451 posts

alluring laa ! drool.gif
mastering89
post Jun 2 2010, 09:29 PM

miao miao
2,546 posts

gizmo_pony : seriously sedap whistling.gif but abit pricy RM9++ sweat.gif .
i'm still confused with colors of food, cant balance true color and what i saw on the table. sweat.gif
lwliam
post Jun 2 2010, 09:36 PM

Your friendly neighborhood photographer
6,075 posts

mastering, for food, your white balance MUST be correct. easily done with us alphas, coz can custom WB on a white card or tissue at restaurants. then overexpose by 1/3 stop, that should be fine
gizmo_pony
post Jun 2 2010, 09:38 PM

451 posts

QUOTE(mastering89 @ Jun 2 2010, 09:29 PM)
gizmo_pony : seriously sedap  whistling.gif but abit pricy RM9++  sweat.gif .
i'm still confused with colors of food, cant balance true color and what i saw on the table.  sweat.gif
no matter how pricey it is, people will still buy one, the important thing is SEDAP rclxms.gif

i think the color is quite dull, and maybe slightly underexposed, my 2 cents icon_rolleyes.gif
lwliam
post Jun 2 2010, 09:42 PM

6,075 posts

gizmo_pony
post Jun 2 2010, 09:47 PM

451 posts

waaa, nice details on broccoli, love all the colors ! what lens did you use bro ?

Added on June 2, 2010, 9:48 pm
QUOTE(lwliam @ Jun 2 2010, 09:36 PM)
mastering, for food, your white balance MUST be correct. easily done with us alphas, coz can custom WB on a white card or tissue at restaurants. then overexpose by 1/3 stop, that should be fine
other brands cannot use custom WB ?

This post has been edited by gizmo_pony: Jun 2 2010, 09:48 PM
fansoption
post Jun 2 2010, 09:51 PM

3,065 posts

QUOTE(cjlai @ Jun 2 2010, 08:48 PM)
macro spam....  biggrin.gif

So geng! U are my sifu, where u shoot this pic?
lwliam
post Jun 2 2010, 09:51 PM

6,075 posts

QUOTE(gizmo_pony @ Jun 2 2010, 09:47 PM)

waaa, nice details on broccoli, love all the colors ! what lens did you use bro ?

Added on June 2, 2010, 9:48 pm
other brands cannot use custom WB ?
Camera: Sony DSLR-A700
Exposure: 0.05 sec (1/20)
Aperture: f/6.3
Focal Length: 60 mm
ISO Speed: 800
Exposure Bias: +0.7 EV
if not mistaken, was using my Sigma

its not that others cannot custom WB, some will take a heck load of button pressing to access the WB settings, some of their lower end ones are ALL presets only and some only can use the color graph that looks like an X-Y axis graph.
mastering89
post Jun 2 2010, 10:16 PM

miao miao
2,546 posts

lwliam : owh, forgot about the custom WB . sweat.gif too hungry that time

gizmo_pony :the picture was underexposed and i edited abit.
not very good at editing, hilang habis color of the koay teow sweat.gif

can give tips to compose in food photography?? are there rules or anything like no fork and spoon or something? nod.gif

This post has been edited by mastering89: Jun 2 2010, 10:20 PM
[G]ooD_DaY
post Jun 2 2010, 10:39 PM

1,450 posts

Hi all the sifus here, I know I am not posting in the right post, but as I see the version of this sony is consider as very high, so just wanted to find some answers that I'm in dilemma of.

Here's my story, I just started my foundation in business and IT (about 4days of studying excluding orientation) and I always bump into this thread before, the more I come in and read, the more I's interested in photography blink.gif but then as I just paid the fees of my college for my 1st semester, if I quit now it will be wasting my parent's money sad.gif but as now I just found my interest in photography and wanted to be a photographer(wedding as it's a happy event and can make money) I'm really confused now that should I pursue a degree of business and IT, or quit and pursue something like diploma in photography or related events.

