any latest news on the condition in Bkk? prefer to hear it from fellow LYNers who are there/ just came back.
Travel Bangkok V2
May 11 2010, 10:24 PM
283 posts Joined: Sep 2008 From: KL |
any latest news on the condition in Bkk? prefer to hear it from fellow LYNers who are there/ just came back.
May 11 2010, 10:41 PM
at least Platinum is open. but how about Central is still closed?
and how about BTS? any signs that show the protestors will disperse soon? tq. |
May 12 2010, 10:03 PM
» Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « thanks. with platinum + chatuchak, it is enuf for us actually. but it will be better if Central is there to complement it. haha! taking BTS as i still have the BTS card with me. and it is easier for me to plan the time of the journey in between. i guess it's time for me to change the currency to tk advantage of the weak currency and book Suk 11. haha! any reccomendations other than Suk 11? with the same range of price and near to BTS of course. Suk 11 is good enuf for me, but if there is better alternative, i'm all ears. Tq. |
May 13 2010, 10:11 PM
QUOTE(nutella @ May 13 2010, 12:47 PM) I heard alot of complaints of suk11 - mostly abt the rude staff there. i've stayed in Suk 11 b4. not a problem for me back then.English reviews: http://www.tripadvisor.com/Hotel_Review-g2...el-Bangkok.html Chinese reviews: http://www.backpackers.com.tw/forum/showthread.php?t=306421 But if u dun care abt the service, then should be ok QUOTE(vermins @ May 13 2010, 08:52 PM) Just a warning to those thats in BKK right now. Basically I live at the ratchaprasong district, where the protests is going on right now. The govt as of today at 6pm has blocked off all access to the area. I've already heard and sounded like (was also reported/rumored but unconfirmed yet) gunshots and explosions. So please stay away from the area. Stay away from crowds. And don't go near anyone wearing red shirts. |
May 16 2010, 10:02 PM
May 17 2010, 10:34 PM
i'm goin from 23 - 27june. hope the situation is getting better ASAP!
Jun 11 2010, 06:34 PM
anyone going to the tiger temple or ayuthya?
which is better? and how d you guys go there (esp. the tiger temple)? dun wan spend my whole trip as a bellboy for my gf shopping trip, haha! |
Jun 12 2010, 10:58 PM
QUOTE(teckhooi @ Jun 12 2010, 03:08 PM) Hope can some tips from forumer here. I will be go bkk for 6 days. 1st day stay in pattaya. The rest at bkk. if you are ataking bus to pattaya, remember to take the 'blue express bus'. other buses are like a road trip to hell. i learnt it the hard way last year.Is that alright? We go bkk not just for shopping. But hope can visit other tourism spot. Will it be far if I travel fr bkk. Any good recommend travel agent? Might look for day land package. |
Jun 13 2010, 01:00 PM
QUOTE(teckhooi @ Jun 13 2010, 10:43 AM) take BTS to Ekamai station. there is a bus station there. go look for the blue express bus with the wording Bangkok-Pattayaonce you are there, ignore other bus operators. yes, they will bring you to pattaya, but it will take more than 3hrs to reach instead of just 2hr+. that was torturous, i tell you... Added on June 13, 2010, 1:04 pmoh wait, i've look back at my blog. the bus is in blue with white stripe in centre (the wording is in the white area). This post has been edited by Winning11: Jun 13 2010, 01:04 PM |
Jun 13 2010, 01:37 PM
Jun 14 2010, 10:30 PM
anyone who had make online reservations in Maxim's Inn? i've emailed them but so far no reply from them...
Jun 20 2010, 10:06 PM
QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Jun 20 2010, 04:21 PM) I just came back from Bangkok yesterday. is the railway link connected to phaya thai station? if so, then i will tk the rail instead of taking taxi since i stay close to BTS station.Got the chance to try out the Airport rail link free ride all the way from Suvarnabhumi airport to Phaya thai station. From Phaya Thai station, we took taxi to White Orchid Hotel at Yaowarat (China town) 77bh. Due to non peak season and lesser tourists, there was no need to haggle for taxi fare. All taxis we took used trip meter automatically but they will intentional take longer route instead of short one to your destination. One taxi driver we encounted played dumb with us, didn't know where is our hotel in Pratunam even though we showed him the printed google map. This stupid non English speaking taxi driver wasted our precious 1 hour time and taxi fare driving round and round Pratunam area looking for our hotel, Best Western Mayfair. For our return transfer to the airport, we asked the hotel to book the taxi for us at a flat rate of 400bh from Pratunam to airport. |
Jun 21 2010, 09:59 PM
Jun 22 2010, 10:35 PM
my turn to go Bkk tomorrow! woo hoo!
Jun 27 2010, 10:02 PM
just came back from Bkk. unfortunately, i di not have the chane to take the airport rail. as it is only open for a limited time on weekdays and it is not open on weekends...
Jun 27 2010, 11:40 PM
Jun 28 2010, 09:20 AM
QUOTE(Reimao @ Jun 25 2010, 07:58 PM) Hey fellow peeps, need your help here. u will not shop much, right? if yes, paragon and chatuchak will do. as for the temples in ayuttyha, just go for the main one lah (wat mahathat) for the famous buddha head. as others just look the same (aka ruins in angkor wat). haha!Im going along with 2 friends of mine backpacking this coming 30 June starting from Ho Chi Minh City Vietnam and up till Chiang Mai Thailand. Previously, we've wanted to stay around 4 days in BKK but after doing some researches we've decided to cut short by a day considering Siem Riep offers more attraction. I think So, tentatively we've decided to go few places and it would be great if you all can help me on arranging the shedule. Our trip to BKK would be Friday thru Monday and it seems like it would be packed in BKK around weekend? Which place is the best in terms of location and all. We intend to visit Damnoersaduk floating market, Siam paragon, Chatuchak, Pra Tu Nam market, Temple trip(maybe cuz by then we would be sick of temples aka Angkor Wat temples Your assistance is of great appreciation Thank you. but remember the journey to ayutthya takes around 1 1/2 hour (by van) and abit longer if by bus. better allocate some time for the journey. |
Jun 28 2010, 10:26 AM
QUOTE(Makakeke @ Jun 28 2010, 09:45 AM) Hi guys, a few questions. 1. taking at taxi will cost around 350bahts (including 80 baht toll) one way to nana area.1. I'll be arriving Bangkok with 6 of my friends (7 of us) and the hotel have arrange an airport transfer for us for 2100 thai baht. Our hotel is 35km away from the airport. So it works out about 300 bahts per person. Is it reasonable? 2. Any place to eat weird food like fried insects? 3. How long is the river cruise and how much does it cost? 4. Does Chinatown show any WC matches? At 9.30pm. Thanks. 2. hard to find but u will see some peddlars selling on the roadside. 3. not sure 4. you find that in bars/pubs/hotel cafes but i never see those mamak style projector in Chinatown or any part of Bkk... This post has been edited by Winning11: Jun 28 2010, 10:29 AM |
Jun 28 2010, 10:32 AM
Jun 28 2010, 11:20 AM