Nov 4 2010, 09:33 AM
322 posts Joined: Mar 2005 |
Is it me or has ALT begun to raise his prices? He tends to quote higher prices offhand. Best to negotiate with him and insist on a certain price point for his services. He also tends to "forget" certain things he has promised before.
On a somewhat related note, I think Fly FM just tried to prank call ALT. Heard it on their morning show while driving to work today. Wonder who sent in the prank request? |
Nov 4 2010, 10:25 AM
572 posts Joined: Jul 2010 |
QUOTE(Quasi-Suave @ Nov 4 2010, 09:33 AM) Is it me or has ALT begun to raise his prices? He tends to quote higher prices offhand. Best to negotiate with him and insist on a certain price point for his services. He also tends to "forget" certain things he has promised before. It's called discretionary inflation. He charges according to what he thinks you can afford to pay somewhat similar to the Doctors in Mainland China. On a somewhat related note, I think Fly FM just tried to prank call ALT. Heard it on their morning show while driving to work today. Wonder who sent in the prank request? What was the gist of the prank call? |
Nov 4 2010, 10:39 AM
9,333 posts Joined: May 2009 |
QUOTE(Quasi-Suave @ Nov 4 2010, 09:33 AM) Is it me or has ALT begun to raise his prices? He tends to quote higher prices offhand. Best to negotiate with him and insist on a certain price point for his services. He also tends to "forget" certain things he has promised before. Crud... i missed that.. i listen to hitz most of the time...On a somewhat related note, I think Fly FM just tried to prank call ALT. Heard it on their morning show while driving to work today. Wonder who sent in the prank request? |
Nov 4 2010, 10:48 AM
374 posts Joined: Oct 2009 From: Kuantan |
![]() SINGLE-BUTTON SUIT Model F1V16E/F1127 David line:slim fit jacket: single-breasted one button cuffs with three buttons length cm.70 trousers: zip and button closure hem cm.20 made in Italy 80% virgin wool 18% silk 2% elastane what do u guys think about this suit? i really need that pants ,they do sell one separately but i figure i would save more money to buy the suit.. i know that for Emporio Armani Suits its not worth to get any less than Napoli lines(since napoli lines are the only canvassed and tailored , Napoli lines sells for about RM1,000 more than normal lines) but i really like the material and the abit shining effect on the one i shown above.. the closest i can find from Napoli lines is this one ![]() Model F1V52Z/F1131 Napoli line:regular fit jacket: single-breasted two buttons cuffs with four buttons length cm.74 trousers: zip and button closure hem cm.22 made in Italy 80% virgin wool 20% silk it has more silk and canvassed cost slightly more but its regular fit and and not shiny .. * i will never buy this one tho .. i just needed opinion wether i should just buy the david line one or wait next time for something else.. or incase u know any other brand that sells slimfit suit that looks like the shiny one thanks This post has been edited by LiLFreaK: Nov 4 2010, 10:53 AM |
Nov 4 2010, 11:17 AM
The suits look nice, but generally everything looks good on a model's body. How much is the asking price for the suit and just the pants?
Whether it is a good buy ornot depends on the value proposition i.e. bang for your buck. Beau, Ben (the Dj) pretended to be an Indian gentleman (complete with heavy accent) asking ALT if he could make a suit using his wife's huge and expensive collection of Saree cloth. Ben then asked if he could have vegetables and fruits attached to the suit. ALT was cool tho, he just said 1) Saree will make a transparent suit, hence unsuitable and 2) He can't help with having vegetables and fruits attached to the suit. When pressed further, ALT just said that there is a customer walking in and he needed to attend to him, and after saying "sorry I can't help you", promptly hung up on Ben. |
Nov 4 2010, 12:26 PM
QUOTE(Quasi-Suave @ Nov 4 2010, 11:17 AM) The suits look nice, but generally everything looks good on a model's body. How much is the asking price for the suit and just the pants? for EA pants goes at 1200 to 1500Whether it is a good buy ornot depends on the value proposition i.e. bang for your buck. Beau, Ben (the Dj) pretended to be an Indian gentleman (complete with heavy accent) asking ALT if he could make a suit using his wife's huge and expensive collection of Saree cloth. Ben then asked if he could have vegetables and fruits attached to the suit. ALT was cool tho, he just said 1) Saree will make a transparent suit, hence unsuitable and 2) He can't help with having vegetables and fruits attached to the suit. When pressed further, ALT just said that there is a customer walking in and he needed to attend to him, and after saying "sorry I can't help you", promptly hung up on Ben. as for the suits it should be around 4k-5k |
Nov 4 2010, 12:33 PM
Tad expensive no?
But if it suits your budget, they why not? |
Nov 4 2010, 07:08 PM
QUOTE(Quasi-Suave @ Nov 4 2010, 11:17 AM) The suits look nice, but generally everything looks good on a model's body. How much is the asking price for the suit and just the pants? Surprised he didn't suggest his house cut!!Whether it is a good buy ornot depends on the value proposition i.e. bang for your buck. Beau, Ben (the Dj) pretended to be an Indian gentleman (complete with heavy accent) asking ALT if he could make a suit using his wife's huge and expensive collection of Saree cloth. Ben then asked if he could have vegetables and fruits attached to the suit. ALT was cool tho, he just said 1) Saree will make a transparent suit, hence unsuitable and 2) He can't help with having vegetables and fruits attached to the suit. When pressed further, ALT just said that there is a customer walking in and he needed to attend to him, and after saying "sorry I can't help you", promptly hung up on Ben. |
Nov 4 2010, 10:24 PM
3,802 posts Joined: Apr 2009 From: City of Anggerik |
Nov 4 2010, 10:44 PM
Nov 4 2010, 10:45 PM
Nov 5 2010, 01:36 AM
1,846 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: City^of^Anggerik |
Any1 is going to ALT on this Saturday? Sir kotmj....I hope u will be there too.. its my first fittin for the DB suit..going to collect my sport jacket as well....and i just realise abt 1 thing... wearing a suit does not bring that great feeling anymore...it seems like a normal office dressing as I have to wear it on every weekdays...it used to be fun.....
