Hardware The New MacBook/MacBook Pro/Air Users Thread v5, Share your joy and your pain here ;)
wiraone
Apr 15 2010, 11:28 AM
Since the MBP is still in the hot topic now, I would like to ask if any of you get the ACPP along with the MBP .. there is a thread on ACPP but nobody answer my question. There are ppl who're selling ACPP for a discount in trade forum and I'm worry with the news about generated and fake ACPP .. so, should I get it from Apple or should I gamble and get it from these discounted ACPP .. will we get a box version of ACPP from these guys?
This post has been edited by wiraone: Apr 15 2010, 11:29 AM
wiraone
Apr 15 2010, 12:01 PM
QUOTE(bryancsk @ Apr 15 2010, 11:59 AM) hey today i see that macbook pro's family have announced hardware upgrades ....will it be there for at least few months ? coz i plan to buy around the middle this year It will last at least 8 over months  The last update to the MBP line was in June last year when they introduced 13" MBP.. Added on April 15, 2010, 12:03 pmThanks for the input on ACPP, I guess I'll just go ahead getting it directly from the AppleStore. The news on fake ACPP really made me nervous .. Apple will say, as long as the code is valid, then shouldn't be a problem .. but if there is a conflict, someone claiming the same code and we don't have the serial number and proof of purchase .. then poof .. waste the RM .. ACPP for MBP is a bit over RM1K. This post has been edited by wiraone: Apr 15 2010, 12:03 PM
wiraone
Apr 15 2010, 01:50 PM
What I'm worried about is this: http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1066880http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=690859and many others .. half of the price .. too good to be true?
wiraone
Apr 15 2010, 03:13 PM
Mine is now changed to "Apr 15, 2010 13:14 Kuala Lumpur - Malaysia Arrived at delivery facility - Kuala Lumpur - Malaysia" .. damn.. was expecting that I'll get it today.. Singaporean are so lazy lah .. it was stuck at their Singapore depo the whole day .. so, me expecting for a delivery tomorrow morning then.
wiraone
Apr 16 2010, 09:57 AM
Nothing much to show off, physically, the MBP is the same as before .. I don't think there is anything done to the external ..
Anyway, my status still not changed since yesterday afternoon .. I thought it should've been changed to "Out for delivery" or something .. arghh.. I hate it when I need to wait.
Added on April 16, 2010, 10:12 amGot a call from DHL just now, they somehow missed the package for morning delivery and told them, it has been sitting in the delivery office since yesterday and they promised me to get it to me by today ... arghh!! No wonder I don't feel good today.. and SCREAMYX still down .. not a good day today..
This post has been edited by wiraone: Apr 16 2010, 10:12 AM
wiraone
Apr 16 2010, 05:09 PM
I think Dua Hari Lambat (DHL) is keeping my MBP overnight again ..
wiraone
Apr 16 2010, 07:28 PM
OK, I pity the guy who picked the phone when I called .. I was so mean .. he apologised and wanted to do tomorrow delivery .. I told him, I couldn't accept this .. and I'm willing to pick it up myself .. so .. hehe.. here I'm .. with the new MBP .. went all the way to Glenmarie to pick up myself.
wiraone
Apr 16 2010, 10:47 PM
QUOTE(elfreakz @ Apr 16 2010, 10:05 PM) Ok guys i have problem here. Macbook Unibody, Snow leopard 10.6.3 Yesterdan and today, i got this problem 2 times. A black transparent layer appeared on my screen asking: "You need to restart your computer. Hold down the power button until it turn off then press the power button again" What is this? I was just surfing with chrome, and YM. Is this serious issue? because it appear 2 times since yesterday. Anything wrong with hardware? It might be Chrome acting up .. I rarely get this tho' I've experienced this few times when running VMWare. Chrome has been in my bin many ages ago.. tested it, its so buggy and I had to really bin it .. I'm happy with Safari .. what other application running at the same time when this thing happened?
wiraone
Apr 17 2010, 08:08 AM
QUOTE(elfreakz @ Apr 16 2010, 11:58 PM) been using chrome for long time with this mac.. but start yesterday and today it appeared that error. like one time for each day. weird... im running YM today with chrome and i got that hard press turn off. and yesterday im running chrome, ym, itunes...and it appear. i have done disk utility thinggy, now waiting to see if it appear again. -- if you hard press to turn off.. it sound like that kind of action will destroy the hdd? When you get that option, it means that your Mac is totally crashed .. no way out other than to restart your Mac .. pressing the power button for more than 10 seconds will actually force the system to shutdown. It just pulling out the AC power on your PC .. it will not destroy your HDD it will damage your filesystem .. running disk utility should solve it though. BTW, to determine what causes the crash, you may want to go to console and check the last log before the crash..
wiraone
Apr 17 2010, 08:18 PM
QUOTE(elfreakz @ Apr 17 2010, 06:37 PM) Thanks for the reply.
Oh ya after restart there's a log to send report to Apple.. i did copied the one happened on friday. So im not sure whats going to happened after the report send. Any other place i can refer below report to determine what is actually happened?
