iPhone 4 and iOS 4, Discussion Thread

ZeneticX
post Jun 10 2010, 11:25 PM

stars for what
12,413 posts

QUOTE(epool86 @ Jun 10 2010, 11:12 PM)
Wohoo, just because I said iphone 4 not good yesterday, my post has been deleted lol. Orait2, I got the rule. Everyone MUST say iphone very good here.

Enough with iphone freaks. I'm joining android team, see ya.. haha

Sent from my Google Nexus One ;-)
QUOTE(rheza02 @ Jun 10 2010, 11:16 PM)
apple is their religion, you can't do that on this forum.

hahahaha

sent from my nexus one
not evry1 here is a fanboy

although im using iphone now as well,i welcome android,symbian and other phones as well.maybe u met with some rly die heart fan but tht doesn't mean u can stereotype evry1 here
yuvanesh
post Jun 11 2010, 12:03 AM

<<ASSASSINO>>
1,231 posts

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Jun 10 2010, 11:25 PM)
not evry1 here is a fanboy

although im using iphone now as well,i welcome android,symbian and other phones as well.maybe u met with some rly die heart fan but tht doesn't mean u can stereotype evry1 here
well guys in here we should be discussing about the problem..update ...your review...of the iphone or the OS....we don't need people to give judgement...everybody have their likes and not....i hope you understand this simple rule...thanks
kae_ae
post Jun 11 2010, 12:10 AM

177 posts

Cool stuff on the screen info, tak pernah dengar pun. I dont mind scratches on the body but i wouldnt take chances with the screen. Pernah i play pick up bball and my ipod flew out of my pants pocket, nasib baik layup masuk lol. Its just peace of mind.

I actually lol at all these apple trolls. U know these guys cant resist coz u guys are so easy to troll. Even my US friend posting at macrumors pun concede apple homers over there pun are a tad sensitive, just put these a holes on ignore lah. I actually enjoy reading them coz damn farnee tongue.gif
ZeneticX
post Jun 11 2010, 12:14 AM

stars for what
12,413 posts

QUOTE(yuvanesh @ Jun 11 2010, 12:03 AM)
well guys in here we should be discussing about the problem..update ...your review...of the iphone or the OS....we don't need people to give judgement...everybody have their likes and not....i hope you understand this simple rule...thanks
are u rly refereing this to me?coz i was actually correcting the guys i quoted

that aside.im still curious bout the performance of os 4 on 3gs with several apps running under multitasking.any devs can give a brief review on tht?
brian81st
post Jun 11 2010, 12:23 AM

46 posts

actually what is the speed of the A4 processor? anyone know?
ZeneticX
post Jun 11 2010, 12:25 AM

stars for what
12,413 posts

QUOTE(brian81st @ Jun 11 2010, 12:23 AM)
actually what is the speed of the A4 processor? anyone know?
im curious bout tht as well.but its not revealed so far,one thing we know its at least goin to be faster thn the cortex a8 in terms of performance

This post has been edited by ZeneticX: Jun 11 2010, 12:25 AM
lok3i
post Jun 11 2010, 12:33 AM

cycling for a healthy life
559 posts

iPhone 4 and Samsung Wave have same CPU

Twins

Apple's iPhone 4 has the same CPU as the recently released Samsung Wave S8500. Young Choi, senior manager of the Technical Intelligence Group claims in a statement that the Apple A4 chip used in both the iPad and iPhone 4 is manufactured by Samsung.

Samsung has a longstanding "foundry" relationship with Apple. Choi said that by looking at the Samsung S5PC110A01 application processor and comparing it to the A4 application processor found in the Apple iPad he could confirm that not only is Samsung the manufacturer of both application processors.

He also identified that both application processors feature the same 1 GHz ARM Cortex A8 core manufactured using a 45-nanometer low-power fabrication process. This means that Samsung is pushing its chip design across a range of products, it also means that the Apple A4 chip is not as unique as the tame Apple press claimed. It also means that the new Android OS-enabled Samsung Galaxy S smartphone will also use the same processor.

