Font : Not too fancy. Times Roman or the typical default is fine
Size : 10-12
Layout : Insetead listing down employment history or education you may want to put it in a spreadsheet format.
Cover Letters / Resume (CVs), One Stop For ALL
Jul 30 2010, 04:20 PM
4,515 posts Joined: Mar 2010 |
Font : Not too fancy. Times Roman or the typical default is fine
Size : 10-12 Layout : Insetead listing down employment history or education you may want to put it in a spreadsheet format. |
Aug 1 2010, 05:07 PM
13,784 posts Joined: Jan 2006 From: stress & confuse world |
i am listing out my computer skills(programming language,etc) and should i state my proficiency of the skills?
Aug 2 2010, 09:17 AM
Just make a list. Stating proficency level is optional. Furthermore, it is subjective.
Aug 2 2010, 03:06 PM
Aug 2 2010, 03:57 PM
Programming is like chinese. It is all about data flow and handling. It does not matter what language you are using. You maybe an expert in hokkien and conversation level in cantonese. It would take you long to master cantonese. Pascal, ForTran, C++, vb what is the big deal? They are all more or less the same.
Aug 2 2010, 04:05 PM
576 posts Joined: May 2008 From: Not here |
QUOTE(faceless @ Aug 2 2010, 03:57 PM) Programming is like chinese. It is all about data flow and handling. It does not matter what language you are using. You maybe an expert in hokkien and conversation level in cantonese. It would take you long to master cantonese. Pascal, ForTran, C++, vb what is the big deal? They are all more or less the same. Yeah and if you are a fresh grad I doubt you can put yourself as "advanced" anyway.And anyway the HR can see from the jobs/projects you did what kind of languages you actually used and the ones you only learn in class. I also totally agree that once you know a couple of language learning new ones is just a matter of getting used to the syntax and the (usually small) specificity of the language, what's important if for you to understood the concepts and the algorithms anyway. Also it would just take way too much space on your resume to list them all and put your skill level This post has been edited by Gormaz: Aug 2 2010, 04:05 PM |
Aug 2 2010, 04:34 PM
QUOTE(faceless @ Aug 2 2010, 05:57 PM) Programming is like chinese. It is all about data flow and handling. It does not matter what language you are using. You maybe an expert in hokkien and conversation level in cantonese. It would take you long to master cantonese. Pascal, ForTran, C++, vb what is the big deal? They are all more or less the same. so u mean it really doesn't matter whether to list out it is beginner,advanced,etc or not?Added on August 2, 2010, 4:35 pm QUOTE(Gormaz @ Aug 2 2010, 06:05 PM) Yeah and if you are a fresh grad I doubt you can put yourself as "advanced" anyway. ok fair enough And anyway the HR can see from the jobs/projects you did what kind of languages you actually used and the ones you only learn in class. I also totally agree that once you know a couple of language learning new ones is just a matter of getting used to the syntax and the (usually small) specificity of the language, what's important if for you to understood the concepts and the algorithms anyway. Also it would just take way too much space on your resume to list them all and put your skill level This post has been edited by hihihehe: Aug 2 2010, 04:35 PM |
Aug 2 2010, 04:42 PM
Aug 2 2010, 05:11 PM
Aug 2 2010, 11:46 PM
397 posts Joined: Jun 2008 |
Ok now I've done my CV.. but it's 3 pages long. Not a wall of text though, there are properly indented texts and tables, and I'm afraid it's too much. How much is too much to u guys or HR people? They have to review hundreds of applicants, and I guess the first page is the key to impression. What if I do my CV in a very different format?
Aug 3 2010, 08:52 AM
There is nothing wrong with different format because there is no fix format. The 3 main chapters/paragraphs are bio-data, education and employment history. If you feel your resume is too long, cut away anything that does not fall into these 3 main headings.
Aug 3 2010, 08:58 AM
2,179 posts Joined: Sep 2008 |
QUOTE(antidream unthought @ Aug 2 2010, 11:46 PM) Ok now I've done my CV.. but it's 3 pages long. Not a wall of text though, there are properly indented texts and tables, and I'm afraid it's too much. How much is too much to u guys or HR people? They have to review hundreds of applicants, and I guess the first page is the key to impression. What if I do my CV in a very different format? What do they see want to see based on order?Private details, e.g. name address, d.o.b, race etc. Results. Education Experiene. Work Experience. Special Experiences/Skills (Work/Education related including those demonstrating leadership/international exposure/some super team) Nothing else.. And please refer to on-line samples on good CVs, and have a look at how professionally made ones are formatted. Don't look at their content, it'll just bother you, just look at how they format properly. This post has been edited by entryman: Aug 3 2010, 09:03 AM |
Aug 4 2010, 04:32 PM
btw,is it compulsary to list out the referee?
i don plan to list out but i send my resume to my university to review and they said the referee is a core |
Aug 4 2010, 04:39 PM
I have never listed refrees. Only fussy companies look for it. As I know these fussy companies never even call your refree. Try the line below if you feel you must fill that section.
Referee : Will be furnish on request. |
Aug 4 2010, 10:29 PM
QUOTE(faceless @ Aug 4 2010, 06:39 PM) I have never listed refrees. Only fussy companies look for it. As I know these fussy companies never even call your refree. Try the line below if you feel you must fill that section. but what referee should i put if they ask for it?Referee : Will be furnish on request. my previous employer? |
Aug 5 2010, 09:10 AM
If you can put Tun or Tan Sri it would draw attention. Since most people dont have that kind of connection, your previous employer is best but make it know that is your previous employer (Tan Ah Beng of Ah Lian Sdn Bhd [previous employer]). If you have not worked before then it will be your teachers or professors.
Aug 5 2010, 10:13 AM
thanks..
but i dont think i will list it.. 1st, i duwan "disturb" others 2nd, my previous employer was busyman so dont think he want me to list out |
Aug 5 2010, 10:30 AM
If you want to list out referees, it it a courtesy to inform them first.
Aug 5 2010, 12:46 PM
ya,i will
btw how about my personal interests? i looked at some sample resume and most of them nvr list out but however the reviewer ask me to list out |
Aug 5 2010, 02:01 PM
4 posts Joined: Jun 2010 |
thanks for ur information...~~~
| Change to: | 0.0290sec
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 12:12 AM |