English Clubs Arsenal Street Talk, 10/3 03:45 ARS vs POR | FT: ARS 3-1 BUR

Itu_Dia_Man
post Feb 19 2010, 01:38 PM

220 posts

QUOTE(sigheart @ Feb 19 2010, 12:44 PM)
Sigh now Diaby had a medial knee ligament injury against Porto and will be out for quite awhile.  doh.gif

Almunia and Song back. Arshavin, Gallas and Eduardo still out.
It doesn't matter who is out. As long as Wenger keeps on turning a blind eye to his side's shortcomings, Arsenal can never rediscover their swagger of the old. It was beautiful and powerful during the Henry, Bergkamp era. Now only pretty stuff happens, no steel whatsoever.

Fabregas would have done the same like Porto did with the freekick. Plus, I did not hear Wenger complained when Henry was doing this like nobody's business.

This post has been edited by Itu_Dia_Man: Feb 19 2010, 01:41 PM
Vinci777
post Feb 19 2010, 02:26 PM

No Title
1,616 posts

QUOTE(super messi @ Feb 19 2010, 12:57 PM)
no way....he is a fantastic defender...wish wenger would sign him up...that type of player is what we really need...more spirit...he even played for juve when he got a fractured cheek bone or something..wearing a mask...he and vermy would go well together...a fighter..
Second that. With dat kind of killer look, he could scare strikers off tongue.gif

Well at least RVP dont have to face him cos dat fella confirm will be having trauma from dat tackle.

Use all of our remaining funds, get Buffon and Chielini from Juve, Chamakh on free den i guess we had all our weakness covered (i hope) biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by Vinci777: Feb 19 2010, 02:28 PM
noir7559
post Feb 19 2010, 02:36 PM

Take My Advice, I Don't Need It
592 posts

QUOTE(super messi @ Feb 19 2010, 12:57 PM)
no way....he is a fantastic defender...wish wenger would sign him up...that type of player is what we really need...more spirit...he even played for juve when he got a fractured cheek bone or something..wearing a mask...he and vermy would go well together...a fighter..
haha i couldn't agree more. Ask torres & villa bout how they feel facing chiello during euro 08 tongue.gif
TSkimhoong
post Feb 19 2010, 02:41 PM

5,154 posts

QUOTE(Itu_Dia_Man @ Feb 19 2010, 01:38 PM)
It doesn't matter who is out. As long as Wenger keeps on turning a blind eye to his side's shortcomings, Arsenal can never rediscover their swagger of the old. It was beautiful and powerful during the Henry, Bergkamp era. Now only pretty stuff happens, no steel whatsoever.

Fabregas would have done the same like Porto did with the freekick. Plus, I did not hear Wenger complained when Henry was doing this like nobody's business.

I believe most of us will feel okay if the freekick taker acknowledged the referee before taking it fast.

IINM, Henry did this before, but he verbally informed the referee first - correct me if I'm wrong though.

Anyway, the location of the freekick is "sensitive", the referee should had judged the situation more "rationally".
frankiejay
post Feb 19 2010, 02:54 PM

13 posts

Yeah, regarding the back-pass law, straight from the book under Law 12- Fouls and Misconduct

Indirect Free-Kick
An indirect free-kick is awarded to the opposing team if the goalkeeper, inside his own penalty area, commits any of the following four offences
1. controls the ball with his hands for more than six seconds before releasing it from his possession
2. touches the ball again with his hands after he has released it from his possession and before it has touched another player
3. touches the ball with his hands after it has been deliberately kicked to him by a team-mate
4. touches the ball with his hands after he has received it directly from a throw-in taken by a team-mate

First, the pass back to the goalkeeper must be with out a doubt deliberate in the eyes of the referee which most of us know
Second, the goalkeeper must touch the ball with his hands, again pretty straight forward.

The back-pass is only "re-set" if you will is when it touches another player.

Take these scenarios.
1. Goalkeeper belongs to RED team, defender on red team DELIBERATELY passes the ball back to his goalkeeper, the goalkeeper traps the ball at his feet for about 10 seconds, does multiple back-flips, does 20 push-ups next to the ball and has a sleep on the turf (the attacking team are losing 20-0). The goalkeeper wants to finish the match so he decides to flick the ball up with his foot and catch the ball to distribute it off to a team-mate. WHISTLE, BACK-PASS, INDIRECT FREE-KICK.

I would also possibly considering cautioning the goalkeeper, if not for unsporting behaviour and time wasting in the first instance doing the push-ups etc Smile but most likely for purposely trying to find a loop hole in the laws of the game by flicking the ball up with his foot.

2. Goalkeeper belongs to RED team, defender on red team DELIBERATELY passes the ball back to his goalkeeper, the goalkeeper is asleep but the attacking player is on his toes and looks to place a one-touch shot in the bottom corner of the goal. The attacker just gets a toe to it but is too ****y and it goes straight to the goalkeeper and he picks it up. NO BACK PASS, PLAY ON GOALKEEPER

That is how I see it

This post has been edited by frankiejay: Feb 19 2010, 03:02 PM
SUSlittle_mozart
post Feb 19 2010, 03:07 PM

391 posts

Sigh now Diaby had a medial knee ligament injury against Porto and will be out for quite awhile.  doh.gif

as long as almon & alex are available, less worries. + we play at home rclxms.gif
Quick`
post Feb 19 2010, 03:08 PM

735 posts

i forgot the porto match d lu
nothing much to say
blunder + lol goal
kinda pity fabianski, not that i like him..but i got nth againts him as well.

