Travel Bangkok V2
senyii
Mar 3 2010, 09:55 PM
QUOTE(patapon-pon @ Mar 3 2010, 02:57 AM) really? then ok la..citin pratunam it is..since i read at the website that pratunam market is like 1km away only. thanks again! but to warn u dun ever try the massage at the indian shop nearby the hotel...it sucks...oh do try their barbeque seafood...n if u the taxi driver dunno the road tell them to bring u to Baiyoke sky hotel then u can direct him from there..
cy97
Mar 4 2010, 08:59 AM
QUOTE(patapon-pon @ Mar 3 2010, 02:57 AM) really? then ok la..citin pratunam it is..since i read at the website that pratunam market is like 1km away only. thanks again! I had stayed in citin pratunam before but i dun like that area. Even though there are a lot of street stalls, the place is a bit of run down and too far from BTS. Why not consider stay at Sukhumvit, i stayed at grand president service apartment. The room is fully furnish with small kitchen with big fridge, microwave oven, cooking utensils, etc. The room is really big. For shopping at Pratunam just take the BTS and stop at Chitlom and walk from Central World to Pratinam fashion mall than go to Pratunam market and eat the chicken rice opposite Pratunam complex. Cheers.
yukisee
Mar 5 2010, 02:03 PM

Anyone can recommend hotel bangkok that near to BTS de?? Anybody know about the residence hotel?? And anybody know that the spring summer restaurant?? anybody know where is it?? thanks
This post has been edited by yukisee: Mar 5 2010, 02:19 PM
seeyan
Mar 5 2010, 02:11 PM
Hello all.. need help here.. I have booked my tics to go BKK on 15th to 20th April.. since its a long trip i would like to go pattaya as well.. any suggestion as in should I book ground tour in msia or go der oni buy from the local tour to pattaya? me n my bf is going.. kindly advise.. TQTQ
cy97
Mar 5 2010, 09:40 PM
QUOTE(yukisee @ Mar 5 2010, 02:03 PM) Hi, Anyone can recommend hotel bangkok that near to BTS de?? Anybody know about the residence hotel?? And anybody know that the spring summer restaurant?? anybody know where is it?? thanks The Residence hotel in sukhumvit? Located same road ( soi 11 ) with the grand president. Look quite grand from outside. Never enter though.
gzavincent
Mar 5 2010, 10:43 PM
Anyone know the hotel name Center Point Petchburi?? How is the hotel??
tatsuyachiba
Mar 6 2010, 12:09 AM
QUOTE(gzavincent @ Mar 5 2010, 10:43 PM) Anyone know the hotel name Center Point Petchburi?? How is the hotel?? I've stayed here before. It's right opposite Pantip Plaza. It's part of the Centerpoint chain of service apartments. The Petchburi property is about 15 mins walk from BTS Ratchathewi. I'd recommend taking the motosai (motorcycle "taxis") each time at around 10-20B Rooms are huge and you get typical service apartment amenities e.g. washer/dryer(IIRC), stove, etc. All in all, a decent property when you want more space. Downside is that it is a relatively long walk from BTS.
yukisee
Mar 7 2010, 12:08 AM

QUOTE(cy97 @ Mar 5 2010, 09:40 PM) The Residence hotel in sukhumvit? Located same road ( soi 11 ) with the grand president. Look quite grand from outside. Never enter though. I saw the location quite good.. near to platinum mall, siam paragon and even BTS siam..
senyii
Mar 7 2010, 01:18 AM
QUOTE(cy97 @ Mar 4 2010, 08:59 AM) I had stayed in citin pratunam before but i dun like that area. Even though there are a lot of street stalls, the place is a bit of run down and too far from BTS. Why not consider stay at Sukhumvit, i stayed at grand president service apartment. The room is fully furnish with small kitchen with big fridge, microwave oven, cooking utensils, etc. The room is really big. For shopping at Pratunam just take the BTS and stop at Chitlom and walk from Central World to Pratinam fashion mall than go to Pratunam market and eat the chicken rice opposite Pratunam complex. Cheers.  true...but bcos i travel like bout 3ppl so cheaper to take cab rather than wasting time for BTS plus is super HOT in BKK, tats y i did not consider to stay nearby BTS
rayfoo
Mar 8 2010, 09:43 AM
hi guys, would it be okay to go around free & easy, or better off going with the ground packages offered by travelling agencies?
liesl
Mar 9 2010, 10:33 AM
I'm going to BKK this Saturday. Is it safe to go because I read in the news there will be a protest on that day.
TSstimix
Mar 9 2010, 10:42 AM
Dunno
Of course the whole thread is talking about DIY-lah..If buying package no need to discuss here liao..all arranged dy.. QUOTE(rayfoo @ Mar 8 2010, 09:43 AM) hi guys, would it be okay to go around free & easy, or better off going with the ground packages offered by travelling agencies? Added on March 9, 2010, 10:44 amNothing in this world is safe even you go down KL...Just avoid those area surrounding Govt complex-lah...If the airport kena again, take train bck to M'sia-lah.. QUOTE(liesl @ Mar 9 2010, 10:33 AM) I'm going to BKK this Saturday. Is it safe to go because I read in the news there will be a protest on that day. This post has been edited by stimix: Mar 9 2010, 10:44 AM
liesl
Mar 9 2010, 11:09 AM
Thanks for your reassurance, stimix.
I'm going there mainly to do some shopping. Hopefully those shopping areas won't kena.
I didn't know that one can travel from Bangkok to KL by train.
markgoh
Mar 9 2010, 02:31 PM
Dear Brothers & Sisters, I`m going to Hatyai & Bangkok soon. Just wonder what mobile service we need to use in Thailand? Myself is MAXIS user, but I don't want to open roaming.... Any idea r? Hope someone can help me  thank you very much
moody5
Mar 9 2010, 03:57 PM