Read this Chrome bug report which was filled recently: http://code.google.com/p/chromium/issues/detail?id=38245Look further down a line and see if you can see something like the following line .. just to confirm which app that causes the problem: CODE BSD process name corresponding to current thread: Google Chrome He
wiraone
Apr 17 2010, 11:05 PM
I believe all shipment from Shanghai will go through following route:
Shanghai -> HK (Clearance) -> Subang (Clearance) -> Delivery
wiraone
Apr 18 2010, 02:58 PM
QUOTE(elfreakz @ Apr 18 2010, 01:57 PM) Thanks for the info wiraone.. i have look down further in the report.. it written down BSD process name corresponding to current thread: kernel_taskDoesn't seem to be Chrome that causes this problem, form the above, it means that there is a problem within the kernel .. Do you do any RAM upgrade .. if yes, what kind of RAM do you use? Some other information about how to understand the kernel fault can be found here: http://www.projectosx.com/forum/index.php?...st=0entry4251
wiraone
Apr 20 2010, 09:41 PM
Hehe.. this thread becomes tracking thread instead .. probably will die down in few days time since most of the early buyers are now getting theirs already
wiraone
Apr 21 2010, 09:23 AM
QUOTE(mememe12 @ Apr 21 2010, 12:31 AM) he replied: "no, the clearance is just paper works only.. your actual item is not yet here" Yup, the clearance is just paper works .. this is not DHL only but some others are using the same status too .. this is customs clearance where they'll prepare the paperwork upfront before the package arrives. Hope you guys not like me, hehe.. kesian the guy on the line .. screwed him up eventhough it wasn't his fault
wiraone
Apr 21 2010, 11:44 AM
QUOTE(jonrwg @ Apr 21 2010, 11:33 AM) wanna ask.. the OSX cd they give i should install it? LOL.. sry noob question.. xD Nope .. it is there for you as a backup .. the MBP that you got should already preinstalled and ready to run .. and guys .. don't forget .. there are online updates waiting for you
wiraone
Apr 21 2010, 11:59 PM
QUOTE(jonest @ Apr 21 2010, 11:42 PM) Btw, are we be able to upgrade the ram + hdd ourselves? Planning to up my my iMac ram from 4gb - 8gb. So I could purchase 2 x 4gb for MBP while I could use the existing MBP ram on my iMac while thinking to up the MBP HDD from 320gb - 1tb. Any suggestions? Don't think so w/o voiding your warranty.. but you could always send it to the authorised service centres and they'll charge you around RM50-RM150 per job I think.. try VR Tech or Sapura if you're thinking of upgrading your MBP w/ you own RAM and HD. I was wrong ....!! http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=775007It has the link on how to do it on MBP unibody This post has been edited by wiraone: Apr 22 2010, 12:03 AM
wiraone
Apr 22 2010, 10:20 AM
QUOTE(tarvalslain87 @ Apr 22 2010, 09:57 AM) Wow... all of you keep testing already.. haha.. Tonight ill go back and spend the whole night testing =)... Hope mine not much problem lo... Eh btw wanna ask... How to differentiate your Mac OS X is SL or the older OS? Didnt manage to check the OS settings yet as I never on yet... Cause I see you guys wallpaper seems like all the same and cnanot differentiate which OS... Newer MBPs should be preloaded with Mac OS X 10.6.3 .. Snow Leopard is for release 10.6.0 and above ..
wiraone
Apr 22 2010, 10:23 AM
QUOTE(azrinarizz @ Apr 22 2010, 09:44 AM) y 13" capacity is much lower.  I have already done 2 cycles  I would like to ask, is it alright if I plug my MBP 24/7 to the charger everytime I use. When I am done, I just switch the MBP off and off the power switch. Then when I want to use it again, I will switch the power switch back on.  No .. it is not alright to leave your MBP plugged in 24/7 .. I learned it the hard way .. had my 3rd battery replacement end of last year .. why? because I had it 24/7 plugged in .. need to keep the electrons moving .. so, run it on battery at least once a day .. and run it till the last juice once a month to recondition your battery..
wiraone
Apr 22 2010, 11:06 AM
QUOTE(tarvalslain87 @ Apr 22 2010, 10:44 AM) Maybe not too good as what wiraone says... Since he say dont plug in 24/7... Just need to clarify the performance of the mb with and without the power adapter... Looking at the following apple website, it seems that the newer MBP comes with adaptive charging .. no idea how it is different though from the old school .. http://www.apple.com/macbookpro/battery/Probably the newer MBPs don't have the problem that I've on older MBP. Added on April 22, 2010, 11:10 amread this one too .. http://discussions.apple.com/thread.jspa?t...ssageID=8316081This post has been edited by wiraone: Apr 22 2010, 11:10 AM
wiraone
Apr 24 2010, 08:00 AM
QUOTE(yangz @ Apr 24 2010, 01:04 AM) Anyone here sense electric vibration from your case or palm area when plugged in? Yup .. the affect when your power cable is not grounded properly .. check your powerstrip, might be broken .. or if you've anything connected to your MBP and not grounded, so .. disconnect everything from my MBP and connect the power, if its okay, probably any USB devices that run on power etc .. remember, the case is aluminum and aluminum is a good conductor .. that is why .. Added on April 24, 2010, 8:00 amQUOTE(yangz @ Apr 24 2010, 01:21 AM) hmm.. the problem goes away immediately after i changed the socket to the longer one. That it .. your powerstrip is broken .. throw it away ..!! This post has been edited by wiraone: Apr 24 2010, 08:00 AM