129 Pages « < 25 26 27 28 29 > » Bottom

Travel Bangkok V2

AngelLingLing
post Jun 6 2010, 09:30 AM

31 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Jun 6 2010, 08:55 AM)
I called Thai railways to confirm this matter and the answer is Monday to Friday only during the trial run. Initially I miss both BKK-PhayaThai and return trip but after Airasia postpone my flight for KLIA-BKK to late noon, I should be able to test the SARL BKK-PhayaThai from 4pm onwards.
so that means in order for us to get this FREE trail

1) must be mon-fri
2) must be those time stated?

Anyone know how much is the fare if we have to pay? & PhayaThai station is at airport or town?
tatsuyachiba
post Jun 6 2010, 10:12 AM

QUOTE(AngelLingLing @ Jun 6 2010, 09:30 AM)
so that means in order for us to get this FREE trail

1) must be mon-fri
2) must be those time stated?

Anyone know how much is the fare if we have to pay? & PhayaThai station is at airport or town?
You seem to have some misunderstanding of the operation of the rail ink.
It is current in trial and has a limited window of operation.
It operates *only* during those times I posted - Mon to Fri.
Outside these times, there is *no* rail operation.
You cannot pay, it is free.
It is slated to go into regular operation Aug 12 - which is Mother's Day/Queen's birthday
*Fares will start at 15 baht and increase by five baht for each station to a maximum fare of 45 baht while nonstop Airport Express Trains will cost 150 baht.
*You will be able to check-in luggage at the airport rail link station.

Clear?

The Phaya Thai airport rail station is nearly right on top of the Phaya Thai BTS station, but there is no connecting bridge yet. Must go down to street level to transit between the 2 stations.
You've perhaps might have seen it if you've been to BKK in the last one year - it's been up for a while. You can see if from the tollway as you go drive past Sukhumvit past the Dindaeng exit. The trains were supposed to go into operation during last year's Songkran
The Phaya Thai BTS station is near Petchburi Rd/Pratunam.
Is it "near town" as you ask? Yes. But bear in mind, Bangkok has no clear downtown center - instead it has multiple centers.

*modified to add fare info & location info

This post has been edited by tatsuyachiba: Jun 9 2010, 09:34 AM
AngelLingLing
post Jun 6 2010, 10:26 AM

31 posts

QUOTE(tatsuyachiba @ Jun 6 2010, 10:12 AM)
You seem to have some misunderstanding of the operation of the rail ink.
It is current in trial and has a limited window of operation.
It operates *only* during those times I posted - Mon to Fri.
Outside these times, there is *no* rail operation.
You cannot pay, it is free.
It is slated to go into regular operation Aug 12 - which is Mother's Day/Queen's birthday
Fares have not yet been determined.

Clear?

The Phaya Thai airport rail station is near the Phaya Thai BTS station, perhaps 100m walk.
You've perhaps might have seen it if you've been to BKK in the last one year - it's been up for a while. You can see if from the tollway as you go drive past Sukhumvit past the Dindaeng exit. The trains were supposed to go into operation during last year's Songkran
The Phaya Thai BTS station is near Petchburi Rd/Pratunam.
Is it "near town" as you ask? Yes. But bear in mind, Bangkok has no clear downtown center - instead it has multiple centers.
ooo thanks for your clear info, i was thinking if we dont go on the time then we have to pay for the BTS.

Didnt go to Bangkok like 10 years already so very not clear about their BTS & stuff!

So i guess i have to take a cab!

Sphenix
post Jun 7 2010, 12:11 AM

Hired........
3,705 posts

so how long does it takes for the airport express train to reach phayathai? vice versa..
tatsuyachiba
post Jun 7 2010, 09:00 AM

QUOTE(Sphenix @ Jun 7 2010, 12:11 AM)
so how long does it takes for the airport express train to reach phayathai? vice versa..
Read #519.
Sphenix
post Jun 7 2010, 09:14 AM

Hired........
3,705 posts

QUOTE(tatsuyachiba @ Jun 6 2010, 05:02 AM)

At BKK the station is underground. Journey takes around 20 mins.

So it is only 20mins? I'd be going during July, hopefully I could try it! rclxms.gif
DarkNite
post Jun 7 2010, 11:12 AM

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
11,058 posts

QUOTE(tatsuyachiba @ Jun 6 2010, 05:02 AM)
There is sign posted at the air rail link station that states the times:

stimix - can move this to 1st post?