QUOTE(stimix @ Mar 9 2010, 10:42 AM) Of course the whole thread is talking about DIY-lah..If buying package no need to discuss here liao..all arranged dy.. Added on March 9, 2010, 10:44 amNothing in this world is safe even you go down KL...Just avoid those area surrounding Govt complex-lah...If the airport kena again, take train bck to M'sia-lah..  Hey better dont wear red or yellow color tops..  Added on March 9, 2010, 3:59 pmQUOTE(markgoh @ Mar 9 2010, 02:31 PM) Dear Brothers & Sisters, I`m going to Hatyai & Bangkok soon. Just wonder what mobile service we need to use in Thailand? Myself is MAXIS user, but I don't want to open roaming.... Any idea r? Hope someone can help me  thank you very much  Go and get a prepaid Thai sim cards ie DTAC (very cheap as compared to roaming) This post has been edited by moody5: Mar 9 2010, 03:59 PM
vam
Mar 9 2010, 09:39 PM
hello peeps ... i will be going to bangkok next week 17th - 20th march
any value for money hotel recommendations? like wat i read from the 1st post ... nearby to 7-11 or BTS station???
Fatz_Cat
Mar 9 2010, 11:08 PM

anyone going off to bangkok on 2nd till 5th??...maybe can join me and my fren....plan to find more travel partners....
we both go there mainly for buying clothing as we do clothing business....and also some sight seeing as it is my 1st time
plan to stay around pratunam
wiwiwawa
Mar 10 2010, 12:36 AM
QUOTE(liesl @ Mar 9 2010, 12:09 PM) Thanks for your reassurance, stimix. I'm going there mainly to do some shopping. Hopefully those shopping areas won't kena. I didn't know that one can travel from Bangkok to KL by train. By train only from BKK to butterworth. then get other train from butterworth to KL. This post has been edited by wiwiwawa: Mar 10 2010, 12:44 AM
lainux
Mar 10 2010, 11:15 AM
At LCCT now, going to BKK in 30mins. Wanna ask any good spa at BKK? most i found are super expensive!! Want something cheaper than malaysia so that wifey & me can enjoy! plz do suggest... something below RM200 for the package 2-3 hours! :-D
read your scam page.. i fell for the first 2!! the palace is closed & gem scams!! #&$(*#&$(*#&$
TSstimix
Mar 10 2010, 11:59 AM
Dunno
Nah...the gems stores & Palace scam not so bad...Just dun kena the Duty free Scam at Swanabhumi airport..That one you really kena jail wan!! BTW, there is another SCAM which I think originating from KL itself & now making wave to Vietnam & all other cities in SEA...I have read lotsa travelblogs and few of the bloggers already kena dy... Those are by maaysian (Yeah as written by those bloggers..Malaysian in Ho Chi Minh city also did this  ) Normally started wth young ladies or old guy sitting beside a mat Salleh & started converstion in near perfect English & telling of their son/daughter study oversea & now facing lotsa financial burden. Thereafter the guy will offered helps to the Mat Salleh on the attraction in KL/ other cities n SEA. Thereafter bringing him home & started paying poker/ blackjack..1st they will let te Mat Salleh win but once losing, they will offer cheap Ah Long loan to lure him....Once the loan lost on table....Aha..Mat Salleh forced to withdraw from ATM, banks & etc....So beware of this new SCAM hor