Where's the objective(s)?
Regards, Joey
Cover Letters / Resume (CVs), One Stop For ALL
May 5 2010, 05:40 PM
3,651 posts Joined: Jan 2009 From: Fort Canning Garden Status: Dog Fighting |
Where's the objective(s)?
Regards, Joey |
May 5 2010, 05:43 PM
1,947 posts Joined: Nov 2005 |
QUOTE(LOOOOOOL @ Apr 9 2010, 11:58 AM) erm guy, can i have some guide on how to ask for any job position available in a company??? It didn't post it on their website, but one of my friend said they are hiring. so any way to wring this?? just call the hr and ask first.erm i would like to attach my resume 2gether too. nvr write in this kind of letter before >"< IF there is a position then send in your resume/cv along with a cover letter stating you're the person that just called. This post has been edited by VinluV: May 5 2010, 05:44 PM |
May 5 2010, 05:45 PM
272 posts Joined: May 2008 From: Over the mOON |
For an added info, the three companies that call me for an interview are
1: Petronas Carigali-Pertamina-PetroVietnam Operating Company Sdn Berhad (PCPP) for the position of Production Technical Assistant 2: KLCC Properties Sdn Bhd for the position of QHSE Executive 3: Malayan Sugar Manufacturing (MSM) for the position of Process Engineer |
May 5 2010, 05:51 PM
67 posts Joined: Jun 2008 |
Break your long para into few short ones and use shorter sentences.
Only state the most recent or greatest achievement in cover letter, not everything as it gonna look too windy. Insert more points that says how you would be able to contribute to the company and how good it is if you could be accepted into the company. Cover letter is more important in creating impact. CV is then only list out all your capabilities. |
May 5 2010, 05:57 PM
134 posts Joined: Jun 2007 |
Try to talk about your achievements and cater your resume to that particular position.Never ever send a generic resume.
May 5 2010, 07:53 PM
802 posts Joined: Mar 2009 From: Amsterdam |
apply for management trainee lorr
May 5 2010, 11:49 PM
59 posts Joined: Feb 2010 |
QUOTE(dynames07 @ May 5 2010, 07:24 AM) Hi guys. First of all, I want to be frank to everybody that I'm quite frustrated now. The reason is that, I've finished my study in January 2010 and until today, I have made a total of 173 job application but only on three occasions in which I've been called for interview and I failed all of it. I don't want to point fingers to other people for my failure. That is why I want to show to all of you my cover letter as well as the script for 'Tell Me About Yourself' question. If anybody would like to see my resume for C&C, do PM me your email and I'll send it to you. A cover letter has to be written in the context of the organisation you are applying to, what you have stated above ought to have already been precisely summarised by your resume. If you have sent the same cover letter to 173 companies, I suspect you did not bother to tailor each of them to the requirements of the target company and that might easily explain your low rate of success.COVER LETTER My name Address Line 1 Address Line 2 Address Line 3 Address Line 4 30th APRIL 2010 To Whom It May Concern: Dear Sirs APPLICATION FOR XXXXX POST. I am pleased to submit my application for XXXXX post available in your company. I graduated from Universiti Teknologi Malaysia in Bachelor of Engineering (Chemical). I have also successfully completed a short course on Occupational Safety and Health in Universiti Tun Hussein Onn Malaysia. For your information, this course is certified by National Institute of Occupational Safety and Health (NIOSH) of Malaysia as well as Department of Occupational Safety and Health (DOSH) of Malaysia and will enable me to get the Green Book. During my internship program (May to July 2008), I was attached to Polycore Optical (M) Sdn. Bhd. as a trainee in Engineering Department. I gained valuable experience in making an evaluation and assessment of compressed air system to seek energy saving opportunities. I was also a Trainee in HSE Department of Carigali-PTTEPI Operating Company (CPOC) from October 2009 until January 2010. I have passed all four papers of the NIOSH Safety and Health Officer Examination with flying colours. I enclosed herewith my resume for your reference. I believe my education background and experience will help me contribute positively to your organisation. Above all, I like responsibility, enjoy the challenge of new