Streamyx Streamyx "BLOCKBUSTER DEALS", Update 25/3/10: 2Mb RM130, 4Mb RM140

TSMaestrol
post Mar 5 2010, 02:13 AM, updated 15y ago

345 posts

Streamyx Blockbuster Deals

Streamyx Blockbuster Deals is offered by TM since March 2010.
This is a better deal than the previous Super Upgrade Deals as it comes with:
- Free WIFI Modem
- Free DECT phone
- Free Telephone Rental Fee
- Free calls (5000 minutes/month) to TM Fixed Line nationwide
- 10 cents/minute to all mobile and other fixed line nationwide (for 384k package 15 cents/minute).

QUOTE(ahcheap @ Mar 25 2010, 09:16 PM)
I just checked TM Mips System, the new pricing for Streamyx Blockbuster deal 2Mb has been lowered down to RM130 (Previously RM140) and 4Mb Blockbuster Deal from RM160 to RM140.
Frequently Asked Questions:
BLOCKBUSTER DEALS FAQ
Broadband & Voice Deals FAQ
When will this Blockbuster Deals promotion end?
Even TM Customer Support does not know when the Blockbuster Deal promotion will end. However, they are sure that the ZERO ENTRY COST (No Activation and Installation fees) is only offered until December 2010. (Update: 3rd September 2010)

And what if the contract ends next year? Revert back to original package?
No, after the contract ends you can still continue with the same deal. With reference to the FAQ above, the minimum subscription period to the Blockbuster Deal is 12 months. To my understanding, the term "minimum subscription period" means the minimum period of time that you are required to subscribe to this Blockbuster Deal once you take up the package. Hence, you could subscribe >12 months according to the current deal as you wish. However, if you terminate this package within 12 months, you are required to pay RM350 penalty.

Are there any hidden costs to the Blockbuster Deals?
There have been reports that subscribers of the Blockbuster Deals were not aware that
- Free Calls (5000 minutes/month) to TM Fixed Line nationwide &
- 10 cents/minute calls to all mobile and other fixed line nationwide (for 384k package 15 cents/minute)
will only be activated starting from the 2nd billing month. It is advisable for users to call TM Helpline (100) to confirm before starting to enjoy the free calls. For more information, read the following threads:
TM Blockbuster Deal Hidden Gimmick, Hidden FinePrints & Not Informing People
BBD Deal a con?

This post has been edited by Maestrol: Sep 4 2010, 10:19 PM
TSMaestrol
post Jun 1 2010, 05:19 PM

345 posts

QUOTE(Konohamaru @ Jun 1 2010, 04:49 PM)
my order is rejected due to SNR Margin 17, line attenuation is 46, that technician ask me "how"? i said im afraid always dc, better dont upgrade. but after that i tried my DLINK modem SNR margin 23 line attenuation is 38 only,  different modem different test result???
currently port is 4096Kbps, but cap at 1.5Mbps...........
I think you better don't upgrade. How far are you from the nearest TM exchange?
TSMaestrol
post Jun 7 2010, 11:16 PM

345 posts

QUOTE(RDPD @ Jun 4 2010, 04:12 PM)
Streamyx 1Malaysia package will be cheaper.
U can apply through me, no need go TM Point waste ur precious time.
Interested let me know!  biggrin.gif
I am interested. How to apply through you?

This post has been edited by Maestrol: Jun 7 2010, 11:17 PM
TSMaestrol
post Jun 28 2010, 06:16 PM

345 posts

Today, I went to TMpoint at Burma Road, Penang to change my existing package to Blockbuster Deals 4Mb. However, I wanted to change the telephone owner's name and Streamyx Name to my name to enable me to file for Income Tax reduction. But it is not possible without a HASSLE.

What I eventually did was I just apply for a new Homeline and new Streamyx account. The officer told me that technicians will come to my place to install a new TM homeline in 3-4 days. I am keeping my fingers crossed.
TSMaestrol
post Jun 29 2010, 02:09 PM

345 posts

QUOTE(Maestrol @ Jun 28 2010, 06:16 PM)
Today, I went to TMpoint at Burma Road, Penang to change my existing package to Blockbuster Deals 4Mb. However, I wanted to change the telephone owner's name and Streamyx Name to my name to enable me to file for Income Tax reduction. But it is not possible without a HASSLE.

