129 Pages « < 27 28 29 30 31 > » Bottom

Travel Bangkok V2

aeiou228
post Jun 20 2010, 04:21 PM

5,871 posts

I just came back from Bangkok yesterday.
Got the chance to try out the Airport rail link free ride all the way from Suvarnabhumi airport to Phaya thai station. From Phaya Thai station, we took taxi to White Orchid Hotel at Yaowarat (China town) 77bh. Due to non peak season and lesser tourists, there was no need to haggle for taxi fare. All taxis we took used trip meter automatically but they will intentional take longer route instead of short one to your destination. One taxi driver we encounted played dumb with us, didn't know where is our hotel in Pratunam even though we showed him the printed google map. This stupid non English speaking taxi driver wasted our precious 1 hour time and taxi fare driving round and round Pratunam area looking for our hotel, Best Western Mayfair. For our return transfer to the airport, we asked the hotel to book the taxi for us at a flat rate of 400bh from Pratunam to airport.

This post has been edited by aeiou228: Jun 20 2010, 04:31 PM
pchan
post Jun 20 2010, 05:02 PM

161 posts

hie guys.Finally I have gone tru 29pages..phew..found great tips here !!

I need advices though as i'll be going on 4th to 9th august.Might be staying at friend's place but since the rooms r so cheap lately,i'm considering of booking a room for a day or two..

Do they allow walk-in customer to book room on the day itself(for example,on 8th to 9th ? ) Is August a peak season ? and can i easily get a room on this month? Knows any hotel with airport taxi service,please recommend me. I found a place call ' justbeds' from asiarooms.com..they are really cheap but don;t they have taxi service to airport.Any review ?

Thansk guy !

regards,
Traveling noob

Winning11
post Jun 20 2010, 10:06 PM

283 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Jun 20 2010, 04:21 PM)
I just came back from Bangkok yesterday.
Got the chance to try out the Airport rail link free ride all the way from Suvarnabhumi airport to Phaya thai station. From Phaya Thai station, we took taxi to White Orchid Hotel at Yaowarat (China town) 77bh. Due to non peak season and lesser tourists, there was no need to haggle for taxi fare. All taxis we took used trip meter automatically but they will intentional take longer route instead of short one to your destination. One taxi driver we encounted played dumb with us, didn't know where is our hotel in Pratunam even though we showed him the printed google map. This stupid non English speaking taxi driver wasted our precious 1 hour time and taxi fare driving round and round Pratunam area looking for our hotel, Best Western Mayfair. For our return transfer to the airport, we asked the hotel to book the taxi for us at a flat rate of 400bh from Pratunam to airport.
is the railway link connected to phaya thai station? if so, then i will tk the rail instead of taking taxi since i stay close to BTS station.
moody5
post Jun 21 2010, 04:22 PM

296 posts

QUOTE(Winning11 @ Jun 13 2010, 01:37 PM)
dun wan share lah. coz most of it is personal oso.  sweat.gif

not sure about flight to pattaya though

btw, no one went to ayuthya or tiger temple from Bkk before ah?
I went to Ayutthaya before by taking one day tour from MAMA tour
Winning11
post Jun 21 2010, 09:59 PM

283 posts

QUOTE(moody5 @ Jun 21 2010, 04:22 PM)
I went to Ayutthaya before by taking one day tour from MAMA tour
how much does the tour cost? tq.
aeiou228
post Jun 21 2010, 10:01 PM

5,871 posts

I have two Thai Happy SIM cards to give away free. Sim cards have no more credit and card termination date is 31st August 2010.
The advantage of having these sim cards prior to traveling is that you get to inform your important contacts your temporary Thai contact numbers in Malaysia at local sms cost. Sending sms from Thailand back to Malaysia using Maxi is at RM1/sms.

teckhooi
post Jun 22 2010, 11:24 AM

3,135 posts

yeah. i know MAMA tour, at Khao San Road? Right?
moody5
post Jun 22 2010, 11:39 AM

296 posts

QUOTE(Winning11 @ Jun 21 2010, 09:59 PM)
how much does the tour cost? tq.
It was 650 THB

Added on June 22, 2010, 11:40 am
QUOTE(teckhooi @ Jun 22 2010, 11:24 AM)
yeah. i know MAMA tour, at Khao San Road? Right?
yup.

You can write to them to check on tours and booking as well then they will pick u up from hotel

This post has been edited by moody5: Jun 22 2010, 11:40 AM
Winning11
post Jun 22 2010, 10:35 PM

283 posts

my turn to go Bkk tomorrow! woo hoo!
joeylny
post Jun 22 2010, 11:56 PM

555 posts

greetings from bangkok.

Typing this frm hostel in bkk
Bangkok is fine and its best time to come in terms of cheap hotel rates and less tourist minus the sun! lol
its really hot in bkk compare to msia.

Went to chatuchak market last sat n sun n its not as hot as few years ago but probably coz less crowd asless heat
Took a half day tour to floating market as well
only 150-250 baht per person. travel agency in khao san

First few days i stayed at lamphu house @ khao san. (lamphuhouse dot com)
Took a 4 bed room for us 4. clean and strategic location..

