QUOTE(lyyera96 @ Feb 3 2023, 09:08 PM)
Better check with Maybank. Probably don't have latest contact details or address etc.Opening a Bank Account in Singapore
Opening a Bank Account in Singapore
Feb 3 2023, 09:24 PM
924 posts Joined: Aug 2013 |
Feb 4 2023, 10:40 AM
335 posts Joined: Mar 2014 |
QUOTE(Mr Gray @ Feb 3 2023, 08:42 PM) Apply here. cool.. maybank finally heading in the cimb sg/my route?https://www.maybank2u.com.sg/en/personal/cr...gd-account.page I just follow exact step as instructed there only. Click click click. 5 minutes all done. Just also noticed in the FAQ that Al-Rihla has the lowest minimum balance of SGD200. That would be a better option than iSAVVY which has SGD500 minimum balance. but the min balance requirement (sgd200, sgd500, etc) is still a hindrance for some people |
Feb 4 2023, 10:54 AM
215 posts Joined: Jan 2022 |
Feb 4 2023, 11:06 AM
17,499 posts Joined: Feb 2006 From: KL |
Feb 4 2023, 11:27 AM
335 posts Joined: Mar 2014 |
QUOTE(Toku @ Feb 4 2023, 10:54 AM) RHB also start allowing to apply for their sg account online already? if so, would be awesome if u could share the detailsi remember a year or two back, i applied from m'sia using their RHB Mobile SG app.. the onboarding process was done, but ultimately the application was declined specifically due to the acc is only for singaporean or foreigner with work permit QUOTE(!@#$%^ @ Feb 4 2023, 11:06 AM) yea true.. i mean for certain people, that requirement may still be a bummer considering there's another option where no min balance is require personally i don't mind the balance required but my OCD friend is finding that en eye-sore |
Feb 4 2023, 02:06 PM
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]()
48,444 posts Joined: Sep 2014 From: REality |
Feb 4 2023, 03:22 PM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
102 posts Joined: Oct 2017 |
Feb 5 2023, 02:14 PM
5,752 posts Joined: Jan 2012 |
QUOTE(Mr Gray @ Feb 3 2023, 03:42 PM) Can still apply online. No problem. Applied last wednesday, thursday got email. Today (friday) already approved, deposited SGD500 via Wise and can access M2U SG right away. Tiger damn efficient compared to Sotong. Almost 1 month applied CIMB SG, still no tail no head. Email from maybank said debit card will be delivered within 7 days. did you put preffered branch? i dint put and it doesnt go thru. At last i put maybank tower @@ How you inform them to mail it over here? |
Feb 5 2023, 04:18 PM
QUOTE(Ancient-XinG- @ Feb 5 2023, 02:14 PM) did you put preffered branch? Yeah I selected Woodlands. Didn't inform to mail. I assumed the debit card will be sent to my mailing address that I inserted in the application form. i dint put and it doesnt go thru. At last i put maybank tower @@ How you inform them to mail it over here? The email from maybank said will be delivered in 7 days, so I shall wait and see. This post has been edited by Mr Gray: Feb 5 2023, 04:19 PM |
Feb 5 2023, 04:33 PM
24,344 posts Joined: Feb 2011 |
QUOTE(Mr Gray @ Feb 5 2023, 04:18 PM) Yeah I selected Woodlands. Didn't inform to mail. I assumed the debit card will be sent to my mailing address that I inserted in the application form. You are collecting your card in sg? But Maybank got stupid SGD500 lockup.The email from maybank said will be delivered in 7 days, so I shall wait and see. |
Feb 5 2023, 05:22 PM
QUOTE(Ramjade @ Feb 5 2023, 04:33 PM) Nope. Inside the online application, it asks for preffered branch. I assume this would be the home branch for my account.It's okay. Maybank is Malaysian owned anyway. I'll just treat that SGD500 as my contribution to maybank. Lol |
Feb 6 2023, 07:39 PM
221 posts Joined: Jul 2006 |
How long did you guy wait for cimb sg account to be approved? I have transferred the required deposit mid last month. Not a single news from them yet... 🙁
Feb 8 2023, 06:57 PM
Probation
14 posts Joined: Feb 2023 |
Hi guys hope I can get some feedback. I'm currently in Singapore going around doing the rounds to try open an account. My situation: Malaysian Resident no Singpass no work permit in SG Today I visited DBS MBFC DBS South Bridge DBS Singapura Plaza I might have just visited the branches on a bad day because I noticed all 3 branches have staff with Trainee badges on at the front. DBS MBFC told me they can't open the account without approval from Vickers team, went to check with someone else on the team. Vickers team say they can't open an account without a Savings account open first and don't communicate with branch team... Stuck between 2 groups that don't want to make a move... DBS South Bridge staff said its not possible went to check with someone else 2-3 times, she was very helpful offered to submit the documents but needed to go photocopy ID and docuents which made no sense? Why not just scan ID or take digital copies from my email. So I left. DBS Singapura Plaza was the most helpful... same thing front staff said not possible. Went away twice to speak to someone. Finally got introduced to the Team Head of the branch and he said yes we could potentially open an account it's subject to approval and want to understand what your plans are for the account. He introduced me to a colleague who started to offer me a product called "Manulife Invest Ready" which seems like a forced savings scheme. I needed to deposit $1,000SGD a month for 10 years with the option to stop at 10 years and withdrawal at 13 years. I was told I would get a transaction account, option to open a Vickers but would need to commit to depositing each month to this fund. If i stopped this fund then the savings account would be closed. Any suggestions on how to word my enquiry when I arrive at the branch? I'm here for another day, but I can extend the trip if needed. I also just chanced my luck at OCBC and UOB. UOB said they have a product available but it requires $20,000 SGD to open and that someone would call me to discuss. Same with OCBC, they took my details down and someone will reach out to discuss options. kelvinjohn liked this post