situation, and derive much pleasure from improving my abilities and from helping others to improve theirs. Therefore, I truly hope that you would consider my application. I look forward to meeting with you to discuss the position further and would be grateful to attend an interview at your convenience. Thank you for your consideration. Yours faithfully, My Name Phone No. : 01x-xxxxxxx 'TELL ME ABOUT YOURSELF QUESTION' Hi. My name is xxxx. I'm 24 years old and I'm from xxxx. I have a Degree in Chemical Engineering from Universiti Teknologi Malaysia and an Executive Diploma in Occupational Safety and Health from Universiti Tun Hussein Onn. Recently, I've completed my internship program with Carigali-PTTEPI Operating Company as a Trainee in HSE Department. At that time, my main task is to do HIRARC on the Erection of MUDA Production Platform as well as assisting their HSE personnel in daily HSE matters. Moving few years back which is during my degree, I've completed my industrial training with Polycore Optical (M) Sdn Bhd as a Trainee in Engineering Department. At this time, my main task is to analyse the company's compressed air system to seek energy saving opportunities. Regarding my self, I'm a guy who loves working in a group. I always believe that we can achieve a greater success by working in a group. When working in a group, I see my self as a good leader as well as a valuable team member. This is because I'm committed to the task that had been assigned to me. Furthermore, I have the will to support and motivate my team member so that they will not left behind. I also believe that I'm an energetic and enthusiastic person in getting the best result from my work. Last but not least, I also willing to shoulder responsibilities because this will always kept me on my toes. -END- * I hope this will be the step that can improve my chance to get employed. * Many may questioned why I failed my interview sessions. I'm fully prepared for it and the thing that always let me down is on years of experience. I have none and when the interviewer asked me about this, I confessed but I've assured him/her that I'm willing to learn. But still, I failed it... Do your homework. Research the company and explain how could you be of any value to them. Talk a little bit about the current issue resolving around the company to show that you have a certain level of discernment, interest and appreciation for your potential future employer. Infiltrate your cover letter with enthusiasm and energy since working experience is not your main selling point, as suggested by someone above. I did not find a single piece of information in your cover letter that couldn't possibly have been covered by your resume, to say the least. Yes, including your internship job scope. |
May 12 2010, 04:45 PM
297 posts Joined: Mar 2010 |
write a good resume is a 1st step for appeal the job
May 21 2010, 11:14 AM
86 posts Joined: Feb 2009 |
may i know what is the meaning of recent passport photograph(n.r)?
if we have to send application letter by email, what format should i use?is it the normal formal letter but without signature? |
Jun 1 2010, 12:42 AM
525 posts Joined: May 2010 From: KL |
QUOTE(mia_sara @ May 21 2010, 11:14 AM) may i know what is the meaning of recent passport photograph(n.r)? it just means a recent passport-sized pic of u (non-returnable).if we have to send application letter by email, what format should i use?is it the normal formal letter but without signature? if by email, just attach ur passport pic in .jpeg/.gif format on ur resume lor. no need signature |
Jun 3 2010, 12:10 PM
86 posts Joined: Feb 2009 |
Jun 6 2010, 12:33 AM
86 posts Joined: Apr 2010 |
Hi there,
I came across few job ads like this: [Interested candidates are requested to send in a detailed resume stating present and expected salary together with copies of certificates and a recent passport-sized photograph (n.r.)] 1) Is it a must to write present and expected salary? Will the figures influence the way a prospective employers look at an applicant? 2) If the applicant sent in without stating present and/or expected salary, is it considered incomplete resume? 3) Also, on the other hand, for the passport-sized photograph, as stated in the previous post, we can submit it in .jpeg format (thru email). But, I heard ppl saying that when you submit your resume, you should not put your photograph in it (even though required) as some employers will judge you by your looks (and hence if they don't like the way you look, they'll just discard your resume - means no chance for interview even though your resume is ok) Well, what do you think? Appreciate your opinions, thanks This post has been edited by fuu: Jun 6 2010, 12:40 AM |
