Opening a Bank Account in Singapore

MUM
post Nov 4 2021, 05:47 PM

14,964 posts

QUOTE(KenYoung @ Nov 4 2021, 05:42 PM)
cimb sg closed my acc few months back after for using over a year and a half....
then i asked my sister open 1 so i could use hers... now hers will b closed as well.. even tho i pleged 10k FD there d... lol. fken sensitive
Mind telling in your perspective, what is the most probable reason for them to close it?

!@#$%^
post Nov 4 2021, 05:58 PM

Safe Trader
17,515 posts

cimb sg closed my acc few months back after for using over a year and a half....
then i asked my sister open 1 so i could use hers... now hers will b closed as well.. even tho i pleged 10k FD there d... lol. fken sensitive
QUOTE(MUM @ Nov 4 2021, 05:47 PM)
Mind telling in your perspective, what is the most probable reason for them to close it?
yes that's the most important part. crypto?
Ramjade
post Nov 4 2021, 06:46 PM

24,431 posts

Call them up and asked reason for account closure? I have been using them for don't know how many years and nothing happened. It must be something you did with your account.

Another alternative is write to MAS and complain. Unlike our BNM, they are willing to watch out for the retail guys.

Another alternative is faster go open a Maybank isavvy account.
thecurious
post Nov 4 2021, 07:30 PM

1,618 posts

Guys dont need panic(just in case anyone actually was) Looking back at his posts history, he was put on cimb watch list for some crypto scam or something.
Not cimb sg shutting down. So most likely he was singled out.
!@#$%^
post Nov 4 2021, 08:04 PM

Safe Trader
17,515 posts

QUOTE(thecurious @ Nov 4 2021, 07:30 PM)
Guys dont need panic(just in case anyone actually was) Looking back at his posts history, he was put on cimb watch list for some crypto scam or something.
but come sister account also kena? either he kena scam again or whole family blacklisted?
SUSxander83
post Nov 4 2021, 08:15 PM

Blast off like a rocket
6,427 posts

Either that or his loan intake is high from either CC or PL hence which DCA is for securitised his account
thecurious
post Nov 4 2021, 08:16 PM

1,618 posts

QUOTE(!@#$%^ @ Nov 4 2021, 08:04 PM)
but come sister account also kena? either he kena scam again or whole family blacklisted?
He was using his sister's account, the bank probably noticed
!@#$%^
post Nov 4 2021, 08:43 PM

Safe Trader
17,515 posts

QUOTE(thecurious @ Nov 4 2021, 08:16 PM)
He was using his sister's account, the bank probably noticed
yup. unless he use his sister account and kena scam or scamming again, or whole family blacklisted.
KenYoung
post Nov 4 2021, 09:16 PM

700 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Nov 4 2021, 06:46 PM)
Call them up and asked reason for account closure? I have been using them for don't know how many years and nothing happened. It must be something you did with your account.

Another alternative is write to MAS and complain. Unlike our BNM, they are willing to watch out for the retail guys.

Another alternative is faster go open a Maybank isavvy account.
Called them before months back when my acc closed but they said can't disclose reason.. Guess was because high volume of transactions..
But this time very minimal transaction but kena also

Dood, total nonsense.. It has nothing to do with crypto.. And the watch list thing is just as simple as I tf money to u for something, but report police say ure scamming and not releasing goods I've paid for (when I actually already did) and then next thing u know Ure in watch list..

Anyway that was Malaysia side.. Nothing to do with SG.

QUOTE(xander83 @ Nov 4 2021, 08:15 PM)
Either that or his loan intake is high from  either CC or PL hence which DCA is for securitised his account
What is cc or pl? I don't have any loans except for a recent HP loan... And I don't owe bank any shyt zzzzz

Stop assuming🤦

I have friends who done very little transactions also kena closed... Of course some like mine was high volume transactions then agak agak la..

I'm not trader of crypto also btw

This post has been edited by KenYoung: Nov 4 2021, 09:24 PM
SUSxander83
post Nov 4 2021, 09:24 PM

Blast off like a rocket
6,427 posts

QUOTE(KenYoung @ Nov 4 2021, 09:16 PM)
Called them before months back when my acc closed but they said can't disclose reason.. Guess was because high volume of transactions..
Dood, total nonsense.. It has nothing to do with crypto.. And the watch list thing is just as simple as I tf money to u for something, but report police say ure scamming and not releasing goods I've paid for (when I actually already did) and then next thing u know Ure in watch list..

