University Multimedia University Thread V2, For any problems and discussions

kayexem
post May 22 2010, 09:33 PM

93 posts

QUOTE(AMiRU @ May 22 2010, 08:40 PM)
ah.. forgot this part, cyberia can bring in girls inside and do anything as you wish.. ehem.. i mean.. study together..  wub.gif
if stay in hostel, can always study together with girls at library..  tongue.gif
sweat.gif
obvious lah bro xDDD
i'm gonna have housemates of both sexes o.O xD
mmu cyber library conducive not? cos i think its gonna be my 2nd home @.@
fox87
post May 22 2010, 11:16 PM

14 posts

so if end up staying in hostel, do we get to choose our housemates or randomly picked?
jee, the condition looks really bad from the videos ive seen on youtube, but the video is old, hopefully its better now.

kayexem
post May 22 2010, 11:26 PM

93 posts

QUOTE(fox87 @ May 22 2010, 11:16 PM)
so if end up staying in hostel, do we get to choose our housemates or randomly picked?
jee, the condition looks really bad from the videos ive seen on youtube, but the video is old, hopefully its better now.
roommates, not housemates. haha
no u cant choose roommates, from what i heard.
they arrange, but most prob same race will stay same room..

wow i think i really researched a lot. xD
fox87
post May 23 2010, 12:13 AM

14 posts

lol..thanks kayexem
i really need a desk for my laptop and my wacom tablet, so sharing wise must plan with the future roomates..hopefully good fellows la..
kayexem
post May 23 2010, 12:20 AM

93 posts

no prob..
i was too paranoid about my future uni life so i nagged at all my friends studying in mmu cyber currently xD
going for foundation?
fox87
post May 23 2010, 12:39 AM

14 posts

yea, will be doing foundation lvl under creative multimedia..
TSsweet-potato
post May 23 2010, 12:50 AM

I get what I want!
907 posts

cyber ria is not that bad after all.. dun worry. but the housemates and room mates.. just hope u get a good one.

Actually i personally think why not stay at hostel for 1st year? get the feel and the nice surrounding. Haha, then after that, in 2nd year, u can either continue stay or move to cyber ria with ur friends that u had in ur 1st year. just a tought..
ChrisTan92
post May 23 2010, 01:39 AM

57 posts

QUOTE(gavinfernando @ May 23 2010, 12:50 AM)
cyber ria is not that bad after all.. dun worry. but the housemates and room mates.. just hope u get a good one.

Actually i personally think why not stay at hostel for 1st year? get the feel and the nice surrounding. Haha, then after that, in 2nd year, u can either continue stay or move to cyber ria with ur friends that u had in ur 1st year. just a tought..
That's what i'm planning =) Hey and by the way... When can i start moving into the hostel?? On 30th may or 1st June night??
Prodigenous Zee
post May 23 2010, 10:28 AM

736 posts

But I heard stuff about people getting kicked out of hostels to make room for new intake students. Any info on this?
kayexem
post May 23 2010, 11:30 AM

93 posts

that was my initial plan. stay 1 sem at least in hostel.
but remember mmu lost my hostel application form?
then since i really pissed and lazy to send again (which they asked me to do) so i just find a room quickly.

P.S if not hostelite, can we go into campus or visit friends in the hostel?
any time limits?
AMiRU
post May 23 2010, 02:38 PM

330 posts

QUOTE(Prodigenous Zee @ May 23 2010, 10:28 AM)
But I heard stuff about people getting kicked out of hostels to make room for new intake students. Any info on this?
Depends on your luck. I appealed for my 2nd year and for my 3rd year, my application for hostel successful. smile.gif
Oh em gee... Wondering if I want to stay hostel for my final sem..
cool2.gif
peachie-momo
post May 23 2010, 03:25 PM

274 posts

QUOTE(kayexem @ May 23 2010, 11:30 AM)
that was my initial plan. stay 1 sem at least in hostel.
but remember mmu lost my hostel application form?
then since i really pissed and lazy to send again (which they asked me to do) so i just find a room quickly.

P.S if not hostelite, can we go into campus or visit friends in the hostel?
any time limits?
Yea, why not as long as you are MMU students. You just need the MMU student ID to get in to MMU. Hostel section, make sure you visit your own sex part.
AMiRU
post May 23 2010, 03:28 PM

330 posts

MMU don't even have fences, so basicly you can go in and out 24/7..
If you get in by car after midnight, the guard might ask you to show them your Student Card.
kayexem
post May 23 2010, 08:14 PM

93 posts

QUOTE(AMiRU @ May 23 2010, 03:28 PM)
MMU don't even have fences, so basicly you can go in and out 24/7..
If you get in by car after midnight, the guard might ask you to show them your Student Card.
QUOTE(peachie-momo @ May 23 2010, 03:25 PM)
Yea, why not as long as you are MMU students. You just need the MMU student ID to get in to MMU. Hostel section, make sure you visit your own sex part.
ok then. haha..
cos i was wondering how the hell i'm gonna make full use of cybertracker if i don have a laptop and i don stay in hostel O.O
haha

anyway, just to share some info i found out about the cybertracker
the cybertracker is not exactly for "free"
initially u get to download 10GB for free
then after that, the subsequent amount u wanna download depends on the amount u upload.
so basically u have to upload first before downloading.. =)
stock up on movies + game ISOs before coming. hahahaha
Sattesh
post May 23 2010, 09:26 PM

