Opening a Bank Account in Singapore

dwRK
post Jun 25 2022, 12:36 AM

the consummate chartist
6,247 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Jun 24 2022, 10:59 PM)
lol you framed it like NS men venturing into enemy's territories. Not that serious lah. DBS Woodlans branch is located in the Civic Center. So you can do lots of stuffs in that 4 hours. Visit library, shop at Causeway point, or dine in the surrounding restaurants (there is a Starbucks next to DBS Woodlands branch) or even go home for a while if your HDB flat is near the civic center.

I was "stupidly" waiting for 1.5 hours (literally just standing outside the branch...), then ran out of patience and rested in the library. Came back again and stood for another 20 minutes, and dined at the restaurant opposite to the branch (expensive though, try hawker center stuff would be better next time). Another 20 minutes passed by then only came my turn.

Most likely pursue postgrad first. Work in SG is prime goal after that. (You want to hire me? tongue.gif Graduating next year in June.) If not SG then HK. Not likely Msia, workers' purchasing power in Msia has been declining for years.

As for food, I am not an expert. (You need to find coffee lover and lobster expert dwRK to comment on food. Any nice food in SG, dwRK?)

My cousin (a chef) told me many chicken rice stalls are closed for now (ya, that stupid chicken export ban), and those that open are using "frozen" chicken, so I don't dare to try any for now. What impress me is the quality of cooking oil you guys use in SG, i.e. vegetable oil. Msia hawkers just use the cheapest possible oil to prepare food, you guys' are a lot more "responsible".  This is yet another proof of good governance in place by your SG government. :thumbsup:
Hainan chicken rice lor... lol... but seriously plenty of good food in sg... but last time there > 15 yrs liao...

actually meaning to ask you... what college/course you doing that sent you to hk n sg?

SUSTOS
post Jun 25 2022, 09:19 AM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Jun 25 2022, 12:36 AM)
Hainan chicken rice lor... lol... but seriously plenty of good food in sg... but last time there > 15 yrs liao...

actually meaning to ask you... what college/course you doing that sent you to hk n sg?
Was planning to try that too, but then not sure of current chicken quality with the ban.

HKUST/BSc in Physics (but these days more on finance side, as you can guess), the current SG trip is a short research exchange program, funded by various parties.
dwRK
post Jun 25 2022, 09:51 AM

the consummate chartist
6,247 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Jun 25 2022, 09:19 AM)
Was planning to try that too, but then not sure of current chicken quality with the ban.

HKUST/BSc in Physics (but these days more on finance side, as you can guess), the current SG trip is a short research exchange program, funded by various parties.
eat what you must biggrin.gif

thanks for the info... I was cracking my brain what type of school and course in my that sent ppl to hk n sg... lol

TrustULoveU
post Jul 5 2022, 05:01 PM

569 posts

still can open singapore account now even if i dont stay there now?
tadashi987
post Jul 6 2022, 05:20 AM

2,106 posts

QUOTE(TrustULoveU @ Jul 5 2022, 05:01 PM)
still can open singapore account now even if i dont stay there now?
why not, just give it a shot on CIMB FastSaver Acc
TrustULoveU
post Jul 6 2022, 03:13 PM

569 posts

QUOTE(tadashi987 @ Jul 6 2022, 06:20 AM)
why not, just give it a shot on CIMB FastSaver Acc
i opened a HSBC account instead .. haha
tadashi987
post Jul 6 2022, 06:12 PM

2,106 posts

QUOTE(TrustULoveU @ Jul 6 2022, 03:13 PM)
better than CIMB?
CIMB no inward remit fee, no annual /monthly account fee, good rate converting to MYR CIMB
lyyera96
post Jul 6 2022, 08:11 PM

102 posts

QUOTE(TrustULoveU @ Jul 6 2022, 03:13 PM)
what requirement open HSBC account for Malaysian?
coolguy99
post Jul 8 2022, 08:13 AM

7,353 posts

QUOTE(lyyera96 @ Jul 6 2022, 08:11 PM)
Even if you are not residing in sg, they allow you to open?
Ramjade
post Jul 8 2022, 09:58 AM

24,406 posts

QUOTE(tadashi987 @ Jul 6 2022, 06:12 PM)
better than CIMB?
CIMB no inward remit fee, no annual /monthly account fee, good rate converting to MYR CIMB
No la. But some people like the feeling/prestige of being priority banking.

