3 years or so under casual use.
Read anandtech's article guise =.="
Intel LGA1155 P67/Z68/Z77, Sandy/Ivy Bridge Architecture
Feb 1 2011, 10:30 AM
4,234 posts Joined: Nov 2004 |
3 years or so under casual use.
Read anandtech's article guise =.=" |
Feb 1 2011, 10:40 AM
4,523 posts Joined: Apr 2006 |
Feb 1 2011, 11:02 AM
1,134 posts Joined: Apr 2008 |
Feb 1 2011, 11:02 AM
3,902 posts Joined: Jul 2005 From: Sin Lor, B'worth,Pg. |
got some info from techreport
QUOTE This problem apparently wasn't detected early on because of its nature, involving a slow degradation of SATA connectivity over time. Intel estimates that something like 5% of systems could develop problems over a three-year life span, assuming typical laptop usage patterns. Beyond that time window, the failure rate might rise further. For systems with heavier usage patterns, the failure rate during that initial three-year window could be as high as roughly 15%. That's obviously high enough to warrant the drastic action Intel is taking. |
Feb 1 2011, 11:07 AM
4,234 posts Joined: Nov 2004 |
QUOTE(kevink82 @ Feb 1 2011, 11:02 AM) Intel states they test it under high temp under high load and estimated 3 years for degrade, idk where ur casual use came from? "Intel expects that over 3 years of use it would see a failure rate of approximately 5 - 15% depending on usage model."Casual use implies non-extreme environment, merely end user environment. |
Feb 1 2011, 11:07 AM
1,767 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Bandar Seri Putra |
Sandy Bridge chipset flaw to cost Intel $1 billion
Sad news ... for Intel and early adopter QUOTE An interesting rumor that I’ve heard is that this problem was caught by Apple during the testing of upcoming “Sandy Bridge” MacBook Pro systems. Is this true? Probably not. But I do believe that this will delay a lot of new releases by OEMs across the board. Sandy going for Mac soon. Good for Hackintosh |
Feb 1 2011, 11:29 AM
1,385 posts Joined: Jan 2009 From: What Gives? |
so when can i get a new board?does msi say anything?how about other vendor?
Feb 1 2011, 11:39 AM
1,177 posts Joined: Apr 2005 From: Sg petani Kedah |
The Source of Intel's Cougar Point SATA Bug
Check out the explanation from Anandtech on the nature of the problem. This post has been edited by zzzz52: Feb 1 2011, 11:40 AM |
Feb 1 2011, 11:51 AM
47 posts Joined: Jun 2008 From: Putra World Trade Centre |
Cool guys...
From what I've understand...that's not related with Sandy Bridge model that release in 9th Jan. It's effect the Intel Express 6 Chipset that have only been shipping since January 9 to the manufacturer.. Yes I know the official release of Sandy is 9th Jan, but in Malaysia the CPU and MOBO has been release earlier at shop (Dec '10)... so I think, the effect is only on the chipset that send to OEM after 9th Jan... just my 2cent |
Feb 1 2011, 11:52 AM
24,351 posts Joined: Nov 2004 From: Setapak, Kuala Lumpur |
QUOTE(zzzz52 @ Feb 1 2011, 09:56 AM) but i have 6 HDD running, so cannot just switch all to 6gbps ports..... really a big problem for me. no more intel. If you haven't realize, they send it to OEMs for further testing but they also couldn't find out about this problem. Both OEMs and Intel are to be blamed. Not just Intel. Added on February 1, 2011, 9:57 amno official announcement from the mobo manufacturer yet for replacement. This also reminds me of 820 chipset bug where everyone missed the RAM bug long time ago. There is also another workaround. Buy SATA RAID cards and use it if you can't wait for warranty when the replacement motherboards are ready. |
Feb 1 2011, 12:24 PM
4,522 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Mordor, Middle Earth. |
*could be victim here with Sabertooth p67 board. Sounds like I need to change to those Sata 6gbps port and the 2 Marvell Sata ports.
