138 Pages « < 120 121 122 123 124 > » Bottom

Nokia N900 Thread V3, Where Tablet meets Mobile Phones

blackrobin
post Jul 16 2010, 03:40 AM

semi-hardcore mobile enthusiast!!
998 posts

yea 250 Mhz is laggy when do scrolling..that.s y opted 500..trying new thing nw..running ideal 850 with smart reflex enabled..only vdd 1 though coz really unstable with both 1 n 2 enabled..at 900 it crashes even on vdd1..
i read around it help to maintain battery life more when the phone is idle.ie locked..still testing it..

This post has been edited by blackrobin: Jul 16 2010, 03:41 AM
SUSgogo2
post Jul 16 2010, 08:03 AM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(Eiraku @ Jul 16 2010, 01:57 AM)
How crippled? Lets see:

1) No contact grouping
2) No per caller ringtone
3) No 3G video calling
4) Phone app sometimes screws up while you're doing a lot of things (lags and freezes = missed call)
5) No speed dialing
6) No voice dialing

There's some more, but those are the major problems, although an app called MyContact solves the first two problems (and number 6) and the forth one, well, is dependent on how heavily you load the N900 and if you're OverClocked (you can REALLY, REALLY multi-task on the N900 after all).

But speaker phone is KINDA loud (only a little lower volume compared to the 5800/N97, though it sucks in the car) and ring tone is loud enough IMHO.

And voice is ok, no real problems on that front unless you are in an area with bad reception (like all other phones). It's not as good as some newer phones with double microphones and noise cancellation though (Droid/Milestone and Nexus One).

@jananan: sorry bro, fast typing on N900 at late night + ngantuk = typos galore.
hey, thank you... I really appreciate this...

Right now, I'm using Winmo Acer DX900. The phone reception, speaker, calling quality I think is pretty bad.. IMHO...
will reconsider N900 now...
3rotor
post Jul 16 2010, 09:03 AM

27 posts

Hello guys, i have problem overclocking my n900, my phone has the latest PR 1.2, i followed the overclock guide pinned on the first page "Overclocking your Nokia N900 (Titan Kernel)", had installed rootsh, transfered the zImage800.fiasco file to the root directory of the phone, but when i run it through x-terminal the file couldn't be found.

btw i don't have a micro sd card in my phone, so the file was saved in the phone instead of the micro sd card, could this be the problem ?
TSaspire2oo6
post Jul 16 2010, 09:06 AM

Banned
35,468 posts

Maybe the other forumer didnt mention

Processor = Fast
Virtual Ram = 768mb
3D hardware accelerator

and when it comes to browsing website u will love every moment of it. Most website flash can load. can do online banking, can book movies, can watch market shares, can load near to any video format without conversation except HD and MKV format.

U can even online your msn,yahoo,google etc within while surfing with no lag.

Can load youtube website and let it load finish then let it replay without loading all over again

Can check html email on the go except when i forward i cant remove the forwarded msg only sigh

The phone have a stand

Added on July 16, 2010, 9:10 am
QUOTE(3rotor @ Jul 16 2010, 09:03 AM)
Hello guys, i have problem overclocking my n900, my phone has the latest PR 1.2, i followed the overclock guide pinned on the first page "Overclocking your Nokia N900 (Titan Kernel)", had installed rootsh, transfered the zImage800.fiasco file to the root directory of the phone, but when i run it through x-terminal the file couldn't be found.

btw i don't have a micro sd card in my phone, so the file was saved in the phone instead of the micro sd card, could this be the problem ?
The tutorial 100% works maybe u mistype something somewhere so i recommend u

Step 1) Create a notepad from your computer
Step 2 ) Paste the command code into the text file.
Step 3) Copy it into your n900
Step 4) Access your file manager and go to the text file
Step 5) Highlight the code from the text file and press ctrl + C
Step 6) Access your x-terminal > type root > then go to the top tab it and press paste and enter

Hope this helps because x-terminal is case sensitive 1 error means wrong

This post has been edited by aspire2oo6: Jul 16 2010, 09:10 AM
jloi
post Jul 16 2010, 09:28 AM

SHIN-EVOLTO
3,989 posts

QUOTE(angelbratz @ Jul 16 2010, 02:22 AM)
Oh yea...For games...Old School.... >.<

I installed ScummVM..
1. Curse of the Monkey Island
2. Full Throttle
3. Loom
4. Leisure suit Larry
5. Day of the Tentacle

Psx4all
1. Final fantasy 7

So far for now those are the games that killed my time... until i finish them then only install other games...
how do u install PS game? i got d psx4all but dunno how to insert game
3rotor
post Jul 16 2010, 09:28 AM

27 posts

successfully overclocked to 800mhz~! i didn't noticed there was a "space" between "update" and "/home/" until i copy n paste it into a notepad and double checked it, streaming youtube is a lot smoother now, thaks aspire2oo6 thumbup.gif
TSaspire2oo6
post Jul 16 2010, 10:08 AM

Banned
35,468 posts

QUOTE(jloi @ Jul 16 2010, 09:28 AM)
how do u install PS game? i got d psx4all but dunno how to insert game
i am sorry about your car. Is your car consider as total lost? or estimate repairs around how much? Is the photos taken by nokia n900?
Augus7
post Jul 16 2010, 10:23 AM

Council
698 posts

1. is there any overclock that can downclock when idle(ie: battery efficient)? or the guide in the first page is the best there is?
2. gt problem with wifi where i need to setup first whereas my other friends ipod and n97 can jus connect straight to the wifi. how do i skip the setup? its the kind of setup where u can either use the pin method or press a button at the router method.
TSaspire2oo6
post Jul 16 2010, 10:26 AM