HI all
I'm new to da forum, so plz forgive me if i do something wrong
I just wanna know if i can choose our hostel mates....
I'm an indian but my tamil is rusted(people laugh when i speek tamil), so im used 2 hanging around people who converse in engling n malay.....
I'll be takin my foundation in IT n i would like 2 know if I would need a laptop 2 survive there........
thx in advance for ur replies....................
kayexem
post May 23 2010, 09:54 PM

93 posts

QUOTE(Sattesh @ May 23 2010, 09:26 PM)
HI all
I'm an indian but my tamil is rusted(people laugh when i speek tamil), so im used 2 hanging around people who converse in engling n malay.....
I'll be takin my foundation in IT n i would like 2 know if I would need a laptop 2 survive there........
welcome to LYF thumbup.gif
nope u cant choose roommates, but they'll most probably arrange according to ethnicity..
as for a laptop, whether u're taking IT or not, most uni students need a computer
and mmu is highly web based, assignments and lecture notes/slides all have to be downloaded..
so if u don have laptop/desktop, have to cramp at the computer labs lah (i heard the labs are crowded.. sweat.gif )
so u shld get a laptop or a desktop lah. depends on wat u need. hmm.gif
peachie-momo
post May 23 2010, 09:55 PM

274 posts

QUOTE(Sattesh @ May 23 2010, 09:26 PM)
HI all
According to seniors, no you can't choose your own hostel mates but you can appeal to the STAD. After that, maybe you'll get a chance to stay with your friends. Hanging around with people speaking English eh?? kinda like me, a Chinese speak fluently in Cantonese but prefer English when I'm away from home. I just hope MMU is not like TARC.

I'm also in Foundation in IT and also without Notebook. There's library, can update yourself there but if you get hostel mates of the same foundation and with Notebook and willing to help, you're lucky.
Sadru
post May 23 2010, 10:07 PM

1,062 posts

ah.. finally i saw somebody coming to creative faculty too!

Gavin! i need some info here, what are we suppose to bring during the orientation?

from the list we suppose to bring:
>long black pants
>bed cover
>pillow cover
>blanket
>sports wear.

im quite confused shud we bring other thing such as pc/laptop etc?
or.. during the orientation, just need those listed above since if im not mistaken.. class will not start during the orientation day right?

my registration paper here written that the orientation will start from 31 of May until 4 June 2010. can i ask what time it will start since i'll be coming with my parent and i do need to know what should i do after i arrive there?

+ what should i bring there? already pay and submit all thing, the miss from the registration office just asked me to attend the orientation day. just in case ill ask Gavin again regarding this since my house is.. quite far from MMU cyberjaya IF need to go back take things and come back again cry.gif

straight away wear formal attires? or just casual? o.o

This post has been edited by Sadru: May 23 2010, 10:17 PM
AMiRU
post May 23 2010, 10:59 PM

330 posts

QUOTE(kayexem @ May 23 2010, 08:14 PM)
ok then. haha..
cos i was wondering how the hell i'm gonna make full use of cybertracker if i don have a laptop and i don stay in hostel O.O
haha

anyway, just to share some info i found out about the cybertracker
the cybertracker is not exactly for "free"
initially u get to download 10GB for free
then after that, the subsequent amount u wanna download depends on the amount u upload.
so basically u have to upload first before downloading.. =)
stock up on movies + game ISOs before coming. hahahaha
Don't forget to say hello to me once you see me in CyberTracker. icon_rolleyes.gif
Its call ratio, you don't need to upload anything to maintain your ratio. Its a torrent based, so if you seed (leaving your Torrent client on so others can download the file from you) its counted as upload too.
Download 1GB, Seed 1GB and your ratio will maintain at 1.00
You'll only not allow to download when your ratio is at 0.2 (which is super easy to maintain even if you're seeding from Labs)

If you're a hot girl who are willing to go for a date with me, don't bother about your ratio. I can make it 100.00 just for you. wub.gif
zombie-pig
post May 23 2010, 11:30 PM

421 posts

QUOTE(AMiRU @ May 23 2010, 10:59 PM)
Don't forget to say hello to me once you see me in CyberTracker. icon_rolleyes.gif
Its call ratio, you don't need to upload anything to maintain your ratio. Its a torrent based, so if you seed (leaving your Torrent client on so others can download the file from you) its counted as upload too.
Download 1GB, Seed 1GB and your ratio will maintain at 1.00
You'll only not allow to download when your ratio is at 0.2 (which is super easy to maintain even if you're seeding from Labs)

If you're a hot girl who are willing to go for a date with me, don't bother about your ratio. I can make it 100.00 just for you. wub.gif
sweat.gif

150 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.0218sec    0.64    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 05:19 PM