125 Pages « < 95 96 97 98 99 > » Bottom

Model Kits/Toys Painting, Building, Modding Thread, v3

ra2zy
post Jul 23 2012, 12:32 AM

41 posts

Jus now i visit Ace hardware but saw alot of krylon type so dunno which 1 is the flat / matt top coat spray... this is the pic.. can any1 see whether this is the 1 that u all use?

if not, can show me the correct krylon flat / matt top coat spray pic?
Noysan
post Jul 23 2012, 09:37 AM

156 posts

QUOTE(ra2zy @ Jul 23 2012, 12:32 AM)
Jus now i visit Ace hardware but saw alot of krylon type so dunno which 1 is the flat / matt top coat spray... this is the pic.. can any1 see whether this is the 1 that u all use?

if not, can show me the correct krylon flat / matt top coat spray pic?
That's white not clear. Look for this.. I bought one but I only used once on figure, I got frosting and I can't figure out how to make it work.. sweat.gif I only used it on my custom bases.. Might as well go for Tamiya or Mr Hobby...

AEROZ
post Jul 23 2012, 01:10 PM

224 posts

Huh, krylon matte also got frosting effect?
Noysan
post Jul 23 2012, 01:32 PM

156 posts

QUOTE(AEROZ @ Jul 23 2012, 01:10 PM)
Huh, krylon matte also got frosting effect?
Got frosting on my figs. Not sure, maybe it's just me but I never try using it on figure again, only on bases.. smile.gif

ra2zy
post Jul 23 2012, 01:34 PM

41 posts

QUOTE(Noysan @ Jul 23 2012, 01:32 PM)
Got frosting on my figs. Not sure, maybe it's just me but I never try using it on figure again, only on bases.. smile.gif
thank for the pic bro..

what bout if i apply this in gundam? does it had frosting effect too? any1 can confirm?
Noysan
post Jul 23 2012, 01:37 PM

156 posts

I can only suggest you try it but not on your finish work, just on sample piece.. smile.gif
shauno
post Jul 23 2012, 01:39 PM

249 posts

frosting can happen on any medium la bro.. gundam, figure, base. wanna prevent frosting? make sure you don't spray on humid days, heat the can up by placing it in hot water first and spray part by part.

Noysan
post Jul 23 2012, 01:43 PM

156 posts

QUOTE(shauno @ Jul 23 2012, 01:39 PM)
frosting can happen on any medium la bro.. gundam, figure, base. wanna prevent frosting? make sure you don't spray on humid days, heat the can up by placing it in hot water first and spray part by part.
very helpful tip.. nod.gif . Try this before spraying, ra2zy. smile.gif

ra2zy
post Jul 23 2012, 01:49 PM

41 posts

thanks for the advice bro.. thumbup.gif

erm...any idea how to determine how hot water needed to heat up and how long it needed to heat up in hot water before spray start?

GravityFi3ld
post Jul 23 2012, 11:39 PM

Nick Fury's Night Fury
912 posts

where to get foliage like grass for dioramas?
constantine85
post Jul 24 2012, 09:44 AM

how long do u place in hot water? sorry being noob here first timer icon_question.gif
shauno
post Jul 24 2012, 09:53 AM

249 posts

QUOTE(GravityFi3ld @ Jul 23 2012, 11:39 PM)
where to get foliage like grass for dioramas?
try at icw bro. think they got. otherwise, art shops also might have..
GravityFi3ld
post Jul 24 2012, 11:04 AM

Nick Fury's Night Fury
912 posts

QUOTE(shauno @ Jul 24 2012, 09:53 AM)
try at icw bro. think they got. otherwise, art shops also might have..
may i know where's icw? XD
alpha91
post Jul 25 2012, 07:33 PM