Not only does this push Samsung forward as an important player in the smartphone chip market, it means that some this gear will have the same crucial bits as Apple's. The data also suggests that the graphics chip engine the iPad and iPhone 4 use is the PowerVR SGX 3D graphics core from Imagination Technologies.

http://www.fudzilla.com/content/view/19125/1/

This post has been edited by lok3i: Jun 11 2010, 12:36 AM
rheza02
post Jun 11 2010, 12:34 AM

279 posts

i'm sure apple underclocked the A4 to save the battery, thats why they didn't tell the processor speed on iphone site. And the 256 mb ram just not enough for that screen resolution.
yuvanesh
post Jun 11 2010, 12:35 AM

<<ASSASSINO>>
1,231 posts

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Jun 11 2010, 12:14 AM)
are u rly refereing this to me?coz i was actually correcting the guys i quoted

that aside.im still curious bout the performance of os 4 on 3gs with several apps running under multitasking.any devs can give a brief review on tht?
dont worry bro...is not you... rclxms.gif rclxms.gif ..just some of them over here...hope those who realize..could understand what im trying to say..

Added on June 11, 2010, 12:41 am
QUOTE(rheza02 @ Jun 11 2010, 12:34 AM)
i'm sure apple underclocked the A4 to save the battery, thats why they didn't tell the processor speed on iphone site. And the 256 mb ram just not enough for that screen resolution.
well i dont think so...a4 cortex suppose to have higher clock speed than a8 cortex..so if apple want underclock it..to save power than it is no use for the to put it on...after getting hd screen many developer will starting to develop high end graphic of app..so we the processors to work better in order to support the load...

This post has been edited by yuvanesh: Jun 11 2010, 12:41 AM
nles
post Jun 11 2010, 12:49 AM

♥ It's not about the girl ♥ It's the G-Shock
2,125 posts

I'm so gonna get the phone but September so near yet so far.

Maxis or DiGi. Maxis better coverage but the data plan seems not as good as DiGi.
nimrod323
post Jun 11 2010, 01:04 AM

Macster/Gunner\Autobot /Alphaman\
2,664 posts

QUOTE(lok3i @ Jun 11 2010, 12:33 AM)

Twins

Apple's iPhone 4  has the same CPU as the recently released Samsung Wave S8500. Young Choi, senior manager of the Technical Intelligence Group claims in a statement that the Apple A4 chip used in both the iPad and iPhone 4 is manufactured by Samsung.

Samsung has a longstanding "foundry" relationship with Apple. Choi said that by looking at the Samsung S5PC110A01 application processor and comparing it to the A4 application processor found in the Apple iPad he could confirm that not only is Samsung the manufacturer of both application processors.

He also identified that both application processors feature the same 1 GHz ARM Cortex A8 core manufactured using a 45-nanometer low-power fabrication process. This means that Samsung is pushing its chip design across a range of products, it also means that the Apple A4 chip is not as unique  as the tame Apple press claimed. It also means that the new Android OS-enabled Samsung Galaxy S smartphone will also use the same processor.

Not only does this push Samsung forward as an important player in the smartphone chip market, it means that some this gear will have the same crucial bits as Apple's. The data also suggests that the graphics chip engine the iPad and iPhone 4 use is the PowerVR SGX 3D graphics core from Imagination Technologies.

Apple bought over intrinsity, they are responsible to tweak the A4 chip as it is now, its like the DSLR market sony make sensors for Nikon, but nikon tweak the stock sensors to be better equipped with their cameras.
TSdvlzplayground
post Jun 11 2010, 01:06 AM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

Twins

Apple's iPhone 4  has the same CPU as the recently released Samsung Wave S8500. Young Choi, senior manager of the Technical Intelligence Group claims in a statement that the Apple A4 chip used in both the iPad and iPhone 4 is manufactured by Samsung.