This post has been edited by DarkNite: Jun 7 2010, 11:12 AM
aeiou228
post Jun 7 2010, 12:00 PM

5,871 posts

QUOTE(DarkNite @ Jun 7 2010, 11:12 AM)
stimix - can move this to 1st post?
Don't, it's only temporary till 12th august. Paste the below official web site in 1st post instead.
http://airportraillink.railway.co.th/en/index.html
joeylny
post Jun 7 2010, 03:11 PM

555 posts

I will be going bkk next week. My arrival time n departure time is just nice ..n i will try check out the train n take to phayatai.
But i might be staying in 2 places. khao san n silom..
Anybody know if its very far away from phayathai station?
antisushi
post Jun 8 2010, 01:20 PM

QUOTE(joeylny @ Jun 4 2010, 08:47 PM)
anybody went to pb valley winery in khao yai before?
dunno if its worth going..
2-3hours drive from bkk
I didn't go to the pb valley winery, but I went camping at the national park at Khao Yai, and also stayed a week in one of the resorts in Muak Lek area, near Khao Yai. I always visit Muak Lek whenever I go to Bangkok. It's a small town, but an excellent place to run away from hectic city life. I really love the town and the people. Easy to find halal food if u ask the locals and there's masjid too. The weather over there is cooler, but now is hot season so it's hot a bit but still cooler than Bangkok. A lot of fruits you can enjoy there. There's ATV (all-terrain vehicle) ride too. They serve nice beef steak and fresh ice cream and the nice ice cream mug that u can bring it back. Muak Lek is also famous for its currypuff (the locals also call it karipap).

Since I didn't track the topic much, just PM me if u like to ask more about the place. I'll be glad to help.

Cheers.

This post has been edited by antisushi: Jun 8 2010, 01:21 PM
chezzball
post Jun 9 2010, 11:15 AM

Cheese
1,542 posts

wow.. is it even safe to go to bangkok now? i heard central world sudah no more exist LOL
joeylny
post Jun 9 2010, 03:03 PM

555 posts

QUOTE(antisushi @ Jun 8 2010, 01:20 PM)
I didn't go to the pb valley winery, but I went camping at the national park at Khao Yai, and also stayed a week in one of the resorts in Muak Lek area, near Khao Yai. I always visit Muak Lek whenever I go to Bangkok. It's a small town, but an excellent place to run away from hectic city life. I really love the town and the people. Easy to find halal food if u ask the locals and there's masjid too. The weather over there is cooler, but now is hot season so it's hot a bit but still cooler than Bangkok. A lot of fruits you can enjoy there. There's ATV (all-terrain vehicle) ride too. They serve nice beef steak and fresh ice cream and the nice ice cream mug that u can bring it back. Muak Lek is also famous for its currypuff (the locals also call it karipap).

Since I didn't track the topic much, just PM me if u like to ask more about the place. I'll be glad to help.

Cheers.
hi
thanks for your feedback
I will pm u soon..
need to know which resort u stayed in muak lek n how to get there from bangkok.
teckhooi
post Jun 9 2010, 05:58 PM

3,135 posts

Sorry. How The Situation There?
joeylny
post Jun 10 2010, 03:08 AM

555 posts

QUOTE(teckhooi @ Jun 9 2010, 05:58 PM)
Sorry. How The Situation There?
i got to know some frens who stay in bangkok n they say everything is back to normal oredi..
lotsa sale everywhere kekeke good for us who is gonna go there to shop! rclxms.gif
n hotel rates were slashed 70% rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
rayfoo
post Jun 10 2010, 09:04 AM

2,564 posts

this is the timetable for the railway

This post has been edited by rayfoo: Jun 10 2010, 09:14 AM

joeylny
post Jun 10 2010, 03:36 PM

555 posts

QUOTE(rayfoo @ Jun 10 2010, 09:04 AM)
Thanks for the speedy update..
so its 20 mins interval.. did u board the train?
erm How long issit to get from airport to phayathai? 20 mins right?

teckhooi
post Jun 10 2010, 07:06 PM

3,135 posts

from airport to pataya?

bus?
Sphenix
post Jun 10 2010, 09:29 PM

Hired........
3,705 posts

QUOTE(rayfoo @ Jun 10 2010, 09:04 AM)

rclxms.gif great!!! Thank you very much!! rclxm9.gif thumbup.gif
MOMOchacha
post Jun 10 2010, 10:00 PM

1,949 posts

hi all, need u guys gv some infomation.
next year chinese new year will go bangkok with my family.
anybody can recommand me an apartment for 6 person?
ofcourse must near railway.thx you!
Winning11
post Jun 11 2010, 06:34 PM

283 posts

anyone going to the tiger temple or ayuthya?

which is better? and how d you guys go there (esp. the tiger temple)?

dun wan spend my whole trip as a bellboy for my gf shopping trip, haha!

129 Pages « < 25 26 27 28 29 > » Top

0.2991sec    0.71    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 11:37 AM