The Watches Thread V2
ck77
Nov 27 2010, 10:12 AM
QUOTE(patryn33 @ Nov 27 2010, 10:10 AM) http://forums.watchuseek.com/search.php?searchid=300619under Chinese Mechanical watches in case you didnt manage to find the contact. thomas lhczthomas@gmail.com http://forums.watchuseek.com/f72/seagull-1...tml#post3143797This post has been edited by ck77: Nov 27 2010, 10:20 AM
TSpatryn33
Nov 27 2010, 10:22 AM
are U getting on sapphire or acrylic crystal? I understand sapphire isn't orginal the black is stunning! are u getting it on display back? i know its not original. Seagull 1963, Sapphire crystal, glass case back - US$223 (shipped to USA, to asia I think its cheaper by US$5) http://forums.watchuseek.com/f72/my-first-...3-a-473435.html found the thread http://forums.watchuseek.com/f72/seagull-1...tly-420653.htmlQUOTE Seagull 1963 Reissue Available from Seagull HK Directly I contacted Seagull HK directly a week or two ago, and apparently, they have the Seagull 1963 reissue available for direct order. I got in contact with Thomas at Seagull HK through their contact page: http://www.seagullhk.com/english/contact.aspand was quoted $180 for the watch, $15 for shipping to the US, and $8 if I wanted the display caseback instead of the solid caseback. If there is interest on the forum, we could perhaps see if they are willing to negotiate a smaller per unit price for a large bulk order. This post has been edited by patryn33: Nov 27 2010, 10:30 AM
ck77
Nov 27 2010, 10:30 AM
QUOTE(patryn33 @ Nov 27 2010, 10:22 AM) are U getting on sapphire or acrylic crystal? I understand sapphire isn't orginal the black is stunning! are u getting it on display back? i know its not original. http://forums.watchuseek.com/f72/my-first-...3-a-473435.html» Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « found the thread http://forums.watchuseek.com/f72/seagull-1...tly-420653.htmlYes of course patryn, it is a must to show off this beautiful movement. Not sure is it original, but is direct from Seagull HK.
TSpatryn33
Nov 27 2010, 10:32 AM
on sapphire and glass back! thats sweet.
I understand to stay true to the original watch its on acrylic crystal and steel back and smaller in ~37mm. is yours 39mm or 42mm. I read that on the read. seem like there are a few sizes.
are they LE too? to 200 pieces?
This post has been edited by patryn33: Nov 27 2010, 10:33 AM
ck77
Nov 27 2010, 10:34 AM
Ya man, am confusing myself too. According to Thomas, it is 38mm with acrylic crystal. ST19 is not a big movement anyway. But does it matter?  Those LE sold out long time ago, it was USD490 per piece then. The sapphire back just add another USD8 ; it is a steal! Was quoted ~RM600 for my speedy sapphire back from Swatch This post has been edited by ck77: Nov 27 2010, 10:37 AM
TSpatryn33
Nov 27 2010, 10:37 AM
I also read there are 19 zuan and 21 zuan. iirc the 19 are ST19 the 21 are ST21 or is it ST25? forgive I know very little about ST movements.
ck77
Nov 27 2010, 10:39 AM
Me too partyn. This would be my first 'proper' Chinese watch.  Some info here, http://www.tractionink.com/watch_wiki/inde...Tianjin_SeagullThis post has been edited by ck77: Nov 27 2010, 10:40 AM
cyclonez
Nov 27 2010, 01:46 PM

hi guys sorry to disturb got something to ask... hehe
i'm a noob in watch and to cut the story short i have a seiko kinetic that i bought few years back
Then when i leave it at home for some time and it dont work anymore...anyway to fix it? i've ask uncle google and found thong sia but the place is freaking jam and i got no time to go there on weekdays...anyone know anywhere that can fix it or the watch is totally dead and as good as to change a new one??
ck77
Nov 27 2010, 02:48 PM
QUOTE(cyclonez @ Nov 27 2010, 01:46 PM) hi guys sorry to disturb got something to ask... hehe i'm a noob in watch and to cut the story short i have a seiko kinetic that i bought few years back Then when i leave it at home for some time and it dont work anymore...anyway to fix it? i've ask uncle google and found thong sia but the place is freaking jam and i got no time to go there on weekdays...anyone know anywhere that can fix it or the watch is totally dead and as good as to change a new one?? I'm afraid the only place to go is Thong Sia. Yes, if the repair cost is too high, might as well get a new watch, unless sentimental value exist. Alternatively, bring back to the shop you bought the watch from, ask them to send on your behalf. This post has been edited by ck77: Nov 27 2010, 03:18 PM
choen
Nov 27 2010, 03:33 PM

