Nokia N900 Thread V3, Where Tablet meets Mobile Phones

jananan
post Jul 16 2010, 05:59 PM

Android
1,513 posts

QUOTE(acks2257 @ Jul 16 2010, 05:54 PM)
i think its not how it work.. this is something like dc-11, i think it come with an internal battery.. but its solar charged..
i mean the internal battery will get damaged as well if u leave it out in the sun.

those kind of solar ext batteries also come with adapter, u can use it as a normal ext battery.

solar only for emergency cases, not for daily use.
locolyric
post Jul 16 2010, 06:11 PM

185 posts

QUOTE(lun1986 @ Jul 16 2010, 03:42 PM)
can anyone help me ??
i update my phone last nite by automatic(Access it thru your app manager, Menu > App manager > Update), then i wen to sleep (coz it took several).
wen i wake up tis morning, my phone like tis d....

[attachmentid=1678705][attachmentid=1678706][attachmentid=1678707]

all sifu,how i can restore it....
use the manual method Firmwares Updates on post #2??
hi, i do have the same problem with you last time. after i restore my back up and it turn up like this.

Just re-flash again and don't do any application restore then everything will be fine.
jananan
post Jul 16 2010, 06:19 PM

Android
1,513 posts

QUOTE(locolyric @ Jul 16 2010, 06:11 PM)
hi, i do have the same problem with you last time. after i restore my back up and it turn up like this.

Just re-flash again and don't do any application restore then everything will be fine.
i dont think backing up application/settings will work on any smartphone OS.

only backup/restore items such as contacts, calendar, media files.

restoring the rest will cause conflicts with newer versions of files/settings from the new firmware.

even applications that are installed on older firmware, might be linked to older versions of system libs, thus restoring the apps might not work.

always reinstall apps when update/reload firmware. same like any desktop OS as well, u cant expect to delete c:\windows folder and reload windows only and expect stuff in c:\program files to just magically work.

even if it works when u restore apps and settings like that, usually hildon-desktop or hildon-status or widgeting will use more processing % and consume battery.

Added on July 16, 2010, 6:44 pmtime for angry bird... again...

This post has been edited by jananan: Jul 16 2010, 06:44 PM
lun1986
post Jul 16 2010, 07:16 PM

939 posts

QUOTE(locolyric @ Jul 16 2010, 06:11 PM)

how do u restore it?? simply way is much more better....
thank you.
jananan
post Jul 16 2010, 07:17 PM

Android
1,513 posts

with my modded split-y usb cable, the command "hal-device bme" output is

maemo.charger.type = 'wall charger'

with normal usb cable, the command "hal-device bme" output is

maemo.charger.type = 'host 500mA'

takes about 90-110 minutes charging a flat battery with the modded cable, charging while the device is switched on. i guess its charging with 500mA + 500mA = 1000mA

almost same like the wall charger i would say... nokia wall charger is 1200mA

Added on July 16, 2010, 7:43 pmhttp://www.energizer.com/products/energi-to-go/Pages/cell-battery-charger.aspx

this looks small and pocketable. also it would work with my sanyo eneloops...

http://www.ladyada.net/make/mintyboost/process.html

or you can try this... i can tell you that AA portable chargers are powerful. because AA batteries have high mAh even though lower voltage.

Added on July 16, 2010, 7:53 pmand how about this ?

http://cgi.ebay.com.sg/Micro-USB-Emergency...y-/320530322851

This post has been edited by jananan: Jul 16 2010, 07:53 PM
locolyric
post Jul 16 2010, 08:25 PM

185 posts

QUOTE(lun1986 @ Jul 16 2010, 07:16 PM)
how do u restore it?? simply way is much more better....
thank you.
i didn't restore using the backup files.

i thought i need to install one by one in app manager.
but i saw the restore application.

and the app manager help me to download all my previous apps in one shot.
TSaspire2oo6
post Jul 16 2010, 08:32 PM

Banned
35,468 posts

guys angrybirds got new update for nokia n900

This post has been edited by aspire2oo6: Jul 16 2010, 08:32 PM
cloud8318
post Jul 16 2010, 08:34 PM

7 stars still not enough lah!!!!
4,016 posts

QUOTE(Eiraku @ Jul 16 2010, 05:49 PM)
Thus the 1000ma output Just Mobile Gum Being the better choice, as everything else I know of ONLY outputs 500ma = would only charge effectively if the phone is idle.

