jananan
post Jul 21 2010, 03:02 PM

Android
1,513 posts

QUOTE(Eiraku @ Jul 21 2010, 02:33 PM)
Did that already.

Three times.

But to flash eMMC, the Flasher needs to start the phone to a point where it can mount the eMMC to be flashed. This is where it fails as the Flasher NEVER detects the eMMC, at all.

All three times. The phone seems to not be able to detect it either, thus sticking at the loading indicator (endless fsck).

Guess it's confirmed then, I'm the proud owner of the first fully and irreversibly bricked Malaysian N900. Now let's see if NCC can help with that. Anybody know NCC office hours are like how?
after flashing fiasco without -R, disconnect the usb cable and try this

run this command first, with the phone disconnected

flasher-3.5.exe -i

remove the battery, put battery back in, plug in back to the computer

see if it automatically detects... (flasher-3.5.exe -i causes it to wait for usb connectivity)

you might need to close the flasher app, using Ctrl+C to go back to dos prompt

if it had detected in the previous command, then flash the eMMC image using normal method

because if it detects the phone so that you can flash fiasco, then it should allow you to flash your eMMC as well.

as long the eMMC is not really damaged/dislodged that is...

Added on July 21, 2010, 3:09 pm
QUOTE(Gouki @ Jul 21 2010, 03:01 PM)
so how bad is the batt lifespan by average? 1 day? blush.gif
depends on what you do and how often you do it. for me...

continously online using wifi - maybe 3 - 4 hours on a full battery and 2 bars brightness.

online with flash heavy sites and youtube - maybe 2-3 hours only.

just using to play mp3 - more than 8 -12 hours, with the screen not activated of course

using a normal phone - without connecting to wifi/3G - can last more than a day of course...

if very less calls and sms and just left on standby most of the time - 2 days or more...

if heavy calls and sms - without wifi/3G - 7-8 hours usually

* results may vary...

but now i am using it a tablet only, no sim card inside... can last much longer...
(but not much different when i am online using wifi of course)

Added on July 21, 2010, 3:15 pmor try NSU (Nokia Software Updater)... it has an option to re-install firmware for the n900...

This post has been edited by jananan: Jul 21 2010, 03:15 PM
super_evil_alien
post Jul 21 2010, 03:21 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(Gouki @ Jul 21 2010, 02:44 PM)
how bad is the batt lifespan? 1 day?  unsure.gif
wow wow~ thats good~ i guess~ only let down is the screen~ 65k color and not multitouch~ anything else i need to take note about the pros n cons of n900?  tongue.gif
During weekdays(cause I'll be attending classes)
Fully charged at morning.About 2 hours of WiFi,few more hours of mp3,sms & calls + few levels of angry birds tongue.gif
Battery will be in 20 percent around 11pm.Roughly last for 1 day.

During weekends.
Last about 32++ hours cause I only use to call,sms & very2 light browsing only.

Battery life of N900 is slightly poor compared to other smartphone cause Nokia only provide 1320mA battery compared to other smartphone manufacturer which offers 1400mA - 1500mA batteries.

You can tinker with the CPU settings & power management to prolong the daily battery life though.
Gouki
post Jul 21 2010, 03:24 PM

Live Life Cool
6,659 posts

sounds reasonable to me~ well~ most likely i will only use it for msn, facebook, email and some light surfing when i am away from my pc or laptop~
coz i oredi have a n86 as my primary phone on maxis line~ this n900 is for my 2nd digi line~ which i will sign up the data plan for 3gb @ RM58 per month~ tongue.gif
TSaspire2oo6
post Jul 21 2010, 03:26 PM

Banned
35,468 posts

QUOTE(Gouki @ Jul 21 2010, 03:24 PM)
sounds reasonable to me~ well~ most likely i will only use it for msn, facebook, email and some light surfing when i am away from my pc or laptop~
coz i oredi have a n86 as my primary phone on maxis line~ this n900 is for my 2nd digi line~ which i will sign up the data plan for 3gb @ RM58 per month~  tongue.gif
the best part is i can browse youtube directly and when it load finish u can repeat it hehe
super_evil_alien
post Jul 21 2010, 03:27 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(Eiraku @ Jul 21 2010, 02:33 PM)
Did that already.