But its fully book for the last few days of my trip so now i am at this hostel called lubd (lubd dot com) . their rates per night is quite cheap due to the recent riot. rooms initially cozt 1400 baht now slashed down to 630 baht only for a 2 bed room.their shared bathroom n toilets is clean.
Bed sheets n towel are changed daily.lotsa food around this area to eat

Took the free airport train ride to phya thai n then taxi to hostel,
Taxi better to quote them a fix price or they will round n round thinking u dunno the roads n u wont know. i normally quote them 40-80 ish depending on location..

Gonna stay another few days .. planning to go ancient city tmr.. then maybe catch the siam niramit show..

have anybody seen the siam niramit show? issit good? how much did u pay and where did u buy ur tickets?

This post has been edited by joeylny: Jun 22 2010, 11:57 PM
vermins
post Jun 23 2010, 12:03 AM

215 posts

QUOTE(joeylny @ Jun 22 2010, 11:56 PM)
Gonna stay another few days .. planning to go ancient city tmr.. then maybe catch the siam niramit show..

have anybody seen the siam niramit show? issit good? how much did u pay and where did u buy ur tickets?
Hahaha, will be heading back to BKK in 2 days myself.

I've seen it. Its hmm.... its mostly bout thai history. And the stage and props are pretty impressive - I watch quite a bit of live theaters myself too. Depends on the individual I suppose, I fairly enjoyed myself enough.

I think it was bout rm100ish per person. Friends got the ticket online from their website.

http://www.siamniramit.com/
capnjazz
post Jun 23 2010, 04:06 AM

164 posts

guys just a question... whats the big mall that kena bomb by the rioters? is it stil functioning now?
moody5
post Jun 23 2010, 08:24 AM

296 posts

MAMA tour got sell the tickets

Officially the selling price is 1250 THB

Added on June 23, 2010, 8:25 am
QUOTE(capnjazz @ Jun 23 2010, 04:06 AM)
guys just a question... whats the big mall that kena bomb by the rioters? is it stil functioning now?
Central World and Big C. They are closed down

This post has been edited by moody5: Jun 23 2010, 08:25 AM
TSstimix
post Jun 23 2010, 08:58 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Also the largest mall in Thailand & top 5 in SEA. Now Berjaya Time Square can claim biggest liao..ehhh opsss..Manila SM Mall of Asia & EDSA MAll at Quezon city also fighting for the bisggest malls in the world..haha
rayfoo
post Jun 23 2010, 11:09 AM

2,564 posts

bangkok still having curfew or state of emergency? what time?

This post has been edited by rayfoo: Jun 23 2010, 11:14 AM
moody5
post Jun 23 2010, 11:15 AM

296 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Jun 23 2010, 08:58 AM)
Also the largest mall in Thailand & top 5 in SEA. Now Berjaya Time Square can claim biggest liao..ehhh opsss..Manila SM Mall of Asia & EDSA MAll at Quezon city also fighting for the bisggest malls in the world..haha
that's the Central World which got burnt down

This post has been edited by moody5: Jun 23 2010, 11:15 AM
capnjazz
post Jun 23 2010, 12:22 PM

164 posts

so now close down already? that sucks i wanted to go shopping there lol
tatsuyachiba
post Jun 23 2010, 12:49 PM

QUOTE(rayfoo @ Jun 23 2010, 11:09 AM)
bangkok still having curfew or state of emergency? what time?
No curfew but emergency rule still in place to quell potential riots. Emergency rule is a domestic control tool and essentially does not affect tourists.
aeiou228
post Jun 23 2010, 01:29 PM

5,871 posts

Went to chatuchak market last sat n sun n its not as hot as few years ago but probably coz less crowd asless heat
Took a half day tour to floating market as well
only 150-250 baht per person. travel agency in khao san

First few days i stayed at lamphu house @ khao san. (lamphuhouse dot com)
Took a 4 bed room for us 4. clean and strategic location..

But its fully book for the last few days of my trip so now i am at this hostel called lubd (lubd dot com) . their rates per night is quite cheap due to the recent riot. rooms initially cozt 1400 baht now slashed down to 630 baht only for a 2 bed room.their shared bathroom n toilets is clean.
Bed sheets n towel are changed daily.lotsa food around this area to eat

Took the free airport train  ride to phya thai n then taxi to hostel,
Taxi better to quote them a fix price or they will round n round thinking u dunno the roads n u wont know. i normally quote them 40-80 ish depending on location..

I was in Chatuchak last Sat morning too. We just browsed the pets area and bought some dog's treats, shirts and accessories. The same dog's treats that I bought in KL can be bought here for half the price.

Kuay Chap. Nice !! 45bh per bowl

What's the name of this fruit ? expensive but delicious. 50bh per bottle

Our room at Best Western in Pratunam. New and clean.

In KL, one package of this would cost you around RM7 !!
TSstimix
post Jun 23 2010, 01:32 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Wah since my last there in 2007, the price of hawker food suprisingly matched KL liao..previously avg ~ 30bath nia & now 45bath..More expensive than KL avg of RM4!

129 Pages « < 27 28 29 30 31 > » Top

0.0309sec    0.39    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 10:18 PM