Photography The Sony Alpha Thread V41!, The Orange Legion

lwliam
post Jun 3 2010, 12:24 AM

Your friendly neighborhood photographer
6,075 posts

QUOTE(mastering89 @ Jun 3 2010, 12:21 AM)
amboi for the G can get both siggy and tamron and add something else  shocking.gif
habis tuh? u gave the choice wad... tongue.gif i answer jer la

QUOTE(wingster @ Jun 3 2010, 12:22 AM)
Take usable F2.8 on lowlight + Sharp F4? go for Tamron 1750

Take long tele 80mm + Zeiss color? for go for 1680 CZ
basically, u did not give any proper answer to his question also.. LOL
cjlai
post Jun 3 2010, 12:30 AM

1,631 posts

anyone going this friday?

mastering89
post Jun 3 2010, 12:30 AM

miao miao
2,546 posts

haha Gila mahal. sweat.gif

wingster :hows the bokeh and all if at 50mm f2.8? i'm considering to upgrade also sweat.gif . or can pinjam urs? tukar one day wiv my sal16105?? whistling.gif

cjlai : tak dapat invitation cry.gif , so probably joining the CAL TT laugh.gif

This post has been edited by mastering89: Jun 3 2010, 12:34 AM
gizmo_pony
post Jun 3 2010, 12:34 AM

451 posts

anybody here owns 70-300G ? is it worth to upgrade from beercan to this G lens ?
eddybeh
post Jun 3 2010, 12:43 AM

830 posts

haiyo.... cjlai...... i baru go bak cyberjaya that date.......
gizmo_pony
post Jun 3 2010, 12:49 AM

451 posts

the flash zoom is according to lens focal length OR 35mm equivalent focal length in aps-c body ?
Veron83
post Jun 3 2010, 01:10 AM

434 posts

midnight spam...sharing my bday cake after P.S... rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif

clivengu
post Jun 3 2010, 04:14 AM

1,850 posts

QUOTE(lwliam @ Jun 2 2010, 09:36 PM)
mastering, for food, your white balance MUST be correct. easily done with us alphas, coz can custom WB on a white card or tissue at restaurants. then overexpose by 1/3 stop, that should be fine
QUOTE(lwliam @ Jun 2 2010, 09:42 PM)

From the WB master! Always perfect WB.. Thats the power of practice in Jpeg..learn a few tricks from u... me on other hand always lazy.. do the wb raw editing afterward. By the time i set up my white balance im sure the food is already half eaten by others laugh.gif not only shooting wedding need to be fast.. apply for food photo as well.

QUOTE(GooD_DaY @ Jun 2 2010, 10:39 PM)
Hi all the sifus here, I know I am not posting in the right post, but as I see the version of this sony is consider as very high, so just wanted to find some answers that I'm in dilemma of.

Here's my story, I just started my foundation in business and IT (about 4days of studying excluding orientation) and I always bump into this thread before, the more I come in and read, the more I's interested in photography  blink.gif  but then as I just paid the fees of my college for my 1st semester, if I quit now it will be wasting my parent's money  sad.gif  but as now I just found my interest in photography and wanted to be a photographer(wedding as it's a happy event and can make money) I'm really confused now that should I pursue a degree of business and IT, or quit and pursue something like diploma in photography or related events.

But before I register my college, I had gained interest already in photography, but as I'm colour blind (not those that can only see black and white ones) I'm scared that I can't make it, but as now if any of u guys were me, would u

1) Quit after semester 1 and get a DSLR, pursue diploma in photography or work part time in related field

or

2) Continue studying and just get a DSLR and wait pro work freelance photographer??

icon_question.gif 

appreciate it very much
THANKS!!

Photography to me these days seems very competitive. You really need to standout from the rest if you wanna make a good living from it. A degree in photography is not really necessary but is always a good foundation to start with... I believe the course is designed to train yourself different from the rest of dslr OWNERs.

Do not get discourage. If you think u want it very much, then just go for it. There is nothing better than work on something you love to do. Of course you will hear a lot of negative feedback... (if u tell ur mum or others u wanna starts selling durian business...what will they say?) Nowadays people tend to go for the "safe path"... study... get good result.. get good job.. work the rest of life... die sweat.gif nothing wrong with that.. some people love that cause is predictable n safe.

Im a science students n get full As for all my science subjects in school... but I firmly apply for art & design course. Many says interior design cannot cari makan... why dont study doctor or medic since my result can get JPA scholarship. Mayb im juz stubborn.. i never once doubt bout my decision... of course im glad my parents support 100%. On other hand, my stubbornness simply wanna prove those people who doubt about me.. that I can do well in what have chosen hoho

The real question will be ... How MUCH you want it. If you think your job going to be hell boring.. u just wanna get a cert, then a daily job... then better pursue your photography dream. If you are uncertain, doubt, not sure... maybe is just your SUDDEN interest in photography.. Then you better don risk it. Take the road more often taken. B Safe. You see many of us here are not full time photographer rolleyes.gif is just our hobbies..you can still play photography even if u din go for the course.