Three times.

But to flash eMMC, the Flasher needs to start the phone to a point where it can mount the eMMC to be flashed. This is where it fails as the Flasher NEVER detects the eMMC, at all.

All three times. The phone seems to not be able to detect it either, thus sticking at the loading indicator (endless fsck).

Guess it's confirmed then, I'm the proud owner of the first fully and irreversibly bricked Malaysian N900. Now let's see if NCC can help with that. Anybody know NCC office hours are like how?
From what you're saying you can flash rootfs but not eMMC?

Like jananan said,this looks like dislodged eMMC problem now.You did mention last time that your N900 dropped quite a few times right?Since you already operated your phone,perhaps it's time for the 2nd round of operation to fix the eMMC.

Added on July 21, 2010, 3:28 pm
QUOTE(Gouki @ Jul 21 2010, 03:24 PM)
coz i oredi have a n86 as my primary phone on maxis line~ this n900 is for my 2nd digi line~ which i will sign up the data plan for 3gb @ RM58 per month~  tongue.gif
DiGi line is actually unlimited.
After you reach 3GB quota you don't need to pay anything extra.It's just your internet speed will be downgraded to 2.5G

This post has been edited by super_evil_alien: Jul 21 2010, 03:28 PM
lee0125
post Jul 21 2010, 03:30 PM

161 posts

QUOTE(Gouki @ Jul 21 2010, 04:01 PM)
so how bad is the batt lifespan by average? 1 day? blush.gif
well, it depends on how you use your phone.

If i am free for the day to surf and play angrybird, the battery may last only half day.

For normal use, 20 minutes average call per day, 30 minutes facebooking and checking my online stock, the battery can last for 1.5 day.

I have no success to break 2 days (48 hours).
Gouki
post Jul 21 2010, 03:31 PM

Live Life Cool
6,659 posts

QUOTE(super_evil_alien @ Jul 21 2010, 03:27 PM)
From what you're saying you can flash rootfs but not eMMC?

Like jananan said,this looks like dislodged eMMC problem now.You did mention last time that your N900 dropped quite a few times right?Since you already operated your phone,perhaps it's time for the 2nd round of operation to fix the eMMC.

Added on July 21, 2010, 3:28 pm
DiGi line is actually unlimited.
After you reach 3GB quota you don't need to pay anything extra.It's just your internet speed will be downgraded to 2.5G
oh cool~ but how often anyone can finish up the 3gb quota? tongue.gif
thats why i am still planning to get a 2nd phone dedicated for mobile internet on digi line~ as calls and sms only done on my primary maxis line~ smile.gif
TSaspire2oo6
post Jul 21 2010, 03:32 PM

Banned
35,468 posts

QUOTE(Gouki @ Jul 21 2010, 03:31 PM)
thats why i am still planning to get a 2nd phone dedicated for mobile internet on digi line~ as calls and sms only done on my primary maxis line~ smile.gif
if u browse alot youtube and know how to get your music for me 3GB is not enough
super_evil_alien
post Jul 21 2010, 03:35 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(Gouki @ Jul 21 2010, 03:31 PM)
Come stay with me for 1 day & I'll show you.
Sometimes I can use 3GB in 1 day.Max 1 week tops.
Since you can use N900 as modem(rather easily) I'll leech out the bandwidth in any method I can.
Gouki
post Jul 21 2010, 03:36 PM

Live Life Cool
6,659 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Jul 21 2010, 03:32 PM)
if u browse alot youtube and know how to get your music for me 3GB is not enough
nah~ heavy internet usage still leave it to the pc/laptop at home~ i just one a smartphone where can do mobile internet like facebook, msn, twitter, and surfing~ thats all~ tongue.gif