QUOTE(lyyera96 @ Jul 6 2022, 08:11 PM)
Most likely need to park agd200k+ with them. Last I checked with SCB that is how it works. Rm200k in Malaysia and sgd200k in Singapore.

QUOTE(coolguy99 @ Jul 8 2022, 08:13 AM)
Even if you are not residing in sg, they allow you to open?
If you got sg200-300k any sg banks will let you open instantly without needing to beg. But question is are you willing to park sgd200-300k with them, earn almost zero interest just to get an acocunt when you can do it for free?

If one got too much money, sure why not. But if money is limited, not wise as sgd200-300k can generate substantial returns.
ilovestitch
post Jul 11 2022, 04:15 PM

623 posts

why am i getting this when trying to register with debit PIN number? anyone has idea?
SUSTOS
post Jul 11 2022, 10:12 PM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(ilovestitch @ Jul 11 2022, 04:15 PM)

why am i getting this when trying to register with debit PIN number? anyone has idea?
The debit card PIN number is set via Maybank SG online. No need for "registration", it's already given to you in the secured letter from SG. Then you change it yourself via the online portal.

Check the status of the debit card on Maybank SG online portal, see if it's activated.

If all above doesn't work, email/call Maybank SG. (Haven't tried the toll free line, can try Skype and see if it detects the toll free line, then can chat through Skype).

This post has been edited by TOS: Jul 11 2022, 10:12 PM
!@#$%^
post Jul 11 2022, 10:23 PM

Safe Trader
17,515 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Jul 11 2022, 10:12 PM)
The debit card PIN number is set via Maybank SG online. No need for "registration", it's already given to you in the secured letter from SG. Then you change it yourself via the online portal.

Check the status of the debit card on Maybank SG online portal, see if it's activated.

If all above doesn't work, email/call Maybank SG. (Haven't tried the toll free line, can try Skype and see if it detects the toll free line, then can chat through Skype).
nice. didn't know got this feature. kept the secured email pin since a few years ago. never had a chance to go sg to 'activate' the debit card. good to know can be done online now.
SUSTOS
post Jul 11 2022, 10:29 PM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(!@#$%^ @ Jul 11 2022, 10:23 PM)
nice. didn't know got this feature. kept the secured email pin since a few years ago. never had a chance to go sg to 'activate' the debit card. good to know can be done online now.
Uhmm.. I just recalled they "activated" my debit card when I called them to reset my Maybank SG online portal login password after it was locked due to many trials (forgot my password). That's 2 years ago.

So while they reset my online portal they used my debit card to setup the login credentials, hence activating my debit card at the same time.

The online part is for changing debit card PIN only I think, you can see your card status as "activated" or otherwise, but you can't change them/deactivate/activate them. See below:

But I am sure you can call Maybank SG or email them (and they call back from SG) to "activate" your debit card.

---------------------------------

If you happen to be in JB, just come over to Causeway Point in Woodlands to settle your card issue there. There's a Maybank SG branch over there. Newly opened I guess.

This post has been edited by TOS: Jul 11 2022, 10:40 PM
!@#$%^
post Jul 12 2022, 12:13 AM

Safe Trader
17,515 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Jul 11 2022, 10:29 PM)
Uhmm.. I just recalled they "activated" my debit card when I called them to reset my Maybank SG online portal login password after it was locked due to many trials (forgot my password). That's 2 years ago.

So while they reset my online portal they used my debit card to setup the login credentials, hence activating my debit card at the same time.

The online part is for changing debit card PIN only I think, you can see your card status as "activated" or otherwise, but you can't change them/deactivate/activate them. See below:

But I am sure you can call Maybank SG or email them (and they call back from SG) to "activate" your debit card.

---------------------------------

If you happen to be in JB, just come over to Causeway Point in Woodlands to settle your card issue there. There's a Maybank SG branch over there. Newly opened I guess.
after i set the pin, it became activated.
SUSTOS
post Jul 19 2022, 03:59 PM

8,667 posts

Ramjade

I am planning to sign up for Youtrip. While the forex rate is nice and no commissions are charged, the problem is you can't withdraw the money out to SG or MY bank accounts but can only spend the money via Mastercard.

It is very restrictive.

