Hardware The New MacBook/MacBook Pro/Air Users Thread v5, Share your joy and your pain here ;)
wei
Apr 28 2010, 02:51 PM
QUOTE(ianho @ Apr 28 2010, 10:34 AM) Not everyone wants MBP 17" la. So big like an elephant. But it will be a worthy desktop replacememt. 17" is elephant then 19" is whale? Hahaha. I have a client that lug around a 17" mbp + Mybook studio + charger + bunch of cables. Siao.... QUOTE(Kernkraft400 @ Apr 28 2010, 01:59 PM) Just a question guys. Are there are cosmetic differences between MacBook Pros of mid 2009 and the new line of MacBook Pros? Not that I aware of on the external, internally I know they change some screw mount.
wiraone
Apr 28 2010, 02:56 PM
QUOTE(izact @ Apr 28 2010, 02:44 PM) is partition really necessary on mac? if so..what sw to apply then.. Its really up to you, I have three partitions in my current MBP and I did two partitions on my wife's new MBP .. What I did was resizing the big partition into two using Disk Utility .. First, boot up using the SL DVD, do not continue with installation, there is menu to run disk utility instead. Do a search on the net using google on how to do the resizing .. this link should shed some light .. http://www.creativetechs.com/iq/leopard_di...partitions.html
snowyy
Apr 28 2010, 02:58 PM
QUOTE(angrydog @ Apr 28 2010, 12:12 PM) Ooh, thanks for the tip. I'll give them a ring. (update: Yeah, my stuff is stuck in customs clearance as well, same as you.) I having the same situation with you. How is your status now?
tarvalslain87
Apr 28 2010, 02:59 PM
(•_•) / ( •_•)>⌐■-■ / (⌐■_■)
@kernkraft400 If im not mistaken there are no cosmetic difference other than the magnetic adapter for the power supply... As I bought the casing from speck fits the old and the new one...
@izact So far i know only those who runs bootcamp will want to have a partition... Im also not that sure.. Need seniors to give some feedback =)
tarvalslain87
Apr 28 2010, 03:15 PM
What did you did to your mac? Modification? =)
goliath
Apr 28 2010, 03:36 PM
@=Hanxz= : Nice. I had Snoopy on mine.
nimrod323
Apr 28 2010, 04:36 PM
QUOTE(=Hanxz= @ Apr 28 2010, 03:13 PM) just did something to my mac  haha i know bro, Obama FTW
izact
Apr 28 2010, 05:05 PM

