71 Pages « < 49 50 51 52 53 > » Bottom

Dell Vostro 3700, Review and Discussion

ladybird7
post Jun 12 2010, 10:53 AM

QUOTE(bladegun @ Jun 11 2010, 11:02 PM)
There is 1 device called 'ST Micro Accelerometer' which is the free-fall sensor used to protect your harddisk. Is it this one?
ah... that's the one, thanks for the info. It's working fine now.
bladegun
post Jun 12 2010, 11:02 AM

187 posts

QUOTE(xabi_pang @ Jun 12 2010, 01:49 AM)
any v3400 users here? i have a cousin who's interested in this model, but after reading this article:
http://www.notebookreview.com/default.asp?...ell+vostro+3400
one part highlights that the screen lid is made from thin plastics which bends under small pressure. quite big issue to be honest hmm.gif

then i found this article:
http://www.notebookcheck.net/Review-Dell-V...ok.30323.0.html
its a review for the v3500, but i think should be similar, since its from the same v3000 family. this one says that the screen lid is solidly built from aluminium, which i think is the case, since from dell website's pix the lid looks like brushed metal similar to the acer 4820tg...

anyways i'm hoping any v3000 user can comment on their screen lids? is it weak? this should be even more noticeable on a 17.3" screen. v3400 is looking like the best model for my cousin's price range and needs (plus now only add rm1 for red colour upgrade!!! rclxms.gif )

thanks for ur info guys!
I am a Vostro 3400 user. Yes, the screen lid is very thin and what the website said is true. A little pressure will make the lid bend. But in everyday use, no one would go and press the lid with their finger. So I don't see that as a problem. In fact, the thin lid is what makes the laptop light. To avoid bending the lid too much, I always open it by lifting it from the centre position (the position of the camera).

As for carrying the laptop around or storing it in compartment, a good laptop bag can do a pretty good job to protect the screen lid.

Educate your cousin to take good care of a laptop, regardless of brand and model. Even if you decided to get other model which has a tough screen lid, other thing can happen to it if the owner does not use it in a correct way.

Or you might want to consider a Panasonic rugged laptop. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by bladegun: Jun 12 2010, 11:13 AM
xabi_pang
post Jun 12 2010, 12:56 PM

QUOTE(bladegun @ Jun 12 2010, 11:02 AM)
I am a Vostro 3400 user. Yes, the screen lid is very thin and what the website said is true. A little pressure will make the lid bend. But in everyday use, no one would go and press the lid with their finger. So I don't see that as a problem. In fact, the thin lid is what makes the laptop light. To avoid bending the lid too much, I always open it by lifting it from the centre position (the position of the camera).

As for carrying the laptop around or storing it in compartment, a good laptop bag can do a pretty good job to protect the screen lid.

Educate your cousin to take good care of a laptop, regardless of brand and model. Even if you decided to get other model which has a tough screen lid, other thing can happen to it if the owner does not use it in a correct way.

Or you might want to consider a Panasonic rugged laptop. tongue.gif
thanks for your reply smile.gif do you or anyone here know where can i see it physically? my cousin wants to see it can "feel" it...and compare with the acer 4820tg since after customising, the prices are almost the same nod.gif

is there any shops in lowyat that sells this?
bladegun
post Jun 12 2010, 09:25 PM

187 posts

Vostro is the 'Business' line of laptops. Shops in lowyat don't sell this line of laptops. It is only available online. You can look at the pictures in the first post.
pizzaboyj
post Jun 13 2010, 04:15 PM

321 posts

QUOTE(noobfc @ Jun 5 2010, 08:48 AM)
can all high? drool.gif

wow i put mine all medium at native resolution
only shadows low. rest all high. resolution at 1440x900. really smooth. <3 my vostro 3700. i installed the latest bios along with the other latest drivers from the dell website when i reformatted with win 7 pro x64. batt life can come in around ~3hours depending on what you use it for. it plays Blur on max 1600x900 as well.

downside is the speakers which i have some good audiotechnica headphones for smile.gif

and maybe the keyboard could use a good cover. anyone find any decent ones on the market?
hivemy
post Jun 14 2010, 07:51 AM

Gadgets Slave . Storage Craze
2,151 posts

do recommend if anyone can find the laptop cover.. prefer a 100% transparent ones

Added on June 14, 2010, 7:56 ambtw, is there an "actual" dual screen solution for windows7 when i put as extension... because my taskbar is full. i wish there's another taskbar on my extension screen...

