6,035 posts

just done only..before they came check my modem already upgrade to 2mb for me

the modem they gave me is d-link something model

its stated free so its ours smile.gif
noprob
post Jul 22 2010, 06:42 PM

1,982 posts

QUOTE(PowerSlide @ Jul 22 2010, 06:37 PM)

its stated free so its ours  smile.gif
good tech support there .. where's ur loc ?
i'hv been waiting for 2 appointment date before , both they didnt show up ... frustrated edi
the customer service (100) just love giving false hope
ahcheap
post Jul 22 2010, 06:42 PM

TM UniFi/Streamyx Reseller
1,466 posts

QUOTE(PowerSlide @ Jul 22 2010, 06:37 PM)

its stated free so its ours  smile.gif
D-link modem with 4 LAN ports again?
PowerSlide
post Jul 22 2010, 06:47 PM

----------
6,035 posts

b'worth here smile.gif

maybe your area many ppl subscribing?

its a d-link dsl-2640b
noprob
post Jul 22 2010, 06:51 PM

1,982 posts

QUOTE(PowerSlide @ Jul 22 2010, 06:47 PM)
b'worth here  smile.gif
maybe your area many ppl subscribing?
its a d-link dsl-2640b
i know b'worth is way bigger than my place .. a kampung area w koboi town only (maybe thts y .. they just dont bother)
PowerSlide
post Jul 22 2010, 09:19 PM

----------
6,035 posts

keep bugging them until they get it done..hehe last time my sis move to new area also bug them every week only they install telephone line

getting 190 to 210kb download from hotfile and rapidshare..alright? very noob in such thing blush.gif
rempit_baik
post Jul 24 2010, 01:22 AM

35 posts

Order Status: Request Processed with Error Result
Plan Name: Streamyx 1.0M (Free Modem) - RM110 (Blockbuster Deals)
Submission Date: 22-Jul-2010

what is that suppose to mean, anyone know ?
tq..
noprob
post Jul 24 2010, 10:56 AM

1,982 posts

QUOTE(PowerSlide @ Jul 22 2010, 09:19 PM)
keep bugging them until they get it done..hehe last time my sis move to new area also bug them every week only they install telephone line

getting 190 to 210kb download from hotfile and rapidshare..alright? very noob in such thing  blush.gif
Yesterday my brother went to TMpoint giving lecture ... Me , wrote a love letter to TM hotline mail ..
futra
post Jul 24 2010, 11:13 AM

1,267 posts

ok guys the streamyx technician came yesterday, here's what happened..

arrived at my place 5pm, brought his equipments to check/diagnose etc, the new modem, but no dect phones. he said once my 4mb package is successfully installed, then he'll give me a receipt/slip for me to get the dect phones at tmpoint centre. they will not bring the dect phones to the house.

anyway, there are two things (in the streamyx diagnose page) he told me whether a user is capable of upgrading to 4mb or not.. one is the 'SNR Margin' and the other is 'Line Attenuation'.

If i remember correctly by what he told me, SNR Margin is related to the distance between our house to the tmpoint / fibre optic cable server substation (whatever).. and the value shouldn't be more than 45. if it shows more than 45, it means that the house is too far for an optimum connection. Basically he said, houses located >3km from the two places i mentioned earlier are incapable for 4mb package. Mine displayed 48 sad.gif

Line Attenuation, is regarding the phone line quality (direct from tiang to the modem), which should display above 15 for optimum connection. Mine was 13.5 sad.gif As a result, the technician advised me to stick to my 1mb package until telekom decides to add more branches doh.gif although im currently paying 1mb package, my default speed was upgraded to 2mb early this year bcoz loyal customer, so my 48 and 13.5 results were for 2mb connection.. 'nyawa² ikan nih, bro' he told me blink.gif

even if he did give me the package, there is a possibility for faulty connection, later complaint to streamyx, streamyx will complaint to technician (why he installed eventhough he knew my house is incapable).. arrgh dammit vmad.gif
TSMaestrol
post Jul 24 2010, 12:27 PM

345 posts

The technician is WRONG!

SNR: the more the merrier
Line Attenuation: less is better

QUOTE(futra @ Jul 24 2010, 11:13 AM)

arrived at my place 5pm, brought his equipments to check/diagnose etc, the new modem, but no dect phones. he said once my 4mb package is successfully installed, then he'll give me a receipt/slip for me to get the dect phones at tmpoint centre. they will not bring the dect phones to the house.

anyway, there are two things (in the streamyx diagnose page) he told me whether a user is capable of upgrading to 4mb or not.. one is the 'SNR Margin' and the other is 'Line Attenuation'.

