Engine Oil Reviews, What engine oil have u used so far

simon3041
post Aug 5 2012, 09:47 PM

LoV3
1,528 posts

QUOTE(g3n0c|d3 @ Aug 5 2012, 09:19 PM)
Last time i was using mixed. 1st 2 years was nasa and shell. The last year change to liqui moly but it was already after 2nd top overhaul. Every month need to change oil because its all dried up. Liqui moly is very smooth and for 3 piston car like kancil fell smooth like no other engine oil i use. (well of course use cap ayam oil)
this tr5 10w30 is how many L ? price? smile.gif
g3n0c1d3
post Aug 5 2012, 10:25 PM

hai hai... kazuma dayo....
6,497 posts

QUOTE(simon3041 @ Aug 5 2012, 09:47 PM)
this tr5 10w30 is how many L ? price?  smile.gif
I use 3 litres and one liter cost me rm34.
simon3041
post Aug 5 2012, 11:36 PM

LoV3
1,528 posts

QUOTE(g3n0c|d3 @ Aug 5 2012, 10:25 PM)
envy you, lol, i cant find a single litre of torco tr5 here.... doh.gif
Quazacolt
post Aug 5 2012, 11:56 PM

Riding couple
5,367 posts

QUOTE(g3n0c|d3 @ Aug 5 2012, 10:25 PM)
quite ex ur price lol. then again few ringgit difference, somemore the workshop i goto is quite familiar with me already ^^;
g3n0c1d3
post Aug 6 2012, 12:31 AM

hai hai... kazuma dayo....
6,497 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Aug 5 2012, 11:56 PM)
quite ex ur price lol. then again few ringgit difference, somemore the workshop i goto is quite familiar with me already ^^;
Yeah i notice the price is a bit high.
wunpeng
post Aug 6 2012, 08:58 AM

QUOTE(wongtheboy92 @ Aug 4 2012, 12:35 PM)
API SN is for semi-synthetic or for mineral? or it just depends, guys?
Now SN Grade only have in SEMI and Fully.
wongtheboy92
post Aug 6 2012, 10:50 AM

809 posts

API SM or API SN? I know SN is newer, but putting API SM oil will not cause harm right?
ultramaman
post Aug 6 2012, 10:57 AM

168 posts

find your car owners manual, and check the recommended oil. there they would have stated the minimun api rating to be used for the car.

pumpman
post Aug 6 2012, 11:38 AM

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Jul 26 2012, 08:55 AM)
Torco replies to my query
"I have tried to look up your certifications towards API, however i can't seem to find it. Of course you guys have made many claims on exceeding the API standards/requirements, however thats your words against anyone else's and i believe it would be more of a peace of mind to know that there is an actual certification backing it up should i use your products.

If you guys do have your engine oil certified, could you guys link me some proof on the certification?"
the initial reply before the more formatted/detailed one:

if zinc is the main ingredient, i can get you a FS motor oil with more than 2000 ppm and still cheaper than Torco smile.gif and still API certified and approved oil

This post has been edited by pumpman: Aug 6 2012, 11:39 AM
SUSOptiplex330
post Aug 6 2012, 11:38 AM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(ultramaman @ Aug 6 2012, 10:57 AM)
find your car owners manual, and check the recommended oil. there they would have stated the minimun api rating to be used for the car.
Many people don't read their car manual. And think all mechanic and oil salesman are expert.

alexng2208
post Aug 6 2012, 11:40 AM

Why my warn is 0%? i miss my high warn
4,789 posts

There are like 3 to 5 different variants of Amsoil,

What are the difference between them?
ultramaman
post Aug 6 2012, 11:50 AM

168 posts

QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Aug 6 2012, 11:38 AM)
Many people don't read their car manual. And think all mechanic and oil salesman are expert.
its the first book i read every time i collect a new car.
Quazacolt
post Aug 6 2012, 11:51 AM