Feb 8 2023, 08:48 PM
107 posts Joined: Jun 2007 |
QUOTE(yjy @ Feb 8 2023, 06:57 PM) Hi guys hope I can get some feedback. I also wanna know. I don't want an SG account with Maybank or CIMB....I'm currently in Singapore going around doing the rounds to try open an account. My situation: Malaysian Resident no Singpass no work permit in SG Today I visited DBS MBFC DBS South Bridge DBS Singapura Plaza I might have just visited the branches on a bad day because I noticed all 3 branches have staff with Trainee badges on at the front. DBS MBFC told me they can't open the account without approval from Vickers team, went to check with someone else on the team. Vickers team say they can't open an account without a Savings account open first and don't communicate with branch team... Stuck between 2 groups that don't want to make a move... DBS South Bridge staff said its not possible went to check with someone else 2-3 times, she was very helpful offered to submit the documents but needed to go photocopy ID and docuents which made no sense? Why not just scan ID or take digital copies from my email. So I left. DBS Singapura Plaza was the most helpful... same thing front staff said not possible. Went away twice to speak to someone. Finally got introduced to the Team Head of the branch and he said yes we could potentially open an account it's subject to approval and want to understand what your plans are for the account. He introduced me to a colleague who started to offer me a product called "Manulife Invest Ready" which seems like a forced savings scheme. I needed to deposit $1,000SGD a month for 10 years with the option to stop at 10 years and withdrawal at 13 years. I was told I would get a transaction account, option to open a Vickers but would need to commit to depositing each month to this fund. If i stopped this fund then the savings account would be closed. Any suggestions on how to word my enquiry when I arrive at the branch? I'm here for another day, but I can extend the trip if needed. I also just chanced my luck at OCBC and UOB. UOB said they have a product available but it requires $20,000 SGD to open and that someone would call me to discuss. Same with OCBC, they took my details down and someone will reach out to discuss options. Good luck and do share if you are successful |
Feb 9 2023, 12:14 PM
QUOTE(yjy @ Feb 8 2023, 06:57 PM) Hi guys hope I can get some feedback. I want know also, now I have cimb sg and yesterday maybank sg got approved, maybe I plan go to sg same like you direct go to branch see can or not, but I know HSBC SG can open no need premit if you have 200k sgdI'm currently in Singapore going around doing the rounds to try open an account. My situation: Malaysian Resident no Singpass no work permit in SG Today I visited DBS MBFC DBS South Bridge DBS Singapura Plaza I might have just visited the branches on a bad day because I noticed all 3 branches have staff with Trainee badges on at the front. DBS MBFC told me they can't open the account without approval from Vickers team, went to check with someone else on the team. Vickers team say they can't open an account without a Savings account open first and don't communicate with branch team... Stuck between 2 groups that don't want to make a move... DBS South Bridge staff said its not possible went to check with someone else 2-3 times, she was very helpful offered to submit the documents but needed to go photocopy ID and docuents which made no sense? Why not just scan ID or take digital copies from my email. So I left. DBS Singapura Plaza was the most helpful... same thing front staff said not possible. Went away twice to speak to someone. Finally got introduced to the Team Head of the branch and he said yes we could potentially open an account it's subject to approval and want to understand what your plans are for the account. He introduced me to a colleague who started to offer me a product called "Manulife Invest Ready" which seems like a forced savings scheme. I needed to deposit $1,000SGD a month for 10 years with the option to stop at 10 years and withdrawal at 13 years. I was told I would get a transaction account, option to open a Vickers but would need to commit to depositing each month to this fund. If i stopped this fund then the savings account would be closed. Any suggestions on how to word my enquiry when I arrive at the branch? I'm here for another day, but I can extend the trip if needed. I also just chanced my luck at OCBC and UOB. UOB said they have a product available but it requires $20,000 SGD to open and that someone would call me to discuss. Same with OCBC, they took my details down and someone will reach out to discuss options. |
Feb 9 2023, 12:35 PM
