V3. Swiftlet Keeping Discussion, Home of Fuciphagus Domesticus

West Wing
post Feb 23 2011, 12:15 PM

1,397 posts

QUOTE(YeeHup @ Feb 22 2011, 06:20 PM)
Dear all swiflet owners,

We are one of the leading manufacturer of Expanded Polystyrene Foam (EPS) in Klang Valley. We have been supplying this material to numerous projects at Sabak Bernam, Sg. Besar, Sitiawan, Dengkil, Penang, and even East Malaysia thru the birdhouse contractors, owners and even trading companies. Our materials have been recognised as a superb insulation material that helps to reduce heat of the birdhouse and most importantly cost savings. We are only supplying this material but if you required installation we are able to provide the know how knowledge based on the feedback from our customers experience.

And not forgetting, we are one of the sole distributor in Malaysia of Extruded Polystyrene Foam (XPS) which our products are manufactured from Singapore. This material considered as a more high end product compared to EPS. Reason is because it have more high R-Value in insulation. We also have supplied this material to few high end birdhouse projects in Klang Valley.

If you wish to know more about us, kindly visit our website http://www.yeehup.com.

Thank you.

Best regards,
Andy Low @ 012-2097934
Email: andylow@yeehup.com
As the Adv for my Club, we are always happy if anyone wishes to promote their product to give talk on it at our Club and we have over hundred over practicing members and many have a few BHs each and always expanding. Forward your proposal to our secretary to make arrangement if you wish to explain why and how your products serve the industry and why we should shift to using your products and why your products are better than the old method or materials used in Q&A session with members.

This way, you can make good honest money and our members will be happy and also appreciate our Club's commitment of providing the members with the latest technologies and methods of BH management. But, remember yo promote and explain the truth about your products cos if you lie, we know because many of us, are pioneer in the industry. I for one don't let you go easily with my line of questioning. "Sian Sia Ren, Hou Chin Cher" is one of my principles and I hate people who lie.....again, that my way of life and other may not.

Added on February 23, 2011, 2:50 pm
QUOTE(mois @ Feb 18 2011, 06:03 PM)
i think they are using some sort of chemical product/potion or whatever it is. Im not really sure yet but they told me the liquid thing actually is to prevent ants from entering the BH. Odourless chemical i believe. Lets see how effective it is when i go back next week.
Just to share some of my BH pics: note the 2nd picture. The last plank is too close to the wall.  That time constructor  doh.gif
Bro,

Looking at your planks and these are real heavy weight, abit wastage for birds to build their nests. What I think you may have problem because you didn't have groove on the plank for the birds to have grip on the plank in order to make nests so most of the nest are very close to the ceiling top. But your BH must be good for the birds by looking at the picture and with that, my opinion, you got very good potential in this BH to be very successful. Use a sharp object like knife to make groove for the birds to grip and you will see wonder in your BH in very near future.

Gong XI Fa Tar Cai

Regards,
FongSui West Wing.

This post has been edited by West Wing: Feb 23 2011, 02:50 PM
Bobby C
post Feb 23 2011, 03:58 PM

663 posts

QUOTE(West Wing @ Feb 19 2011, 10:11 AM)

Last Friday, I just went to visit 2 3S BHs (25x80) for sales @ RM520 K each with an acre of wet land @ Pekan. Over 6 months and after viewing the BH, I feel sad for the owners as the conditions and methods are not to my expectation of BH sanctuary specifications.  On the way to the location, over 50 BHs can be seen by the lane and what about the interior which is not visible to my eyes......I went into the BH, the smell is not what I expect a BH should smell and too many even to comment.

If he is selling @ cost, then I will buy and try my luck but at the price quoted then I need to consider or recommending them to my friends to invest there as we will need to spend alot of money and also the location is too far and also at that area over 10 BHs, all not succefull.....so the competition to lure swiftlets is very high and difficult.  Area suitable but everybody fighting for survival and that why I am against Eco Park concept in the first place for if too many BHs at ond location it's itself create a difficulty to gather enough birds to sustain and generate enough income to justified investment. The older BHs at the location will be better as they have an early start in the race. 

Any buyers here interested, I can introduce the broker to you without any commission or kickback to me.  There are many sellers @ Pekan and even failed BHs, some sellers are offering high prices for their BHs. One BH (3years) with just 200 nests is asking for 1.2M.

