Safe Trader
17,500 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jul 4 2024, 11:36 AM)
Use IDD calls. Cheap.
is it?

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Jul 4 2024, 11:39 AM)
Banks always like this...

But when it's involved CC or something they needed (especially money related)... Very fast they communicate with you
i guess so.

QUOTE(Medufsaid @ Jul 4 2024, 11:42 AM)
you call them. halfway through, you complain poor reception, force them to call you back

that's what i did to CIMB sg
cimb sg called me when i asked stg via secure mail. unfortunately maybank sg doesn't have it, their email respond was to ask me to call the hotline.
Ramjade
post Jul 4 2024, 12:32 PM

24,352 posts

QUOTE(!@#$%^ @ Jul 4 2024, 11:51 AM)
is it?
i guess so.
cimb sg called me when i asked stg via secure mail. unfortunately maybank sg doesn't have it, their email respond was to ask me to call the hotline.
I always use IDD to call Singapore Vs using normal call. Saves money.
gooroojee
post Jul 16 2024, 03:17 PM

LowYee
2,192 posts

What's the best approach (cheapest) to move my USD funds in USA to a USD based fund in Moomoo/Tiger in Singapore ?
Ramjade
post Jul 16 2024, 03:41 PM

24,352 posts

QUOTE(gooroojee @ Jul 16 2024, 03:17 PM)
What's the best approach (cheapest) to move my USD funds in USA to a USD based fund in Moomoo/Tiger in Singapore ?
Rhb multicurrency account or DBS multi currency (if you have DBS)
gooroojee
post Jul 16 2024, 03:49 PM

LowYee
2,192 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jul 16 2024, 03:41 PM)
Rhb multicurrency account or DBS multi currency (if you have DBS)
How does RHB multi currency work in this scenario?
Ramjade
post Jul 16 2024, 05:23 PM

24,352 posts

QUOTE(gooroojee @ Jul 16 2024, 03:49 PM)
How does RHB multi currency work in this scenario?
I am not sure the charges with receiving USD with RHB.

Funds in US in USD -> Multi currency account that can receive and store USD -> wire to moomoo or tiger. This is to ensure no double conversion.

If you use DBS, can direct bank in as both moomoo and tiger uses DBS.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Jul 16 2024, 05:23 PM
Medufsaid
post Jul 16 2024, 10:39 PM

3,491 posts

looks like MBB sg can have more competitive rates when remitting back to Malaysia sometimes (don't worry, CIMB sg will refund the difference if u show proof https://www.cimb.com.sg/en/personal/promoti...sfer-promo.html )

https://www.reddit.com/r/singaporefi/commen..._rate_is_a_lie/

throwawayacclmao
post Aug 5 2024, 06:00 PM

39 posts

dumb question
for CIMB SG FASTSAVER online account, can I deposit via CDM in SG?
I have some SGD laying around in MY home and thinking to deposit them to the SG acc when I travel there.
SUSTOS
post Aug 5 2024, 06:04 PM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(throwawayacclmao @ Aug 5 2024, 06:00 PM)
dumb question
I have some SGD laying around in MY home and thinking to deposit them to the SG acc when I travel there.
Did you apply for the ATM card?

Medufsaid
post Aug 5 2024, 06:05 PM

3,491 posts

is there a CDM machine in CIMB sg (only 1 branch)? if not, he'll have to pay S$5 just to do over-the-counter transaction
jas029
post Aug 6 2024, 03:43 PM

335 posts

QUOTE(throwawayacclmao @ Aug 5 2024, 06:00 PM)
dumb question
QUOTE(TOS @ Aug 5 2024, 06:04 PM)
Did you apply for the ATM card?
QUOTE(Medufsaid @ Aug 5 2024, 06:05 PM)
is there a CDM machine in CIMB sg (only 1 branch)? if not, he'll have to pay S$5 just to do over-the-counter transaction
nowadays deposit through CDM no need debit/atm card anymore right? just enter account number, verify account name, put in cash?
Medufsaid
post Aug 6 2024, 03:47 PM

3,491 posts

jas029 correct. however i'm not in singapore and TOS is the only one who's around.

there's really only 1 CIMB sg physical outlet. if no CDM machine there throwawayacclmao has no machine to deposit, unless he wants to spend S$5 for physical over-the-counter deposit
throwawayacclmao
post Aug 6 2024, 10:53 PM

39 posts

thanks guys
worst case, I have cousins regularly flying back to MY from SG. I can just pass him the cash and he can do online transfer from his acc to my acc haha
Medufsaid
post Aug 21 2024, 08:40 PM

3,491 posts

--edited--

OCBC SG no longer applicable to malaysians. removing this post

This post has been edited by Medufsaid: Apr 24 2025, 11:13 AM
poooky
post Aug 22 2024, 04:47 PM

840 posts

QUOTE(Medufsaid @ Aug 21 2024, 08:40 PM)
OCBC SG GSA promo

I can't find this page for this. Can you link it here?

Seems too good to be true though.
romuluz777
post Aug 22 2024, 06:02 PM

2,215 posts

Heard that the minimum balance for new accts is now SGD1K otherwise kena admin charge. Is this true ?
Medufsaid
post Aug 22 2024, 06:08 PM

3,491 posts

--edited--

OCBC SG no longer applicable to malaysians. removing this post

This post has been edited by Medufsaid: Apr 24 2025, 11:14 AM
iSean
post Aug 22 2024, 10:29 PM

iz old liao.
4,496 posts

QUOTE(romuluz777 @ Aug 22 2024, 06:02 PM)
Heard that the minimum balance for new accts is now SGD1K otherwise kena admin charge. Is this true ?
Depends on what SG bank and type of account you applied to be honest?

So far I managed to applied Singapore OCBC Digital when it launched.

Singapore OCBC Digital applied opened two accounts Global Saving Account (GSA) and Statement Saving Account (SSA) , it by default will need you to pay $10/month if Statement Saving Account (SSA) < S$20,000 per month. Global Saving Account (GSA) has no fall-below fees, so you can save in other currency (how to get it out I have no clue).

Then I applied a 360-Saving Account using the Singapore OCBC Digital login, gotten a SG Debit Card which requires $3k per month, else fall-below fees of $2/month.

SUSTOS
post Aug 22 2024, 10:56 PM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(romuluz777 @ Aug 22 2024, 06:02 PM)
For OCBC, monthly savings account minimum is 500 SGD (waived for first year).

For DBS, no minimum balance whatsoever if open account online (for Multiplier, check with the bank officer who open account for you; My account has no minimum balance but they won't open My account for foreigner by default, cunning bank...).

This post has been edited by TOS: Aug 22 2024, 11:49 PM
romuluz777
post Aug 23 2024, 06:05 AM

2,215 posts

I'm on Meibank isavvy acct, and min bal is 500.

315 Pages « < 291 292 293 294 295 > » Top

0.0224sec    0.37    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 06:21 PM