128 Pages « < 31 32 33 34 35 > » Bottom

Alienware Mothership v5, Once you'd enter, you'll never leave...

astria
post Jun 17 2010, 10:54 AM

an apple a day keeps the doctor away
22,158 posts

QUOTE(putochip123 @ Jun 17 2010, 10:53 AM)
well, 940XM have higher overclock ability
did Intel revised their production lately???

edit: ok, i juz checked, both 920XM and 940XM are of the same stepping (B1), so 940XM is more of like a fine tune of the production...

oc wise they should be roughly the same...

This post has been edited by astria: Jun 17 2010, 11:00 AM
hairuLeZ
post Jun 17 2010, 11:06 AM

67 posts

QUOTE(putochip123 @ Jun 17 2010, 10:53 AM)
well, 940XM have higher overclock ability
duh the price is sweat.gif Anyway, im still considering..

Added on June 17, 2010, 11:09 am
QUOTE(astria @ Jun 17 2010, 10:54 AM)

edit: ok, i juz checked, both 920XM and 940XM are of the same stepping (B1), so 940XM is more of like a fine tune of the production...

yup, thats y i stated the performance is not that obvious. Base on my findings la. For the bucks, 920XM is way to go.

This post has been edited by hairuLeZ: Jun 17 2010, 11:09 AM
lk_chin
post Jun 17 2010, 11:32 AM

211 posts

QUOTE(Mr.Docter @ Jun 17 2010, 07:42 AM)
why not? its quite a common thing for beast like us.
so what can i do now ? i try to upgrade the latet catalyst and driver but its seem nth help at all ..lol .....
anyway let u know my specs maybe got soemthing wrong from there

M17x
i7 820
8GB
1TB
dual-1G Redeon HD 5870
dark_axl21
post Jun 17 2010, 11:41 AM

TUKANG
660 posts

QUOTE(budblely @ Jun 17 2010, 10:12 AM)
wah..got New GPU for M15x on Dell website...

a. 1GB DDR3 ATI Mobility Radeon™ HD 5730
b. 1GB GDDR5 ATI Mobility Radeon™ HD 5850

but luckily still the NVIDIA® GeForce® GTX 260M most expensive  brows.gif  brows.gif
Woah, just went to check it up, and it turned out true...
But why is ATI card cheaper than NVIDIA?
Especially when the ATI HD5850 has better performance than GTX260M.
I'm confuse!?!? rclxub.gif
Man why didn't they came out with the optional upgrades sooner? I would have chose it.
Do they accept upgrades?
broga_night
post Jun 17 2010, 11:44 AM

101 posts

hi bro...hav some question here...
is tat posible to upgrade my m11x core2duo processor to the new i7
emino
post Jun 17 2010, 11:50 AM

IG - riezforester
5,967 posts

QUOTE(broga_night @ Jun 17 2010, 11:44 AM)
Dell rep answer to me a few weeks ago:
Its possible, but you need to change the entire motherboard. And the cost of motherboard is too pricey its not worth it.
hairuLeZ
post Jun 17 2010, 12:38 PM

67 posts

QUOTE(dark_axl21 @ Jun 17 2010, 11:41 AM)
I'm confuse!?!?  rclxub.gif
Man why didn't they came out with the optional upgrades sooner? I would have chose it.
Do they accept upgrades?
price getting cheaper.

I remember when XF 5870 shown up, the price is more cheaper than XF 4870. And 1 day later the XF 4870 is no longer available.
putochip123
post Jun 17 2010, 02:18 PM

1,496 posts

Do they accept upgrades?
5850 isn't really more powerfull than GTX260M, but maybe 5850 can play games in DX11 is the advantages....
budblely
post Jun 17 2010, 03:46 PM

134 posts

Do they accept upgrades?
biggrin.gif biggrin.gif
time to upgrade, bro? whistling.gif
dark_axl21
post Jun 17 2010, 04:53 PM

TUKANG
660 posts

QUOTE(budblely @ Jun 17 2010, 03:46 PM)
biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif
time to upgrade, bro?  whistling.gif
Well I guess I have to wait till Julchin_09 to post some pictures and maybe write a small tutorial on the "Upgrading From GTX260M to ATi HD5870" topic! rclxm9.gif
Should have enough money to get the GPU but not the skills to change it doh.gif
hellfire8888
post Jun 17 2010, 05:01 PM

3,196 posts

QUOTE(kuekwee @ Jun 17 2010, 11:52 AM)
it's m11x what do you expect? it just using gt 335m a 2nd class GC. For a 11" laptop it's consider good.
i know la m11x is like shit...but that not my point...my point is why on earth they design an online game which have sky high hardware requirement..?? if really requirement so high how to encourage more ppl to play...like wow if machine like shit still can play..but with Final fantasy..u need a super machine just to play...

be realistic not all can afford a m17x or m15x..and with the sky high requirement i dont even think m15x can be on top of the final fantasy benchmark results...

putochip123
post Jun 17 2010, 05:07 PM

1,496 posts

QUOTE(hellfire8888 @ Jun 17 2010, 05:01 PM)
i know la m11x is like shit...but that not my point...my point is why on earth they design an online game which have sky high hardware requirement..?? if really requirement so high how to encourage more ppl to play...like wow if machine like shit still can play..but with Final fantasy..u need a super machine just to play...

be realistic not all can afford a m17x or m15x..and with the sky high requirement i dont even think m15x can be on top of the final fantasy benchmark results...
brother, they create such a sky high game wan to earn money ma, u have money then u play with a better graphic lor, dont have money play normal/medium setting lor...
the world is like this, Square enix is a strong company, they have a lots of fans d.....