So, before you jump the Gun, make sure that your money is well invested at good location and with good consultant or contractor. Even if you failed, then you will get back all your money invested but don't expect to make alot of money for a failed BH unless the new intended buyer is a Fool.

Above is just my opinions on the matter concerning BH investment.
Good sharing. It will be great if this kind of info con be compiled into statistic showing success rate of bhs in agri land compare to town for evaluation of risk of investment.

Agri land no single doubt highest risk. Smart banks don't touch, game for cash rich.

Anyone got any statistic or indicative figure of number of bhs in towns compares with bhs in agri land. 2005 news formal Perak MB said 90% in towns, tat's in Perak. How about other states?

aeiou228
post Feb 23 2011, 06:52 PM

5,867 posts

ww and other sifu, can you share in this forum the proper and effective BN cleaning methods for own consumption (never mind about the shape) ?

The method that I use is soak the BN in water, filter out the dirt, soak in water again (Put in the fridge and over night) and bring out the next day filter out the dirt again. repeat the process until no more dirt but fine feathers, use the tweezers to remove the fine feathers as the final cleaning process.

This post has been edited by aeiou228: Feb 23 2011, 06:53 PM
sfchung
post Feb 23 2011, 07:32 PM

30 posts

1) My BH neighbours , within 100-200M, are 4 storeys and 5 storeys and looked very well financed. I am going to build only a 3 storey BH. In this scenario, they have a height advantage and probably more capital than I. How would you compete in this environment? I probably can put more time into this as it will be full time. I plan to squat close to the BH to know and understand swiftlets intimately. This is standalone BH on agriculture land 5 mins from Sarikei town.
2) Can some kind souls direct me to economical misting/fogging sources? I looked at www.mistycool.com.my but it is KL based and will probably cost more than 3K if shipped over to Sarawak . If I can buy the pump locally, it will be easier for maintenance. Better if can DIY. Mistycool uses a high pressure pump =>1000 psi. On 2nd thoughts I am happy to settle for low or mid pressure designs. Any tips/advice will be highly appreciated.
jasonhzh
post Feb 24 2011, 10:44 AM

Hi everyone. My dad currently just completed build a 2 storey BH near Termerloh,Pahang and plan to buy few humidifier to control the humidity and temperature. But we are not sure which types of humidifier is better and more suitable since we are still new to bird farming.

Any sifu can give me some recommendation about the humidifier and where i can buy it ?And usually how many humidifier needed for a 2-story 22x80 BH.

mois
post Feb 24 2011, 11:24 AM

Enemy Territory
3,626 posts

QUOTE(sfchung @ Feb 23 2011, 07:32 PM)
1) My BH neighbours , within 100-200M, are 4 storeys and 5 storeys and looked very well financed. I am going to build only a 3 storey BH. In this scenario, they have a height advantage and probably more capital than I. How would you compete in this environment? I probably can put more time into this as it will be full time. I plan to squat close to the BH to know and understand swiftlets intimately. This is standalone BH on agriculture land 5 mins from Sarikei town.
Somewhere near swimming pool location isnt? i have a few friends built their Bird House around there.

Added on February 24, 2011, 11:25 am
QUOTE(jasonhzh @ Feb 24 2011, 10:44 AM)
Hi everyone. My dad currently just completed build a 2 storey BH near Termerloh,Pahang and  plan to buy few humidifier to control the humidity and temperature. But we are not sure which types of humidifier is better and more suitable since we are still new to bird farming.

Any sifu can give me some recommendation about the humidifier and where i can buy it ?And usually how many humidifier needed for a 2-story 22x80 BH.

If i were you, i will choose the chicken coup humidifier instead of ultrasonic one. Because the cost is much cheaper and easy to maintain. smile.gif

This post has been edited by mois: Feb 24 2011, 11:25 AM
jeffwpl
post Feb 24 2011, 12:10 PM

259 posts

QUOTE(mois @ Feb 24 2011, 11:24 AM)
Somewhere near swimming pool location isnt? i have a few friends built their Bird House around there.