But even then, it's still nowhere as fast as the wall charger, although by using USB packs the effective running time of the phone gets extended by a few long hours (phone draws power more from USB charger than internal battery.

@cloud3818: Just get what you need. The XP2000 is good for a full charge up (not completely though) and the XP4000 is good for 2x that.

Anyhow, enough of that. I just got my Otterbox, and from what I'm seeing so far, it's worth every sen.

Main issues:

1) Had to korek my own lanyard/strap hole (actually made a mistake and made 2)
2) The top part of the keyboard (the small strip of empty space) now has been blocked by the thick top cover (the top row is now slightly harder to type with).
3) The unlock slider and stylus is harder to access.
4) Provided screen protector looks cheap.

... but everything else is top notch, especially in terms of design. It's actually not just stupidly mahal branded rubberised case + silicone liner. The seams are actually designed to make sure that the part that clips onto the top part never interferes with the one that clips onto the bottom (the main cause of hard case clip breakage).

Gonna use for a while before I go and give it a full on review, but I'm liking it so far.
note....i'll try with the XP2000 first.... thumbup.gif .....or maybe the XP4001 if available....hope i'll be able find it at ipoh.. laugh.gif
thanks for all the info

wah.....Otterbox....nice...can post some picture of N900 wearing the Otterbox.... drool.gif
is the Otterbox make the LCD difficult to slide?
BTW how much u pay for the Otterbox....RM120?

This post has been edited by cloud8318: Jul 16 2010, 08:37 PM
Eiraku
post Jul 16 2010, 09:30 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(cloud8318 @ Jul 16 2010, 08:34 PM)
note....i'll try with the XP2000 first.... thumbup.gif .....or maybe the XP4001 if available....hope i'll be able find it at ipoh.. laugh.gif
thanks for all the info

wah.....Otterbox....nice...can post some picture of N900 wearing the Otterbox.... drool.gif
is the Otterbox make the LCD difficult to slide?
BTW how much u pay for the Otterbox....RM120?
No noticeable added friction when sliding at all (although my N900 is deliberately hard to slide to begin with as I've modded the slider mech). And it's RM95-ish including postage from ebay, not cheap, but with the no-go of the resin case, what other option do I have (that doesn't regularly break like the Epik Rubber case)?

Will posts pics later when I do the full on review in a few days.

One thing I can tell you though, because it's made to securely fit on your N900, it takes a lot of effort to pull off once you have it on - to the point that an external battery of some sort becomes a must (pulling it off to put your spare BL5J takes so much freakin work that it's annoying).
cloud8318
post Jul 17 2010, 12:06 AM

7 stars still not enough lah!!!!
4,016 posts

QUOTE(Eiraku @ Jul 16 2010, 09:30 PM)
No noticeable added friction when sliding at all (although my N900 is deliberately hard to slide to begin with as I've modded the slider mech). And it's RM95-ish including postage from ebay, not cheap, but with the no-go of the resin case, what other option do I have (that doesn't regularly break like the Epik Rubber case)?

Will posts pics later when I do the full on review in a few days.

One thing I can tell you though, because it's made to securely fit on your N900, it takes a lot of effort to pull off once you have it on - to the point that an external battery of some sort becomes a must (pulling it off to put your spare BL5J takes so much freakin work that it's annoying).
actually RM95 including postage is cheep...compare i found at LYN selling at RM120 plus RM5 postage Link
BTW the Otterbox u bought is Commuter-Series right? wonder will the DEFENDER Series availsble for N900 soon... hmm.gif
what is the different between DEFENDER Series and Commuter-Series... hmm.gif

yes agree.....sliding phone will always difficult put the case on the phone....as long as the case didn't effect the motion of slider...that's a good job from manufacturer side

to be honest....even open the ORI back cover is an hard job for me, not to mention add Otterbox on it... sweat.gif

hopefully won't take to long for ur Otterbox full review....sure kena poison after read ur review... laugh.gif ...oh PLS DO NOT include those carzy act as the video below shakehead.gif
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ztc4LMImw7s
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2egoH96q4Hg

oh yeah....almost forget this is my first post as proud N900 owner (just receive N900 from the seller@ 10:00pm)
take almost 10min to make first call when COD sweat.gif