QUOTE(wiraone @ Apr 28 2010, 02:56 PM) Its really up to you, I have three partitions in my current MBP and I did two partitions on my wife's new MBP .. What I did was resizing the big partition into two using Disk Utility .. First, boot up using the SL DVD, do not continue with installation, there is menu to run disk utility instead. Do a search on the net using google on how to do the resizing .. this link should shed some light .. http://www.creativetechs.com/iq/leopard_di...partitions.html@wiraone..rather than resizing it..could it creates new partition instead.. if i were to have partitions..what would u recommend me to store into those partitions..e.g data, games, office, school etc.. @tarvalslain87 .. i'm planning to use Bootcamp later..but still uncertain to install either win xp or windows7..
ianho
Apr 28 2010, 05:20 PM
Cucimangkoklife
QUOTE(wei @ Apr 28 2010, 02:51 PM) But it will be a worthy desktop replacememt. 17" is elephant then 19" is whale? Hahaha. I have a client that lug around a 17" mbp + Mybook studio + charger + bunch of cables. Siao.... Not that I aware of on the external, internally I know they change some screw mount. 19" is Loch Ness monster.
dvlzplayground
QUOTE(izact @ Apr 28 2010, 05:05 PM) @wiraone..rather than resizing it..could it creates new partition instead.. if i were to have partitions..what would u recommend me to store into those partitions..e.g data, games, office, school etc.. @tarvalslain87 .. i'm planning to use Bootcamp later..but still uncertain to install either win xp or windows7.. yes can make new partitions too my opinion, 1 partition is enough. even though resizing a partition is possible, you still have to DO it. folders no need to resize  bootcamp now can access the osx partition too. so i dun see the need for partitions
wiraone
QUOTE(izact @ Apr 28 2010, 05:05 PM) @wiraone..rather than resizing it..could it creates new partition instead.. if i were to have partitions..what would u recommend me to store into those partitions..e.g data, games, office, school etc.. Well, it is really up to you .. repartition means that you'll delete an existing partition .. resizing the partition will create new partition(s) after the existing partition. End result will be the same, have more than one partition .. but removing existing partition means that you need to reinstall the OS which is just waste of time really if you've just got your MB. Mine, I've one partition which holds my virtual machine's image, one for junks .. but the rest are in my main partition including my documents .. too lazy to move them around.
tarvalslain87
Apr 28 2010, 06:09 PM
Most probably I will only have 2 partitions, 1 for Mac OSX and another for my Windows 7... Should be more than enough.. I will then backup my files in my external HDD =D
daniellimwx
Apr 28 2010, 06:37 PM
Hi all!! I just got my MacBook Pro yesterday. Happy in a way, sad in a way. Im happy because at last I got my Mac machines, I sad because the soft-hard shell casing that I purchase online RM229 is not compatible for Macbook Pro, is only for Macbook White, haihhhh..  Besides, I found out retail shop selling this type of case only RM148-168. Super Super upset for this case. Anyway, nice to be a part of your family. Im looking for Red Cover Soft-Hard Shell Casing for Macbook Pro, anyone know where can I get it. Please message me. Thanks!! Dan
ah.men9
Apr 28 2010, 07:29 PM
does anyone know where to get incase neoprene plus or caselogic sleeve for mbp 13"? Or any another suggestion^^
nando
Apr 28 2010, 08:38 PM
can the sifus share their views on the Hi-Res Antiglare Widescreen Display (available as upgrade option) in the new 15 inch MBP? is it something worth paying for?
sorry if its discussed before...
alexng2208
Apr 28 2010, 08:43 PM
i saw it.. the anti glare and its absolutely great!!! maybe ever so slightly less brighter, but then, hardly noticeable!!! no glare!!!
dvlzplayground
Apr 28 2010, 08:49 PM
QUOTE(daniellimwx @ Apr 28 2010, 06:37 PM) Hi all!! I just got my MacBook Pro yesterday. Happy in a way, sad in a way. Im happy because at last I got my Mac machines, I sad because the soft-hard shell casing that I purchase online RM229 is not compatible for Macbook Pro, is only for Macbook White, haihhhh..  Besides, I found out retail shop selling this type of case only RM148-168. Super Super upset for this case. Anyway, nice to be a part of your family. Im looking for Red Cover Soft-Hard Shell Casing for Macbook Pro, anyone know where can I get it. Please message me. Thanks!! Dan sell the macbook shell casing
Ryoga
Apr 28 2010, 09:08 PM

QUOTE(ah.men9 @ Apr 28 2010, 07:29 PM) does anyone know where to get incase neoprene plus or caselogic sleeve for mbp 13"? Or any another suggestion^^ i bought it from apple store.. but quite expensive
Ballz8787
Apr 28 2010, 09:37 PM

QUOTE(snowyy @ Apr 28 2010, 02:58 PM) I having the same situation with you. How is your status now? As I think that we're in the same batch and facing the same problem from DHL, The latest update up to 6.00PM today: The batch is still in Singapore grrrrrr....... The call centre personnel told me that my parcel (ours) is a bulk shipment to Malaysia from Apple Store before it were to be sorted out as individual consignments. So I'm guessing something went wrong with the shipment that causes the delay. She told me to check again tomorrow morning zzz So I guess I'll have to wait and see what happens tomorrow