QUOTE(faceless @ Aug 20 2010, 06:43 PM)
u mean i should put the relationship status?sry for many questions..i just trying to make my resume appealing enough
Cover Letters / Resume (CVs), One Stop For ALL
Aug 20 2010, 04:45 PM
13,786 posts Joined: Jan 2006 From: stress & confuse world |
Aug 23 2010, 10:12 AM
4,515 posts Joined: Mar 2010 |
Your resume states
Uni : ABC Uni Referee : Dr Smith of XYZ Uni, (relationship - my professor 2009). HR can figure out that Dr Smith was in ABC Uni as your professor in 2009 and is now in XYZ uni. |
Aug 23 2010, 04:05 PM
QUOTE(faceless @ Aug 23 2010, 12:12 PM) Your resume states alrightUni : ABC Uni Referee : Dr Smith of XYZ Uni, (relationship - my professor 2009). HR can figure out that Dr Smith was in ABC Uni as your professor in 2009 and is now in XYZ uni. i just put the previous position in bracket under her name then only her current position |
Aug 26 2010, 01:35 PM
886 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: KL |
would like to ask for advice/comments/critics/etc on this resume of mine..
some words/phrases replaced to make it not so obvious where i'm from though.. it's 1 page when properly filled, just fyi though.. tq in advance This post has been edited by mainFrame: Aug 27 2010, 04:33 PM |
Aug 26 2010, 02:53 PM
It is good. Short and simple as far as format is concern. I refrain form the commenting the IT stuff you had under job experience since I am not and IT person.
Gormaz, I am sure you can help with constructive comments there. |
Aug 26 2010, 04:49 PM
576 posts Joined: May 2008 From: Not here |
Well since he barred all the IT stuff or personal stuff (which I totally understand ^^) it has nothing much IT-specific so everyone can review ^^
But yar, you have the sections I also have on my own resume: product skills, language, certs, training etc. If you are willing to travel, I usually add the standard "Travelling and overseas placement may be viewed as a perk" in the "Additional information" section at the bottom. Overall I find the design to be quite good also, just maybe the Professional experience is a bit "wordy", or more like the presentation make it quite a bit block which usually makes it harder to read for the HR persons. I usually try to make shorter sentences and split them into more smaller points, people told me it was easier for them to read as they told me otherwise they tend to "skip" the end of the point to go to the next one. Like for your first Professional Experience paragraph I might try to split it in 2 smaller points: - Highly experienced application developer specialist with extensive application life-cycle knowledge - Main contact point for new incoming development request, which includes: -- XX1 -- XX2 And do so for all your big points, that's how I do personally and it's more nit-picking. Both way are ok I think. But on the other hand if you only had one professional experience, might good to do like you did and make the job description more extensive, otherwise you end up with a very short resume for someone with your experience already |
Aug 31 2010, 10:09 PM
another question, how should i list out my academic certificates?
should i write under Reference(Attached is my certificates,bla bla) or what? |
Sep 1 2010, 09:16 AM
You can write it in the cover letter.
Sep 1 2010, 01:02 PM
Sep 1 2010, 11:48 PM
411 posts Joined: Aug 2010 From: KL |
QUOTE(hihihehe @ Sep 1 2010, 04:02 PM) ok, cause i find it not an appropriate way just attach my academic certificates below my CV without saying there is my certificates below my CV under your education heading in your resume you can state your average score per 100 or whatever CGPA standard adopted by your uni, make sure its some standard and easily understandable. Education University of Some-random-place (study period) Course Average Score: ## College Pre-U / diploma (study period) Course Average Score: Depending on how you arrangement your headings i.e. education/ past work experience / co-curricular activities / references / skills and misc , if you have a very outstanding education performance, you'd list it first, otherwise put whichever category you have the most positives to show for first If they did not ask for a academic transcript, your option whether or not to attach it behind your CV If they ask for certain documents that does not include transcript, don't include it, average would suffice If they ask explicitly for result slip etc, then include it. |
Sep 1 2010, 11:57 PM
QUOTE(daccorn @ Sep 2 2010, 01:48 AM) under your education heading in your resume you can state your average score per 100 or whatever CGPA standard adopted by your uni, make sure its some standard and easily understandable. thanks but my question was refer to my academic(eg. diploma cert),etc certificates that i need to attach along with my CVEducation University of Some-random-place (study period) Course Average Score: ## College Pre-U / diploma (study period) Course Average Score: Depending on how you arrangement your headings i.e. education/ past work experience / co-curricular activities / references / skills and misc , if you have a very outstanding education performance, you'd list it first, otherwise put whichever category you have the most positives to show for first If they did not ask for a academic transcript, your option whether or not to attach it behind your CV If they ask for certain documents that does not include transcript, don't include it, average would suffice If they ask explicitly for result slip etc, then include it. |
Sep 2 2010, 08:05 AM
411 posts Joined: Aug 2010 From: KL |
sorry about that I will attempt another response, I think your query's answer will depend on the form of application. There's a few
Application through Direct Mail to the employer Email to the employer Employer/3rd party career application website For direct mail, you just include it in the same envelop and need not mention refer to your CV since its all hard copies unless you included a cover letter then you can mention it in your cover letter. You can do at the end of your letter: I have also attached a copy of my academic transcript for your kind consideration. Thanks etc etc For email, mention the same thing as above in the body of your email Employer/3rd part website: usually they will ask you to upload a transcript, otherwise leave it out (unlikely tho) hope that helps |
Sep 2 2010, 11:14 AM
thanks again
Sep 5 2010, 11:28 PM
17 posts Joined: Sep 2010 |
Hi newbie here.
More than a decade ago I went to oversea for university but drop out Should I put my first university into my resume? What about the fact that I jump aeroplane? Don't these count for something!? Any advice from all the sifu here? Thanks in advance. |
Sep 6 2010, 11:22 AM
Just reading your first paragraph, I knew you jumped over stayed your visa. I guess most people could figure that out too. A graduate will not be doing odd job for a decade in a foreign land after graduation. The issue is how do you hide 10 years of your life if you dont put in your first university.
Sep 20 2010, 07:40 PM
1,432 posts Joined: Jul 2007 From: Kuala Lumpur |
deleted
This post has been edited by denzel88: Sep 21 2010, 04:10 PM |
Sep 30 2010, 04:09 PM
14 posts Joined: Aug 2010 |
hi there.
is it necessary to put my part time jobs experience in my resume? thanks. |
Sep 30 2010, 05:06 PM
510 posts Joined: Aug 2009 |
if ur resume is empty, the do it. part time is fine
Oct 1 2010, 08:48 AM
What advantages will the part time job give you. Just list out those with relevant experience.
Oct 17 2010, 01:00 AM
4 posts Joined: Dec 2009 |
lol , if im gonna apply for a job in a makeup store , anyone know how to write a resume thts stands out ?
| Change to: | 0.0216sec
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 12:02 AM |