What I eventually did was I just apply for a new Homeline and new Streamyx account. The officer told me that technicians will come to my place to install a new TM homeline in 3-4 days. I am keeping my fingers crossed.
Update Jun 29 2010:

Today three Telekom Contractors (Prakash, Loga and another elderly man) came to my house to install a new telephone line. The telephone line is working but cannot call out nor is there any streamyx connection available. I was charged RM50 for the wiring. I was told to wait 1 week for Streamyx to work on the new line.
TSMaestrol
post Jun 30 2010, 11:45 PM

345 posts

QUOTE(Maestrol @ Jun 29 2010, 02:09 PM)
Update Jun 29 2010:

Today three Telekom Contractors (Prakash, Loga and another elderly man) came to my house to install a new telephone line. The telephone line is working but cannot call out nor is there any streamyx connection available. I was charged RM50 for the wiring. I was told to wait 1 week for Streamyx to work on the new line.
Update Jun 30 2010:

By checking my new phone number, I got some results from http://sams.tm.net.my/MarketingCenter/search.asp. It shows that a TM technician is coming to my place noon tomorrow for installation. Why I wasn't told about the appointment?

And by checking https://mips.tm.net.my/SelfCare/WOrder/WOrd...949&verify=true,
Your current Order status

Status Pemohonan Anda
MIPS Order Number

Nombor Pesanan MIPS
  xxx-xxxxxxxx-xxxxxx
Order Status

Status Pemohonan Anda
    Service available, installation in progress
Full Name

Nama Penuh
  xxx xxxx xxxx
Telephone No.

No. Telefon
  00x0xxxxxxxx
Plan Name

Nama Pelan
  Streamyx 4.0M (Free Modem) - RM140 (Blockbuster Deals)
Submission Date

Tarikh Hantar
  30-Jun-2010
I hope everything is going to be fine smile.gif

Added on July 1, 2010, 2:01 pm
QUOTE(Maestrol @ Jun 30 2010, 11:45 PM)
Update Jun 30 2010:

By checking my new phone number, I got some results from http://sams.tm.net.my/MarketingCenter/search.asp. It shows that a TM technician is coming to my place noon tomorrow for installation. Why I wasn't told about the appointment?

Update 1/7/2010

Some issues here:
1. The installer did not come as stated in the appointment and the status changes to MISS APPT from NEW.
2. My new phone line becomes dead at 1pm.
3. I called 100 to report dead phone line, and they gave me the installer's number. I made a new appointment with the installer but he told me he would not come as the phone line is dead. I was told to make a report on the dead phone line and wait for the phone line to come alive before anything else.

Added on July 2, 2010, 2:30 pmUpdate 2/7/2010

Phone line dead problem:
Two TM technicians came to solve this problem yesterday at around 5pm. I told them it's a new phone line and they were like shocking.gif and said, new phone line should be problem free. Then they said they have to refer back to the original installer as they don't know what's wrong. rclxub.gif Then I called the original phone line installer and eventually they came today at around 10am to solve this problem.

Then I called the Streamyx Installer as now the phone line is back online, he came at around 12pm and done the configuration. However, there is a minor issue, he couldn't get the TM people to answer the phone for the change to 4MB. Now I am stuck with 2MB. He told me to call him again if it stays at 2MB the next 2 days.

Keeping my fingers crossed.

My DSL parameters:

This post has been edited by Maestrol: Jul 2 2010, 02:33 PM
TSMaestrol
post Jul 4 2010, 09:52 PM

345 posts

QUOTE(Maestrol @ Jun 30 2010, 11:45 PM)
Update Jun 30 2010:

Added on July 1, 2010, 2:01 pm
Update 1/7/2010

Some issues here:
1. The installer did not come as stated in the appointment and the status changes to MISS APPT from NEW.
2. My new phone line becomes dead at 1pm.
3. I called 100 to report dead phone line, and they gave me the installer's number. I made a new appointment with the installer but he told me he would not come as the phone line is dead. I was told to make a report on the dead phone line and wait for the phone line to come alive before anything else.