Added on July 21, 2010, 3:39 pm
QUOTE(super_evil_alien @ Jul 21 2010, 03:35 PM)
Come stay with me for 1 day & I'll show you.
Sometimes I can use 3GB in 1 day.Max 1 week tops.
Since you can use N900 as modem(rather easily) I'll leech out the bandwidth in any method I can.
hahaha~ i am not that heavy user when i am outside on the go~ just wanna keep in touch with my IM, facebook and forums~ thats all~ tongue.gif

so this n900 is tempting eh~ what else i need to know before i get one this weekend? biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by Gouki: Jul 21 2010, 03:39 PM
Andy214
post Jul 21 2010, 03:44 PM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(super_evil_alien @ Jul 21 2010, 01:59 PM)
Nokia refrain themselves when Apple commented on others phone reception cause Apple didn't name Nokia directly.Now Apple has demoed N97 mini antenna reception.Time to Nokia to pwn Apple kaw2.
See how hard they hold the N97 and how long it take to drop the bars. Seriously, who will hold it so tightly and so uncomfortable that it's also hard to press keys? It's lame and stupid.

They waste so many time to research and discover this? They don't have anything better to do? Why not find real solution for their iPhone4? Instead of trying to find faults on others.

I seriously think that Jobs is just a marketing/sales person, NOT the genius/person behind the product. He keep finding lame excuses and cheap tricks such as this. OMG. I also wonder if the iPhone4 is really their invention... Maybe it's entirely FoxConn invention, Apple just took the name and rebrand it; LoL, after all, if it was brand by FoxConn, it will not get repuration, but if branded under Apple, it's a total different story, like the joke, Apple could use a brick and call it an iPhone, it will sell. "I don't care. It is the coolest phone". This might explain why they don't know about their phone and don't know how to answer questions which results to giving lame excuses?
Seriously, resulting in such cheap tricks, that's really sounded like some marketing/sales person who talk rubbish/kok to the Customers, and only dumb Customers/budak-kipas will buy it.

QUOTE(Gouki @ Jul 21 2010, 02:44 PM)
how bad is the batt lifespan? 1 day?  unsure.gif
wow wow~ thats good~ i guess~ only let down is the screen~ 65k color and not multitouch~ anything else i need to take note about the pros n cons of n900?  tongue.gif
I wonder. Firstly, you should take a look at the N900; Then decide whether you care about the colour.

Multi-touch?
It depends on whether you really need this feature (although it doesn't mean Resistive touch can't support this feature).
Those capacitive touch screen, you can't use finger-nails, pen, stylus, etc. and there is no pressure sensitivity, it's super sensitive.
Multi-touch is only really useful for gaming. For web browsing, it's no really that important; If you can use fingernails or stylus, there's no need to waste time to zoom in out, and no need to worry keep touching the wrong link especially if you have big fingers.

Finally, make sure you know what you're getting. The N900 lacks many of the phone features (e.g. contacts grouping, ringtone assignments, etc). It's a very powerful device, but if the user don't know how to utilize it, it may not utlilize it's potential. Just like buying a manual trans sports car, but the driver is a automatic transmission driver and always drive slowly, it's not the car's fault.
If you can learn and utilize this phone, have a little patience (it's like a PC after all), then you will discover many wonderful things on this phone that is not available on most (if not all) of the phones available today.

This post has been edited by Andy214: Jul 21 2010, 03:47 PM
super_evil_alien
post Jul 21 2010, 03:58 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

About multitouch on N900,
I think we'll be better off with simple tap & zoom.Much easier to browse that way.
But of course for games this will be useful.Some game writers managed to get around the multi touch tough.For example SPiN.It's actually multitouch game for Iphone but works just as well on N900.

btw,contacts grouping & ringtone on the way.
Individual ringtone already available but need some tweaks.
Gouki
post Jul 21 2010, 04:05 PM

Live Life Cool
6,659 posts

QUOTE(Andy214 @ Jul 21 2010, 03:44 PM)
I wonder. Firstly, you should take a look at the N900; Then decide whether you care about the colour.

Multi-touch?
It depends on whether you really need this feature (although it doesn't mean Resistive touch can't support this feature).
Those capacitive touch screen, you can't use finger-nails, pen, stylus, etc. and there is no pressure sensitivity, it's super sensitive.
Multi-touch is only really useful for gaming. For web browsing, it's no really that important; If you can use fingernails or stylus, there's no need to waste time to zoom in out, and no need to worry keep touching the wrong link especially if you have big fingers.