But before I register my college, I had gained interest already in photography, but as I'm colour blind (not those that can only see black and white ones) I'm scared that I can't make it, but as now if any of u guys were me, would u

1) Quit after semester 1 and get a DSLR, pursue diploma in photography or work part time in related field

or

2) Continue studying and just get a DSLR and wait pro work freelance photographer??

icon_question.gif icon_question.gif icon_question.gif icon_question.gif

appreciate it very much
THANKS!!
biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif
Mikeshashimi
post Jun 2 2010, 10:48 PM

10 Years on LYN
4,053 posts

QUOTE(GooD_DaY @ Jun 2 2010, 10:39 PM)
Hi all the sifus here, I know I am not posting in the right post, but as I see the version of this sony is consider as very high, so just wanted to find some answers that I'm in dilemma of.

Here's my story, I just started my foundation in business and IT (about 4days of studying excluding orientation) and I always bump into this thread before, the more I come in and read, the more I's interested in photography  blink.gif  but then as I just paid the fees of my college for my 1st semester, if I quit now it will be wasting my parent's money  sad.gif  but as now I just found my interest in photography and wanted to be a photographer(wedding as it's a happy event and can make money) I'm really confused now that should I pursue a degree of business and IT, or quit and pursue something like diploma in photography or related events.

But before I register my college, I had gained interest already in photography, but as I'm colour blind (not those that can only see black and white ones) I'm scared that I can't make it, but as now if any of u guys were me, would u

1) Quit after semester 1 and get a DSLR, pursue diploma in photography or work part time in related field

or

2) Continue studying and just get a DSLR and wait pro work freelance photographer??

icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif 

appreciate it very much
THANKS!!
biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif
studying is a big thing..

i advice u to finish up ur IT or business course.. and get a DSLR, if ur really into it, then go into studying photography..
coz lets face it, a degree in business or IT is better than a degree in photography.

think about it. flex.gif

gizmo_pony
post Jun 2 2010, 10:51 PM

451 posts

QUOTE(mastering89 @ Jun 2 2010, 10:16 PM)
lwliam : owh, forgot about the custom WB .  sweat.gif  too hungry that time

gizmo_pony :the picture was underexposed and i edited abit. 
not very good at editing, hilang habis color of the koay teow  sweat.gif

can give tips to compose in food photography?? are there rules or anything like no fork and spoon or something?  nod.gif
1st rule, make sure you are not too hungry ! OR else you'll finish the food in no time without taking any good pictures tongue.gif

I am no sifu, but I think it's important to control the depth of field make sure not too shallow , and the food must not be too cluttered. You can try frm different angles, rearrange the food, and make sure the lighting is good nod.gif
lwliam
post Jun 2 2010, 10:52 PM

6,075 posts

good evening good day (pun intended)

not "splashing you with cold water" or anything, but from what you said, you just only started to know about photography.. and you want to find a living from photography alone, and its wedding photography that is.

let's start from the wedding point of subject, learning to shoot weddings is not a 1 day-i-dont-know, next-day-i-know kind of ordeal.. it takes total understanding of what you and your camera can do in as a team. knowing the basics of photography. yes you will learn that in photography classes, and that's about it, there's where experience steps in.

honestly, i'd opt for option 2, start a portfolio, when your work gets good enough, people will recognize, with the internet nowadays, you can spread the word of what service you are offering. get a camera, play with it, learn and grow with it, it takes time. slowly, you will get there.

do not quickly jump to conclusions that this is what you want to do for life, from your explanation, i'd guess you're in your late teen, early 20 at most? your options are still very wide, why limit it?
[G]ooD_DaY
post Jun 2 2010, 10:57 PM

1,450 posts

QUOTE(Mikeshashimi @ Jun 2 2010, 10:48 PM)
studying is a big thing..

i advice u to finish up ur IT or business course.. and get a DSLR, if ur really into it, then go into studying photography..
coz lets face it, a degree in business or IT is better than a degree in photography.

think about it.  flex.gif
But having the fact of sitting in the office is giving me quite a lot of pressure rclxub.gif

