University Multimedia University Thread V2, For any problems and discussions

ChrisTan92
post May 23 2010, 01:39 AM

57 posts

QUOTE(gavinfernando @ May 23 2010, 12:50 AM)
cyber ria is not that bad after all.. dun worry. but the housemates and room mates.. just hope u get a good one.

Actually i personally think why not stay at hostel for 1st year? get the feel and the nice surrounding. Haha, then after that, in 2nd year, u can either continue stay or move to cyber ria with ur friends that u had in ur 1st year. just a tought..
That's what i'm planning =) Hey and by the way... When can i start moving into the hostel?? On 30th may or 1st June night??
ChrisTan92
post May 24 2010, 12:37 AM

57 posts

Is the download speed fast ? Can i just download anything including songs and movies?

And when can i start moving in the hostel... Seriously urgent, i need to now ASAP

Added on May 24, 2010, 12:44 am
QUOTE(gavinfernando @ May 23 2010, 11:44 PM)
PC/laptop is up to u want to bring or not. if u are staying somewhere around campus then why not bring along. U will need the computers to do ur assignments and etc during classes. on 30th is the registration. after that, u will need to come back in the afternoon for briefing of whats gonna happen for the week. Then orientation will start on monday until friday. class will start on 7th which is on monday.

Hence, as for ur parents, they have a few options

Option 1 is what normal parents do when wana send their 2nd child and etc. This is because they have experience already and they will not stay. Normally this group will just drop their kid off and maybe leaving on monday for work.

But option 2 is really carring parents (but i dont know why they seemed so free). They will spend the whole week with their kid during the orientation but i does not see it as practical. The parent need to wait until the kid finally finish orientation then keep on bringing their kids out. During orientation, students are not allowed to leave MMU. This is because, it is our responsibility to assure ur safety. Hence, during lunch, some parents will keep on bugging us want to bring their kid out for lunch and etc. But the answer from me is usually a NO! I mean, once send the kid to uni, is the child him/herself need to survive the uni life. During orientation is the time, students will get together and know each other better. And that friendship last until the student grad and might be still in touch until work...

The option i would usually recommend is, tell ur dad/ mom have leave on monday. (if possible). Then, they can help u get what u need on sunday after registration and briefing. And on monday they can go back. Maybe ur parents will need to spend  night. But if cannot take leave, then is ok too. Just tell them to leave at night after u fianlly settle everything.

Take note... If u are staying at places such as cyber ria, u need to bring ur things from ur house and transfer them to ur new house after registration. Then after orientation, u can go back on saturday and come back on sunday to continue bringing ur things. Like for me, I am originally from shah alam and i need to study at melaka. Luck me, my family have quite a number of cars and i can transfer all my things including new bed, cupboard and etc.

During registration, u may wear casual. but during briefing (if can wear formal). But during orientation is strictly formal..
Can i have your phone number? There's a few things that i still need to know urgently. Thx and sry for bothering

This post has been edited by ChrisTan92: May 24 2010, 12:44 AM
ChrisTan92
post May 24 2010, 12:54 AM

57 posts

QUOTE(Prodigenous Zee @ May 24 2010, 12:47 AM)
The 1 room 1 race thing sort of sucks to be honest.
Kinda agree with you...

Btw, where can i get to download the cyber tracker software? Can't seem to find it in MMU search
ChrisTan92
post May 24 2010, 09:55 PM

57 posts

Hello... I still need to know when can i move in into the hostel? Really urgent here
ChrisTan92
post May 24 2010, 10:28 PM

57 posts

[quote=Sadru,May 24 2010, 10:26 PM]
[quote=gavinfernando,May 24 2010, 02:07 PM]
yes, after registration and have briefing.
U may go back and return back to MMU on 31st may. No prob too..

U wont be able to settle the room so fast. I mean, in one day. Maybe after orientation, u pack up ur things little by little?
haha.

Ok, lets make this clear. If u ask me, of course I will encourage each and everyone to join the orientation. Not only u have paid "some amount" in the RM1.8K. But also for u to know how MMU runs. Basically, in MMU, everything is using computer. From course registration until download ur lecture notes. So, orientation allows u to handle everything. I dont see why people do not want to come. I see it like, commit yourself for 5 days and u will survive for 4 years at least.

It is ur call, to come or not to come, but u make sure there is people to help u to register course online (the most important).
So, I would recomend u to stay after registration and make sure u settle ur accommodation first. Thats the important one.

Added on May 24, 2010, 2:11 pm

Gavin, i surely wont miss the orientation, now what do i need to pay more attention to? meaning after i arrived there and done the registration, i need to settle my accommodation? ill be staying in the MMU hostel so who should i consult to regarding this?

if i duwant to go back after the registration on the 30th, meaning i will staying at the MMU till tomorrow 31th orientation, where do i sleep? already got room in hostel for me by that time? shocking.gif

and also.. where would we be sleeping/staying during the orientation? brows.gif

[/quote]

Same trouble with you... I need to find a place to sleep at 30th night
ChrisTan92
post May 24 2010, 11:02 PM

57 posts

haha... i'm all for it if there's no hostel for me that night wink.gif

How much do i need to pay at the orientation for the hostel fee?
ChrisTan92
post May 25 2010, 03:26 PM

57 posts

QUOTE(gavinfernando @ May 25 2010, 01:45 AM)
haha.. just go to bsn and tell them u wan buy the pin code for ptptn. but u dont apply first. after orientation only u login and apply...
Damn... But i already apply it ... So what now?

Added on May 25, 2010, 3:30 pm
QUOTE(Sadru @ May 25 2010, 12:10 PM)
called the hostel man, Nawi was his name if im not mistaken, the hotel application must be sent.. on my case he said its okay, just bring along rm500 on 30th and pay at the counter over there.. get a receipt and bring along to the hostel management and get your key wink.gif
Well, this means that we won't be sleeping in front of the library anymore =D

Added on May 25, 2010, 3:31 pm
QUOTE(animekingz @ May 25 2010, 03:05 PM)
bring it after orientation. im doing that as well.
Means that i have to bring my laptop bag with me through the whole orientation?

This post has been edited by ChrisTan92: May 25 2010, 03:31 PM
ChrisTan92
post May 26 2010, 09:00 PM

57 posts

Anyone taking Foundation in IT in cyberjaya ?? biggrin.gif
ChrisTan92
post May 26 2010, 09:18 PM

57 posts

I think you won't make it in time if you post to them now... You should ask gavin about this matter...
ChrisTan92
post May 26 2010, 11:46 PM

57 posts

QUOTE(zombie-pig @ May 26 2010, 11:28 PM)
Me me ...

why??
Just wondering, cause i'm taking that too =D anyone else??
ChrisTan92
post May 31 2010, 01:15 PM

57 posts

Why does cyber hostel don't have wifi... i have to get a maxis broadband at this point.
ChrisTan92
post Jun 4 2010, 11:50 AM

57 posts

How do i apply for MMLS for cyber?

0.0530sec    0.60    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 06:02 AM