@aspire2oo6
pls add me on the owner list, thanks
jloi
post Jul 17 2010, 12:16 AM

SHIN-EVOLTO
3,989 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Jul 16 2010, 08:32 PM)
guys angrybirds got new update for nokia n900

cant play since i din buy from ovi store T_T
ongte
post Jul 17 2010, 12:31 AM

102 posts

just updated to the latest angrybirds 1.3.4. but i can't access the new levels 2 & 3. it shows ovi store icon, i clicked on it & it says item no longer available. How did u get yours aspire?
juven69
post Jul 17 2010, 01:06 AM

93 posts

huff i updated my angry bird then i can't play the level 2 again :cry
now my angry bird level pack 1 useless sad.gif
blackrobin
post Jul 17 2010, 01:44 AM

semi-hardcore mobile enthusiast!!
998 posts

well i've changde back to n900 as my phone..i was missing the joy of using the keyboard and the large screen estate..love the tactile feeling..

smart reflex is really unstable..esp when the cpu is working hard..ended up disabling it..nw on starving profile lo..

This post has been edited by blackrobin: Jul 17 2010, 03:21 AM
acat
post Jul 17 2010, 08:10 AM

312 posts

QUOTE(Andy214 @ Jul 16 2010, 04:49 PM)
What about your phone? Do you install System Info Widget to see the processor usage?
Or use HTOP, click on the CPU part, see which processes is running high on usage constantly.
Sometimes I face this, the battery drain very fast and notice some processes is running high and the phone is hot.

If you suspect your battery and if you have spare battery or have other phone which uses the same battery, you can try swapping to test.
thanks for helping andy smile.gif
i run conky, and my processor usage is below 5%. after full recharge (last night) i leave it for a while for 2 hours (idle mode), and my battery drop to 1/4 of bar.

i do not own any nokia model that using same battery as n900 so cant do swapping. (now i cant only hoping the pickpocket who stole my nokia 5800 got accident and go straight to hell vmad.gif )

by the way, i think the OS is corrupted. whenever i try to scan for network (wifi/3g) it hang there with loading animation. i was waiting about 10-15minutes for scanning result to appear, but no luck. same happened to file manager, i try to access my file from file manager (default), but it hang. then i try to end task, also cant. but when im using CuteManager to access, it shows no problem. weird, huh? tongue.gif

This post has been edited by acat: Jul 17 2010, 08:16 AM
ynneb25
post Jul 17 2010, 10:39 AM

Does ur eye hurt? :P
708 posts

Apparently, last night my phone went haywire & called ppl while charging. My bill is now RM300+ & lots of ppl are calling me asking why i called them in the middle of the night......grrrr

anyone else experience this problem?

the worst part is, those outgoing calls don't even show up on the phone

This post has been edited by ynneb25: Jul 17 2010, 10:39 AM
asidz13
post Jul 17 2010, 10:43 AM

154 posts

hi aspire2oo6,

add me to the list. just got phone from moon(lowyat seller) yesterday biggrin.gif
chkhoo76
post Jul 17 2010, 11:23 AM

Techie from Earth
1,245 posts

QUOTE(asidz13 @ Jul 17 2010, 10:43 AM)
hi aspire2oo6,

add me to the list. just got phone from moon(lowyat seller) yesterday biggrin.gif
Welcome to N900. me also newbie with N900 biggrin.gif

Josh_M
post Jul 17 2010, 11:31 AM

1,604 posts

QUOTE(ynneb25 @ Jul 17 2010, 10:39 AM)
Apparently, last night my phone went haywire & called ppl while charging. My bill is now RM300+ & lots of ppl are calling me asking why i called them in the middle of the night......grrrr

anyone else experience this problem?

the worst part is, those outgoing calls don't even show up on the phone
this is a bit serious issue. did u install any new software..
ongte
post Jul 17 2010, 12:44 PM

102 posts

QUOTE(juven69 @ Jul 17 2010, 01:06 AM)
huff i updated my angry bird then i can't play the level 2 again :cry
now my angry bird level pack 1 useless sad.gif
Actually Level Pack 1 is still there. It's in Level 1 - Poached Eggs. Just swipe to switch pages.

I'm asking aspire how come his screenshot shows 2 & 3 available while mine just shows an Ovi Store icon.

138 Pages « < 122 123 124 125 126 > » Top

0.0307sec    0.49    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 03:45 PM