Added on July 2, 2010, 2:30 pmUpdate 2/7/2010

Phone line dead problem:
Two TM technicians came to solve this problem yesterday at around 5pm. I told them it's a new phone line and they were like  shocking.gif and said, new phone line should be problem free. Then they said they have to refer back to the original installer as they don't know what's wrong.  rclxub.gif Then I called the original phone line installer and eventually they came today at around 10am to solve this problem.

Then I called the Streamyx Installer as now the phone line is back online, he came at around 12pm and done the configuration. However, there is a minor issue, he couldn't get the TM people to answer the phone for the change to 4MB. Now I am stuck with 2MB. He told me to call him again if it stays at 2MB the next 2 days.

Keeping my fingers crossed.

My DSL parameters:
Update 4/7/2010

I am still stuck with a 2MB Streamyx connection. I called the streamyx installer yesterday night at 9pm, and he told me he's going to work on it first thing next morning. Fine.

At 6pm today, when I came home, I checked the DSL status, it is still 2048kbps. I called him again, he sounded quite surprise. And after a few return calls from him, I suspected maybe he did upgrade the line after all..... it's just that he upgraded my OLD telephone line! I checked and BINGOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO

My wrongly capped old line 1Mb DSL STATUS

Cool leh? drool.gif

Added on July 4, 2010, 9:56 pm
QUOTE(yongkailoon @ Jul 4 2010, 04:35 PM)
Its been a month and they've yet to send the cordless phone over, they really are that efficient. laugh.gif
I read in the earlier posts that someone went to collect a cordless phone at TMpoint and 1 week after that, he received another one via Poslaju. Maybe you could try that?

This post has been edited by Maestrol: Jul 4 2010, 09:57 PM
TSMaestrol
post Jul 5 2010, 08:31 PM

345 posts

QUOTE(Maestrol @ Jul 4 2010, 09:52 PM)
Update 4/7/2010

I am still stuck with a 2MB Streamyx connection. I called the streamyx installer yesterday night at 9pm, and he told me he's going to work on it first thing next morning. Fine.

At 6pm today, when I came home, I checked the DSL status, it is still 2048kbps. I called him again, he sounded quite surprise. And after a few return calls from him, I suspected maybe he did upgrade the line after all..... it's just that he upgraded my OLD telephone line! I checked and BINGOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO

My wrongly capped old line 1Mb DSL STATUS

Cool leh? drool.gif

Added on July 4, 2010, 9:56 pm
I read in the earlier posts that someone went to collect a cordless phone at TMpoint and 1 week after that, he received another one via Poslaju. Maybe you could try that?
Update 5/7/2010

This morning when I woke up, I checked the DSL status of my new line, it's upgraded to 5119kbps... cool. Then I did a speedtest at speedtest.net, ~1200kbps... Strange, I call the Streamyx Installer again, he said oooo let me check..... Fine...

Then, in the afternoon, I checked again.... still DSL status shows 5119kbps.. but same speedtest result... then I remembered I configured QOS on my tomato based WRT54GL router before.....oh.... it's my BAD. Once I reconfigured it correctly, BOOM.............4MB SPEED HERE I COME! Then I called the Streamyx Installer to thank him smile.gif

Now, the next thing to do is to terminate my old wrongly capped 5mb telephone line and old streamyx account. Then I'll ask my Electrician to redo the wiring for me. smile.gif
TSMaestrol
post Jul 6 2010, 04:40 PM

345 posts

QUOTE(Chyan @ Jul 6 2010, 12:16 PM)
Nice. You finally got your speed.
So much stuff to do huh?  blink.gif
Yeah, cause the ctupid tmpoint customer service told me about the hassle of changing owner's name for Phone Line and Streamyx account! Don't get me started on this, read about it here.

Update 6/7/2010

Went to terminate old phone line + old streamyx account at Bayan Baru TMpoint. Done. Also I wrote down my name for Unifi VIP5. Apparently, Unifi is now available in Bayan Baru!
TSMaestrol
post Jul 9 2010, 12:49 AM

345 posts

Update 9/7/2010

Whoa..... I just noticed today that my latency is FAST and not INTERLEAVED! Is this permanent?

Now my ping replies are faster! Woohoo!!
TSMaestrol
post Jul 24 2010, 12:27 PM

345 posts

The technician is WRONG!