lost is a lost, thank god we got the away goal

hopefully we do better in the return leg

as for our injuries, also nth much to comment on this
so far for the past 3-4 seasons, we have nv complete a season without most of our players
sudah kuan liao....its all this unfortunate injury plague that made us look asthough we are thin in squad
but we are actually alright. not many people see this

we are the most consistent team in having team injuries. laugh.gif
id always say if we got our complete squad, competing for say 3/4 of the season without injuries
i always put our team on a 50-50 favorites to win the title, prob a lil bias

but just to bad, thats no the just way it is.
sunderland this week,id like 3 pts!
frankiejay
post Feb 19 2010, 03:10 PM

13 posts

I still think we will win the EPL tho. smile.gif
TSkimhoong
post Feb 19 2010, 03:11 PM

5,154 posts

QUOTE(frankiejay @ Feb 19 2010, 02:54 PM)

What are you trying to post? Is this quote your post or taken from elsewhere? At least, kindly brief us what it is smile.gif

Well, I believe most of us has no problem with the freekick given due to "back-pass". We are only frustrated by either (1) referee allowed a fast freekick even he wasn't been acknowledged by Porto players or (2) Fabianski / Arsenal players being naive and did not protect the space between the ball and our goal posts.
IcyDarling
post Feb 19 2010, 03:12 PM

1,372 posts

QUOTE(Vinci777 @ Feb 19 2010, 03:26 PM)
Second that. With dat kind of killer look, he could scare strikers off tongue.gif

Well at least RVP dont have to face him cos dat fella confirm will be having trauma from dat tackle.

Use all of our remaining funds, get Buffon and Chielini from Juve, Chamakh on free den i guess we had all our weakness covered (i hope) biggrin.gif
signing them is one thing, paying their wages is another = =

i always wondered, if it was arsenal who did the exact same thing to another team(lets just say, manchester united), would u guys agree with this act? i mean, like seriously the same as the way porto scored. Without even telling the referee he is going to take the IFK fast.

on the side note, arsenal was the better team. Both the goal was like a gift for Porto. The first goal was terrible. Its like basic goal-keeping to not stand at the middle when people cross, especially low crosses. Fabianski should have went to the side of the post.
frankiejay
post Feb 19 2010, 03:13 PM

13 posts

Here's the law, thats why it can be taken instantly, the referee raised him arm earlier.

The ball becomes in play as soon as it is touched, unless the kick was taken from within the kicking team's penalty area, in which case it is in play once it has passed completely out of the penalty area.

The referee signals that a free kick is indirect by raising one arm until the ball has been touched a second time or has gone out of play.

Source: Wiki

This post has been edited by frankiejay: Feb 19 2010, 03:21 PM
IcyDarling
post Feb 19 2010, 03:13 PM

1,372 posts

QUOTE(frankiejay @ Feb 19 2010, 04:13 PM)
I thought the referee already indicated its an indirect freekick and it can be taken instantly?
If im not mistaken, he carried his hand up, signalling that the free kick can be taken alrdy
frankiejay
post Feb 19 2010, 03:14 PM

13 posts

QUOTE(IcyDarling @ Feb 19 2010, 03:13 PM)
If im not mistaken, he carried his hand up, signalling that the free kick can be taken alrdy
Yup you're right.
chypher
post Feb 19 2010, 03:22 PM

859 posts

yea, it is indirect freekick but watch the goal one more time, you will see that sol campbell is trying to block the kick but the referee is blocking sol campbell from going to the ball.

I just don't get it why is the referee block our players.
Kimie
post Feb 19 2010, 03:32 PM

187 posts

Almunia - Mannn...must cross my fingers again.. doh.gif
Song - Yehaaaa... hope he had recovered enough and fit as 110% rclxms.gif
Arshavin, Gallas & Eduardo - Still out!! aisehh doh.gif

chypher,

bro i'm also don't understand why do the referee block Sol.. clearly Sol was sandwiched between Porto player and Ref.. vmad.gif

This post has been edited by Kimie: Feb 19 2010, 03:33 PM
rupart
post Feb 19 2010, 03:42 PM

421 posts

ditto Itu_Dia_Man...

with Sunderland...i think it's a draw...we dont have squad depth...those were the days with Bergkamp the creative and Henry/Ian Wright the finisher...Bendtner is like old time Kaba Diawara or Sylvian Wiltord...Eduardo still phobia after injury...but he had striker rate of scoring before injury..

Edin Dzeko? Hmm...strikers have to be consistent ...now Wolfsburg lying low in league...compared to last year's glory...

we need some established striker...not strikers to be...Chamakh also i doubt...he is not top scorer or what...neither his Internation stat have tat 2:1 ratio....

hmmmm

sOuLx
post Feb 19 2010, 03:48 PM

Ingenieur (Ir.)
1,358 posts

so david villa is the choice?
if his price tag around arshavin price, sure AW would already bought him.huhu
buzzfizz
post Feb 19 2010, 03:52 PM

158 posts

Isnt the Villa and Silva rumored going to Man U?
frankiejay
post Feb 19 2010, 03:54 PM

13 posts

QUOTE(buzzfizz @ Feb 19 2010, 03:52 PM)
Isnt the Villa and Silva rumored going to Man U?
And Liverpool.
sOuLx
post Feb 19 2010, 03:55 PM

Ingenieur (Ir.)
1,358 posts

and every big club in europe.

118 Pages « < 21 22 23 24 25 > » Top

0.0286sec    1.00    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 01:45 PM