Model Kits/Toys Painting, Building, Modding Thread, v3

zheyuen
post Nov 17 2010, 11:29 PM

206 posts

QUOTE(z3r0717 @ Nov 17 2010, 07:48 PM)
lol.. yea.. the animated one scared too many ppl..

Is it good? well, a good replacement for hobby spray cans(since they are expensive)
You have to always keep note that nippon pylox are meant for industrial use but for plastics still ok
When you spray, try not to spray too thick as the air pressure is very strong.
After top coating it, of course it does look nice.. but if you're using spray can type top coats, have to be cautions too as frosting might appear.

Method to spray is spray from left to right covering the area you desire.
Try not to spray too long as it gets thick..
1-2 layers is sufficient unless you need a third.
Spray distance 30 cm..

Test it on a runner to get the feel.
Hope it helps smile.gif
yea i rmb i was one of first who commented on the creepiness of it. XD.

so after top coating, it looks like a model kit spray painted with model kit paint?

i think i gonna try it on my fake gundam.
z3r0717
post Nov 18 2010, 05:02 AM

Gundam needs to pee too
2,239 posts

QUOTE(zheyuen @ Nov 17 2010, 11:29 PM)

so after top coating, it looks like a model kit spray painted with model kit paint?

that is for you and others to judge.. lol..
If painted not correctly, it'll just look like normal
done correctly and you'll see an art
rayloke
post Nov 18 2010, 11:34 AM

34 posts

QUOTE(zheyuen @ Nov 17 2010, 11:29 PM)

A tool is merely a tool. It's the hand that holds it, and the mind that controls it really matter.

FYI, 2008 BAKUC (Bandai's (Gundam) Action Kit Universal Cup) World Champion, by a Philippines, nick on internet DC23, was done solely by spray can.

z3r0717: creepy? Hahaha...........

This post has been edited by rayloke: Nov 18 2010, 11:35 AM
zheyuen
post Nov 18 2010, 01:58 PM

206 posts

thanks guys. one last thing, wheres the cheapest place to get :

plaplate, plaplate (rod), pin vise and cement?

Added on November 18, 2010, 2:01 pmand also water slide decal paper for us to print on.

This post has been edited by zheyuen: Nov 18 2010, 02:01 PM
Jetpeh
post Nov 20 2010, 02:50 PM

Hi guys

thought of sharing this link on making pe parts for anyone interested. I haven't tried yet. Anyone who does try it out let us know how it goes.

http://modeltech.tripod.com/etchingarticle.htm

kenjcd
post Nov 21 2010, 04:05 AM

not sure if this is the right section, but here goes; how to register
bbs.afhobby.com?

need invitation code or something?
thanks.
XiuKeong
post Nov 24 2010, 11:56 PM

[OMG] Sweetie™
9,436 posts

I saw from my 1/24 guide that the painting require lacquer, acrylic and enamel paint. Do I really need those 3?

And anyone know where can I get those cheap paints instead at Tamiya shop itself?
Vorador
post Nov 26 2010, 03:52 PM

Blessed !!!
3,494 posts

Hi all, i wanna ask some painting technique...

I wanna do the shading effect, which looks like this:

But I do not have air brush + compressor, hence I only use those Gundam color spray (those small tin can which dedicated for gundam color one)

May I know if it's possible to achieve such effect via gundam color spray? can give me some tips on it?

Thanks ! notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif
chriswoo
post Nov 26 2010, 04:31 PM

98 posts

well vorador

I think video and image show more than a thousand word

try this example

part 1

and this part 2

This post has been edited by chriswoo: Nov 26 2010, 04:34 PM
Vorador
post Nov 26 2010, 08:43 PM

Blessed !!!
3,494 posts

QUOTE(chriswoo @ Nov 26 2010, 04:31 PM)
well vorador

I think video and image show more than a thousand word

try this example

notworthy.gif

Hm... ... sounds good but goota waste a lot of spray, but what to do i dun have air brush (and no plan to buy 1) so mah try it out ! thumbup.gif

Bonchi
post Nov 30 2010, 08:49 AM

KittehPowah
1,649 posts

wanna ask.. will it be alright if i use tamiya acrylic and water as thinner for airbrushing? and for Mr.Color what thinner is suitable cuz it didnt work with alchohol :/
ive never used my airbrush for acrylic before sweat.gif wanna try using it for modeling this time
inquisytor
post Nov 30 2010, 10:42 AM

QUOTE(Bonchi @ Nov 30 2010, 08:49 AM)
wanna ask.. will it be alright if i use tamiya acrylic and water as thinner for airbrushing? and for Mr.Color what thinner is suitable cuz it didnt work with alchohol :/
ive never used my airbrush for acrylic before sweat.gif wanna try using it for modeling this time
Please do some reading before asking :
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=30089494 (This thread was pinned right on top)

Arcrylic is not a very strong paint. You might end up with alot of paint chip easily if you are painting mechas.
Vorador
post Dec 10 2010, 11:44 PM

Blessed !!!
3,494 posts

guys i need some opinion... ...

alright i bought the PG strike freedom, suppose it was an extreme happiness but due to too much bashing and knocking in the forum now i feel i'm a dumb coz i bought this.

anyway dun care, i luv strike freedom so no matter how i will support this kit...

okok sorry my question is, frankly speaking the front skirt armor plate for PG strike freedom looks quite boring... so plain...