SNR: the more the merrier
Line Attenuation: less is better

QUOTE(futra @ Jul 24 2010, 11:13 AM)
ok guys the streamyx technician came yesterday, here's what happened..

arrived at my place 5pm, brought his equipments to check/diagnose etc, the new modem, but no dect phones. he said once my 4mb package is successfully installed, then he'll give me a receipt/slip for me to get the dect phones at tmpoint centre. they will not bring the dect phones to the house.

anyway, there are two things (in the streamyx diagnose page) he told me whether a user is capable of upgrading to 4mb or not.. one is the 'SNR Margin' and the other is 'Line Attenuation'.

If i remember correctly by what he told me, SNR Margin is related to the distance between our house to the tmpoint / fibre optic cable server substation (whatever).. and the value shouldn't be more than 45. if it shows more than 45, it means that the house is too far for an optimum connection. Basically he said, houses located >3km from the two places i mentioned earlier are incapable for 4mb package. Mine displayed 48 sad.gif

Line Attenuation, is regarding the phone line quality (direct from tiang to the modem), which should display above 15 for optimum connection. Mine was 13.5 sad.gif As a result, the technician advised me to stick to my 1mb package until telekom decides to add more branches  doh.gif  although im currently paying 1mb package, my default speed was upgraded to 2mb early this year bcoz loyal customer, so my 48 and 13.5 results were for 2mb connection.. 'nyawa² ikan nih, bro' he told me  blink.gif

even if he did give me the package, there is a possibility for faulty connection, later complaint to streamyx, streamyx will complaint to technician (why he installed eventhough he knew my house is incapable).. arrgh dammit  vmad.gif
This post has been edited by Maestrol: Jul 24 2010, 12:31 PM
TSMaestrol
post Aug 12 2010, 07:46 PM

345 posts

QUOTE(exentric_nova @ Aug 6 2010, 11:45 AM)
Just got a call from them. Apparently they were low on stocks for the DECT phone. They will send out for those who register before 31 July in stages until 15 Sept. If register after that, pickup yourself at TMPoint after 15 Sept.
I haven't got my DECT phone yet too. Registered 4MB package since 1st week of July.
TSMaestrol
post Aug 27 2010, 01:42 AM

345 posts

QUOTE(remonx @ Aug 26 2010, 11:12 PM)
just upgarded to bb deal 4mbps 2day... but the speed still 1.5mbps... why??????
For 4mbps, the Streamyx installer has to come to your place to check the Attenuation and Signal to Noise Ratio of your telephone line before attempting to upgrade your account.

This post has been edited by Maestrol: Aug 27 2010, 01:43 AM
TSMaestrol
post Sep 2 2010, 12:57 AM

345 posts

QUOTE(Maxieos @ Sep 2 2010, 12:09 AM)
Someone need to really edit the first page to clarify some doubtfully question.
Anyone had subscribe should give some opinion on it.
hidden cost , expired date and etc.
Hidden cost? I thought the FAQ is self-explanatory. Expired date? Do you mean the date of expiry of the contract?
TSMaestrol
post Sep 3 2010, 02:34 AM

345 posts

QUOTE(Maxieos @ Sep 2 2010, 02:37 PM)
The FAQ isn't enough to explain.I mean when the promotion end.And what if the contract ended next year ? revert back to original ? there is very less information about it.
Refering to the FAQ, the minimum subscription period to the Blockbuster Deal is 12 months. To my understanding, the term "minimum subscription period" means the minimum period that you have to subscribe to this Blockbuster Deal once you take up the package. Hence, you could subscribe >12 months according to the current deal as you wish. However, if you terminate this package within 12 months, you are required to pay RM350 penalty.

I'll call TM helpline tomorrow to confirm . I will update you + the 1st post if there are new info.

This post has been edited by Maestrol: Sep 3 2010, 10:23 AM
TSMaestrol
post Sep 3 2010, 10:19 AM

345 posts

QUOTE(jimfoa @ Sep 3 2010, 09:23 AM)
With the Basic 1mbps package I use my own Aztech router since I predominantly use *nix.