If i remember correctly by what he told me, SNR Margin is related to the distance between our house to the tmpoint / fibre optic cable server substation (whatever).. and the value shouldn't be more than 45. if it shows more than 45, it means that the house is too far for an optimum connection. Basically he said, houses located >3km from the two places i mentioned earlier are incapable for 4mb package. Mine displayed 48 sad.gif

Line Attenuation, is regarding the phone line quality (direct from tiang to the modem), which should display above 15 for optimum connection. Mine was 13.5 sad.gif As a result, the technician advised me to stick to my 1mb package until telekom decides to add more branches  doh.gif  although im currently paying 1mb package, my default speed was upgraded to 2mb early this year bcoz loyal customer, so my 48 and 13.5 results were for 2mb connection.. 'nyawa² ikan nih, bro' he told me  blink.gif

even if he did give me the package, there is a possibility for faulty connection, later complaint to streamyx, streamyx will complaint to technician (why he installed eventhough he knew my house is incapable).. arrgh dammit  vmad.gif
This post has been edited by Maestrol: Jul 24 2010, 12:31 PM
futra
post Jul 24 2010, 12:52 PM

1,267 posts

^ meaning i shud be able to accept the 4mb package? i'll try to diagnose again today once im back at home, currently in office..
youngman778
post Jul 25 2010, 01:47 PM

193 posts

as expected, any kind of TM-internal complaint channel doesn't works at ALL....

go straight to http://aduan.skmm.gov.my/
in my case, gotten feedback frm TM staff within 3 working days biggrin.gif

strongly recommended !
( a proper way to track ISP down too )
prasys
post Jul 25 2010, 01:55 PM

Heros Never Die
12,925 posts

QUOTE(futra @ Jul 24 2010, 12:52 PM)
^ meaning i shud be able to accept the 4mb package? i'll try to diagnose again today once im back at home, currently in office..
You got it mixed

SNR Margin is the margin

The SNR - actual SNR that is needed to sync at 4Mbps = SNR Margin

More means , your line is good , it can sync at higher speeds

line attenuation , changes throughout the day . The lower the better
Smackers
post Jul 25 2010, 02:06 PM

657 posts

QUOTE(futra @ Jul 24 2010, 12:52 PM)
Your snr and line attention is at very good levels.you could go up to 6mb without any problems at all.
nonname
post Jul 25 2010, 06:57 PM

QUOTE(futra @ Jul 24 2010, 11:13 AM)

Line Attenuation, is regarding the phone line quality (direct from tiang to the modem), which should display above 15 for optimum connection. Mine was 13.5 sad.gif As a result, the technician advised me to stick to my 1mb package until telekom decides to add more branches  doh.gif  although im currently paying 1mb package, my default speed was upgraded to 2mb early this year bcoz loyal customer, so my 48 and 13.5 results were for 2mb connection.. 'nyawa² ikan nih, bro' he told me  blink.gif

even if he did give me the package, there is a possibility for faulty connection, later complaint to streamyx, streamyx will complaint to technician (why he installed eventhough he knew my house is incapable).. arrgh dammit  vmad.gif
You got it mixed up. Line Attenuation is the one which cannot be more than 45, while SNR must be more than 15.

The same thing happened to me, the technician just came yesterday, I cannot upgrade as well. sad.gif
futra
post Jul 25 2010, 10:41 PM

1,267 posts

^ oh shit, sorry guys.. i got the results mixed up. after checking just now, my SNR is 13.5 while l.a. is 48 doh.gif thanks guys for clearing things up anyway.. new thing learned today smile.gif
Smackers
post Jul 26 2010, 11:51 AM

657 posts

owh...that's just too bad.perhaps changing ur telephone wires will help if it's too old.

my torrenting download speed.

This post has been edited by Smackers: Jul 26 2010, 11:52 AM
barca96
post Jul 26 2010, 12:29 PM

980 posts

I think this blockbuster deal is better than the UNIFI isn't it?
For VIP5 plan which costs rm150, you get a 5mb download but it comes with a 60mb cap.
For blockbuster, rm140 you get a 4mb speed but without cap.
So it's better right? Or am I missing something?

p.s. Im an existing streamyx user

This post has been edited by barca96: Jul 26 2010, 12:33 PM
steventan85
post Jul 26 2010, 01:35 PM

6,447 posts

QUOTE(barca96 @ Jul 26 2010, 12:29 PM)
I think this blockbuster deal is better than the UNIFI isn't it?
For VIP5 plan which costs rm150, you get a 5mb download but it comes with a 60mb cap.
For blockbuster, rm140 you get a 4mb speed but without cap.
So it's better right? Or am I missing something?

p.s. Im an existing streamyx user
u forget about upload speed...unifi upload speed is 5mbps for VIP5 ...streamyx 512kbps only
Smackers
post Jul 26 2010, 02:44 PM

657 posts

that's the only down part.upload speed only 512kbps.

51 Pages « < 30 31 32 33 34 > » Top

0.0204sec    0.33    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 07:57 PM