147 Pages « < 19 20 21 22 23 > » Bottom

Hobbies The Bright Side V4, Malaysian Flashaholic Community

TSpseudoblue
post May 4 2010, 02:28 PM

LOL uncle wong, okay la, put me in the last one for 4v-13v mutilevel drop-in. wink.gif
uncle wong
post May 4 2010, 02:40 PM

104 posts

QUOTE(pseudoblue @ May 4 2010, 02:28 PM)
LOL uncle wong, okay la, put me in the last one for 4v-13v mutilevel drop-in. wink.gif
Thank You Bro pseudoblue

Thrunite Drop-in GB

Rm 70.50 each + RM5 for shipping (Pos express)
1 Mode , 3 Mode & 18650 drop-in only same price
I need one only but Minimum order is 12 ( Supplier agreed 10 for Minimum Order)
International price is Rm105

Order List
1) Uncle Wong x 3 ( 18650 battery only drop in)PAID
2) eow1973 x 2 ( 1x mode)(1x 18650 battery only drop in)PAID
3)Oldnewspaper x 1 (18650 battery drop in only)PAID
4) Vincenthsl x 1 ( 18650 battery only drop in) PAID
5) Amos.J x 1 (3 Mode) PAID
6) damonlbs x 1 ( multilevel drop in )PAID
7)pseudoblue x 1(multi mode )PAID

Kaotim Liao
rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by uncle wong: May 5 2010, 11:00 PM
polkiuj
post May 4 2010, 03:12 PM

337 posts

QUOTE(damonlbs @ May 4 2010, 12:30 PM)
uncle wong

i take 1x (no.3) 4v-13v multilevel drop in (Cool White )
with poslaju

bigchelis
Actual Lumen Readings in 10.5in Sphere
Wow~! 400 lumen! But it looks like a HUGE drop in lumens at 3 min mark.
At 3 mins, lumens is only 80% of turn on.
Arctic Silver helps but lumens is still only 82% of turn on.

However, after 3 mins, junction temperature has already reached 115 - 120ºC (110ishºC with AS5).
I'd be very careful with these.

Wow these things are really driven at 1.5A
strinq
post May 4 2010, 03:27 PM

PhD in Philosophy of Head Damages
602 posts

Can use to boil water in case of emergencies. biggrin.gif
polkiuj
post May 4 2010, 03:58 PM

337 posts

QUOTE(strinq @ May 4 2010, 03:27 PM)
Can use to boil water in case of emergencies. biggrin.gif
lol!

edit:

Oh yea, BTW..

Just went thru BigC's list.

MiNi AA turns on >300L and still retains 88% of it's turn on lumens after 3 mins. Seems like it has really good sinking. I wouldn't turn it on for >5 mins. Keep it at 3 to be safe?

Please do NOT use 10440 in the Preon I. It will turn on >300L but only retains 80% (115ºC - 120ºC) after 30 SECONDS!! Lol.

This post has been edited by polkiuj: May 4 2010, 04:02 PM
strinq
post May 4 2010, 04:11 PM

PhD in Philosophy of Head Damages
602 posts

QUOTE(polkiuj @ May 4 2010, 03:58 PM)
MiNi AA turns on >300L and still retains 88% of it's turn on lumens after 3 mins. Seems like it has really good sinking. I wouldn't turn it on for >5 mins. Keep it at 3 to be safe?
i somehow think he put it in a jug of water or something.
Something that small at 300 lumens... really look like it would burn the led or board.

polkiuj
post May 4 2010, 05:21 PM

337 posts

QUOTE(strinq @ May 4 2010, 04:11 PM)
i somehow think he put it in a jug of water or something.
Something that small at 300 lumens... really look like it would burn the led or board.
No la. He held it in his hands.

It will move the heat all over the aluminum. It will got HOT! But the LED die seems to remain in a nice safe temperature. =D
w00lvie
post May 5 2010, 07:55 AM

144 posts

hi all flashlight sifus... hope u all dont mind enlightening me abit.

im interested in getting a SF E2DL from BatteryJunction. Have thought of pairing it w/ rechargeable li-ion battery (i.e. 18650, probably 3000mAh) instead of the standard CR123A batteries. However, i understand from BJ's customer service that li-ion 18650 should not be use and will not fit SF E2DL, mainly due to voltage (6v vs 3.7v), and size/dimension of 18650.

Its abit of a put-off, hence would like to seek sifus help/clarification. Thanks
jwyj
post May 5 2010, 08:25 AM

H
1,006 posts

QUOTE(w00lvie @ May 5 2010, 07:55 AM)

im interested in getting a SF E2DL from BatteryJunction.  Have thought of pairing it w/ rechargeable li-ion battery (i.e. 18650, probably 3000mAh) instead of the standard CR123A batteries.  However, i understand from BJ's customer service that li-ion 18650 should not be use and will not fit SF E2DL, mainly due to voltage (6v vs 3.7v), and size/dimension of 18650.

