2)

c&c pls
[G]ooD_DaY
post Jun 3 2010, 10:10 AM

1,450 posts

QUOTE(clivengu @ Jun 3 2010, 04:14 AM)
From the WB master! Always perfect WB.. Thats the power of practice in Jpeg..learn a few tricks from u... me on other hand always lazy.. do the wb raw editing afterward. By the time i set up my white balance im sure the food is already half eaten by others  laugh.gif not only shooting wedding need to be fast.. apply for food photo as well.
Photography to me these days seems very competitive. You really need to standout from the rest if you wanna make a good living from it. A degree in photography is not really necessary but is always a good foundation to start with... I believe the course is designed to train yourself different from the rest of dslr OWNERs.

Do not get discourage. If you think u want it very much, then just go for it. There is nothing better than work on something you love to do. Of course you will hear a lot of negative feedback... (if u tell ur mum or others u wanna starts selling durian business...what will they say?) Nowadays people tend to go for the "safe path"... study... get good result.. get good job.. work the rest of life... die sweat.gif nothing wrong with that.. some people love that cause is predictable n safe.

Im a science students n get full As for all my science subjects in school... but I firmly apply for art & design course. Many says interior design cannot cari makan... why dont study doctor or medic since my result can get JPA scholarship. Mayb im juz stubborn.. i never once doubt bout my decision... of course im glad my parents support 100%. On other hand, my stubbornness simply wanna prove those people who doubt about me.. that I can do well in what have chosen hoho

The real question will be ... How MUCH you want it. If you think your job going to be hell boring.. u just wanna get a cert, then a daily job... then better pursue your photography dream. If you are uncertain, doubt, not sure... maybe is just your SUDDEN interest in photography.. Then you better don risk it. Take the road more often taken. B Safe. You see many of us here are not full time photographer  rolleyes.gif is just our hobbies..you can still play photography even if u din go for the course.

ah this remind me of a poem by Robert Frost  hehe

The Road Not Taken

Wow this is Beautiful.. I love the colours  thumbup.gif
Yes is GOOD! Sharp at F2.8. Period. If you like shooting in low light wide open and don like to boost up ur iso... then this lens best for you..Rm 1400 below can get.
u ask BEST of course will say G SSM laaa!~~ the price x 2 ,
Must be invited? or can we just go there without invitation?  I just wanna visit the place.
QUOTE(shootkk @ Jun 3 2010, 09:09 AM)
[G]ood_Day : **** Turning uncle mode to ON *****

Take this advise from this uncle lar... finish your studies is Business and IT first. It's a good course and you really do not have to stay in the office if you find the right kind of job. IT is a huge field.

Photography is fun when you're having it as a hobby. When you want to earn a living from it, it's not so fun anymore. It's hard work and most of the time you're unappreciated.

Competition is stiff and if you don't really stand out, you're in for a hard time. People here in M'sia still have very low perception and respect for people dealing in arts like artists, authors and photographers. They think what you do is 'cheap' and most of the time are not willing to pay for services rendered.

Wedding photography? It's a hard job. You work your ass off and they expect you to do it for free!  You know what they actually think? 'Take pictures only mah, so difficult meh? I can get my <insert favourite relative or friend> to do it for free also, why need to pay you so much?'

They want the best pictures but when you ask them what kind of pictures they want, they have no idea and say that you're the photographer you should know already. What am I? A mind reader? If you go with your own style and they don't like it, they blame you. So it's not about just taking pics, there's also how you deal with clients and settle conflicts. Sometimes they ask for the sky and only want to pay peanuts.

When you're just starting out, it's really difficult. If you charge they question your ability and skills. If you don't charge they take it for granted and it comes back to bite you sometimes. This happens when some of their friends want you to do the job and don't want to pay because you did not charge the first time mah...

So what do you get? A lot of hard work but little monetary rewards. It's not the money that is the main reward here (especially when you're just starting out). It's the satisfaction you get when you've done a good job. Nothing beats a comment like, "Hey! I like the photos you took at the last wedding" from a client.

And also when you're relying on photography to bring in the money, you may need to shoot things that you don't like to shoot just to bring in the money you need to survive. Have you thought about that?

Not to dampened your spirits lar... if you have enough of an interest, you will find a way somehow but just need to tell you a bit of the 'not so good side'. People only tell you their good stories. Seldom do you get to hear about their bad stories.