ah this remind me of a poem by Robert Frost hehe

The Road Not Taken

QUOTE(e-jump @ Jun 2 2010, 11:28 PM)
guess i've been away for so long.. wave.gif
july is coming up, so i hope i can have more cosplayers to shoot

my bestest shot so far *vignet edit
a300+ sigma 28F1.8
F58 wireless in HSS mode
Wow this is Beautiful.. I love the colours thumbup.gif

QUOTE(alex_cyw1985 @ Jun 2 2010, 11:38 PM)
I am currently using kitlens (18-55mm)

any fast lens to recommend except prime.

is Tamron 17-50mm good? what is the market price? any cheap deal in lowyat?
Yes is GOOD! Sharp at F2.8. Period. If you like shooting in low light wide open and don like to boost up ur iso... then this lens best for you..Rm 1400 below can get.

QUOTE(mastering89 @ Jun 3 2010, 12:10 AM)
for a 70 200 f2.8 which one's the best? sigma ? tamron? G SSM?
u ask BEST of course will say G SSM laaa!~~ the price x 2 ,

QUOTE(cjlai @ Jun 3 2010, 12:30 AM)
anyone going this friday?

Must be invited? or can we just go there without invitation? I just wanna visit the place.
wingster
post Jun 3 2010, 07:15 AM

mr.Uiinshiida.
1,418 posts

QUOTE(lwliam @ Jun 3 2010, 12:24 AM)
habis tuh? u gave the choice wad... tongue.gif i answer jer la
basically, u did not give any proper answer to his question also.. LOL
ops tongue.gif maybe I'm blur just now

Tamron 17-50 F2.8 is actually costs around RM1500 but second hand value can get around RM1000~RM1300 depends on the condition.

At f2.8 is not recently sharp on corners but at least center has good sharpness, on f4 will make it more sharper

Carl Zeiss 16-80 F3.5-F4.5 costs around RM2400~RM2500 but second value can get around RM2000 depends on condition also.

Like the Tamron, CZ 16-80 has the same sharpness as the Tammy 17-50 on F4 however CZ gains more better color than Tammy.

Depends your budget and also your needs for working, if you wanted to do low light photography in natural lighting I may suggest Tammy but if you want nice colors and extra telephoto get the CZ
shootkk
post Jun 3 2010, 09:09 AM

Loyal Sony A100 User
2,540 posts

[G]ood_Day : **** Turning uncle mode to ON *****

Take this advise from this uncle lar... finish your studies is Business and IT first. It's a good course and you really do not have to stay in the office if you find the right kind of job. IT is a huge field.

Photography is fun when you're having it as a hobby. When you want to earn a living from it, it's not so fun anymore. It's hard work and most of the time you're unappreciated.

Competition is stiff and if you don't really stand out, you're in for a hard time. People here in M'sia still have very low perception and respect for people dealing in arts like artists, authors and photographers. They think what you do is 'cheap' and most of the time are not willing to pay for services rendered.

Wedding photography? It's a hard job. You work your ass off and they expect you to do it for free! You know what they actually think? 'Take pictures only mah, so difficult meh? I can get my <insert favourite relative or friend> to do it for free also, why need to pay you so much?'

They want the best pictures but when you ask them what kind of pictures they want, they have no idea and say that you're the photographer you should know already. What am I? A mind reader? If you go with your own style and they don't like it, they blame you. So it's not about just taking pics, there's also how you deal with clients and settle conflicts. Sometimes they ask for the sky and only want to pay peanuts.

When you're just starting out, it's really difficult. If you charge they question your ability and skills. If you don't charge they take it for granted and it comes back to bite you sometimes. This happens when some of their friends want you to do the job and don't want to pay because you did not charge the first time mah...

So what do you get? A lot of hard work but little monetary rewards. It's not the money that is the main reward here (especially when you're just starting out). It's the satisfaction you get when you've done a good job. Nothing beats a comment like, "Hey! I like the photos you took at the last wedding" from a client.

And also when you're relying on photography to bring in the money, you may need to shoot things that you don't like to shoot just to bring in the money you need to survive. Have you thought about that?

Not to dampened your spirits lar... if you have enough of an interest, you will find a way somehow but just need to tell you a bit of the 'not so good side'. People only tell you their good stories. Seldom do you get to hear about their bad stories.

**** Turning uncle mode to OFF *****

BTW I'm not full time photographer... just part time like whenever there's an offer to do kinda photographer...
ianho
post Jun 3 2010, 09:17 AM

Cucimangkoklife
15,705 posts

Funny how so many ppl think photography is like a glamour job or sumthin. It's 1 of the worst paid professions in the world.
mastering89
post Jun 3 2010, 09:20 AM

miao miao
2,546 posts

QUOTE(ianho @ Jun 3 2010, 09:17 AM)
Funny how so many ppl think photography is like a glamour job or sumthin. It's 1 of the worst paid professions in the world.
here this article states the other way brows.gif (overpaid jobs in US)
probably just in US and for those experienced photographers laugh.gif

This post has been edited by mastering89: Jun 3 2010, 09:21 AM
zstan
post Jun 3 2010, 09:36 AM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(lwliam @ Jun 2 2010, 11:07 PM)
i'm a full time engineer.. in fact most of us here are not full time photographers. i know a couple of us are doing IT (finejava), interior design related (clivengu), medical (braindead_freak), still in engineering degree (Mo0), just to name a few

and honestly, my gear list is peanuts compared to what others have here...