493 posts

Hi, every sifu, i would like to ask for recommendation. I thought to colour my Sinanju. i bought the normal version and i thought to paint it looks like Titanium finish.
So, i want to buy metallic red. Can anyone recommend me whether i should buy spray or paint ? which one is easier for beginner ?
armymanzero
post Jul 25 2012, 10:08 PM

question I just read about top coat on the net. and it said that don't spray on clear part it will cause blur. but how about decal. do I put on decal and spray top coat or after spray top coat and than put on decal. Will I have not try any paint on my gundam only paint line and gundam maker. also, any good recommand site on how to paint gundam. I wanted to try out painting my gundam with normal can spray paint. but don't know how to do it. i appreciate anyone can give guide line. thanks.
zeroglyph
post Jul 25 2012, 11:37 PM

woot!!! senior member now?
1,255 posts

QUOTE(ra2zy @ Jul 23 2012, 01:34 PM)
thank for the pic bro..

what bout if i apply this in gundam? does it had frosting effect too? any1 can confirm?
if you use krylon, it's stated on the can: if additional coat is needed, let the first coat dry for 2 mins before applying (excessive coats may appear whitish, like frosted glass). i believe this applies to any flat coat.

so don't ever apply mutiple coat at one time. apply the first coat and let it dry. just leave the parts you missed and recoat again after the 1st one dry. you'll get use to it after a while. plus, krylon matte cleans easy with thinner (i've fixed 2 kits from frosting already).

i don't usually bother with heating. i only make sure i let the previous coat dries before applying the next one. so far 4 kits done with krylon matte (one can and still have spare), only the 1st 2 have some issues, due to inexperience sweat.gif . the 3rd & 4th went smooth. thumbup.gif

sometimes the frost can give it a whethered look, which is pretty cool for certain parts. icon_idea.gif

QUOTE(armymanzero @ Jul 25 2012, 10:08 PM)
question I just read about top coat on the net. and it said that don't spray on clear part it will cause blur. but how about decal. do I put on decal and spray top coat or after spray top coat and than put on decal. Will I have not try any paint on my gundam only paint line and gundam maker. also, any good recommand site on how to paint gundam. I wanted to try out painting my gundam with normal can spray paint. but don't know how to do it. i appreciate anyone can give guide line. thanks.
if you want to use flat or semi-gloss top coat, apply decals 1st. else the decals will have a hard time to stick. gloss coat can be applied before decals. generally, the top coat is to protect the decals, so most of the the time, decals and lined, then top coat.

obviously, flat and semi-gloss WILL fost clear parts. gloss top coat (or clear) won't do that. some of my clear decals does frost with krylon, but it'll just scraped off with credit cards(or anything similar). so no issues there. krylon matte doesn't seem to stick on clear decals.

now my question:

how do you remove yellowish stain on white kit? yeah, i know top coat helps to prevent it, but what about white kits that have become a little yellowish? how doi remove those before coating? bleach?

This post has been edited by zeroglyph: Jul 25 2012, 11:38 PM
armymanzero
post Jul 27 2012, 05:37 PM

thanks for the reply.
HxiiiK
post Jul 28 2012, 09:10 AM

hi, i was snooping around FB and found some customization pics that claim usage of H.I.P.S. (i googled it and i think it's high impact polystyrene (plastic) sheet or something)
any idea how the material is like? of course google images will not help much tongue.gif seeing it is not quite like feeling it in hand.. if the material really is acceptable for customizing, where can i find some? laugh.gif
Time Walker
post Jul 29 2012, 12:45 AM

490 posts

do you guys know where can buy chrome paint?? cause i wanted to fix mine transformers chrome paint

Added on July 29, 2012, 2:04 pmi been searching about the chrome paint, maybe can suggest which brand and type of chrome paints or spray is the best??

This post has been edited by Time Walker: Jul 29 2012, 02:04 PM
deejay220989
post Jul 30 2012, 02:51 PM

1,141 posts

Hi guys,

I just got a Tamiya X-11 Paint Marker (Silver Chrome). Just wondering how long does it take for it to be completely dry?

I used it to paint a small part of my model kit..after a few hours it feel dry..but if I press it harder I can see my fingerprint on the paint lol..

Also, is there any guide on how to paint nicely using this marker? I'm using it to paint small parts but it usually comes out alot >.<

Thanks!

125 Pages « < 95 96 97 98 99 > » Top

0.0206sec    0.33    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 06:58 PM