Added on February 24, 2011, 11:25 am
If i were you, i will choose the chicken coup humidifier instead of ultrasonic one. Because the cost is much cheaper and easy to maintain. smile.gif
hello mois sifu,
wht they looked like between "chicken coup" & "ultrasonic", any photos to share? notworthy.gif
Rangnok
post Feb 24 2011, 12:46 PM

78 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Feb 23 2011, 05:52 PM)
ww and other sifu, can you share in this forum the proper and effective BN cleaning methods for own consumption (never mind  about the shape) ?

The method that I use is soak the BN in water, filter out the dirt, soak in water again (Put in the fridge and over night) and bring out the next day filter out the dirt again. repeat the process until no more dirt but fine feathers, use the tweezers to remove the fine feathers as the final cleaning process.
if for own consumption,
1st : brush the nest
2nd : soak inside water (30min.)
3rd : remove feather by tweezer
4th : rinse with water a few time
5th : final removal of feather
6th : stew 1hr & makan.

If want to clean for wholesell or business purpose i.e. follow HK & china standard (appearance, shape, lining), We can teach. Our method guarantee not more than wastage 15% for medium and light feather nest. Dry clean method.

Bobby C
post Feb 24 2011, 01:21 PM

663 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Feb 23 2011, 06:52 PM)
ww and other sifu, can you share in this forum the proper and effective BN cleaning methods for own consumption (never mind  about the shape) ?

Not sifu but from personal experience and experiment, house nests cannot soak too long. Young nests from BHs melt in the water way too fast compares with old nests like those from the caves. If you rinse and soak too long and too many times, all your nests gone into the water and kena flush away liaw.

If dont believe, try to boil more than 1 hrs say 2-3 hrs see whether your house nests still around or not or all become liquid. From personal experience trying to understand the painstaking process of cleaning, a good sharp tweezers is important to improve your work.

ps:- My grand 80+ yr old auntie can spend her sweet time to clean for whole family, believe anyone with average eye sight who are patient and got plenty of time to burn can do the same .. kekeke wink.gif

Rangnok
post Feb 24 2011, 05:22 PM

78 posts

new nest (harvest before egg hatch), normally snow white. This nest tend to melt easily, therefore, this nest have the fastest expand as compare to others. This kind of nest stew less than 1hr i.e. 45min is the best. Furthermore, the aroma not strong too. Best for consumption is still those harvest at 110days i.e. after baby bird take off.

house white nest (those 110days type) recommended to stew not more than 1.5hrs, otherwise all liquify.

Therefore, to process such nest has to be dry clean method, to avoid waste and damage the shape and lining.
sfchung
post Feb 24 2011, 05:49 PM

30 posts

[quote=mois,Feb 24 2011, 11:24 AM]

Nope, across Nyelong River
Ayah Embong
post Feb 25 2011, 12:09 PM

41 posts

Bro,
terutama untuk Tuckfook,,,
nak tanya sikit,
what is your opinion on using unfired clay brick on swiftlet farms ?

Thanks in advance.

http://majpadu.com/bricks/?p=136
tuckfook
post Feb 25 2011, 04:43 PM

360 posts

QUOTE(Ayah Embong @ Feb 25 2011, 12:09 PM)
Bro,
terutama untuk Tuckfook,,,
nak tanya sikit,
what is your opinion on using unfired clay brick on swiftlet farms ?

Thanks in advance.

http://majpadu.com/bricks/?p=136
That is the type I use. They allow a certain amount of water absorption and helps keep the BH cooler. To allow this to happen, the walls must not be painted and plaster should contain a high amount of lime. Double layer bricks and plastered on both sides.

After saying that, I am currently having problems keeping my BH cool due to the intense heat of the sun from this unseasonal weather in the west coast, Kulim area.
The dry period has almost completely dried out the insides of the bricks walls so I have to increase the number of humidifiers. In all the past 3 years, it has never been like this.

West Wing
post Feb 26 2011, 12:14 PM

1,397 posts

QUOTE(tuckfook @ Feb 25 2011, 04:43 PM)
That is the type I use. They allow a certain amount of water absorption and helps keep the BH cooler. To allow this to happen, the walls must not be painted and plaster should contain a high amount of lime. Double layer bricks and plastered on both sides.

After saying that, I am currently having problems keeping my BH cool due to the intense heat of the sun from this unseasonal weather in the west coast, Kulim area.
The dry period has almost completely dried out the insides of the bricks walls so I have to increase the number of humidifiers. In all the past 3 years, it has never been like this.
Hi TF,

In my sincere opinion, BH should be water proof as allowing water seep or absorp into the wall will cause deterioration to the BH and many others.