Most of us wont be running >4HDDs anyway. I dont even have optical ROM drives on my PC. External sata makes it unnecessary to run many HDDs in a PC. However I am more happy if Intel would just allow us to get Z68 as replacement. Dump the p67 for good. Waiting till April = almost half way to Z68. Might as well allow us to change that to z68. This post has been edited by billytong: Feb 1 2011, 12:27 PM |
Feb 1 2011, 12:25 PM
215 posts Joined: Feb 2008 |
QUOTE(Zax_imtiyaz @ Feb 1 2011, 11:51 AM) Cool guys... Just think of it this way, it affects all chipsets released until the announcement was made. Because, the fault-free chipsets are currently being processed and is targeted to be delivered sometime around mid-February.From what I've understand...that's not related with Sandy Bridge model that release in 9th Jan. It's effect the Intel Express 6 Chipset that have only been shipping since January 9 to the manufacturer.. Yes I know the official release of Sandy is 9th Jan, but in Malaysia the CPU and MOBO has been release earlier at shop (Dec '10)... so I think, the effect is only on the chipset that send to OEM after 9th Jan... just my 2cent This post has been edited by Zakov: Feb 1 2011, 12:26 PM |
Feb 1 2011, 12:27 PM
5,602 posts Joined: Jul 2007 From: The Holiest Of Hole |
i hope the fix the cannot overclock easily problem
i hope they fix it quick |
Feb 1 2011, 12:28 PM
276 posts Joined: Aug 2010 |
hi all,
just wan to verify. this cougar point issue just affected the motherboard chipset right? the Sandy bridge processor still solid. only replacement for motherboard needed right? As part of ongoing quality assurance, Intel has discovered a design issue in a recently released support chip, the Intel® 6 Series, code-named Cougar Point, and has implemented a silicon fix. In some cases, the Serial-ATA (SATA) ports within the chipsets may degrade over time, potentially impacting the performance or functionality of SATA-linked devices such as hard disk drives and DVD-drives. The chipset is utilized in PCs with Intel’s latest Second Generation Intel Core processors, code-named Sandy Bridge. Intel has stopped shipment of the affected support chip from its factories. Intel has corrected the design issue, and has begun manufacturing a new version of the support chip which will resolve the issue. The Sandy Bridge microprocessor is unaffected and no other products are affected by this issue. This post has been edited by gnne84: Feb 1 2011, 12:31 PM |
Feb 1 2011, 12:40 PM
215 posts Joined: Feb 2008 |
QUOTE(gnne84 @ Feb 1 2011, 12:28 PM) hi all, Yes and Yes.just wan to verify. this cougar point issue just affected the motherboard chipset right? the Sandy bridge processor still solid. only replacement for motherboard needed right? QUOTE(hilmiangah @ Feb 1 2011, 12:27 PM) There's nothing to fix there as it was intended that way. If you want to use Sandy Bridge graphics and maintain overclocking ability(via multiplier, BCLK is out of question), wait for the Z68 Chipset.This post has been edited by Zakov: Feb 1 2011, 12:43 PM |
Feb 1 2011, 01:03 PM
1,385 posts Joined: Jan 2009 From: What Gives? |
QUOTE(Zax_imtiyaz @ Feb 1 2011, 11:51 AM) Cool guys... i think you misunderstand it. From what I've understand...that's not related with Sandy Bridge model that release in 9th Jan. It's effect the Intel Express 6 Chipset that have only been shipping since January 9 to the manufacturer.. Yes I know the official release of Sandy is 9th Jan, but in Malaysia the CPU and MOBO has been release earlier at shop (Dec '10)... so I think, the effect is only on the chipset that send to OEM after 9th Jan... just my 2cent |
Feb 1 2011, 01:06 PM
912 posts Joined: Dec 2005 |
new batch of p67 mobo will only reach around APRIL?
so long... will getting a i2600k from intel fren soon... but now... no mobo.... the proc for decoration only... |
Feb 1 2011, 01:18 PM
3,902 posts Joined: Jul 2005 From: Sin Lor, B'worth,Pg. |
QUOTE(Zakov @ Feb 1 2011, 12:25 PM) Just think of it this way, it affects all chipsets released until the announcement was made. Because, the fault-free chipsets are currently being processed and is targeted to be delivered sometime around mid-February. the feb timeline is for supply to OEM/mobo manufacturerthat is for the soonest, while the expected commercial sale is around march end to april if all goes well QUOTE(gnne84 @ Feb 1 2011, 12:28 PM) hi all, yes the processor is unaffectedjust wan to verify. this cougar point issue just affected the motherboard chipset right? the Sandy bridge processor still solid. only replacement for motherboard needed right? As part of ongoing quality assurance, Intel has discovered a design issue in a recently released support chip, the Intel® 6 Series, code-named Cougar Point, and has implemented a silicon fix. In some cases, the Serial-ATA (SATA) ports within the chipsets may degrade over time, potentially impacting the performance or functionality of SATA-linked devices such as hard disk drives and DVD-drives. The chipset is utilized in PCs with Intel’s latest Second Generation Intel Core processors, code-named Sandy Bridge. Intel has stopped shipment of the affected support chip from its factories. Intel has corrected the design issue, and has begun manufacturing a new version of the support chip which will resolve the issue. The Sandy Bridge microprocessor is unaffected and no other products are affected by this issue. but nobody gonna buy newer ones with the news of mobos to only available at Mar-Apr QUOTE(881118 @ Feb 1 2011, 01:06 PM) new batch of p67 mobo will only reach around APRIL? put it in a frame and hang it on the wallso long... will getting a i2600k from intel fren soon... but now... no mobo.... the proc for decoration only... put it in a clear pouch and wear it like some bling bling if the offer is good just wait for the revise chipset mobo to come out then can use dee lor |
Feb 1 2011, 01:27 PM
92 posts Joined: Jul 2007 |
It's kind of sad. I just bought my rig last saturday and now this happen. even MSI agree to change it for me I believe it'll takes months to get my board back. That means everything lying there with no board. Sigh..
The good news is I'm sure the Sandy Bridge procs will be cheaper because the there'll be no motherboard available during this period. So for people who still don't have one, lucky to them. Buy proc now, later after April buy the board = profit. |
Feb 1 2011, 01:30 PM
276 posts Joined: Aug 2010 |
| Change to: | 0.0290sec