Finally, make sure you know what you're getting. The N900 lacks many of the phone features (e.g. contacts grouping, ringtone assignments, etc). It's a very powerful device, but if the user don't know how to utilize it, it may not utlilize it's potential. Just like buying a manual trans sports car, but the driver is a automatic transmission driver and always drive slowly, it's not the car's fault.
If you can learn and utilize this phone, have a little patience (it's like a PC after all), then you will discover many wonderful things on this phone that is not available on most (if not all) of the phones available today.
iphone is a joke without their apps~ tongue.gif

well~ at the moment i am reading forums, reviews and specs on this n900~ so i not sure if the 65k and 16mil color screen make much diff anyway~
as i said. i need a smartphone where i can do mobile internet when i am outside~ since this phone wont be my primary phone~ phone calls and sms will be at its minimum coz not much ppl know this digi lien anyway~ so do tell me whats the missing things in this n900 i need to take note if i can live with it~ thx~ biggrin.gif

QUOTE(super_evil_alien @ Jul 21 2010, 03:58 PM)
I think we'll be better off with simple tap & zoom.Much easier to browse that way.
But of course for games this will be useful.Some game writers managed to get around the multi touch tough.For example SPiN.It's actually multitouch game for Iphone but works just as well on N900.

icic~ so i guess the maemo OS is still has plenty of room to mature eh? great~ thumbup.gif
cloud8318
post Jul 21 2010, 04:05 PM

7 stars still not enough lah!!!!
4,016 posts

QUOTE(super_evil_alien @ Jul 21 2010, 03:58 PM)

that's nice...hoping the Auto redial on the way too thumbup.gif
super_evil_alien
post Jul 21 2010, 04:09 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(Gouki @ Jul 21 2010, 04:05 PM)
icic~ so i guess the maemo OS is still has plenty of room to mature eh? great~ thumbup.gif
We may be a very small community but our combined ideas are larger than iPhone communities put together.

The guys at maemo talk are doing great job with the apps & enhancement.

QUOTE(cloud8318 @ Jul 21 2010, 04:05 PM)
that's nice...hoping the Auto redial on the way too thumbup.gif
Are you guys that lazy? doh.gif
Just redial manually laugh.gif laugh.gif
angelbratz
post Jul 21 2010, 04:14 PM

Same Shit Different Day
539 posts

Any Idea how much is the N900 Screen Cost??? Just the Screen Cover...The layer where the Touchscreen is....that we are protecting it with the SP....
Gouki
post Jul 21 2010, 04:15 PM

Live Life Cool
6,659 posts

QUOTE(super_evil_alien @ Jul 21 2010, 04:09 PM)
We may be a very small community but our combined ideas are larger than iPhone communities put together.

The guys at maemo talk are doing great job with the apps & enhancement.
Are you guys that lazy? doh.gif
Just redial manually laugh.gif  laugh.gif
so anything lacking in the n900 i need to take note since i'm not that familiar with maemo~ blush.gif
TSaspire2oo6
post Jul 21 2010, 04:15 PM

Banned
35,468 posts

Since i been too used to nokia n900 and all other phones

When i used iphone in was like huh this phone is boring without application.
But why i kinda like about iphone is when u run apps there totally no lag

Added on July 21, 2010, 4:17 pm
QUOTE(Gouki @ Jul 21 2010, 04:15 PM)
so anything lacking in the n900 i need to take note since i'm not that familiar with maemo~ blush.gif
The buying guide is on the frontpage and if ure not really a techy person buy original we can only share more with u after u jump into our boat

Good luck and we look forward for u to join us

This post has been edited by aspire2oo6: Jul 21 2010, 04:17 PM
Gouki
post Jul 21 2010, 04:20 PM

Live Life Cool
6,659 posts

u mean original zitron set? unsure.gif
TSaspire2oo6
post Jul 21 2010, 04:23 PM

Banned
35,468 posts

QUOTE(Gouki @ Jul 21 2010, 04:20 PM)
u mean original zitron set? unsure.gif
Yeap. because not many technician know how to fix N900 and some lack of share part due to the demand of the phone

138 Pages « < 133 134 135 136 137 > » Top

0.0272sec    0.58    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 07:06 AM