent.

Added on June 30, 2010, 1:27 am
QUOTE(super_evil_alien @ Jun 29 2010, 11:48 PM)
Symbian porting could be very difficult.Most of the components are closed source.

Why emulate iPhone browser?Better emulate Mozilla.

Japan still 0-0 what.Still got chance.
Symbian^3 is open source. They have released the source code.

Added on June 30, 2010, 1:28 amthis is to ensure QT compatibility with Maemo/Meego. So u can develop in QT for 3 platforms.

Added on June 30, 2010, 1:31 am- sent via smoke signals

This post has been edited by jananan: Jun 30 2010, 01:31 AM
jananan
post Jun 30 2010, 04:13 PM

Android
1,513 posts

russian website.

http://translate.google.com/translate?js=y...F&sl=auto&tl=en

i dont know how true is this screenshot.

Added on June 30, 2010, 4:17 pmi sure hope they make the buttons bigger.... hard to call someone by hitting the correct buttons when the buttons are so small and the road bumpy when driving. using handsfree of course...

This post has been edited by jananan: Jun 30 2010, 04:17 PM
jananan
post Jun 30 2010, 08:34 PM

Android
1,513 posts

now need to create 2 threads in "Standard OS and other Specific Discussion" for n900...

one for maemo and one for meego... damn...

Added on June 30, 2010, 8:35 pm -sent via iPhone4.1 (enhanced reception fix)

This post has been edited by jananan: Jun 30 2010, 08:35 PM
jananan
post Jun 30 2010, 10:10 PM

Android
1,513 posts

QUOTE(Eiraku @ Jun 30 2010, 09:28 PM)
It means your battery is konked... Lol.

But really, BME (Maemo's power management daemon) doesn't really do the batt meter well to begin with, as it calculates percentage through voltage IINM rather than a true capacity reading.

That's why you have spikes and drops with the battery meter, so unless it's too unreliable and crazy (which means you have a flunky battery), the readings are normal.

And where got I expert... Noob only maa.
its hard to get battery readings unless there is a complex dedicated circuit on the battery itself. that means sacrificing space. i'd rather have battery with higher capacity than battery that does accurate readings.

for example, asus eee pc (some models). it has a dumb battery in certain models. the battery bar drops like 100% - 90 % - then suddenly 60% then 40%... it cant even calculate the percentage in between, (meaning u wont get like 45% remaining) jumps in 10-20% at a time. but the battery itself sure lasts damn long....

in most linux distro, the alert will say 5 minutes left, save your work, or charge, or prepare to lose ur data if u continue using.... but i can still get online for another 45 minutes or more...

when you are used to your device, you know how much charge left and how long it will last without the need for an accurate battery meter.

if nokia comes out with a battery that is 1500mah, with exactly same dimensions as the bl-5j but without accurate battery readings, i would be the first to buy it.
jananan
post Jun 30 2010, 10:21 PM

Android
1,513 posts

QUOTE(Patent @ Jun 30 2010, 10:14 PM)
ok...

as i was checking battery graph, i noticed that each time somewhere around 50% the battery will have a sudden drop down to 0%.

although theres no low battery notification when it reach 0%.
battery made up of multiple cells... like laptop 3 cell, 4 cell, 5 cell, 6 cell or 9 cell. depends on how its discharging the cells.
jananan
post Jun 30 2010, 10:25 PM

Android
1,513 posts

i miss the 1500 mah in my e61i... a long time ago...
jananan
post Jun 30 2010, 10:37 PM

Android
1,513 posts

if only mugen power 2400mah was cheaper and sold here...

i can only dream....
jananan
post Jun 30 2010, 10:47 PM

Android
1,513 posts

but nokia bl-5j is a good battery.

in my prev 5800xm, i charge almost once a day. already lasted more than 400 charges (i had it around 500 days) and sold it to someone and the battery still performing at 100%.

when they have compatible china n900 fake back covers in the market, i am thinking of buying another bl-5j play the swap game.

i dont think the frail plastic legs on the original cover can withstand changing popping in and out everyday... they should have made slide-in covers, better imho.

Added on June 30, 2010, 10:52 pm
QUOTE(super_evil_alien @ Jun 30 2010, 10:44 PM)
If only some scientist reduced the size of fuel cell battery...
portable hdd casing sized fuel cells devices, with 20,000 mah capacity and 2000mah rapid charging over usb... drool.gif drool.gif so that you devices charges to full capacity in just 20 minutes.

i think by the time they launch that we could be using meego 5.0 on nokia n9001...

http://www.physorg.com/news187554124.html

keep dreaming...

Added on June 30, 2010, 10:54 pm

Fuel Cell

USD$ 99 device and USD$10 for each refill stick...

no need to dream anymore...

Added on June 30, 2010, 10:56 pmi guess no need to dream anymore....

This post has been edited by jananan: Jun 30 2010, 10:56 PM
jananan
post Jul 1 2010, 02:19 AM

Android
1,513 posts

QUOTE(locolyric @ Jul 1 2010, 02:07 AM)
is there any program which can clean the root & swap page?