Riding couple
5,367 posts

QUOTE(pumpman @ Aug 6 2012, 11:38 AM)
if zinc is the main ingredient, i can get you a FS motor oil with more than 2000 ppm and still cheaper than Torco smile.gif and still API certified and approved oil
here is the contradiction:
- having more than 2000 ppm
- API-SM rating no longer approves anything more than 800ppm, SN is even worse.

so... is this some ancient/dated API certification, or you sure you're not cheated? (either the additives, or the certification)

Added on August 6, 2012, 11:52 am
QUOTE(ultramaman @ Aug 6 2012, 11:50 AM)
its the first book i read every time i collect a new car.
i didnt collect a new car (my car's running 13 years old now lol) and yet i took the effort to google for my car's manual previously tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Quazacolt: Aug 6 2012, 11:52 AM
pumpman
post Aug 6 2012, 12:07 PM

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Aug 6 2012, 12:51 PM)
here is the contradiction:
- having more than 2000 ppm
- API-SM rating no longer approves anything more than 800ppm, SN is even worse.

so... is this some ancient/dated API certification, or you sure you're not cheated? (either the additives, or the certification)

Bro, please check with Torco , API & ILSAC controls zinc on which viscosity grade of oil...you will have the answer

Added on August 6, 2012, 12:10 pm
QUOTE(ultramaman @ Aug 5 2012, 07:17 AM)
Can share how to read and what eaxh means?

from the chart, i notice you are comparing SAE xxW-40 oil..for towing and modified engine and extra drain interval, go for higher HTHS value .. For fuel economy go for lower viscosity no at 100 degC.

This post has been edited by pumpman: Aug 6 2012, 04:15 PM
Quazacolt
post Aug 6 2012, 12:16 PM

Riding couple
5,367 posts

QUOTE(pumpman @ Aug 6 2012, 12:07 PM)
Bro, please check with Torco , API & ILSAC controls zinc on which viscosity grade of oil...you will have the answer

Added on August 6, 2012, 12:10 pm from the chart, i notice you are comparing SAE xxW-40 oil..
my mail is not enough? they exceed the zinc ppm amount and thus fail to get certified by API

the point is simple here:
api certification requires you to have lower zinc ppm

you claim to have higher zinc ppm than torco, which they already fail to get certification because of that reason (1 of it anyways)

so am i missing out something here?

Added on August 6, 2012, 12:16 pm
QUOTE(ultramaman @ Aug 5 2012, 06:17 AM)
guess no one is gonna provide that rofl

This post has been edited by Quazacolt: Aug 6 2012, 12:16 PM
xphr3ak
post Aug 6 2012, 12:33 PM

1,797 posts

QUOTE(ultramaman @ Aug 5 2012, 06:17 AM)
Hope this helps:

http://www.supramania.com/forums/showthrea...-and-Synthetics

Quazacolt
post Aug 6 2012, 12:39 PM

Riding couple
5,367 posts

QUOTE(xphr3ak @ Aug 6 2012, 12:33 PM)
thanks for the link, will have a good read once i get the time (working now tongue.gif)
wunpeng
post Aug 6 2012, 03:10 PM

QUOTE(wongtheboy92 @ Aug 6 2012, 10:50 AM)
API SM or API SN? I know SN is newer, but putting API SM oil will not cause harm right?
is API SM and API SN.. Got Put API normally won't harm engine...
pumpman
post Aug 6 2012, 04:21 PM

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Aug 6 2012, 01:16 PM)
my mail is not enough? they exceed the zinc ppm amount and thus fail to get certified by API

the point is simple here:
api certification requires you to have lower zinc ppm

you claim to have higher zinc ppm than torco, which they already fail to get certification because of that reason (1 of it anyways)

so am i missing out something here?

Torco just tell you half of the story.. Otherwise how to sell their products at that price blush.gif

Quazacolt
post Aug 6 2012, 04:30 PM

Riding couple
5,367 posts

QUOTE(pumpman @ Aug 6 2012, 04:21 PM)
Torco just tell you half of the story.. Otherwise how to sell their products at that price blush.gif
can tell me whats the other half of the story please?

126 Pages « < 65 66 67 68 69 > » Top

0.0214sec    0.24    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 04:46 AM