QUOTE(jason991 @ May 31 2019, 09:30 AM)
Hmmm care about human in Godzilla flick, overall this is much better than 2014 Godzilla and rotten tomatoes rating is bullcrap anyway. The lamest uninspiring Captain marvel at 78% certified fresh?
I dont believe in Rotten Tomatoes since Last Jedi. Seriously, I wanna puke and throw up when I watching Last Jedi. Lost hope in Star War franchise, and soon maybe MCU. So sad that even Disney's live action fairy tales movies also starting to be injected with SJW (including Aladdin). If they really wanted a proper sjw live action fairy tales movie, Mulan is more suitable (replace her father to go to war, even in the ending, the Emperor bowed to her).
the trailer is way much better. sum1 should gv an award to the the trailer.
the movie is meh to me. was expecting more but i prefer the Godzilla 1. while i dun expect complex or intelligent plot, i jus think it's too simplistic. in every scene has the family.
1. the daughter is roaming around a top secret facilities freely like own house. bit weird she can steal orca and walk out un-notice
suffer the transformer and justice league syndrome. 1. regardless how epic the threat, the 1 guy (Sam) will out perform all the military skill. in this case Maddie. 2. introduce too many character and dun develop any. All the titans, its all abt Godzilla and Ghidorah. Mothra and Rodan is wasted.
This post has been edited by demio121: Jun 1 2019, 08:39 AM
the trailer is way much better. sum1 should gv an award to the the trailer.
the movie is meh to me. was expecting more but i prefer the Godzilla 1. while i dun expect complex or intelligent plot, i jus think it's too simplistic. in every scene has the family.
1. the daughter is roaming around a top secret facilities freely like own house. bit weird she can steal orca and walk out un-notice
suffer the transformer and justice league syndrome. 1. regardless how epic the threat, the 1 guy (Sam) will out perform all the military skill. in this case Maddie. 2. introduce too many character and dun develop any. All the titans, its all abt Godzilla and Ghidorah. Mothra and Rodan is wasted.
I however feel Godzilla 2014 trailer was alot more atmospheric, eerie & just overall, gave mystique & darker vibe to it. The film's pacing was what didnt work for me
This one however, delivered what it promises for me at least. Main characters are supposed to be "invincible" lol. Unlike title character which could survive multiple trouncing around from Titan & military, once human character is squashed....he/she's done lol
This post has been edited by ThalaFan: Jun 1 2019, 09:03 AM
i’ve been saying this after leaving the theatre and i’ll say this thousand times
i’m so glad they made Mothra looking so beautiful!
and so glad Zhang Ziyi has decent amount of screen time and dialogues, not like other asian actors who will only get 1 or 2 lines in blockbuster movies
i’ve been saying this after leaving the theatre and i’ll say this thousand times
i’m so glad they made Mothra looking so beautiful!
and so glad Zhang Ziyi has decent amount of screen time and dialogues, not like other asian actors who will only get 1 or 2 lines in blockbuster movies
i loved it!
You will have to thank China company for acquiring Legendary Films then🤣
It was entertaining, sure but in so bad it's good way. The human and plot were absolutely ridiculous. I almost fell asleep at times. Ken Watanabe is the best part. It's like he's in an anime while everyone is in a movie.
Action was ok, but the sudden cuts to all the human doing human things were extremely distracting. It's like the film makers took the complaints to the 1st movie and doubled down on them. There were more monsters but the action were barely coherent and too many quick cuts
It was a fun movie and worth a watch, for the lol-wut entertainment value
This was an okay movie for what it's worth. But the 2014 movie was immeasurably better, in all ways except one - Godzilla screentime, if that's what you're looking for (although I don't think this one had THAT much more Godzilla to be frank).
This post has been edited by QuickFire: Jun 1 2019, 09:48 PM
Just watched it today, I think it's way much better than the 2014 one. In a monster movie, we want the monsters to be the main attraction and they are. This time the monster actions are also much more visible, unlike the mostly dark screens of the 2014 movie. I do agree that some of the monster actions are also cut out a bit much to switch to the human action, but I still enjoy the movie.
The 2014 knew how to build towards a scene, how to stage it, so that when the WHAM! moment happens, you feel the impact. Take the bridge attack scene. The movie knew that anticipation was key and that's how they mounted the sequence. So when Godzilla did finally appear, you could feel the scale and presence of him. And you could feel the might of Godzilla when he simply walks through the bridge like it wasn't there. The impact of the scene doesn't come just from the moment when he crashes his quads into the bridge, but mostly from the build up.
Another great example is the first MUTO escape. 80% of it was build up and staging -- the EMP shocks that occur with greater frequency, the creeping dread, effective editing. So when the MUTO breaks out and you see it's crab-like feet hover above the containment cables, you get a tingle in you. That's impact. It's the on sequence that reminds me most of the Jurassic Park T-Rex escape.
One other difference, among many others, between this new movie and the 2014 one is how the monsters move. In the first movie, they mostly lumbered around, which lent an enormous amount of weight and scale to these CGI creations. The MUTOs were also terrifically designed, part organic, part industrial. So when they fought with Godzilla, each attack landing carried weight to it.
None of these are present in the latest movie, which is 100% muscle on muscle brawn mode. No ingenuity to be seen in the staging of action scenes, no build up, no proper or suitable backdrop for the action. The action is entertaining, but is not half of what Gareth Edwards accomplished in Godzilla 2014. Nothing in the new one beats the final smackdown in the 2014 movie.
I think I fell asleep in the middle of the second act
The story-line is SO convoluted...
Or lack thereof story...
My complain for the first movie (2014) was, Ken Watanabe was in THAT for what?
Well, at least here, he has something to do
The last and inevitable fight between Godzilla and his... nemesis, King Ghidorah was actually worth watching.
And Warner paid homage to the Japaneses culture, by making Godzilla, walking in like a sumo wrestle at the end battle....
Not sure what else I can add this this...
Oh yes, I can think of something to add. All the leads here at super resistant to radio active.... Can stare straight into nuclear blast and not go blind!!!
My Two Sen
This post has been edited by Mov_freak: Jun 4 2019, 07:25 PM