This post has been edited by hivemy: Jun 14 2010, 07:56 AM
pizzaboyj
post Jun 14 2010, 11:06 AM

321 posts

what you mean by actual dual screen? it all can be configured in the nvidia control panel
hivemy
post Jun 15 2010, 05:13 PM

2,151 posts

sorry let me rephase... there's no taskbar @ when I extend my windows to another LCD.
astria
post Jun 15 2010, 05:24 PM

an apple a day keeps the doctor away
22,158 posts

dun think it's possible... as Windows treat it as 2 separate monitors...

unless u ve sth like ATi Eyefinity, that's another story...
lee_what2004
post Jun 15 2010, 05:37 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

Try use UltraMon/MultiMon/DisplayFusion?
longpants
post Jun 15 2010, 05:42 PM

260 posts

Is it common in Windows 7 that the program such as Windows Live Messenger and the Gadgets to be "Not Responding" and requiring you to "Close" them or "Restart" the application. It's quite frequent for me especially windows live messenger after starting up on windows. :\
hivemy
post Jun 15 2010, 05:50 PM

2,151 posts

just installed Ultramon... just what I need.

thanks!
imahappyklown
post Jun 17 2010, 10:40 AM

122 posts

Just ordered a Vostro 3700 last night.
Price ended up at RM2,923.00.Only upgrade I took was changing home basic to premium.

Did not upgrade the warranty to 3 years,was that a bad choice?Any chance I could extend on a later date?I mean,looking around the forum,most of you said the build was tough.So am hoping it'll last a good 4,5 years.

p.s are all the owners satisfied with the units they have after a month or so using it?was contemplating on whether to go with a sxps 16 or the vostro.Going with this instead since the pictures of the unit looks a tad 'tougher'

This post has been edited by imahappyklown: Jun 17 2010, 10:42 AM
lee_what2004
post Jun 17 2010, 10:44 AM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

You could extend the warranty later on, but the price would be different and more expensive...
kem3399
post Jun 17 2010, 10:54 PM

20 posts

Hi guys, i hv some question to ask.

How about the vostro 3700 compare with studio xps 16? Just now i found that the price r not difference too much between this 2 laptop.

The xps studio graphic card(ATI HD4670-1GB), speaker and display is much greater than vostro but it heavy than vostro which is 2.97kg and process just P8700.

For me i would like performance more than display. But i dunno which 1 is better for play game..
lee_what2004
post Jun 17 2010, 10:59 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

HD4670 still bit better than GT330M unless you OC it...
kae7
post Jun 17 2010, 11:00 PM

10k VIP Club
10,950 posts

QUOTE(kem3399 @ Jun 17 2010, 10:54 PM)
Hi guys, i hv some question to ask.

How about the vostro 3700 compare with studio xps 16? Just now i found that the price r not difference too much between this 2 laptop.

The xps studio graphic card(ATI HD4670-1GB), speaker and display is much greater than vostro but it heavy than vostro which is 2.97kg and process just P8700.

For me i would like performance more than display. But i dunno which 1 is better for play game..
IMO P8700 is better

unless you use application that better in i5...

SXPS 16 is still better
kem3399
post Jun 17 2010, 11:33 PM

20 posts

Thx guys,

still got something to ask again... izzit that HD5730 only can support i5 ?

or is it the time to buy sxps now? i expect next month will hv the choice to upgrade to HD5730
lee_what2004
post Jun 17 2010, 11:39 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

Its not because HD5730 only support i5 but its Dell decision and looking from other side, its more feasible they just clear the old stock C2D with HD4670 rather than make a new mobo for it to accommodate HD5730, which they rather make it with Core i5...

What you mean by next month? There's already option to upgrade to HD5730...
kem3399
post Jun 17 2010, 11:56 PM

20 posts

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Jun 17 2010, 11:39 PM)
Its not because HD5730 only support i5 but its Dell decision and looking from other side, its more feasible they just clear the old stock C2D with HD4670 rather than make a new mobo for it to accommodate HD5730, which they rather make it with Core i5...

What you mean by next month? There's already option to upgrade to HD5730...
But only available in 2nd option which is rm4099...my budget is below rm3k...

that y i expect after june 24 will hv new option

71 Pages « < 49 50 51 52 53 > » Top

0.0203sec    0.74    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 05:21 AM