What is cc or pl? I don't have any loans except for a recent HP loan

Stop assuming🤦

I have friends who done very little transactions also kena closed... Of course some like mine was high volume transactions then agak agak la..

The reason why’s now we know that you’re a liability to CIMB with HP loan, high volume transactions hence to securitised your account DCA is needed which is very extreme from the bank side as they would’ve been about repayment doh.gif
KenYoung
post Nov 4 2021, 09:26 PM

700 posts

QUOTE(xander83 @ Nov 4 2021, 09:24 PM)
The reason why’s now we know that you’re a liability to CIMB with HP loan, high volume transactions hence to securitised your account DCA is needed which is very extreme from the bank side as they would’ve been about repayment  doh.gif
They closed my acc months back... I only got the loan like just couple of weeks ago... Dood... What r u smoking

Anyway Cimb sg closed my acc.. Not Cimb my. Zzzzz

This post has been edited by KenYoung: Nov 4 2021, 09:27 PM
thecurious
post Nov 4 2021, 09:28 PM

1,618 posts

What is cc or pl? I don't have any loans except for a recent HP loan... And I don't owe bank any shyt zzzzz

Stop assuming🤦

As long as you're confident, go fight for your rights.
Not interested in the actual reason.
Your initial post was almost implying that cimb sg was closing all accounts, was just debunking that.
SUSxander83
post Nov 4 2021, 09:30 PM

Blast off like a rocket
6,427 posts

QUOTE(thecurious @ Nov 4 2021, 09:28 PM)
Your initial post was almost implying that cimb sg was closing all accounts, was just debunking that.
And causing minor panic and heart attacks in some doh.gif
KenYoung
post Nov 4 2021, 09:32 PM

700 posts

QUOTE(thecurious @ Nov 4 2021, 09:28 PM)
Nah... My message was that they been very sensitive of lately.. Aside frm mine and sis, I know of 3 other ppl who also had their accs closed and the past few months..

1 was high volume.. 1 said he had few txns only a week... Another barely used..
SUSxander83
post Nov 4 2021, 09:40 PM

Blast off like a rocket
6,427 posts

QUOTE(KenYoung @ Nov 4 2021, 09:32 PM)
Nah... My message was that they been very sensitive of lately.. Aside frm mine and sis, I know of 3 other ppl who also had their accs closed and the past few months..

1 was high volume.. 1 said he had few txns only a week... Another barely used..
If your account and those did cross transfer to each other the only reason why to be closed it is because high risk and suspected of AMLA/CTFL doh.gif
edwin1002
post Nov 4 2021, 10:16 PM

698 posts

QUOTE(!@#$%^ @ Nov 4 2021, 08:43 PM)
yup. unless he use his sister account and kena scam or scamming again, or whole family blacklisted.
i think not, i think some transaction is prohibited.

mind to know where is the expense?
k@ezoon
post Nov 4 2021, 10:46 PM

89 posts

1. How frequent did you make transfer per month?
2. Does it involved third parties?
3. Mostly cash or check or via wire transfer?
4. Does your trx volumes exceeding your yearly salary?
5. Are you SPM holder or Degree holder?
6. Purpose of your account opening and expected usage of your account
7. Did you do cross-border trx?

If you can answer above questions, we might be able to identify what really happened as bank don't really want to lose their customer either. They did conduct KYC or EDD to you? Why not make joint account name with sis?
SUSTOS
post Nov 5 2021, 03:53 PM

8,667 posts

MUM
post Nov 6 2021, 08:28 AM

14,964 posts

1 of a possible reason among many others for a bank to close your account ....

info on image are sourced from
https://www.cimb.com.sg/content/dam/cimbsg/...ts-accounts.pdf
https://www.mas.gov.sg/news/media-releases/...nline-platforms

jack2
post Nov 6 2021, 10:49 PM

Mr
15,192 posts

then i asked my sister open 1 so i could use hers... now hers will b closed as well.. even tho i pledged 10k FD there d... lol. fken sensitive
what is the usage of the account?

315 Pages « < 188 189 190 191 192 > » Top

0.0207sec    0.63    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 05:47 PM