Jun 7 2010, 10:30 AM
1,777 posts Joined: May 2010 |
QUOTE(fuu @ Jun 6 2010, 12:33 AM) 1. Yes, it will influence. 2. No its not incomplete. many choose not to disclose their present and expected and wait to see what the employer can offer. If you think putting your salary info puts you at a disadvantage, well, the employer probably wont even consider you , they do not want to waste their time interviewing you unless your experience is a very good fit. 3. Photo is your choice. Personally I have never discarded a resume based on photo. But if you want to play the privacy game, remember we are not in the USA. This is malaysia, we have our employment culture. You can choose to withhold ALL personal info when you apply jobs, go ahead, its your right to do so. |
Jun 8 2010, 02:24 PM
86 posts Joined: Apr 2010 |
QUOTE(TommyTan @ Jun 7 2010, 10:30 AM) 1. Yes, it will influence. Oh, I see. Thanks for the info 2. No its not incomplete. many choose not to disclose their present and expected and wait to see what the employer can offer. If you think putting your salary info puts you at a disadvantage, well, the employer probably wont even consider you , they do not want to waste their time interviewing you unless your experience is a very good fit. 3. Photo is your choice. Personally I have never discarded a resume based on photo. But if you want to play the privacy game, remember we are not in the USA. This is malaysia, we have our employment culture. You can choose to withhold ALL personal info when you apply jobs, go ahead, its your right to do so. |
Jun 15 2010, 04:59 PM
21 posts Joined: Jul 2008 |
Im a fresh grad and wondering what to include in an email job application? from what i read, is this correct?:
-Cover letter ( in the email, but wondering whether it should be written in a formal letter format) -Resume ( attached, in the email prefered ) -Academic transcript ( Havent read about this one) And is it correct to include the above three in a write in job application? Thanks in advance... |
Jun 17 2010, 01:18 PM
401 posts Joined: Sep 2005 From: kuala lumpur |
QUOTE(marioandluigi @ Jun 15 2010, 04:59 PM) Im a fresh grad and wondering what to include in an email job application? from what i read, is this correct?: You can write a short email but do include the a formal cover letter as an attachment. Put some effort in knowing the name of the hiring manager. It will do you wonders.-Cover letter ( in the email, but wondering whether it should be written in a formal letter format) -Resume ( attached, in the email prefered ) -Academic transcript ( Havent read about this one) And is it correct to include the above three in a write in job application? Thanks in advance... Attach also your resume, keep it short a tidy. As for the academic transcript, keep it for the interview. All the best in your job hunt! |
Jun 17 2010, 01:58 PM
1,037 posts Joined: Jan 2006 |
I dont want to reveal my current salary during interview. What should I do?
leave the current salary blank? or simply put one number. Is it a current practice for malaysian company to reveal what you earn. |
Jun 19 2010, 11:23 PM
21 posts Joined: Jul 2008 |
If there are some skills which I possess which isnt related to the job applied should it be included into the resume?
Such as unrelated software skills to the applied job.I tend to delete it because i assume that they dont want to know anyway.... |
Jun 20 2010, 04:26 PM
11,954 posts Joined: May 2007 |
QUOTE(marioandluigi @ Jun 19 2010, 11:23 PM) If there are some skills which I possess which isnt related to the job applied should it be included into the resume? No need to put into.Such as unrelated software skills to the applied job.I tend to delete it because i assume that they dont want to know anyway.... |
Jun 21 2010, 02:13 PM
3,141 posts Joined: Nov 2006 |
@IEE
It is not necessary for you to reveal your current salary. www.asktheheadhunter.com is a good site to learn on stuff like this. credits to dreamer101 for providing the link in his other thread |
| Change to: | 0.0153sec
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 01:29 PM |