Opening a Bank Account in Singapore

yjy P
post Feb 8 2023, 06:57 PM

Probation
14 posts

Hi guys hope I can get some feedback.
I'm currently in Singapore going around doing the rounds to try open an account.

My situation:
Malaysian Resident no Singpass no work permit in SG

Today I visited
DBS MBFC
DBS South Bridge
DBS Singapura Plaza

I might have just visited the branches on a bad day because I noticed all 3 branches have staff with Trainee badges on at the front.

DBS MBFC told me they can't open the account without approval from Vickers team, went to check with someone else on the team.
Vickers team say they can't open an account without a Savings account open first and don't communicate with branch team...
Stuck between 2 groups that don't want to make a move...

DBS South Bridge staff said its not possible went to check with someone else 2-3 times, she was very helpful offered to submit the documents but needed to go photocopy ID and docuents which made no sense?
Why not just scan ID or take digital copies from my email. So I left.

DBS Singapura Plaza was the most helpful... same thing front staff said not possible. Went away twice to speak to someone. Finally got introduced to the Team Head of the branch and he said yes we could potentially open an account it's subject to approval and want to understand what your plans are for the account.

He introduced me to a colleague who started to offer me a product called "Manulife Invest Ready" which seems like a forced savings scheme.
I needed to deposit $1,000SGD a month for 10 years with the option to stop at 10 years and withdrawal at 13 years.
I was told I would get a transaction account, option to open a Vickers but would need to commit to depositing each month to this fund.
If i stopped this fund then the savings account would be closed.

Any suggestions on how to word my enquiry when I arrive at the branch?

I'm here for another day, but I can extend the trip if needed.

I also just chanced my luck at OCBC and UOB.

UOB said they have a product available but it requires $20,000 SGD to open and that someone would call me to discuss.

Same with OCBC, they took my details down and someone will reach out to discuss options.
yjy P
post Feb 19 2023, 08:23 AM

Probation
14 posts

Hey everyone just a heads up.
There may be a way to open an account with UOB now too.

If you search on Google "I am a foreigner. I would like to know the requirements of opening a personal account with UOB."

It outlines what you need.

I went into a UOB branch and the front door person told me repeatedly it's not possible must have Singpass, need address here must be working here. All the usual default responses.

She then referred me to the security guard who also told me it's not possible.

I just kept showing them this link on their site. Eventually they referred me to another member of the team.

Short answer is, it looks like it's possible.

Seems like they want me to start a fixed deposit for 5 years or invest into a mutual fund that can be withdrawn at my choosing.

Can split between the two.

The bank staff gave an example of investing into their mutual fund made up of US stocks + other countries. Then if the market does well she said some clients withdraw in 1 - 2 years.

At the same time she said you get a bank account with a minimum $1,000 SGD balance required. Sounds like their "UOB One" product.

I haven't got the amounts to invest yet.

But maybe there's an option with UOB now too?

Will report back when I find out more.

yjy P
post Feb 19 2023, 12:30 PM

Probation
14 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Feb 19 2023, 09:02 AM)
Maximize the portion in FD, minimize the portion in that "mutual fund". (If I understand correctly, UOB SG FD has no penalty for early withdrawal, so at most you lose say 1-year interest if you withdraw 1 year later, provided the amount is small).

Did they say how much you need to invest in either FD/mutual fund? Hopefully not the 30-50k range we see here all too often. tongue.gif

Yes, UOB One account is good enough. That's their "flagship" product and direct answer to DBS Multiplier/OCBC 360.

The only unfortunate thing is you will have to tie up 1k SGD inside all the time earning peanut interests.
Thank you, sound advice regarding the FD vs mutual fund smile.gif

Haven't got the fine print yet but at least I got past the front door and talking to someone who isn't just saying "can't can't can't"

No amount yet, she's going to get back to me on this. But will report back when I get an update.

But I'm hopeful it's not something crazy, at least it isn't one of those premier banking accounts that needs to maintain 20K - 100K+ on the account.

I went into another UOB branch last week and they told me they have an option for foreigners but it's 20K and someone would call me to discuss options (no call yet).

That's okay I can live with $1K in the account, the alternative is leaving it in Ringgit and potentially seeing it depreciate in terms of global purchasing power.

yjy P
post Feb 19 2023, 12:32 PM

Probation
14 posts

QUOTE(lyyera96 @ Feb 19 2023, 09:25 AM)

before I email to UOB SG for foreigner, one requirement is reference letter from UOB SG introducer, this I cannot met
When I went into the branch they really bring up that point. So I haven't got that far into the process yet.

The other option on the site says OR "A Letter of Reference from a Bank whereby the customer is currently having an existing banking relationship with the Bank itself"

The language would seem to suggest a letter from a bank where the foreigner resides eg. if you bank at Maybank MY then would need a letter from Maybank.

yjy P
post Feb 19 2023, 09:26 PM

Probation
14 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Feb 19 2023, 02:46 PM)
I won't be opening uob even if possible cause I already have DBS My account which is a very good account. So far no products on the market can match DBS My account.
No worries, to each their own.

If it's an option, it's good to have that choice in case other people get rejected from DBS.

It seemed like reading the past replies that only DBS was an option for an SG bank so just wanted to let everyone know there is potentially an alternative.

yjy P
post Feb 28 2023, 03:26 PM

Probation
14 posts

I also opened the CIMB SG account.

Took me just under a month from start to finish.

