9 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Bottom

Argument on Ping Kam, Chinese Wedding Custom/Tradition

pillage2001
post Feb 24 2010, 12:23 AM

1,990 posts

QUOTE(alanyuppie @ Feb 23 2010, 04:15 PM)
From this logic, no need "gets" married and organise wedding. Simply stay together, inform both side of family of this intention and thats it. No need register too. After all.... love is in the heart, not dictated by custom nor laws.
There are certain things that are bounded by law, thus the need for registration but the need to give ping kam is another story by itself.
catpig
post Feb 26 2010, 10:39 AM

26 posts

QUOTE(NaiveLady @ Feb 18 2010, 07:20 PM)
I am getting married soon after 8 years of dating. However, parents from both family can't agree on certain things.

My parents & relatives informed the "ping kam" should be abt RM6K and requested for a piggy. They informed that that is the rate in KL. My parents told me because we're not rich, thus the money (instead of forking out our own money) served as financial aid to help them purchase essential items required for the wedding celebrations such as gold. It also will show what is my value & whether my future husband family is stingy or not. Actually, what are the things that bride's family have to buy for wedding?
However, my future in-law said my parents request is too high and they prefer to pay RM888/RM1888/RM2888 (Just a sign of good luck (hou yi tou). Reasons given is they are not buying a daughter-in-law & they want everything to be simple. They thought we want “face” and reputation is the reason behind it. They prefer give money to us (after wedding i guess) rather than wasting it to buy those wedding things. They are not rich but not poor either. My future husband is on his family side and persuading me to accept his parents proposal.

I am torn in between and we quarrel about this. Should I:
- Persuade parents to accept lesser "ping kam"?
- Persuade future husband to give RM6K ?

BTW, what are the average rate of "ping kam" given nowadays? I know some of my friends were lucky because their wife's parents didn't request for ping kam.
Hi Lady,

For me, my parent ask hubby there pay for 10 tables of bride's dinner (we are having two dinners, one groom one bride), and add on cash as ping kam.

This could cover some cost. This can be done if both family have the same wedding dinner.

For some cash you can buy thing such as gold etc, as a 'jia4 zhuang1" or 'ka zong' in cantonese.

This post has been edited by catpig: Feb 26 2010, 10:50 AM
enmavel
post Feb 26 2010, 09:26 PM

159 posts

QUOTE(moorish @ Feb 20 2010, 05:36 PM)

wei 5,888 suay number la rclxms.gif

5,888 is good...

5 = five = fai = fast

888 = fatt fatt fatt = prosperous/prosperity...

5,888 = fast prosperity rclxm9.gif icon_rolleyes.gif

(subject to interpretation) rclxms.gif LOL
matrix88
post Feb 26 2010, 09:41 PM

2,236 posts

now a days, 10k is the norm.
if ur parents in law want to pay only 888,1888 etc, it shows that they do not respect u and ur family.

imagine taking care and giving education to a daughter, that cost much much more, what is 10k?

This is not selling daughter, just a sign of respect from the other family. but off course your future husband must be able to effort la... if no money, better dont get married!!!
enmavel
post Feb 26 2010, 09:45 PM

159 posts

QUOTE(hamster9 @ Feb 22 2010, 04:23 PM)
it's not only the chinese mentality so to speak, it's Asian. We all want face. Furthermore, TS's future in-law already degrade themselves into negotiating a "ping kam" and this also haven't step foot into their in laws door. What if really married and become their in-law? They would obviously treat TS like shit.

marriage in Asia world is not about 2 person... once u're married, u're married into the family which includes pleasing ur in law's, the aunties, the uncles, etc etc..

recently a malay friend got wed and I've learned that the standard hantaran is RM10K for a degree holder wife  whistling.gif  RM6k is simply nothing.

y in a rush to get married now during ur man's financial turbulence?  since courtship has been for 8 years, saving for another year wont be any problem right?
I agree with u.

If anyone had asked the malays, they r also spending a lot of $$$ 4wedding too - in wang hantaran.

Some malay frens took personal loan to get married (which is very unfortunate). In my opinion, it is better to reach mutual understanding. Why make the husband becomes in debt with the bank? The bank is laughing while 2 persons are suffering.

(mas kahwin is different - it's compulsory in Islam - depends on state; Selangor is RM80 if i'm not mistaken).