Its abit of a put-off, hence would like to seek sifus help/clarification.  Thanks
You can use 1 piece of 14650 battery. That's what I did. The other type 18650/17670 are too thick. I'm not sure if you can use 2 x RCR123=8.4 volts. I never try.
RookieDaddy
post May 5 2010, 08:35 AM

160 posts

im interested in getting a SF E2DL from BatteryJunction.  Have thought of pairing it w/ rechargeable li-ion battery (i.e. 18650, probably 3000mAh) instead of the standard CR123A batteries.  However, i understand from BJ's customer service that li-ion 18650 should not be use and will not fit SF E2DL, mainly due to voltage (6v vs 3.7v), and size/dimension of 18650.
BatteryJunction -- Are you currently in United States? IIRC, BatteryJunction doesn't ship their SureFire out of US >> "No Export : This item cannot exported from the USA.", unless they change their policies?
18650 -- they are right, it will not fit. smile.gif

EDIT: you could also do what James (jwyj) suggested above, use 14650 size Li-Ion. However, 17670 does fit in E2DL tho... but as with 14650 cell, you will run with diminishing output.
EDIT 2: here is the link to cpf on E2DL rechargeable discussions >> Surefire E2DL -BK LED Best Rechargeable Batteries, and here is the thread of reference >> MDs Rechargeable Compatibility chart/guide for popular flashlights!

This post has been edited by RookieDaddy: May 5 2010, 09:01 AM
w00lvie
post May 5 2010, 09:19 AM

144 posts

QUOTE(jwyj @ May 5 2010, 08:25 AM)
You can use 1 piece of 14650 battery. That's what I did. The other type 18650/17670 are too thick. I'm not sure if you can use 2 x RCR123=8.4 volts.  I never try.
thankx for d suggestion.

QUOTE(RookieDaddy @ May 5 2010, 08:35 AM)
BatteryJunction -- Are you currently in United States? IIRC, BatteryJunction doesn't ship their SureFire out of US >> "No Export : This item cannot exported from the USA.", unless they change their policies?
18650 -- they are right, it will not fit.  smile.gif

EDIT: you could also do what James (jwyj) suggested above, use 14650 size Li-Ion. However, 17670 does fit in E2DL tho... but as with 14650 cell, you will run with diminishing output.
EDIT 2: here is the link to cpf on E2DL rechargeable discussions >> Surefire E2DL -BK LED Best Rechargeable Batteries, and here is the thread of reference >> MDs Rechargeable Compatibility chart/guide for popular flashlights!
RookieDaddy.. many thanks for the URL. really appreciate that. will check it out.
TSpseudoblue
post May 5 2010, 09:32 AM

Heys, it appears that they don't ship out of the US: http://www.batteryjunction.com/surefire-e2dl-bk-dual.html
But you can ask thru their customer service, addressing it to Mattk. However, it does not support 18650 sizes. If Batt Junction still won't ship out for you to Malaysia, you can get it from eBay, which I know one member here does it wink.gif

An 18650 light is bigger though, than an E2DL in comparison. If you still want an 18650 light specifically and properly regulated for 4.2v Li-IONs, there are other brands that we can recommend and from our local flashlight dealers. Some of those are:
- Fenix TK11
- Olight M20
- EagleTac T20C2 MKII

Alternatively, if you still want the E2DL, I personally would go for 2x LifePO4 (123 size) and a WF-138 charger with it biggrin.gif
polkiuj
post May 5 2010, 09:35 AM

337 posts

Its abit of a put-off, hence would like to seek sifus help/clarification.  Thanks
There is no way a 18650 will fit without boring.

High chance that a 17670 will not fit either.

Since the E2DL is a buck only driver, I don't see why 2 x 3.7V Li-ion cannot be used. The Inova T1 (also primary only) has no issues at all with 2 x 3.7V Li-ion. If you are extremely brave, why not try it and report your results.

When you 1st turn it on, soft press (momentary) to make sure the light is OK. If the tint shifts blue, STOP immediately (and sell off the batteries xD). I reckon it should be no issues at all.

BTW, how does the E2DL change modes? Is it the circuit? or tailcap? If tailcap then you might wanna prepare to buy another in case it goes poof.

But then again I use a really small underrated resistors without any problems so far with Li-ions.

Added: http://www.candlepowerforums.com/vb/showthread.php?t=216863

Seems like a lot of people run 2 x RCR123s (3.7V) without any problems. The run-time would suck though..

This post has been edited by polkiuj: May 5 2010, 09:42 AM
TSpseudoblue
post May 5 2010, 10:04 AM

QUOTE(polkiuj @ May 5 2010, 09:35 AM)
Since the E2DL is a buck only driver, I don't see why 2 x 3.7V Li-ion cannot be used. The Inova T1 (also primary only) has no issues at all with 2 x 3.7V Li-ion. If you are extremely brave, why not try it and report your results.