I think the current HK Seagull '1963 reissue' are not authorized versions. The first true chinese airforce chronograph was released 1965. Seagull currently offers a limited edition reissue. http://www.usseagull.com/EnProductShow.asp?ClassID=81&ID=107Someone already has one here: http://forums.watchuseek.com/f72/tianjin-s...ics-462781.html The original from the 60s?:  I like that logo. Did it inspire Starfleet's?
ck77
Nov 27 2010, 03:51 PM
QUOTE(choen @ Nov 27 2010, 03:33 PM) I think the current HK Seagull '1963 reissue' are not authorized versions. The first true chinese airforce chronograph was released 1965. Seagull currently offers a limited edition reissue. http://www.usseagull.com/EnProductShow.asp?ClassID=81&ID=107Someone already has one here: http://forums.watchuseek.com/f72/tianjin-s...ics-462781.html» Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « The original from the 60s?: » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « I like that logo. Did it inspire Starfleet's? Am not sure how's Seagull HK and US operation. As long as produced by them, it doesn't matter. And judging by the look and selling price, I'll definitely go for Seagull Hk one
cyclonez
Nov 27 2010, 04:43 PM

bro i heard from a fren that every kinetic watch have a batt for the kinetic to work he say maybe the kinetic stop working coz of the batt... is it true?
i bought the watch from another state but now i'm in kl....i send to those watch shop they ask me to go to thong sia.....
the watch i bought around 2k if can fix in 2 or 300 maybe i'll fix it otherwise have to get a new one i guess....
i check thong sia website they only ask to go to hq in kl town....anyone know any alternatives? or maybe their branch
ck77
Nov 27 2010, 04:53 PM
Sorry cyclonez, don't owned one and I've no idea of kinetic watch. They got no branches, give them a call and perhaps you can courier the watch to them.
cyclonez
Nov 27 2010, 05:04 PM

QUOTE(ck77 @ Nov 27 2010, 04:53 PM) Sorry cyclonez, don't owned one and I've no idea of kinetic watch. They got no branches, give them a call and perhaps you can courier the watch to them. no prob bro...thanx alot ... try have to email them and see what's their response first....anyway thanx alot...
TSpatryn33
Nov 27 2010, 05:19 PM
QUOTE(cyclonez @ Nov 27 2010, 04:43 PM) bro i heard from a fren that every kinetic watch have a batt for the kinetic to work he say maybe the kinetic stop working coz of the batt... is it true? i bought the watch from another state but now i'm in kl....i send to those watch shop they ask me to go to thong sia..... the watch i bought around 2k if can fix in 2 or 300 maybe i'll fix it otherwise have to get a new one i guess.... i check thong sia website they only ask to go to hq in kl town....anyone know any alternatives? or maybe their branch kinetic watches are quartz watches, they have a battery. if U google around U find US Co perforiming such service eg http://www.qualitywatchrepair.com/seiko_kinetic.htmhttp://www.yellowstonewatch.com/kinetic.htmhttp://www.kineticrepair.com/U should be able to get it fix for a few hundred dollars, how long did u own the watch?
sembilan
Nov 27 2010, 05:26 PM
Anyone have any idea or opinion about tissot visodate? Tried one on and I'm in love. Is tissot, and visodate a good enough brand with good movements? Any comments appreciated.
abel
Nov 27 2010, 05:35 PM
Tissot Visodate is using ETA 2836-2 movement
Tissot also from Swiss , u will never go wrong with any Swiss brand just some of the movement they OEM from ETA (under Swatch Group)
This post has been edited by abel: Nov 27 2010, 05:37 PM
TSpatryn33
Nov 27 2010, 05:36 PM
QUOTE(sembilan @ Nov 27 2010, 05:26 PM) Anyone have any idea or opinion about tissot visodate? Tried one on and I'm in love. Is tissot, and visodate a good enough brand with good movements? Any comments appreciated. its on a ETA 2836, a work horse. some ppl claim it is using a standard grade (check page 1 post 1 on movement grades) Tissot is an entry level swiss brands. http://forums.watchuseek.com/f67/tissot-vi...iew-459020.htmlwhats the price? I found it online going at ~1.6k, can get a ETA 7750 from UHR. thats also very classic (dressy too)
abel
Nov 27 2010, 05:38 PM
yeah agree Tissot can say entry level of Swiss watch maker
cyclonez
Nov 27 2010, 05:40 PM

QUOTE(patryn33 @ Nov 27 2010, 05:19 PM) kinetic watches are quartz watches, they have a battery. if U google around U find US Co perforiming such service eg http://www.qualitywatchrepair.com/seiko_kinetic.htmhttp://www.yellowstonewatch.com/kinetic.htmhttp://www.kineticrepair.com/U should be able to get it fix for a few hundred dollars, how long did u own the watch? thanx for the info bro... hmmm about how long did i own the watch i really cant remember....at least 5 to 6 years.... cant really remember