As u said how to encourage people to play, well, u can play at medium setting what? or low setting..... nobody ask u to edit the setting to high or ultra high....
the money for u M11x i think can get a desktop that is able to play that games

Added on June 17, 2010, 5:08 pm
QUOTE(dark_axl21 @ Jun 17 2010, 04:53 PM)
Well I guess I have to wait till Julchin_09 to post some pictures and maybe write a small tutorial on the "Upgrading From GTX260M to ATi HD5870" topic!  rclxm9.gif
Should have enough money to get the GPU but not the skills to change it  doh.gif
well, if u wan, i can help u to do for free..... of course without voiding ur warranty as well

This post has been edited by putochip123: Jun 17 2010, 05:09 PM
hellfire8888
post Jun 17 2010, 05:29 PM

3,196 posts

For your information the benchmark setting i use is LOW (they only got high and low) and based on the benchmark results.. su7300 4GB with gt335m DO NOT MEET the MINIMUM requirement of playing this game...

this shall be the first mmorph game with the highest minimum requirement to date..

According to http://www.finalfantasyxiv.com/media/benchmark/na/index.html

[Under 1500] Insufficient Performance
Does not meet specifications for running the game.

This post has been edited by hellfire8888: Jun 17 2010, 05:35 PM
TSMr.Docter
post Jun 17 2010, 05:44 PM

Doctorpreneurs
5,367 posts

QUOTE(astria @ Jun 17 2010, 10:54 AM)

still, it not worth it for me.

UNLESS you need to run CPU-dependent software & benchmarking purpose.

QUOTE(lk_chin @ Jun 17 2010, 11:32 AM)
so what can i do now ? i try to upgrade the latet catalyst and driver but its seem nth help at all ..lol .....
anyway let u know my specs maybe got soemthing wrong from there

M17x
i7 820
8GB
1TB
dual-1G Redeon HD 5870
it is possible but its really hard to say the power supply is insufficient unless you are overclocking your system, which i doubt.

already email to Dell regarding this matter? what is their reply?
TSMr.Docter
post Jun 17 2010, 05:49 PM

Doctorpreneurs
5,367 posts

Do they accept upgrades?
5850 is weaker than GTX260M.

5850 only overcome GTX260M by Dx11, low power consumption and run cooler. thats why 5850 is more cheaper a bit compared to GTX260M happy.gif

QUOTE(broga_night @ Jun 17 2010, 11:44 AM)
simple answer = no.

complicated answer = yes. by yes, refer to emino answer - which is extremely difficult to find new M11x mobo for i7.
astria
post Jun 17 2010, 05:55 PM

an apple a day keeps the doctor away
22,158 posts

not forgetting GDDR5 has ECC as well... nod.gif

and ATi has always been cheaper than NV...
TSMr.Docter
post Jun 17 2010, 05:55 PM

Doctorpreneurs
5,367 posts

QUOTE(dark_axl21 @ Jun 17 2010, 04:53 PM)
Well I guess I have to wait till Julchin_09 to post some pictures and maybe write a small tutorial on the "Upgrading From GTX260M to ATi HD5870" topic!  rclxm9.gif
Should have enough money to get the GPU but not the skills to change it  doh.gif
well bro Puto willing to help you for free, what you waiting for brows.gif

@ puto : make sure after this, you documented all your crazy experiment work so we can have our own LYN Alienware Upgrading Collection here! rclxm9.gif

QUOTE(hellfire8888 @ Jun 17 2010, 05:29 PM)
For your information the benchmark setting i use is LOW (they only got high and low) and based on the benchmark results.. su7300 4GB with gt335m DO NOT MEET the MINIMUM requirement of playing this game...

this shall be the first mmorph game with the highest minimum requirement to date..

According to http://www.finalfantasyxiv.com/media/benchmark/na/index.html
[Under 1500] Insufficient Performance
Does not meet specifications for running the game.
so its a developer's fault, not us (Alienware). nuff said. smile.gif
dark_axl21
post Jun 17 2010, 06:10 PM

TUKANG
660 posts

QUOTE(putochip123 @ Jun 17 2010, 05:07 PM)
brother, they create such a sky high game wan to earn money ma, u have money then u play with a better graphic lor, dont have money play normal/medium setting lor...
the world is like this, Square enix is a strong company, they have a lots of fans d.....

As u said how to encourage people to play, well, u can play at medium setting what? or low setting..... nobody ask u to edit the setting to high or ultra high....
the money for u M11x i think can get a desktop that is able to play that games

Added on June 17, 2010, 5:08 pm
well, if u wan, i can help u to do for free..... of course without voiding ur warranty as well
That's really kind of you, but wait till I get the card 1st, and how are you suppose to change it?
Thanks so much for the info and feedback guys!!! rclxm9.gif
Should have came here earlier, didn't knew there was such a nice community and Alienware thread here!!! thumbup.gif
lksing78
post Jun 17 2010, 06:58 PM

91 posts

Ok back to my hinge story on my M11x
The good new is they change it for me already
and they change my Alienware m11x colour from bLACK to lunar silver
as a bonus the monitor assembly come with WWAN cable as well rclxms.gif
the story did not end yet,They also change the whole housing
I was like my god, shocking.gif no wonder Dell was reluctant the replace the hinge.

The End

PS the gonna replace my keyboard too next week laugh.gif sweat.gif
budblely
post Jun 17 2010, 06:58 PM

134 posts

QUOTE(putochip123 @ Jun 17 2010, 05:07 PM)
bro, putochip the best notworthy.gif notworthy.gif

128 Pages « < 31 32 33 34 35 > » Top

0.0302sec    0.46    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 11:03 PM