Haha, it will be an expensive test tongue.gif

I don't think any harm will be done to the LED with 2x 3.7v (8.4v). More for the circuit if it is not designed to take a higher voltage. But a circuit designed by Surefire I'm assuming there should not be problem though. Even though they said they had run 2x RCR123 without issues, but they didn't say how long they had continuously ran it on. Mdocod's didn't confirm the 9v full compatibility. Any more solid info? Good to know biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by pseudoblue: May 5 2010, 10:05 AM
RookieDaddy
post May 5 2010, 10:13 AM

160 posts

QUOTE(polkiuj @ May 5 2010, 09:35 AM)
High chance that a 17670 will not fit either.
BTW, how does the E2DL change modes? Is it the circuit? or tailcap? If tailcap then you might wanna prepare to buy another in case it goes poof.
Using AW 17670, it fit on mine... i guess most later batch will take 17670.
Unlike LX2, it's using head circuit to change mode, it alternate between high and low, circuit reset in 1 second.
w00lvie
post May 5 2010, 10:14 AM

144 posts

RookieDaddy... jwyj... pseudoblue... polkiuj... thanks for the input/suggestion. will do abit more reading and decide way forward. it never occur to me pairing battery to a flashlight is an 'art'... or rather... should i say science. its definately something new to me. wink.gif
jwyj
post May 5 2010, 10:23 AM

H
1,006 posts

QUOTE(w00lvie @ May 5 2010, 10:14 AM)
RookieDaddy... jwyj... pseudoblue... polkiuj... thanks for the input/suggestion.  will do abit more reading and decide way forward.  it never occur to me pairing battery to a flashlight is an 'art'... or rather... should i say science.  its definately something new to me.  wink.gif
You from Miri? We could meet up... to talk about flashlights and HT. nod.gif (OOT a bit, just got my blu-ray Avatar, pity it is not the 3-D version)
susuman
post May 5 2010, 11:37 AM

QUOTE(pseudoblue @ May 5 2010, 09:32 AM)
Heys, it appears that they don't ship out of the US: http://www.batteryjunction.com/surefire-e2dl-bk-dual.html
But you can ask thru their customer service, addressing it to Mattk. However, it does not support 18650 sizes. If Batt Junction still won't ship out for you to Malaysia, you can get it from eBay, which I know one member here does it wink.gif

Ahem... nod.gif (from US they will be no issurance or tracking though (seller lazy to goto post office and/or fee is too high).

BTW, I am using 2xLifePO4 3.3V in my E2DL, sometimes use the 14650 too. Mine cannot take the DX type (ultrafire/trusfire) 17670, too big and too long, maybe my batch? (08/09 with 120lm label) but I think AW 17670 may fit like RookieDaddy said, because AW batteries usually follow the primary size. DX protected cell usually bigger.

Using the 14650 just a little bit dimmer, you won't notice it.

It can run 2x4.2v (3.7v), because its max input is 9V, but I did not try a long run, having experience buying the LED of my Fenix, nowadays I mostly use LifePO4 for primary replacement (with exception for incans, don't use LifePO4 for substitute of primaries).

polkiuj
post May 5 2010, 12:47 PM

337 posts

QUOTE(w00lvie @ May 5 2010, 10:14 AM)
RookieDaddy... jwyj... pseudoblue... polkiuj... thanks for the input/suggestion.  will do abit more reading and decide way forward.  it never occur to me pairing battery to a flashlight is an 'art'... or rather... should i say science.  its definately something new to me.  wink.gif
I say use 2 x RCR123 (3.7V) and if you kill it (which you shouldn't), use it as an excuse to UPGRADE! Mwahahaa!

BTW, it's not really art. Unless you're cheap like us and dun wanna use primaries! Mwahahaha!

This post has been edited by polkiuj: May 5 2010, 12:48 PM
TSpseudoblue
post May 5 2010, 02:50 PM

Some update findings:
1) Zebralight H501w Headlamp: So far, this little light has been shutting off at ~1.0v with a NiMH Imedion, on high mode. I needed to check at what voltage it will terminate and if it will terminate on low mode even. So, I've ran the light on low every night, for the past weeks and sometimes I didn't get to test it because I'll always take it and use it on high again. So last week, I've manage to let this light shutoff automatically. I woke up one morning and notice the light had switched off, and it wouldn't turn on after pressing the button repeatedly tongue.gif Took the battery out and took a reading of 0.91v. So there you go, it seems to terminate safely around there, protecting your NiMHs.

I can safely say the H501w has been outstanding and reliable. It has gone thru at least 4 weeks of overnight runs on low (5-7 hours). and 1-4 hours of continuous run (in between battery changes) on high mode in several occasions. thumbup.gif

2) The HXY (HexInYu) Charger for 18650 Li-ION also seems to work well with IMR 18500s (with spacers). It will terminate at 4.20v and then settles to ~4.19v an hour later.

icon_rolleyes.gif

147 Pages « < 19 20 21 22 23 > » Top

0.0197sec    0.47    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 06:49 PM