126 Pages « < 52 53 54 55 56 > » Bottom

Engine Oil Reviews, What engine oil have u used so far

my1508
post May 2 2012, 12:06 PM

I want to use Petronas syntium full synthetic for my preve.

what should i use 0W/30 or 0W/40
chemistry
post May 2 2012, 01:43 PM

3,066 posts

QUOTE(my1508 @ May 2 2012, 12:06 PM)
I want to use Petronas syntium full synthetic for my preve.

what should i use 0W/30 or 0W/40
Read the user manual. biggrin.gif
hitz
post May 2 2012, 05:58 PM

225 posts

QUOTE(pumpman @ Apr 29 2012, 12:53 AM)
I use delo 400 in my camry now..
Bro no more use Valvoline oil liao? whistling.gif
pumpman
post May 2 2012, 06:07 PM

QUOTE(hitz @ May 2 2012, 06:58 PM)
Bro no more use Valvoline oil liao?  whistling.gif

you know i got so much oil.. need to try out right... tongue.gif

kevvin99
post May 2 2012, 11:55 PM

how much does castrol magnatec 10w 40w cost nowdays thanxss
ultramaman
post May 3 2012, 09:05 AM

168 posts

QUOTE(kevvin99 @ May 2 2012, 11:55 PM)
how much does castrol magnatec 10w 40w cost nowdays thanxss
around 120-130 . harga naik ...
nik0ns
post May 3 2012, 02:43 PM

Ingenium
1,302 posts

hey guys...usually how long is the shelf life of synthetic engine oil?
kevvin99
post May 3 2012, 08:25 PM

castrol magnatec 10w 40w rm105 only.just asked
waikikizzz
post May 3 2012, 10:10 PM

157 posts

what is the best for vios??10 40w? or 10 50w? fuly?

This post has been edited by waikikizzz: May 3 2012, 10:10 PM
shinjite
post May 4 2012, 12:04 AM

�ŞħĬΩĵΐŦ��
19,321 posts

I am sure toyota's user manual stated xw-40 rated engine oils for the VIOS

This post has been edited by shinjite: May 4 2012, 12:04 AM
huakenny
post May 5 2012, 12:18 PM

384 posts

QUOTE(shinjite @ May 4 2012, 12:04 AM)
I am sure toyota's user manual stated xw-40 rated engine oils for the VIOS
my fren serviced at toyota center. they using mineral based xW30..toyota oil
ThunderGod_Cid
post May 5 2012, 12:23 PM

158 posts

I said countless times already, i blew my engine with magnatec. Big nono
Quazacolt
post May 5 2012, 02:57 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(ThunderGod_Cid @ May 5 2012, 12:23 PM)
im almost certain it could be other factor/in relation or not and the blame shouldn't be solely on castrol magnatec's fault.

regardless, after experiencing good engine oil like torco/liqui moly (omg torco price hike, my trusted workshop now charging rm35/liter from 32/liter, but the engine oil change service is "free" sad lol) i am never ever looking back to mainstream engine oils laugh.gif

=edit=
not to mention since the oil is easily sustainable over 5k km, folks like my mom whos either too damn busy or forgetful, can still experience responsive engine and not sluggish crap performance/shitty FC

just serviced the sentra with the usual torco, revved it hard on the way back taking a slightly long detour to the mrr2 for a nice ride of over 150k/km. torco is just AWESOME for high revving LOL!

This post has been edited by Quazacolt: May 5 2012, 03:00 PM
zeone
post May 5 2012, 06:10 PM

A Friend...
784 posts

QUOTE(nik0ns @ May 3 2012, 02:43 PM)
hey guys...usually how long is the shelf life of synthetic engine oil?
IINM Mobil states 5 yrs... tongue.gif
SUSOptiplex330
post May 6 2012, 12:29 AM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(ThunderGod_Cid @ May 5 2012, 12:23 PM)
If using correct grade and viscosity, shouldn't happen. Something else must have caused that. Fake oil?

zeone
post May 6 2012, 11:48 AM

A Friend...
784 posts

QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ May 6 2012, 12:29 AM)
If using correct grade and viscosity, shouldn't happen. Something else must have caused that. Fake oil?
Yup. Feel so too. tongue.gif
Hv used Magnatec for 2 oil changes. No probs.
Normal driving tho. rolleyes.gif
ThunderGod_Cid
post May 6 2012, 12:58 PM

158 posts

QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ May 6 2012, 12:29 AM)
I wouldn't know. rather stick to brands that done have 'fake' recognition, not even once
EpsilonStar
post May 6 2012, 09:58 PM

1,245 posts

i am slightly confuse after reading the debate on mineral oil and FS OCI (i assume oil change interval?)

So what's exactly the benefit of FS over mineral if both is actually better be changed at 5k? as it sounds like contaminant is more of a reason to change oil rather than the protection wearing off...
the cost of FS is a lot higher.. a bit concern coz the car manual stated FS and oil change every 10k...

This post has been edited by EpsilonStar: May 6 2012, 10:01 PM
Quazacolt
post May 6 2012, 10:11 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(EpsilonStar @ May 6 2012, 09:58 PM)
i am slightly confuse after reading the debate on mineral oil and FS OCI (i assume oil change interval?)

So what's exactly the benefit of FS over mineral if both is actually better be changed at 5k? as it sounds like contaminant is more of a reason to change oil rather than the protection wearing off...
the cost of FS is a lot higher.. a bit concern coz the car manual stated FS and oil change every 10k...
if your car manual states to OCI (yes you are correct) every 10k km, then you can easily use FS oil and change at that interval, or consider cheaper semi syn and do it 6-7k ish for OCI.

if you dont have the budget to go for good FS, consider just getting good Semi syn which easily beats cheap FS in terms of lubrication/additives.

the main reasons on using better engine oils are engine protection, more so if you're someone who loves his car, or someone who drives/abuses their car really hard and it's better to spend more on better engine oil to protect the engine than to risk having engine repairs/overhauls etc smile.gif
SUSOptiplex330
post May 6 2012, 11:10 PM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(EpsilonStar @ May 6 2012, 09:58 PM)

You use FS if:
1. You drive a super car like a Ferrari or BMW etc.
2. You use it in the cold arctic or Antarctica.
3. You use it in the hot Sahara desert.
4. You want slightly better fuel economy, not more than 5%.

If not, IMO, it is a waste of money to use FS for normal car used in normal circumstances. And I am sure people selling those to you make more profit.

126 Pages « < 52 53 54 55 56 > » Top

0.0227sec    0.55    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 11:06 AM