Added on July 1, 2010, 2:14 amjust found out the meego 1.1 have a totally different UI then maemo.

haven't try at all but feel maemo is better?
yea, meego = maemo 6 + moblin + whatever.
jananan
post Jul 1 2010, 02:32 AM

Android
1,513 posts

saw the screen shots and the youtube video

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EW5wpg5epMs

one word = fugly. i'll stick with maemo for now, thanks.

nokia, when is PR 1.3 coming ?

Added on July 1, 2010, 2:36 amlaggy & fugly. android-ish interface.

nothing like the meego tablet preview we saw earlier in youtube...

Added on July 1, 2010, 2:38 amunless arm meego looks totally different from moorestown meego, but i doubt that it will...

This post has been edited by jananan: Jul 1 2010, 02:38 AM
jananan
post Jul 1 2010, 07:18 AM

Android
1,513 posts

Known Issues and Workarounds

* X crash with lock screen

Description: Double tapping the lock button crashes X. Not always reproducible. Lock button is located under Home -> Apps -> second screen (slide to left) -> fourth icon.
Workaround: Please do not double-tap the lock button.
Bug 3375: Unlock screen crashes X by tapping lock icon

* White screen

Description: Tapping and dragging the top tool bar show white screen.
Workaround: On white screen, tap where the home button should be, and the UI reappears.
Bug 3289: [REG] White screen shows instead of drop down menu after tapping the system UI

* Home screen button only works once per application

Description: Home screen button works only once, clicking it second time has no response.
Workaround: Do not tap home screen button two times, or do not use it at all. Application switcher is still very buggy.
Bug 2600: [REG] No response when clicking application home button the second time

* Failure to connect to WiFi network crashes the settings application

Description: If establishing a connection to WiFi network fails, the settings application will crash.
Workaround: Re-launch the settings application from Home -> Settings (Second icon on bottom tool bar).
Bug 811: Click Failure network in WIFI network list can crash Settings

* Cannot return to ‘People’ application once other application is launched from it

Description: When an application is launched from the ‘People’ application, for example, from the SMS application launched by tapping on ‘SMS’ against a mobile phone number, there is no way to return to ‘People’ application.
Workaround: Close the newly launched application to return to the ‘People’ application.
Bug 3170: People: No way to return to People from SMS/Dialer/Email

* Scrolling (sliding) picture list to left/right shows two partial pictures

Description: In the ‘Pictures’ application, when sliding a picture to left/right, to see next/previous picture, it shows two partial pictures.
Workaround: Continue sliding in the same direction to view next/previous picture.
Bug 3532: [REG] Two incomplete photos showed simultaneously in the screen, when screen scrolled towards left/right side in photo view

* Clicking ‘All’ button pops contextual menu in ‘Pictures’

Description: A contextual menu pops up when ‘All’ button is clicked, to view all photos while browsing photos in the ‘Pictures’ application.
Workaround: Click outside the pop-up menu to make the pop-up go away.
Bug 3481: [Photo viewer] The contextual menu will be popped when click the "All" button in the title bar

* Text corruption with on-screen keyboard

Description: Tapping on the ‘Sym’ button three times garbles the button text on the on-screen keyboard.
Workaround: No known workaround. The keyboard is still functional, but it’s difficult to type when you can’t see the button text.
Bug 2645: Corruption of text of VKB in input field

* QT Fennec scrolling and orientation switching

Description: Switching orientation from landscape to portrait causes an issue where portions of the page extends off the right side of the screen. As a result the portion of the page and the control strip on the right side become not visible.
Workaround: No known workaround.
Bug 3452: QT Fennec doesn't recalculate scrolling size after orientation switching

Added on July 1, 2010, 7:35 amtqvm, but i dont want to get stuck with that. i'll wait for the RC1 at least.

Added on July 1, 2010, 7:40 am
QUOTE(jloi @ Jul 1 2010, 07:10 AM)
it is pretty cool actually and i kinda like it. give it sometime for improvement since it juz alpha stage
i dont believe nokia had any active part in designing the interface. this alpha version seems to be intel-only version.

probably intel just took the gsm / texting modules from nokia what coded so far and shoved it into their moorestown meego image.

lets hope developers still continue developing apps and stuff for maemo, as nokia promised with QT inter-operability.

but i dont see how QT is going to bridge so many platforms, at the expense of performance ?

This post has been edited by jananan: Jul 1 2010, 07:40 AM
jananan
post Jul 1 2010, 11:03 AM

Android
1,513 posts

QUOTE(PrideNeverDie @ Jul 1 2010, 10:34 AM)
despite the raw processing power and dedicated 3D graphics, such a shame that there is screen tearing when panning.

is this still true for pr 1.2?

thank
nah... its a smooth experience...

you can even edit the transitions.ini file to customize your own level of eye candy, from a bare minimum of 0.00 seconds delay to a full 3 second animation when ur opening menus and stuff...
jananan
post Jul 1 2010, 11:19 AM

Android
1,513 posts

http://www.eweek.com/c/a/Mobile-and-Wirele...h-iOS-4-118940/

why you should NEVER trust internet reviewers..

Added on July 1, 2010, 11:33 amand he forgot to add one more... IBM's Watson supercomputer runs smoothly with iOS4...

This post has been edited by jananan: Jul 1 2010, 11:33 AM

7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0496sec    0.81    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 04:10 AM