Took me about a week to deposit the $1,000 SGD
So 3 weeks from when they received the deposit to account opening.

They also asked for my purpose of account opening.
yjy P
post Mar 22 2023, 01:01 PM

Probation
14 posts

QUOTE(Nutbeater69 @ Mar 22 2023, 12:29 AM)
wow nice. not sure if I have extra 4 hours to open an account or not  sweat.gif  sweat.gif

I think my gf will kill me if I slot this into the trip..

hopefully DBS have some sort of online account opening in future  cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif
Take a trip yourself or if she's really a long-term gf then she needs to understand.

This is about your potential financial future either together or with someone else.

It's better to be overprepared now than later be in a tough position and thinking "I should have opened that account in 2023 when I had the chance"

yjy P
post Apr 16 2023, 02:51 PM

Probation
14 posts

QUOTE(Mattrock @ Apr 16 2023, 01:03 PM)
I have an idle Maybank SG account. Thinking of putting it to use by  transferring couple of hundred k AUD from my Australian bank to this. Has anyone tried or done this, i.e., top up Maybank SG account from elsewhere, e.g., US, UK, AZ?

Do they ask for documentation and proof of funds like over here? I can do it over a few transactions, but not too many to avoid high bank charges.
Haven't tried but curious to know this.

I'm guessing it would trigger an investigation based on the amount.

I believe AUS banks have to report > $10K transactions to the central bank and Malaysia reports transactions over 30K RM
yjy P
post Jul 28 2023, 04:32 PM

Probation
14 posts

QUOTE(Mr Gray @ Jul 25 2023, 11:47 AM)
Happy to share that I have successfully opened my OCBC Singapore account with just my IC and Passport.

The process of applying through the app is a bit a pain in the ass, as needs to do several times for the app to accept my IC. Tips, the ic can be slightly outside the rectangle.

Took about 3 working days for the account to be approved. Was given Global Savings Account and Statement Savings Account.

Initial deposit required is just SGD1000, it can be from your Singaporean bank account or Malaysian bank account. I already have Maybank SG account. So this is very seamless.

Despite the T&C showing initial deposit for non-resident Statement Savings Account is SGD20k. I just needed to deposit SGD1k. Not sure if this only applies for Malaysians or what.

Regardless, even if the fall below fee for non-resident Statement Savings Account which is 20k is imposed as per T&C (no fee for first year), don't worry, we can go around this.  cool2.gif

Once you have access to the OCBC SG online banking, you can immediately apply for other accounts like OCBC 360 (minimum balance 3k) or OCBC Frank (minimum balance 1k), Monthly Savings account (minimum balance 500) or other OCBC SG accounts. I prefer OCBC 360. I will close Statement Savings Account after this.

So for all Malaysians residing in Malaysia, with no SG pass whatsoever. Right now we have 3 easy options for SG bank accounts (Maybank, CIMB and OCBC), everything done online, super easy.

For those who are interested to apply OCBC SG account, can use my referral code NLC9FDOS . You will get SGD15, and I will get SGD15.

The process in the app really is a pain in the ass... So it's 1 shot of the IC front on.

THen 2 of the front at an angle?
Then 1 of the back.
I'm really struggling to the get the 2 shots at an angle...
yjy P
post Jul 28 2023, 05:37 PM

Probation
14 posts

QUOTE(Mr Gray @ Jul 28 2023, 04:44 PM)
Get your camera as close to ic as possible, IC can exceed the rectangle slightly, don't have to align exactly with the rectangle
Did you just keep getting the "Sorry, we are unable to scan your ID card" error.

yjy P
post Jul 28 2023, 06:43 PM

Probation
14 posts

QUOTE(Mr Gray @ Jul 28 2023, 06:10 PM)
Yup. So many times.
haha I'm the same... I want to throw my phone out the window.

Why is the tech so badly executed, so many other apps like trading and crypto apps have no problems verifying ID.

Did you find a scenario that worked best? Bright room? Dark background?
yjy P
post Aug 24 2023, 11:45 AM

Probation
14 posts

QUOTE(gooroojee @ Aug 24 2023, 08:18 AM)
Tried about 10 times but the IC scan doesn't work.. maybe my phone camera too lousy..

Edit: tried it another 5 times and finally... stroke of luck.. it finally passed...

Also, an update on Maybank SG CASA online opening promotion, now you can open a different account from iSavvy, which is the SaveUp account. Promotion is, deposit $50k for 4 months locked in period, and get $400...

What phone are you using? Have any tips?

I've tried so many times and I still get rejected
yjy P
post Aug 28 2023, 08:12 AM

Probation
14 posts

QUOTE(john123x @ Aug 27 2023, 12:55 AM)
i think the ocbc app developer is crossing the line already. I mean the scan IC issues.

someone need to educate this stupid developer, that the app already read data from e-Passport with NFC chip that is read only and tampered proof!!!!
Haha agreed. I've used 2 Android phones to try and apply with no success. I'm going to try with an iPhone. I'm thinking they might have been lazy and only built the system to work properly with iOS because it covers the most users?
yjy P
post Sep 11 2023, 07:01 PM

Probation
14 posts

Updated on opening the OCBC account.
I happened to have a trip to go to SG so I dropped into the branch asking if I could get some assistance with getting the broken app to work.

I swear I'd probbaly tried at least 20 times.

Magically the IC scan worked on the 1st go in front of the staff member.

Branch magic...

0.0281sec    0.22    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 06:35 PM