Do you know of any loopholes to exploit its forex service? Or you have better suggestions to use Youtrip?

Another info for you is you can register Youtrip with any phone number, SG or MY mobile number also can. There is no restriction on country code.

The only restriction is you need proof of address in SG and also a FIN number (which means you need study, work, WHP or long-term visit pass etc.) or NRIC number (i.e. Singaporeans or SG PR).

Currently need 2-4 weeks for account approval and receival of the Mastercard.

This post has been edited by TOS: Jul 19 2022, 04:01 PM
Ramjade
post Jul 19 2022, 08:43 PM

24,406 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Jul 19 2022, 03:59 PM)
Ramjade

I am planning to sign up for Youtrip. While the forex rate is nice and no commissions are charged, the problem is you can't withdraw the money out to SG or MY bank accounts but can only spend the money via Mastercard.

It is very restrictive.

Do you know of any loopholes to exploit its forex service? Or you have better suggestions to use Youtrip?

Another info for you is you can register Youtrip with any phone number, SG or MY mobile number also can. There is no restriction on country code.

The only restriction is you need proof of address in SG and also a FIN number (which means you need study, work, WHP or long-term visit pass etc.) or NRIC number (i.e. Singaporeans or SG PR).

Currently need 2-4 weeks for account approval and receival of the Mastercard.
Just top-up when you want to spend it. If you are always overseas may want to consider miles game. Sacrifice the Forex rate for free air ticket back to Malaysia which can be worth like 10% cashback.

I don't have youtrip although I am waiting for them to set up shop in Malaysia which they said they are doing, but looks like taking some time.

I suggest use bigpay, youtrip, wise, revolut and see which card give you the best rate and then use that card. Another alternative is play the miles game.
no6
post Jul 20 2022, 02:51 PM

427 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jul 19 2022, 08:43 PM)
Just top-up when you want to spend it. If you are always overseas may want to consider miles game. Sacrifice the Forex rate for free air ticket back to Malaysia which can be worth like 10% cashback.

I don't have youtrip although I am waiting for them to set up shop in Malaysia which they said they are doing, but looks like taking some time.

I suggest use bigpay, youtrip, wise, revolut and see which card give you the best rate and then use that card. Another alternative is play the miles game.
how to play the miles game using youtrip? by reloading youtrip via cc ?
Ramjade
post Jul 20 2022, 04:29 PM

24,406 posts

QUOTE(no6 @ Jul 20 2022, 02:51 PM)
how to play the miles game using youtrip? by reloading youtrip via cc ?
Use Maybank 2 primer card with Maybank visa infinite instead of youtrip/bigpay/wise.
gaijin
post Jul 21 2022, 12:42 PM

172 posts

Sorry I dont see any FAQ on 1st page ... are malaysians on tourist visa allowed to open Singapore savings account ? Which bank can ?

Thanks in advance

Only reference found is from below quotes ... but not sure still valid ?

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Feb 20 2022, 10:13 AM)
You didnt go your homework enough. Come I spoon-feed you
There's only one bank in sg which accept Malaysian without sg address or if you are not working/studying sg.

Cost to maintain account varies from SGD3000-SGD0.00

But you need to be physically there to open account. No online opening account.

That's bank is DBS. But you need to open their DBS Vickers account. After that see what account they opened for you.

If it's a DBS multiplier you need to maintain sgd3k for 6 months.
If it's a DBS My account it cost sgd0.00 to maintain account.

If you get a DBS multiplier account, you can switch to DBS My account after 6 months via online.

Hope that helps.
QUOTE(esyap @ May 31 2022, 12:52 PM)
I tried couple weeks ago when the border opened at Jurong Branch but failed to get my DBS Acc opened. Vickers oso not possible.  Only possible to open their Wealth Acc with min. SG300K maintained, otherwise will have bank changes and if you thinking of closing your ordinary savings acc after ur Wealth Acc opened, tat wont work too, all Acc will be linked and if Wealth Acc closed, semua closed smile.gif

Pls share ur experience if u managed to open ya. Maybe u have better luck. But my impression is they are getting more strict as my fren who oledi have Sg OCBC Acc applied for a Debit Card and CS asked for his work permit pulak
This post has been edited by gaijin: Jul 21 2022, 01:03 PM

315 Pages « < 207 208 209 210 211 > » Top

0.0318sec    0.48    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 07:17 AM