The wang hantaran depends on the "status" of the woman (degree holder, docs etc etc)

While i believe that to marry off a daughter is not "to sell" her, but i think RM6000 is a reasonable sum to ask. Else, TS can ask the husband to give more banquet tables and TS's parents can keep the angpow.

(10 tables x RM700/table = RM7000 min.)

deeplyheartbroken
post Feb 26 2010, 11:05 PM

774 posts

There is no standard rate or whatsoever. Don't believe what others say here. My dad marry my mum without paying a single cent. Even the wedding dinner bill was shared between them. This is considering my mum's mother is a tradional type as well too, but being logical & giving... my this grandmother accepts it although she also wants face (since they are from a small town & easy to gossip around).

The money is just about sincerity & customary. Talk to your fiance truly whether he has not enough savings or could be some other reason. Or maybe he do not want to borrow from parents, from you or whatever. You know, it can be pretty tight forking out all those wedding stuffs especially if he is not that well to do currently & he is paying everything for the wedding. If he can afford it without burdening himself at all, but still do not want to pay then it is a different story.
enmavel
post Feb 27 2010, 01:24 AM

159 posts

QUOTE(deeplyheartbroken @ Feb 26 2010, 11:05 PM)
There is no standard rate or whatsoever. Don't believe what others say here. My dad marry my mum without paying a single cent.
u toking abt ur mom's era? OK....

No offense & with all due respect to u & ur parents & family... the following remarks not intended to offend u. Just a general comment:

good things dun come cheap & free things hardly appreciated. That's the world we live in now.

While i can understand that TS's bf/"hubby-2-b" might not b able 2afford the $$$, & marriage is not abt "selling daughter"... negotiating the "Ping Kam" by offerring 30% of asking price is like "buying daughter in law" in pasar malam. At least offering half of asking price & compensate by giving more banquet table is more reasonable.

Try to reach mutual agreement & hv win-win situation. No point making in-laws unhappy over small things. Money can be earned back, but in-laws are for life (although u dun stay together).

deeplyheartbroken
post Feb 27 2010, 10:16 AM

774 posts

QUOTE(enmavel @ Feb 27 2010, 01:24 AM)
good things dun come cheap & free things hardly appreciated. That's the world we live in now.
You mean TS is an item or goods determined by its quality & price? How can you judge this on a relationship between two person by paying what the in-law asked?

By the way during our parents time, this is even more important than it is now.

If you want to talk about the world now, heck people starting not to have any wedding ceremony at all... this 'ping kam' or 'lai kam' is way off to be heard for cases like this.

All my male relatives & including male friends, none of their in laws asked for a specific amount of money.

Unless the fiance of TS is damn kedekut, rich enough but not willing to pay... I am gonna stand my point on this.
alexalex
post Mar 4 2010, 12:11 PM

73 posts

Dear NaiveLady,

Just sharing, in 1999, I paid RM 5,888 minus the piggy (how to deliver > 500km away?)

Love & relationship cant measure by money alone, but as a good start for everyone, between in-laws, relatives, try to accomodate the request.

Mine, the money was later given to wife and "re-use" for our wedding /new home etc and not "for the price of selling their daughter to me".

QUOTE(deeplyheartbroken @ Feb 27 2010, 10:16 AM)
You mean TS is an item or goods determined by its quality & price? How can you judge this on a relationship between two person by paying what the in-law asked?

By the way during our parents time, this is even more important than it is now.

If you want to talk about the world now, heck people starting not to have any wedding ceremony at all... this 'ping kam' or 'lai kam' is way off to be heard for cases like this.

All my male relatives & including male friends, none of their in laws asked for a specific amount of money.

Unless the fiance of TS is damn kedekut, rich enough but not willing to pay... I am gonna stand my point on this.
moody5
post Mar 4 2010, 12:27 PM

296 posts

in 1983, my dad paid RM3,800 ping kam + delivering the piggy from KL to Ipoh

The money didn't show much but the reasoning of giving certain amount shows!!

chamelion
post Mar 4 2010, 12:35 PM

Back to Bricking
2,755 posts

Actually norm city rate is round rm6-8k.