Can I also use my own router with this package?
Yes you can. I subscribe to 4mbps Blockbuster Deal and am using my own Prolink ADSL+ Modem & Linksys WRT54GL Router modded with Tomato Firmware. I think if you are just upgrading, you don't even have to change the settings of your existing modem. It's plug and play unless your existing settings are optimized only for 1mbps connection, e.g. QOS. However, I suggest you to let the streamyx installer setup your connection with the free wireless modem as:
1. They are more familiar with the free modem, not ours
2. This will ensure the free modem is not faulty
TSMaestrol
post Sep 3 2010, 12:31 PM

345 posts

Whoa, now I am on the line with TM Support. After listening to adverts for 3 minutes, a lady CS picked up the phone. This is the reenactment of our conversation:

Me: Can I know the minimum subscription period for Blockbuster Deals?
CS: 2 years.

Me: Huh? 2 Years?
CS: Ya 2 years / 24 months.

Me: But the FAQ on the website stated 1 year
CS: Which website?

Me: TM website! (@%#&*@!)
CS: Oh. Let me check the system. Please hold on...

------9 more minutes of adverts-------

(This is so sienz. No wonder Lowyat members look for info in the forum rather than calling TM support themselves! Smart! My DECT phone shows 15 minutes calling time already!)

CS: Thank you for holding on the line!
Me: Ok. (You better give me smart answers @$%$#%$@)

CS: I have to reconfirm regarding the minimum subscription period. Initially, when we offer Blockbuster Package beginning of the year, the minimum subscription period is 12 months. However, when we changed the pricing of 2mbps (RM140 to RM130) and 4mbps (RM160 to RM140), the minimum subscription period is changed to 24 months.
Me: Huh?

CS: Please leave me your contact number and I will notify you after I confirm with the billing department.
Me: Ok. One more question: If we take up this Blockbuster Deal, after the minimum subscription period, are we still entitled to pay the same amount for the same deal?

CS: Yes
Me: Ok. Regarding this promotion, when will the promotion end.

CS: I am not too sure when the Blockbuster Deal Promotion will end, but I could tell you that the RM75 activation and installation fee-waive is just until December 2010.
Me: Thank you very much.

CS: Is there anything else that I could help you?
Me: You have been very helpful. That's all. Thank you!

QUOTE(Maestrol @ Sep 6 2010, 08:20 PM)
I received a call from TM support today. She confirmed to me that the minimum subscription period is 1 YEAR
This post has been edited by Maestrol: Sep 6 2010, 08:22 PM
TSMaestrol
post Sep 3 2010, 12:51 PM

345 posts

QUOTE(ahcheap @ Sep 3 2010, 12:48 PM)
Sometimes need to wait around 7 working days.

U can claim ur DECT phone at TMpoint with ur first month bill later.
Claim? Just bring my phone bill to TMpoint? I haven't got mine. My streamyx connection is activated since July 2010.
TSMaestrol
post Sep 6 2010, 08:20 PM

345 posts

QUOTE(Maxieos @ Sep 6 2010, 12:03 AM)
notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif  Thank you for the clarification.
Let say I wanted to revert back or downgrade after the contract over , is it possible ? Do I need to cancel the whole streamyx and reapply again ?
So you mean 2mb RM 130 min subscription is 2 years ? ,

Anyone here can confirm it ?
I received a call from TM support today. She confirmed to me that the minimum subscription period is 1 YEAR
TSMaestrol
post Sep 6 2010, 10:34 PM

345 posts

QUOTE(solarmystic @ Sep 6 2010, 10:18 PM)
@reevephon

That is normal for a 4 Meg package.. expect speedtest results of between 3.2 to 3.7 Mbps because of the inherent 10% loss of speeds due to PPPOE connection and the ATM network..

If you want ngam ngam 4 mbps got to ask them to cap your line to 5mbps.. as far as i know they only do that if you have chronic problems with your service... so if you complain only get 3.x they will consider it a non issue....
Another way to get 5mbps is to ask the Streamyx installer nicely to set your cap to 5mbps (like me lol!) when he came to your house to setup. Make sure you have some knowledge about SNR and Line Attenuation as sometimes it's because of your telephone line/wiring/signal problem that made the installer unable to upgrade for you.

0.0394sec    0.70    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 08:54 AM