This post has been edited by silencer: Nov 5 2010, 01:36 AM |
Nov 5 2010, 01:42 AM
Yeah, i'll be there this Sat. Will SMS you.
Nov 5 2010, 11:41 PM
Nov 6 2010, 09:13 AM
QUOTE(kotmj @ Nov 5 2010, 11:41 PM) Just asking you to get one single piece for a change. A pity to see all that money go on stuff that fit so poorly. & all the glue for fused suits. Feeding the marketing machines of these large multiple nationals tooAdded on November 6, 2010, 9:19 am QUOTE(silencer @ Nov 5 2010, 01:36 AM) Any1 is going to ALT on this Saturday? Sir kotmj....I hope u will be there too.. its my first fittin for the DB suit..going to collect my sport jacket as well....and i just realise abt 1 thing... wearing a suit does not bring that great feeling anymore...it seems like a normal office dressing as I have to wear it on every weekdays...it used to be fun..... Have your tailor make your suits with lighter inner linings less padding & slightly more " cardigan " feel e.g camel hair instead of horse hair etc. Makes for a more comfortable wear. I know the feeling. A week day of wearing suits makes one yearn for casual wear during the weekends!! This post has been edited by beau: Nov 6 2010, 09:19 AM |
Nov 6 2010, 10:36 AM
165 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
I think all these talks are overrated. The thread was started as if to educate and share all things about suits but it had become more and more a like a show off thread for some.
C'mon, a suit is a suit. If you need to wear them daily, it is a just another item of clothing. So what u can afford an expensive bespoke suit that you only get to wear occasionally to some weddings or some parties. When one need to be in suit on daily basis, it is just another day in another suit. Regardless how expensive your suit is, or what materials of he suit, if one does not have the intelligence or the importance in the meeting, a suit is just another suit. Hey, the sales persons in boutiques are in suits, the concierge in hotels are in suits, and the list goes on. My point is that a suit is a suit. If one wants to tailor any suit, go for 3 baisc color: 1 in navy, 1 in black and 1 in grey. Pin stripes or pattern is personal preference. These 3 colors is more than enough for most of the events already. Juts admit it, the weather in kl is just too hot for suit. How many times after you put on the suit or even before you put on the suit and you wonder if it's going to rain or will the aircond be cold enough? C'mon, its form over function. This post has been edited by gsuave: Nov 6 2010, 10:42 AM |
Nov 6 2010, 12:36 PM
Saying all suits are essentially the same is like saying all cars are the same, and that, if you have to drive daily, it is just another mobility device, be it a Perodua Kancil or a Bugatti Veyron. And that it makes no difference to your experience of going through the motions of life if you drove one or the other.
There is a vast difference between a low end RTW suit and a handmade bespoke. Suits, in this thread, are never seen in isolation. They are part of something bigger, something more significant -- elegant men's dress. No doubt you have precisely zero idea what that means. Those who do can appear hip at times and conservative at others with a few basic pieces. You obviously suffer from foot-in-mouth disease. You actually tried dispensing advice about suits, a garment you know exactly nothing about? On this thread? You are my prototypical provincial lala philistine. |
Nov 6 2010, 02:20 PM
996 posts Joined: Jan 2010 From: City of Angkorek |
This is the reason I don't feel like posting anything here sometimes. That philistine is a fool. An utter fool. He's definitely one of the more pathetic lurkers who can rock a singlet, ahpek short pants and TatSeng flip flops everyday and still be able to say "Why bother? Clothes are just clothes. No matter how good it looks, how well it fits, it's only meant to cover my butt." There is no civilization in him.
Nov 6 2010, 08:25 PM
Oooh, my next jacket will have a special feature but I cannot tell what because the material is limited and very old and AL has been hoarding it for decades.
The Tan Sri came in wearing the Albini linen I mentioned in the Tailors thread (USD15/meter). He wore white linen Calvin Klein pants. The front balance of his DB is long and that is the only correction to be made, but AL caught that by himself anyway. There is also a project underway for AL to make navy blazers for his staff. AL suggested a midnight blue but I countered with a true navy. He is also looking for a SR tailor because he will bite the bullet soon. Etc. Me, I have a pink fine linen shirt in the works. This linen is unusual in that it is really soft and fine. I wanted to have ISTT make it up but the fabric is so special I decided to pay double for AL to do it. Added on November 6, 2010, 8:31 pm QUOTE(bloke1 @ Nov 6 2010, 02:20 PM) This is the reason I don't feel like posting anything here sometimes. That philistine is a fool. An utter fool. He's definitely one of the more pathetic lurkers who can rock a singlet, ahpek short pants and TatSeng flip flops everyday and still be able to say "Why bother? Clothes are just clothes. No matter how good it looks, how well it fits, it's only meant to cover my butt." There is no civilization in him. Nobody dress like dat in KL lahThis post has been edited by kotmj: Nov 6 2010, 08:31 PM |
| Change to: | 0.0189sec
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 08:23 AM |