Hobbies The Bright Side V4, Malaysian Flashaholic Community
RookieDaddy
Apr 23 2010, 07:07 PM

QUOTE(pseudoblue @ Apr 23 2010, 04:55 PM) I'm not sure there's a positive in this. It was always good to hear discussion about prototypes and what to expect out of it. Looks like David kinda finally draw the line on this one. haha, sometimes... less is more.
polkiuj
Apr 24 2010, 12:52 AM
Field testing the MODUS!
Good news: This thing has a heat sink! The metal inside conducts to the metal in the body of the light. After running on high, the inside gets hot!
Bad news: There is nowhere else for the heat to sink to as plastic is really bad at conducting heat. The battery gets hotter than the outside of the light.
I conclude the holding and not holding the light makes negligible difference. The head does get warm so I guess it helps just a tiny little bit. Run for 5 - 7 mins without problems. I think I'll want to limit it to 10 mins run, max.
Next to test that regulation thing. Maybe it will help the light keep cool? I've never seen it step down!!
csshih
Apr 24 2010, 07:38 AM
QUOTE(RookieDaddy @ Apr 22 2010, 11:46 PM) you mean this post ( http://www.cpfmarketplace.com/mp/showpost....6&postcount=339)?  that could be a good thing... let's take it positively.  indeed.
strinq
Apr 24 2010, 12:44 PM
So sorry for missing the gathering yesterday. Last minute was issued an ultimatum...sigh... Apologies again...you wouldn't know how bad i wanted to see all the new lights sigh...
Zen|th
Apr 24 2010, 01:56 PM
Wow its been soooooo long since i came in here.. haha
So sorry Walter, still have not paid u for ur Deoxit... =< really tied up in church
polkiuj
Apr 24 2010, 03:44 PM
QUOTE(strinq @ Apr 24 2010, 12:44 PM) So sorry for missing the gathering yesterday. Last minute was issued an ultimatum...sigh... Apologies again...you wouldn't know how bad i wanted to see all the new lights sigh... Uh oh.. QUOTE(Zen|th @ Apr 24 2010, 01:56 PM) Wow its been soooooo long since i came in here.. haha So sorry Walter, still have not paid u for ur Deoxit... =< really tied up in church =D
strinq
Apr 25 2010, 12:22 AM
Quiet day...
damonlbs
Apr 25 2010, 01:12 AM
csshih
Apr 25 2010, 08:12 AM
hey! I have the tiny little light in the middle.
RookieDaddy
Apr 25 2010, 10:22 AM

QUOTE(csshih @ Apr 25 2010, 08:12 AM) hey! I have the tiny little light in the middle. tiny?! ok... that's it!!! must draft a 3-year plan to relocate to CA. any restaurant there selling curry?
damonlbs
Apr 25 2010, 12:08 PM
QUOTE(csshih @ Apr 25 2010, 08:12 AM) hey! I have the tiny little light in the middle. you talking abt the MAG?
jwyj
Apr 26 2010, 09:00 AM
QUOTE(damonlbs @ Apr 25 2010, 01:12 AM) Olight SR90 Intimidator (Phlatlight SST-90) Review - selfbuilt mr prezz this light is calling you  Hey, any Olight dealers in Malaysia having this light in stock?
polkiuj
Apr 26 2010, 09:54 AM
QUOTE(jwyj @ Apr 26 2010, 09:00 AM) Not that I know of, sorry. I'm sure someone could help bring it in. =D MODUS update: I have killed the driver. It no longer has a boost circuit or PWM. It no longer runs on alkalines. Only li-ion direct drive. =D 1 mode only left.
RookieDaddy
Apr 26 2010, 10:00 AM

QUOTE(polkiuj @ Apr 26 2010, 09:54 AM) MODUS update: I have killed the driver. It no longer has a boost circuit or PWM. It no longer runs on alkalines. Only li-ion direct drive. =D 1 mode only left. you serial killer... first it was the Fenix, then Osram, now Modus?!!! it's time to call in the CSI team... ... ... oh wait... that's you!
TSpseudoblue
Apr 26 2010, 10:26 AM
QUOTE(damonlbs @ Apr 25 2010, 01:12 AM) Olight SR90 Intimidator (Phlatlight SST-90) Review - selfbuilt mr prezz this light is calling you If only the 399 price tag was in RM  QUOTE(polkiuj @ Apr 26 2010, 09:54 AM) MODUS update: I have killed the driver. It no longer has a boost circuit or PWM. It no longer runs on alkalines. Only li-ion direct drive. =D 1 mode only left.  You killer! flashlight driver killer!! Yeap we need the whole justice department for this. The CSI (Circuit Specialist & Interrogator) for this, since we have a serial driver killer... And the FBI (Flashlight Battery Investigator) for the mis-use of Li-ION! Cuff him guys!
csshih
Apr 26 2010, 11:47 AM
QUOTE(RookieDaddy @ Apr 24 2010, 07:22 PM) tiny?! ok... that's it!!! must draft a 3-year plan to relocate to CA. any restaurant there selling curry?  There are restaurants selling curry around. QUOTE(damonlbs @ Apr 24 2010, 09:08 PM) you talking abt the MAG?  nope, sr90. slightly bigger than the mag.
polkiuj
Apr 26 2010, 11:58 AM
QUOTE(RookieDaddy @ Apr 26 2010, 10:00 AM) you serial killer... first it was the Fenix, then Osram, now Modus?!!! it's time to call in the CSI team... ... ... oh wait... that's you!  Wahaha! Very funny guys! xD Anyway, I managed to get it open. =D And I tested the OPTIC with my LD10's XP-G. The beam is SOOOOOO much smoother. Now to visit the modshop! =D I'm so excited! I hope to have the 1st XP-G MODUS in the world. xD edit: I didn't kill the Fenix driver. It's working fine. =D I just modded it to suit my tastes. =D This post has been edited by polkiuj: Apr 26 2010, 12:00 PM
surefire v LED
Apr 26 2010, 09:53 PM
my LP VX Ultra SST-50 has some fog inside the lens after about 5 minutes of use,anybody facing the same thing?
RookieDaddy
Apr 26 2010, 11:47 PM

hmmm... anyone else experience slowness loading cpf today? I'm on the "faster than a speeding snail, slower than dial-up" screamyx (this is not a typo, or is it?  )...
strinq
Apr 27 2010, 01:13 AM
QUOTE(RookieDaddy @ Apr 26 2010, 11:47 PM) hmmm... anyone else experience slowness loading cpf today? I'm on the "faster than a speeding snail, slower than dial-up" screamyx (this is not a typo, or is it?  )... Me too, super slow. But there's suppose to be disruptions to internet communications between asia and europe or something like that till May 2nd. Got to do with repairing the cables.