QUOTE(lwliam @ Jun 2 2010, 10:52 PM)
good evening good day (pun intended)

not "splashing you with cold water" or anything, but from what you said, you just only started to know about photography.. and you want to find a living from photography alone, and its wedding photography that is.

let's start from the wedding point of subject, learning to shoot weddings is not a 1 day-i-dont-know, next-day-i-know kind of ordeal.. it takes total understanding of what you and your camera can do in as a team. knowing the basics of photography. yes you will learn that in photography classes, and that's about it, there's where experience steps in.

honestly, i'd opt for option 2, start a portfolio, when your work gets good enough, people will recognize, with the internet nowadays, you can spread the word of what service you are offering. get a camera, play with it, learn and grow with it, it takes time. slowly, you will get there.

do not quickly jump to conclusions that this is what you want to do for life, from your explanation, i'd guess you're in your late teen, early 20 at most? your options are still very wide, why limit it?
Well I know it's not an easy job as I read about you guys' posts, compo, lighting, everything, yeah it's really a headache, I think because I work as Sony promoter as a part time job while waiting my SPM results attracted me to this expensive interests, and oh yeah I'm 18 this year laugh.gif
gizmo_pony
post Jun 2 2010, 10:58 PM

451 posts

Go finish your study, at the same time, learn photography from sifus here.
lwliam
post Jun 2 2010, 11:02 PM

6,075 posts

QUOTE(GooD_DaY @ Jun 2 2010, 10:57 PM)
But having the fact of sitting in the office is giving me quite a lot of pressure  rclxub.gif

Well I know it's not an easy job as I read about you guys' posts, compo, lighting, everything, yeah it's really a headache, I think because I work as Sony promoter as a part time job while waiting my SPM results attracted me to this expensive interests, and oh yeah I'm 18 this year  laugh.gif
hey, i sit in the office most of the time, there's still weekends where you can shoot, every evening after work, morning before work, heck, if your company allows it, you can shoot in office as well... and you've NOT even had your 1st final exam paper yet, and yet you're thinking of work pressure, a bit too far ahead i might say (or maybe not)... its your life, your call my friend
[G]ooD_DaY
post Jun 2 2010, 11:03 PM

1,450 posts

QUOTE(lwliam @ Jun 2 2010, 11:02 PM)
hey, i sit in the office most of the time, there's still weekends where you can shoot, every evening after work, morning before work, heck, if your company allows it, you can shoot in office as well... and you've NOT even had your 1st final exam paper yet, and yet you're thinking of work pressure, a bit too far ahead i might say (or maybe not)... its your life, your call my friend
looking at ur gear, ur not a full time photographer??
blink.gif blink.gif
gizmo_pony
post Jun 2 2010, 11:06 PM

451 posts

QUOTE(GooD_DaY @ Jun 2 2010, 10:57 PM)
But having the fact of sitting in the office is giving me quite a lot of pressure  rclxub.gif
Well I know it's not an easy job as I read about you guys' posts, compo, lighting, everything, yeah it's really a headache, I think because I work as Sony promoter as a part time job while waiting my SPM results attracted me to this expensive interests, and oh yeah I'm 18 this year  laugh.gif
Yes bro William is absolutely correct, don't think too much about your future, it will make u mad nod.gif while studying you still can learn and play2 with camera, be the best photographer among your friends !
lwliam
post Jun 2 2010, 11:07 PM

6,075 posts

i'm a full time engineer.. in fact most of us here are not full time photographers. i know a couple of us are doing IT (finejava), interior design related (clivengu), medical (braindead_freak), still in engineering degree (Mo0), just to name a few

and honestly, my gear list is peanuts compared to what others have here...

Added on June 2, 2010, 11:09 pmcome la, where in KL do you stay? we organize TT ajak u along la... then u will know what can u learn from photography

This post has been edited by lwliam: Jun 2 2010, 11:10 PM

126 Pages « < 45 46 47 48 49 > » Top

0.0219sec    0.43    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 10:26 PM