Banned
35,468 posts

QUOTE(Augus7 @ Jul 16 2010, 10:23 AM)
1. is there any overclock that can downclock when idle(ie: battery efficient)? or the guide in the first page is the best there is?
2. gt problem with wifi where i need to setup first whereas my other friends ipod and n97 can jus connect straight to the wifi. how do i skip the setup? its the kind of setup where u can either use the pin method or press a button at the router method.
1. For me its the most idle. There are others as well but too many customization
2. This is a bug at certain router. I stop having such error after i update to PR1.2
To overcome this bug all u need to do is to set it manually
cloud8318
post Jul 16 2010, 10:37 AM

7 stars still not enough lah!!!!
4,016 posts

hey guy
is there any after market high capacity battery for N900 available in malaysia, where can i get one?

This post has been edited by cloud8318: Jul 16 2010, 10:38 AM
TSaspire2oo6
post Jul 16 2010, 10:41 AM

Banned
35,468 posts

High capacity battery = YES available

Reliable = No
drexar
post Jul 16 2010, 10:43 AM

Drexar21.my
718 posts

guys just asking around.. what is the best Twitter aps for our N900 right now?

I'm currently using Hahlo smile.gif
cloud8318
post Jul 16 2010, 11:37 AM

4,016 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Jul 16 2010, 10:41 AM)
High capacity battery = YES available

Reliable = No
can provide some name.....which should i avoid?
boonping
post Jul 16 2010, 11:46 AM

85 posts

Hi anyone here is using sygic?May I know how do I get the product code to activate it.Thanks
Eiraku
post Jul 16 2010, 11:49 AM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(Augus7 @ Jul 16 2010, 10:23 AM)
Of course, check the Maemo.org overclock wiki for a script that underclocks automatically when the N900 is locked. But it makes things laggy from my research.

Other than that, you can install Titan's kernel and kernel settings from AppMan (the guide up front is for lehto's kernel actually, but yes it's the easiest) and tweak the low-high CPU limits and voltages yourself for best battery life, as every N900 is unique when it comes to OC tweaking. But it takes some work and a lot of reading up on the Maemo website.

Also, if you don't have any apps running in the back when locked, the N900 runs at 0mhz anyway - whatever OC method you use.

QUOTE(drexar @ Jul 16 2010, 10:43 AM)
guys just asking around.. what is the best Twitter aps for our N900 right now?

I'm currently using Hahlo smile.gif
Witter. It's got a smexy portrait keyboard hey! There's also the smoother looking Tweetgo. Mauku also does twitter.

But stay away from the Twitter plugin for the internal conversation app. It has a cpu eating bug, as for now.

@Cloud3818: Actually the only REAL high-cap battery is the Mugen Power one, and it's only available online. The local high cap ones are usually crap.

You're better off with a USB battery pack if you wanna extend battery life without battery swapping, IMHO.

This post has been edited by Eiraku: Jul 16 2010, 11:52 AM
acat
post Jul 16 2010, 11:52 AM

312 posts

damn. my battery now cant stand for long time. usually i charged my n900 at night, but by morning the battery almost empty. is this because of the battery or maybe there is some bug that sucked up my battery even im not using it?

This post has been edited by acat: Jul 16 2010, 11:52 AM
Eiraku
post Jul 16 2010, 11:57 AM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(acat @ Jul 16 2010, 11:52 AM)
damn. my battery now cant stand for long time. usually i charged my n900 at night, but by morning the battery almost empty. is this because of the battery or maybe there is some bug that sucked up my battery even im not using it?
Either you have a busted battery or a buggy widget somewhere sucking up juice. Do check. You have autodiscon installed? It does help battery life a lot.
acat
post Jul 16 2010, 12:04 PM

312 posts

nope. i did not install any widget. autodisconnect does help battery life a lot IF im using wifi or 3G right? but im not connecting to any other wifi or 3G this week. hmm.gif
jananan
post Jul 16 2010, 12:14 PM

Android
1,513 posts

QUOTE(acat @ Jul 16 2010, 12:04 PM)
nope. i did not install any widget. autodisconnect does help battery life a lot IF im using wifi or 3G right? but im not connecting to any other wifi or 3G this week.  hmm.gif
install conky or htop and monitor what processes/threads use up the processor.

if you have a lot of media, it could be indexing. that takes a long time, the tracker

backup your stuff, reflash fiasco and emmc, that will solve it for sure. sometimes rogue processes are not killed off when u uninstall / disable stuff.
cloud8318
post Jul 16 2010, 12:15 PM

4,016 posts

QUOTE(Eiraku @ Jul 16 2010, 11:49 AM)

@Cloud3818: Actually the only REAL high-cap battery is the Mugen Power one, and it's only available online. The local high cap ones are usually crap.

You're better off with a USB battery pack if you wanna extend battery life without battery swapping, IMHO.
after some search....i found Mugen have an 2400mAh battery....but the battery size is huge....the package come with extra cover for N900 that make the N900 crazy huge in size.... sweat.gif

do u mean the Genuine NOKIA Extra Power DC-11..... but i read from the nokia website...it only have 500mAh!!...while stock BL-5J is 1320 mAh....is it worth pay RM2xx for DC-11?

138 Pages « < 120 121 122 123 124 > » Top

0.0295sec    0.61    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 05:22 PM