**** Turning uncle mode to OFF *****

BTW I'm not full time photographer... just part time like whenever there's an offer to do kinda photographer...
thx for the advice, really appreciate it, yes I know everything has its good and bad point of it, just that I'm deeply in dilemma
rclxub.gif
yeah agree with both of u, safe mode and the risk mode
rclxub.gif
btw the poem is in my secondary school syllabus too, and I too get affected by it,
actually before I learn about photography, I too think like they think, shoot only mah, got so difficult meh...
=.=
after that I know it's quite complicated then I salute to the pros d..
actually the reason besides money I personally think that contributing to increase the happiness of the couple to capture their sweet memories is the main reason..
even though I haven't do it before, but I have the feeling that this gives me a "cheng jiu gan in mandarin" (aspiration I think)
I feels that it feels so good working in a happy surrounding(wedding)
and yeah thats my feeling
sweat.gif
haha gonna go in class soon
c u guys later~
mintii
post Jun 3 2010, 10:19 AM

90 posts

hi everybody.. im new..xD
have been following tis thread.. bt since i don hv a dslr.. i can jz read only..
i jz pinjam n play once in a while..>.<
saving money to get one...

one curious question: any females here? brows.gif

[G]ooD_DaY: finish ur course first la.. take photography as a hobby first..

n i guess im the only one persuing business here? omg...
shootkk
post Jun 3 2010, 10:31 AM

Loyal Sony A100 User
2,540 posts

QUOTE(GooD_DaY @ Jun 3 2010, 10:10 AM)
thx for the advice, really appreciate it, yes I know everything has its good and bad point of it, just that I'm deeply in dilemma
rclxub.gif
yeah agree with both of u, safe mode and the risk mode
rclxub.gif
btw the poem is in my secondary school syllabus too, and I too get affected by it,
actually before I learn about photography, I too think like they think, shoot only mah, got so difficult meh...
=.=
after that I know it's quite complicated then I salute to the pros d..
actually the reason besides money I personally think that contributing to increase the happiness of the couple to capture their sweet memories is the main reason..
even though I haven't do it before, but I have the feeling that this gives me a "cheng jiu gan in mandarin" (aspiration I think)
I feels that it feels so good working in a happy surrounding(wedding)
and yeah thats my feeling
sweat.gif
haha gonna go in class soon
c u guys later~
Haha! I would not blame you to think that you're working in a happy surrounding in a wedding. The OTHERS may be happy but you as the photographer will not be. Why?

Well for one, you will be much too busy to be happy. You have to get into position BEFORE the moment is lost. You will have to jostle for position against the horde of well-meaning relatives and friends with cameras also wanting to get a shot. They can miss their shot but you CANNOT afford to. While doing so, you also will have to take care NOT to offend them too much as they are the friends and family members of the happy couple. It will not do for them to complain about you in front of them, right? And trust me, some can really get annoying! vmad.gif

After all the hassle and hard work, the couple will tend to forget about you as they are too busy with their own things to do. You will have to co-ordinate the shoot most of the time. Sometimes the couple will forget to take group photos with the most important people like their own parents or grandparents!! doh.gif It's times like these that you will have to step in and ASK or FORCE (albeit nicely) for the picture to be taken. It will not do to have group pics of all the 'heng tais' and 'ji muis' but NONE of the couple with their parents/grandparents. Even though it is partly their fault to have forgetten, the final blame will be on 100% on YOU! Is that fair? Not really but that's how it is. rclxub.gif

So it not so happy after all. You have a very big responsibility to carry out your job and co-ordinate the shoot and make sure no important shots are missing. sweat.gif

Of course at the end of the day one, "Wow!" from the clients and/or members of their family can make up for it all. That's the sense of accomplishment and an acknowledgement of a job well done for you. It's priceless if you have the passion and interest for it. thumbup.gif
ahpingko
post Jun 3 2010, 10:33 AM

Live.Ride.Run
2,816 posts

QUOTE(8tvt @ Jun 3 2010, 10:07 AM)
yup 55mm i used toko..
u using same kitlens as mine?...so the filter size is 55mm?
hazril
post Jun 3 2010, 10:34 AM

.: This Is Brazil! :.
3,070 posts

QUOTE(ahpingko @ Jun 3 2010, 10:33 AM)
all standard if not mistaken...even my 18-70 uses 55mm also...
Soony
post Jun 3 2010, 10:35 AM

I love Photography !
2,131 posts

For sony its kind of standard.. but nikon's kit lens its 52mm and for canon its 58mm.. but until the end of of the day with all those high end lenses... its 77mm
eddybeh
post Jun 3 2010, 10:42 AM

830 posts

mintii: i think ppl here wont mind if u don have a dslr. haha... save faster... it seems like sony users increasing~~ wuuhoo~~~
8tvt
post Jun 3 2010, 10:45 AM

Peace Lover
8,753 posts

QUOTE(ahpingko @ Jun 3 2010, 10:33 AM)
yup 18-55 and also 55-200
both also 55mm.. quite good though coz some bigger filter increase in prices..
mintii
post Jun 3 2010, 10:45 AM