Pls. correct me if I am wrong,

1. We want high humidity but we don't the planks to be moist and having said so, a friend just renovate his 3 years. Agriland BH because of very poor quality nests due to too wet and for the last 3 years, he didn't use any humidifier and still his walls are all moist from the rain water accumulating in the wall.

I still prefer to use humidifier to control humidity than to leave them to nature. Water that seep into the walls will slowly break down the structure of compound material.

2. I was infact advising others to paint their external wall with water based lime paint to prevent such incident and here, your intention to allow wetness. It's good if you have lower half wet wall and the upper half dry, maybe this way, we can have the best of both worlds.

TF, only difference opinion and maybe, you can correct me if I am mistaken or wrong and to share with us and hope to hear others comment on this interesting topic.

All comments are in the interest of Swiftlets BH management and maybe, Sifu like Ben ( now a BH builder/contractor) and other Sifus may want to share their experance and knowledge with us.

This post has been edited by West Wing: Feb 26 2011, 12:41 PM
tuckfook
post Feb 26 2011, 05:01 PM

360 posts

QUOTE(West Wing @ Feb 26 2011, 12:14 PM)
Hi TF,
In my sincere opinion, BH should be water proof as allowing water seep or absorp into the wall will cause deterioration to the BH and many others.

Pls. correct me if I am wrong,

1. We want high humidity but we don't the planks to be moist and having said so, a friend just renovate his 3 years. Agriland BH because of very poor quality nests due to too wet and for the last 3 years, he didn't use any humidifier and still his walls are all moist from the rain water accumulating in the wall. 

I still prefer to use humidifier to control humidity than to leave them to nature. Water that seep into the walls will slowly break down the structure of compound material.

2. I was infact advising others to paint their external wall with water based lime paint to prevent such incident and here, your intention to allow wetness.  It's good if you have lower half wet wall and the upper half dry, maybe this way, we can have the best of both worlds.

TF, only difference opinion and maybe, you can correct me if I am mistaken or wrong and  to share with us  and hope to hear others comment on this interesting topic.
All comments are in the interest of Swiftlets BH management and maybe, Sifu like Ben ( now a BH builder/contractor) and other Sifus may want to share their experance and knowledge with us.
Thank you WW for your views.

I was probably not clear in my saying that my walls absorb water or allow water to seep through them.

All concrete is porous to a certain extent which is why some concrete requires additional water proofing when it is a requirement that they remain absolutely dry.

The bricks are also porous, much more so than the concrete or plaster.

The plaster is about 30% lime which makes it slightly porous to water and painting it with lime based material as in a lime wash allows water to permeate through the plaster.

When we talk about porosity it is not water flowing through but very very small water particles moving through the bricks and plaster, much like our perspiration. eg. If a hose is turned on full blast at one side, the other side does not get wet even after several hours, but it'll feels cooler and maybe damp.

The wall built as such will allow minute particles of water to move through it as one side gets dry, it'll suck water(from the humid air) from the other side. As this happens the drying action cools the wall.

For centuries, before the invention of refrigerators, earthen ware pots had been used to cool water stored in them.

To make concrete and plaster absolutely impermeable to water, some plastic are added to it, eg. acrylics, which bind to the concrete crystals and make them resist water. Acrylic based paints are the usual outdoor paints used nowadays even though some are diluted with water.

So, it is the amount of porosity that will determine the cooling effect possible.

At no time is the wall 'wet' but it does contain water from the humid air it encloses.

Water flowing through the walls as in a crack is totally different. Water will dissolve the calcium salts and draw the binding material of concrete out leaving behind only the aggregate like sand and eventually you get only sand remaining.

All my nesting planks sit on poured concrete. The planks are never in contact with damp walls. The planks are fixed directly onto the beams and onto the poured concrete ceiling/floor of the above. So they never get in contact with any water except if water condenses on them.

My humidity is controlled at 80% so it should never condense.

BHs built with Styrofoam sandwiched in the walls suffer from 100% humidity as there is no drying possible through the walls. Note that even if you get 80% Rh most of the time, when the temperature goes down as at night, the Rh will increase to 100% and water condenses on the planks because the walls cannot help dissipate the extra water in the air. This is often seen in a car when all the windows are up, the aircon is not working and it's suddenly rains outside.