QUOTE(yjy @ Feb 8 2023, 06:57 PM) Hi guys hope I can get some feedback. Go back DBS mbfc, tell you want to open both DBS Vickers account and DBS bank account together. There's no other way to get the account. Then later use the DBS Vickers account to buy something from SGX. Make sure to use DBS Vickers cash upfront account.I'm currently in Singapore going around doing the rounds to try open an account. My situation: Malaysian Resident no Singpass no work permit in SG Today I visited DBS MBFC DBS South Bridge DBS Singapura Plaza I might have just visited the branches on a bad day because I noticed all 3 branches have staff with Trainee badges on at the front. DBS MBFC told me they can't open the account without approval from Vickers team, went to check with someone else on the team. Vickers team say they can't open an account without a Savings account open first and don't communicate with branch team... Stuck between 2 groups that don't want to make a move... DBS South Bridge staff said its not possible went to check with someone else 2-3 times, she was very helpful offered to submit the documents but needed to go photocopy ID and docuents which made no sense? Why not just scan ID or take digital copies from my email. So I left. DBS Singapura Plaza was the most helpful... same thing front staff said not possible. Went away twice to speak to someone. Finally got introduced to the Team Head of the branch and he said yes we could potentially open an account it's subject to approval and want to understand what your plans are for the account. He introduced me to a colleague who started to offer me a product called "Manulife Invest Ready" which seems like a forced savings scheme. I needed to deposit $1,000SGD a month for 10 years with the option to stop at 10 years and withdrawal at 13 years. I was told I would get a transaction account, option to open a Vickers but would need to commit to depositing each month to this fund. If i stopped this fund then the savings account would be closed. Any suggestions on how to word my enquiry when I arrive at the branch? I'm here for another day, but I can extend the trip if needed. I also just chanced my luck at OCBC and UOB. UOB said they have a product available but it requires $20,000 SGD to open and that someone would call me to discuss. Same with OCBC, they took my details down and someone will reach out to discuss options. That's how I opened my account last time. The mbfc staff told me need to have dbs Vickers account before can open dbs bank account. I said sure no problem. I will open a dbs Vickers account and DBS bank account at the same time. This post has been edited by Ramjade: Feb 9 2023, 12:39 PM |
Feb 9 2023, 12:35 PM
8,667 posts Joined: Aug 2019 From: Penang <-> Singapore |
QUOTE(yjy @ Feb 8 2023, 06:57 PM) Hi guys hope I can get some feedback. You might stand a chance at MBFC, just that you met the wrong employee. South Bridge came close too. Why not just prepare a photocopy of your passport/documents for them? Photocopy charge in SG should be around 0.2 SGD per A4 page (black & white, Woodlands region price, don't find shops in suburban malls as they are more expensive).I'm currently in Singapore going around doing the rounds to try open an account. My situation: Malaysian Resident no Singpass no work permit in SG Today I visited DBS MBFC DBS South Bridge DBS Singapura Plaza I might have just visited the branches on a bad day because I noticed all 3 branches have staff with Trainee badges on at the front. DBS MBFC told me they can't open the account without approval from Vickers team, went to check with someone else on the team. Vickers team say they can't open an account without a Savings account open first and don't communicate with branch team... Stuck between 2 groups that don't want to make a move... DBS South Bridge staff said its not possible went to check with someone else 2-3 times, she was very helpful offered to submit the documents but needed to go photocopy ID and docuents which made no sense? Why not just scan ID or take digital copies from my email. So I left. DBS Singapura Plaza was the most helpful... same thing front staff said not possible. Went away twice to speak to someone. Finally got introduced to the Team Head of the branch and he said yes we could potentially open an account it's subject to approval and want to understand what your plans are for the account. He introduced me to a colleague who started to offer me a product called "Manulife Invest Ready" which seems like a forced savings scheme. I needed to deposit $1,000SGD a month for 10 years with the option to stop at 10 years and withdrawal at 13 years. I was told I would get a transaction account, option to open a Vickers but would need to commit to depositing each month to this fund. If i stopped this fund then the savings account would be closed. Any suggestions on how to word my enquiry when I arrive at the branch? I'm here for another day, but I can extend the trip if needed. I also just chanced my luck at OCBC and UOB. UOB said they have a product available but it requires $20,000 SGD to open and that someone would call me to discuss. Same with OCBC, they took my details down and someone will reach out to discuss options. Try to keep a low profile, don't show intention that you bring millions here. As you have observed, the local banks are more interested in sucking your money for their commissions/non-NII income rather than loaning out your money from a saving account And yes, you receive conflicting messages among different teams of employee in the same branch of the "world's best bank" If all options run out, you may try their foreign competitors or riskier small-medium banks/FIs like Singapura Finance and SIF (Sing Investments & Finance) though I doubt that would help much (you do get more pricing power with small-medium banks). This post has been edited by TOS: Feb 9 2023, 12:51 PM |
Feb 9 2023, 12:56 PM
QUOTE(Ramjade @ Feb 9 2023, 12:35 PM) Go back DBS mbfc, tell you want to open both DBS Vickers account and DBS bank account together. There's no other way to get the account. Then later use the DBS Vickers account to buy something from SGX. Make sure to use DBS Vickers cash upfront account. very long already you open this account?That's how I opened my account last time. The mbfc staff told me need to have dbs Vickers account before can open dbs bank account. I said sure no problem. I will open a dbs Vickers account and DBS bank account at the same time. |
Feb 9 2023, 01:01 PM
Feb 9 2023, 01:04 PM
| Change to: | 0.0257sec