90 posts

QUOTE(eddybeh @ Jun 3 2010, 10:42 AM)
mintii: i think ppl here wont mind if u don have a dslr. haha... save faster... it seems like sony users increasing~~ wuuhoo~~~
thx... im trying.. mayb another year.. after i grad.. sad.gif
any recommendations??
8tvt
post Jun 3 2010, 10:49 AM

Peace Lover
8,753 posts

recommendation would be go for sony free workshop hehehe..
for a new users and also "would be" users..
next week got.. but fully booked.. can check @ their site though..
likito
post Jun 3 2010, 10:50 AM

1,468 posts

QUOTE(mintii @ Jun 3 2010, 10:19 AM)
hi everybody.. im new..xD
have been following tis thread.. bt since i don hv a dslr.. i can jz read only..
i jz pinjam n play once in a while..>.<
saving money to get one...

one curious question: any females here? brows.gif

[G]ooD_DaY: finish ur course first la.. take photography as a hobby first..

n i guess im the only one persuing business here? omg...
orange region welcome u , rarely got female alpharian hmm.gif
any body in mind (wish list)?

Added on June 3, 2010, 10:52 am
QUOTE(mintii @ Jun 3 2010, 10:45 AM)
thx... im trying.. mayb another year.. after i grad.. sad.gif
any recommendations??
coming NEX or A290 A390 brows.gif

This post has been edited by likito: Jun 3 2010, 10:55 AM
mintii
post Jun 3 2010, 10:58 AM

90 posts

QUOTE(8tvt @ Jun 3 2010, 10:49 AM)
recommendation would be go for sony free workshop hehehe..
for a new users and also "would be" users..
next week got.. but fully booked.. can check @ their site though..
gt free workshops? thx.. i'll check out the site...

QUOTE(likito @ Jun 3 2010, 10:50 AM)
orange region welcome u , rarely got female alpharian  hmm.gif
any body in mind (wish list)?

Added on June 3, 2010, 10:52 am
coming NEX or A290 A390  brows.gif
i played on A550 b4.. it's beautiful! tongue.gif
yea im considering NEX too.. rclxms.gif thx alot!
8tvt
post Jun 3 2010, 11:04 AM

Peace Lover
8,753 posts

QUOTE(mintii @ Jun 3 2010, 10:58 AM)
i played on A550 b4.. it's beautiful!  tongue.gif
yea im considering NEX too..  rclxms.gif  thx alot!
yes check this out..
http://corp.sony.com.my/workshop/

i'm going next week sibuk² tongue.gif
mintii
post Jun 3 2010, 11:07 AM

90 posts

QUOTE(8tvt @ Jun 3 2010, 11:04 AM)
yes check this out..
http://corp.sony.com.my/workshop/

i'm going next week sibuk²  tongue.gif
haha too bad larr im having holidays in my hometown.. nt in kl nor penang... enjoy urself yea... icon_rolleyes.gif

n thx all sifus... rclxms.gif
likito
post Jun 3 2010, 11:08 AM

1,468 posts

i have not attend any workshop before . cry.gif

Added on June 3, 2010, 11:09 am
QUOTE(mintii @ Jun 3 2010, 10:58 AM)
i played on A550 b4.. it's beautiful!  tongue.gif
yea im considering NEX too..  rclxms.gif  thx alot!
a550 is great camera , getting cheaper nowaday .

This post has been edited by likito: Jun 3 2010, 11:09 AM
mintii
post Jun 3 2010, 11:09 AM

90 posts

attend the coming ones larr.. go join 8tvt..xD

A550 cheaper d meh? the last time i saw was bout 3k o stg...

This post has been edited by mintii: Jun 3 2010, 11:11 AM
eddybeh
post Jun 3 2010, 11:14 AM

830 posts

talking bout the workshops. how often they update n announce new workshops as in normally which month of the year? coz everytime when i go tat website, the basic photography workshop sure full ad.
nimrod323
post Jun 3 2010, 11:18 AM

Macster/Gunner\Autobot /Alphaman\
2,664 posts

QUOTE(mintii @ Jun 3 2010, 11:09 AM)
attend the coming ones larr.. go join 8tvt..xD

A550 cheaper d meh? the last time i saw was bout 3k o stg...
i think its 2250 body only can see from garage sales, add a few hundred more can get the 50MM 1.8 or the 18--55 lens. Hmm however looking at teh trend wont be surprised if its replaced in august with HD movie recording capability tongue.gif http://sonyalpharumors.com/sr5-sony-to-ann...he-a55-and-a33/

126 Pages « < 48 49 50 51 52 > » Top

0.0317sec    0.52    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 08:08 AM