Hope this info will be helpful to everyone.

aeiou228
post Feb 26 2011, 06:32 PM

5,867 posts

Those who wish to buy Taiwan made humidifier can buy directly from the the sole agent in Malaysia JC Machinery Sdn Bhd
http://www.jcjaya.com/jc_div2prod_houseware.html

This post has been edited by aeiou228: Feb 26 2011, 07:08 PM
shuwnyuan
post Feb 27 2011, 02:42 PM

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Sep 19 2010, 07:17 PM)
I use the cheapo RM1 tweeter for my internal sound. So far can lure the birds to make nests near it. Surprisingly, these RM1 tweeter very durable. I never need to replace any single piece of my internal tweeter for over a year now.
As for putting a better quality internal tweeter, to me it is quite hard (lazy) to measure the effectiveness of better quality tweeters. We never know if the increased number of nests is really due to better sound quality or the internal sound we changed or played or due to something else. I set the the internal sound volume quite low at about the same level to that of the actual bird's chirping sound level in BH. At low volume level, my non audiophile ears just can't distinguish the clarity between the sound produced by both RM1 tweeter and a better quality tweeter.
For external, I use a RM10 tweeter with built-in condenser capacitor and copper coil. These tweeter are louder and better clarity at higher sound volume but not as durable as the cheapo RM1 tweeter even for internal used.
All BH's sound equipments can be abundantly available at Jalan Pasar KL. Most shops offer sound testing before purchase. There is one shop even play swiftlets chirping sound at the shop's kaki lima.
Do you have the supplier's contact for the cheap tweeter (RM1) at Jalan Pasar? Or any supplier near KL / Selangor.
I would like to call to ask first before go there, thanks a lot!
Do they do delivery to Johor?

Added on February 27, 2011, 3:08 pm
QUOTE(YeeHup @ Feb 22 2011, 06:20 PM)
Dear all swiflet owners,

We are one of the leading manufacturer of Expanded Polystyrene Foam (EPS) in Klang Valley. We have been supplying this material to numerous projects at Sabak Bernam, Sg. Besar, Sitiawan, Dengkil, Penang, and even East Malaysia thru the birdhouse contractors, owners and even trading companies. Our materials have been recognised as a superb insulation material that helps to reduce heat of the birdhouse and most importantly cost savings. We are only supplying this material but if you required installation we are able to provide the know how knowledge based on the feedback from our customers experience.

And not forgetting, we are one of the sole distributor in Malaysia of Extruded Polystyrene Foam (XPS) which our products are manufactured from Singapore. This material considered as a more high end product compared to EPS. Reason is because it have more high R-Value in insulation. We also have supplied this material to few high end birdhouse projects in Klang Valley.

If you wish to know more about us, kindly visit our website http://www.yeehup.com.

Thank you.

Best regards,
Andy Low @ 012-2097934
Email: andylow@yeehup.com
hi, I am interested on this product for swiftlet farming.
How is the pricing detail & fee about shipment to Johor? Thanks!

This post has been edited by shuwnyuan: Feb 27 2011, 03:08 PM
aeiou228
post Feb 27 2011, 04:54 PM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(shuwnyuan @ Feb 27 2011, 02:42 PM)
Do you have the supplier's contact for the cheap tweeter (RM1) at Jalan Pasar? Or any supplier near KL / Selangor.
I would like to call to ask first before go there, thanks a lot!
Do they do delivery to Johor?
There is no need to call first, just go there and you are spoilt of choice of so many shops selling tweeters. Simple single channel amps cum MP3 player most suitable for external sound selling RM100+ only. I'm going there again next week to look for some external water proof tweeters. biggrin.gif
1M'sia
post Feb 28 2011, 02:26 PM

Anybody knows the supplier for the ultrasonic humidifier (10 disc) in KL?
Frank Kerk
post Feb 28 2011, 04:07 PM

Added on February 27, 2011, 3:08 pm
hi, I am interested on this product for swiftlet farming.
How is the pricing detail & fee about shipment to Johor? Thanks!

[/quote]

Please check your inbox.

126 Pages « < 65 66 67 68 69 > » Top

0.0238sec    1.03    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 05:06 PM