Your bf should smart in resolve this. Pay 8k quite quite so both side is ok.

chinese have a say, big problem become small, small problem become none..

this should be a happy even looking forward by both side. instead listen to both parent, he need to "head" the even and diplomatically resolve the conflict with both side..
ahcheap
post Mar 4 2010, 01:32 PM

TM UniFi/Streamyx Reseller
1,466 posts

I think minumum RM8xxx.
arvil22
post Mar 8 2010, 09:01 AM

155 posts

i am Chinese but i am christian b4 weeding i already told my gf there are not a single Chinese tradition will able to exist in my weeding not a single, so...in my weeding there is no ping kam or piggy as well
suns8630
post Mar 8 2010, 09:30 AM

1,122 posts

QUOTE(pillage2001 @ Feb 24 2010, 12:23 AM)
There are certain things that are bounded by law, thus the need for registration but the need to give ping kam is another story by itself.
yes "law" saids .. need to register as husband and wife .. but "LAW" DID not says about "Ping Kam"

it is HUMAN custom asking for trouble ...

arvil22
post Mar 8 2010, 10:22 AM

155 posts

QUOTE(suns8630 @ Mar 8 2010, 09:30 AM)
yes "law" saids .. need to register as husband and wife .. but "LAW" DID not says about "Ping Kam"

it is HUMAN custom asking for trouble ...
because Chinese girl parent are selling daughter rclxms.gif they will feel uncomfortable if not receive a single cent icon_rolleyes.gif
that why i always anti Chinese Tradition
Drian
post Mar 8 2010, 10:35 PM

4,999 posts

QUOTE(matrix88 @ Feb 26 2010, 09:41 PM)
now a days, 10k is the norm.
if ur parents in law want to pay only 888,1888 etc, it shows that they do not respect u and ur family.

imagine taking care and giving education to a daughter, that cost much much more, what is 10k?

This is not selling daughter, just a sign of respect from the other family. but off course your future husband must be able to effort la... if no money, better dont get married!!!
The parents have to take care and give education to the son to earn money and in the end the son supports the wife and all. Wouldn't it be the same for the guy as well?
aKiSuSu
post Mar 9 2010, 06:21 AM

250 posts

its a respect on doing ping kam, the amount of money isnt important, what important is both the guy and girl loves each other
deitylord
post Mar 15 2010, 02:12 PM

248 posts

im all for giving an acceptable amount of ping kam
but other factors must be taken in as well

what if the guy has to buy house/car/dinner for the wedding?
shouldn't the girl's family help out their daughter and future son in law?

why demand? if a guy cannot afford but rather go take personal loan from bank/ah long just to get married...what kinda thinking is this..

to me, if a parent really love his/her child, then his/her happiness is the most important thing.

chinese tradition is killing all the son in laws. In economy tough times like this, the Chinese are still spending lavishly.
paranoid
post Mar 15 2010, 09:56 PM

I can go from 0 to bitch in 0.6seconds
1,235 posts

6K is demanding eh.. it's not really wise to stay stubborn and insist on such high amount of money, sell daughter meh? 6K is a lot even if your future husband is from a better-than-average family.

it's just a number anyway. it's going to affect the relationship between both your families, you and your in-laws in the many years to come if this isn't handled properly.

good luck!
aspire2oo6
post Mar 15 2010, 11:50 PM

Banned
35,468 posts

QUOTE(samurai1337 @ Feb 18 2010, 08:00 PM)
I understand your situation (although I'm a guy). I am lucky that this didn't happen to me when I was getting married (instead, my mother-in-law only took small part of the given ping kam as hou yi tou)

Maybe I'm biased, and I'm on your hubby family side.. or rather I don't really like Chinese tradition and the social norm - they REALLY like to compare (everything, from the location, amount of ping kam, wedding photographer yada yada). I think that couples should just spend what they can afford rather than overspending just to prove that the husband is not stingy.

Parents sometimes have to understand that they demand a lot of money from their future son-in-law, but end up both daughter and son-in-law suffering

Anyway... I suggest the following:

- Try talking to your parents (yes, unluckily it IS your responsibility since they are your parents), explaining that both of you have already spent a lot and why at this moment it isn't feasible to give 6k. Do not say provoking statements like "It's not selling daughter" though

- Try to propose something that you and your hubby can afford. Maybe something like 2888 or 3888

- To be frank, 6k isn't that much. But as you're both short of cash, maybe ask your parents if your hubby can pay that 6k some time later instead of now. Otherwise, go for Personal Loan

I hope it helps, and I wish you all the best
true wat he said your in law selling daughter? Its just a sign of good luck . Wedding are not cheap dinner can reach up to 20 k to 50 k and den photographer itself professional already 3k - 7k den tis den tat angpow tis that tis that.

9 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0169sec    0.69    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 11:13 PM