I'm planning to do some modding on it to make it look nicer, but i'm so n00b to physical modding and i scare i screw up the whole thing...

so may I ask:

1) if I just wants to cut some line on it, which tool will be useful on gundam kit?

2) if I wants to re-shape the front skirt plate, do I jsut sand paper it until it reach the shape or use some cutting tool?

3) any suggestion on front skirt armor which suitable for strike freedom tongue.gif

thanks! notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif
profpoyo
post Dec 11 2010, 12:07 AM

84 posts

^ you means you want to add more panel line on the kit right
maybe this can help
http://dc23-mecharts.blogspot.com/2009/12/...ip-part-ii.html
Vorador
post Dec 11 2010, 12:28 AM

Blessed !!!
3,494 posts

QUOTE(profpoyo @ Dec 11 2010, 12:07 AM)
maybe this can help
notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif

thank you so much!

whoa this link shows almost everything i need... just that he didn't explain the step on sawing... i might need that as well...
shauno
post Dec 11 2010, 12:44 AM

249 posts

maybe this can help
+1 to that. i find using dymo tape extremely useful as well, especially for curved pieces..
clivengu
post Dec 11 2010, 05:29 AM

1,850 posts

QUOTE(Vorador @ Dec 10 2010, 11:44 PM)
guys i need some opinion... ...

alright i bought the PG strike freedom, suppose it was an extreme happiness but due to too much bashing and knocking in the forum now i feel i'm a dumb coz i bought this.

anyway dun care, i luv strike freedom so no matter how i will support this kit...

okok sorry my question is, frankly speaking the front skirt armor plate for PG strike freedom looks quite boring... so plain...

I'm planning to do some modding on it to make it look nicer, but i'm so n00b to physical modding and i scare i screw up the whole thing...

so may I ask:

1) if I just wants to cut some line on it, which tool will be useful on gundam kit?

2) if I wants to re-shape the front skirt plate, do I jsut sand paper it until it reach the shape or use some cutting tool?

3) any suggestion on front skirt armor which suitable for strike freedom tongue.gif

thanks!  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif
I understand your feeling.. pls dont get down just because what ppl dislike bout it.. To be able to own a PG should make u happy and a proud owner already. I very wanted to get this kit as well.... if my december budget allow tongue.gif And I will have the same idea with you, trying to make it look nicer. I think the best feeling will be when u have done an impressive job on this suppose-to-be-boring kit... ppl will no longer look at it the same way... rclxms.gif

Anyway. I get an idea of repainting it like Keita's White Strike Freedom if I bought my PG.. you can copy its front skirt paneling.. simple but nice. But first i must brushup my Airburshing skill... it has been in the box for 2 years +

WHITE STRIKE FREEDOM

maybe this can help
This is a very useful tutorial with many other different technique. Bookmarked already tongue.gif thanks!

profpoyo
post Dec 11 2010, 01:02 PM

84 posts

DC23 is very popular maa
looks at his Sazabi mod and you'll be awed
nazrul90
post Dec 11 2010, 01:05 PM

302 posts

QUOTE(shauno @ Dec 10 2010, 11:32 AM)
its not that difficult actually. try reverse washing.
bro,regarding that technique(painting the Sinanju gold part) how to do it? hmm.gif

Vorador
post Dec 11 2010, 01:19 PM

Blessed !!!
3,494 posts

QUOTE(clivengu @ Dec 11 2010, 05:29 AM)
I understand your feeling.. pls dont get down just because what ppl dislike bout it.. To be able to own a PG should make u happy and a proud owner already. I very wanted to get this kit as well.... if my december budget allow  tongue.gif And I will have the same idea with you, trying to make it look nicer. I think the best feeling will be when u have done an impressive job on this suppose-to-be-boring kit... ppl will no longer look at it the same way...  rclxms.gif

Anyway. I get an idea of repainting it like Keita's White Strike Freedom if I bought my PG.. you can copy its front skirt paneling.. simple but nice. But first i must brushup my Airburshing skill... it has been in the box for 2 years +
WHITE STRIKE FREEDOM
This is a very useful tutorial with many other different technique. Bookmarked already tongue.gif thanks!
notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif

this is AMAZING mod for strike freedom, and he gave me a VERY GOOD color reference. (coz I planned to replace the dark blue to dark grey, light blue to medium grey, make it looks like white-grayish strike freedom)

thanks for encouraging me man, I remember last time when PG 00 Raiser is out, I dun like it but never say anything, instead congratulate those who have it...

anyway that front skirt paneling is really cool! i gotta copy--pasta it tongue.gif tongue.gif also some metallic color at the back~~~

125 Pages « < 23 24 25 26 27 > » Top

0.0220sec    0.66    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 09:59 PM