Added on June 2, 2010, 11:09 pmcome la, where in KL do you stay? we organize TT ajak u along la... then u will know what can u learn from photography
am i the only one in health sciences here? laugh.gif
[G]ooD_DaY
post Jun 3 2010, 09:42 AM

1,450 posts

QUOTE(gizmo_pony @ Jun 2 2010, 11:06 PM)
Yes bro William is absolutely correct, don't think too much about your future, it will make u mad  nod.gif while studying you still can learn and play2 with camera, be the best photographer among your friends !
Hmmmm... be the best among frens...
i think i can 1 cos i dun have fren playing photography

QUOTE(lwliam @ Jun 2 2010, 11:07 PM)
i'm a full time engineer.. in fact most of us here are not full time photographers. i know a couple of us are doing IT (finejava), interior design related (clivengu), medical (braindead_freak), still in engineering degree (Mo0), just to name a few

and honestly, my gear list is peanuts compared to what others have here...

Added on June 2, 2010, 11:09 pmcome la, where in KL do you stay? we organize TT ajak u along la... then u will know what can u learn from photography
blink.gif blink.gif full time engineer wor~
lolz i stay in cheras leisure mall nearby
when u all organize TT I can join de
but i dun have a dslr
rclxub.gif rclxub.gif
sry late reply ytd sleep
eddybeh
post Jun 3 2010, 09:47 AM

830 posts

wow... so many turn into uncle mode... haha.... but all they said is totally true... i oso studying engineering while learning bit by bit in photography... haha...
[G]ooD_DaY
post Jun 3 2010, 09:53 AM

1,450 posts

QUOTE(mastering89 @ Jun 2 2010, 11:11 PM)
gizmo_pony: owh ok, will try later. i wont mind try shooting in different angles with my food. like this one is my dad's koay teow, so need shoot cepat2.  sweat.gif

[G]ooD_DaY: just take photography as a hobby first, something u minat. learn slowly & take experience then only decide to go for full time photographer. something nice to read by KenRockwell.com
QUOTE(Mikeshashimi @ Jun 2 2010, 11:16 PM)
yeah true true..

and im studying LAW.

honestly how many pro photographers are actually photography degree holders? (i want to know too.. smile.gif )

get a 'proper' degree (no offence) first then do this as a side thing and eventually if ur sooo into it, make it your main focus.

and also since ur just 18, assuming that ur not filthy rich, photography is NOT a cheap hobby.

but at the end of the day, its what ur passionate about. also, practicality has to play a part, is being a photography-graduate a good prospect in the market?
QUOTE(hazril @ Jun 2 2010, 11:17 PM)
why need to limit one source of income when u can have 2 source of income...??im working as a webmaster and parttime seronok2 photog...at least u have a steady income than relying on photography only....
okay okay I will consider deeply about it, and I don't really want to waste my parent's money on my 1st sem and I give up
thx all the sifus here
btw what is TT??
ahpingko
post Jun 3 2010, 09:53 AM

Live.Ride.Run
2,816 posts

guys..what size of filter can i buy for my 1855kitlens?..i plan to buy UV filter...is it 55mm? for my 18-55kitlens which comes with my 550 alpha..

This post has been edited by ahpingko: Jun 3 2010, 09:54 AM
eddybeh
post Jun 3 2010, 10:04 AM

830 posts

[G]ooD_DaY: TT=Teh tarik. m i rite?
ahpingko: ya, i think it's 55mm, u can check on the lens cap.
ahpingko
post Jun 3 2010, 10:06 AM

Live.Ride.Run
2,816 posts

ya..i saw 55mm on my lens...so means correct lo?....filter got hw many type?..CPL or UV is better??...screw in type ?..i saw some thread in the inner part of the lens..
lwliam
post Jun 3 2010, 10:06 AM

Your friendly neighborhood photographer
6,075 posts

QUOTE(GooD_DaY @ Jun 3 2010, 09:53 AM)
okay okay I will consider deeply about it, and I don't really want to waste my parent's money on my 1st sem and I give up
thx all the sifus here
btw what is TT??
TT is a meet up session just to share share tokoksingsong as some of us would put it... abbreviation of 'teh tarik' or 'tech transfer' (more of poison transfer if u ask me)

QUOTE(ahpingko @ Jun 3 2010, 09:53 AM)
guys..what size of filter can i buy for my 1855kitlens?..i plan to buy UV filter...is it 55mm? for my 18-55kitlens which comes with my 550 alpha..
take your lens, look at it from the front, you will see a symbol like this user posted image with a number next to it, that number is your lens' filter size

This post has been edited by lwliam: Jun 3 2010, 10:07 AM

126 Pages « < 47 48 49 50 51 > » Top

0.0280sec    0.39    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 10:00 AM