He also identified that both application processors feature the same 1 GHz ARM Cortex A8 core manufactured using a 45-nanometer low-power fabrication process. This means that Samsung is pushing its chip design across a range of products, it also means that the Apple A4 chip is not as unique  as the tame Apple press claimed. It also means that the new Android OS-enabled Samsung Galaxy S smartphone will also use the same processor.

thanks for sharing! yes both A4 and Hummingbird is very similar. not sure if they are the exact same chip, but very similar indeed. the hummingbird is also coupled with the same powerVR GPU
brian81st
post Jun 11 2010, 02:22 AM

46 posts

Twins

thanks for the info. smile.gif well, its possible that apple could hav tweak or underclock the processor, but who knows??
well, seems like samsung is at war with apple now!! lol, samsung claims that they hav the best screen, super amoled in the samsung galaxy s.
its like they r saying that hey, we hav the same processor but we hav the better screen!!
h3alm3
post Jun 11 2010, 03:47 AM

20 posts

I just want to drop by to say i love iphone 4 because of its apps and its interface. Lots and easy.
aleluya
post Jun 11 2010, 10:15 AM

I'm Teh Powah!
1,134 posts

Argghhh just kinda curious why bluetooth is meant for iPhone to iPhone only.

Sometimes I wanna get a pic from my family, the only thing that works is through MMS; but odd thing is when I MMS back to them, they can't read it.

Hmmm.. or perhaps there's an apps solution or anything (Non-JB)? Please do advise
vexus
post Jun 11 2010, 10:27 AM

Master of Eatery & Sleeping
6,660 posts

i'm getting this phone no matter what. I'm getting rid of my tattoo and desire.
objectifyme
post Jun 11 2010, 10:29 AM

804 posts

QUOTE(aleluya @ Jun 11 2010, 10:15 AM)
Argghhh just kinda curious why bluetooth is meant for iPhone to iPhone only.

Sometimes I wanna get a pic from my family, the only thing that works is through MMS; but odd thing is when I MMS back to them, they can't read it.

Hmmm.. or perhaps there's an apps solution or anything (Non-JB)? Please do advise
There's always emailing for pictures. Either that, or MMS. smile.gif

P.S. Are you guys gonna put a case on the new iPhone 4? I was thinking about forgetting the case since both the front and back are made of glass. My current iPhone doesn't have any scratches on the front and there's no screen protector. thumbup.gif
Joey87
post Jun 11 2010, 10:33 AM

637 posts

It's taking so long to reach Malaysia...i feel like getting it from Australia or Singapore...but....we don't have the microSIM yet, eh? >.<
objectifyme
post Jun 11 2010, 10:34 AM

804 posts

QUOTE(Joey87 @ Jun 11 2010, 10:33 AM)
It's taking so long to reach Malaysia...i feel like getting it from Australia or Singapore...but....we don't have the microSIM yet, eh? >.<
Search up "maxis micro sim" or "digi micro sim". Apparently Maxis is introducing microSIM for iPad users?

Edit:

Jean-Pascal Van Overbeke, Chief Operating Officer of Maxis, said, "Maxis welcomes iPad  3G owners with the introduction of the micro SIM in Malaysia. Maxis customers will be the first in Malaysia to be able to purchase the micro SIM by just walking into any of our 31 Maxis centres nationwide. We are pleased to be the first to offer this convenience to customers in Malaysia who are looking forward to the best technologies and services compatible with the latest telecommunications devices.  A recent report predicts that smart phones of the near future will very likely be adopting the micro SIM as a standard feature[1]. Maxis is pleased to be able to meet the future needs of our customers today."

Source

This post has been edited by objectifyme: Jun 11 2010, 10:37 AM
ZeneticX
post Jun 11 2010, 10:35 AM

stars for what
12,413 posts

QUOTE(Joey87 @ Jun 11 2010, 10:33 AM)
maxis already got micro sim,but its meant for ipad oni.it wont be long before they release it for iphone 4,maybe on the same date as launching

114 Pages « < 67 68 69 70 71 > » Top

0.0264sec    0.48    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 10:53 AM