Public Mutual v2, PB/Public series

xuzen
post Mar 1 2011, 02:56 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(alexkos @ Mar 1 2011, 02:00 PM)
hi guys im new to investment (real, study book got la). I went to public bank and was looking for a retirement plan, then he showed me unit trust.

I asked for guaranteed rate of return like an endowment plan for my retirement, i'm looking for 7~8% compound interest,

Let me know if anyone knows Public bank offers such plan.

I understand unit trust nature as a high risk high return mechanism, but I'm a conservative investor. PM me if you have info. or post here.
Endowment plan is down the road kid...from an insurance company. You've knocked on the wrong door, sonny.

Endowment's usual IRR is in the region of 3-4% p.a. Wrong product if you're looking for 7-8% rtn.

If you are conservative and looking for 7- 8%,

then...

take a high beta fund with volatility >20 %SD percentile it to abt 50% mix it with 50% low beta fund such as bond with volatility 3%% SD you might get a low/comfortable beta around 10-15% SD with a rtn of 7-8% . Mix and match with it until your happy. (If you think I am talking nonsense...)

then...

just buy a balanced fund; sit back & enjoy the journey to retirement.

Xuzen
buylowsellhigh
post Mar 1 2011, 03:06 PM

95 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Mar 1 2011, 02:56 PM)
Endowment plan is down the road kid...from an insurance company. You've knocked on the wrong door, sonny.

Endowment's usual IRR is in the region of 3-4% p.a. Wrong product if you're looking for 7-8% rtn.

If you are conservative and looking for  7- 8%,

then...

take a high beta fund with volatility >20 %SD percentile it to abt 50% mix it with 50% low beta fund such as bond with volatility 3%% SD you might get a low/comfortable beta around 10-15% SD with a rtn of 7-8% . Mix and match with it until your happy. (If you think I am talking nonsense...)

then...

just buy a balanced fund; sit back & enjoy the journey to retirement.

Xuzen
Absolutely. As an example only, something like 20-30% equity fund and 70-80% bond fund. And maybe during a bear market, go 100% bond fund if you bother, or not.
alexkos
post Mar 1 2011, 03:52 PM

2,275 posts

sorry i visit the wrong place. so hong leong 'assurance' offers the thing I want.

so if im looking for retirement plan, PB unit trust is not suitable for me ? I need 10 year commitment with 7~8% return. I understand being risk adverse the rate I get is only 5% (bond), but I'm still trying to search for it.

PS: I want a guaranteed rate of return, not as volatile as the unit trust =/ past performance is not an indicator for future price? hahah

This post has been edited by alexkos: Mar 1 2011, 03:59 PM
rkg38
post Mar 2 2011, 08:18 AM

145 posts

QUOTE(alexkos @ Mar 1 2011, 03:52 PM)
sorry i visit the wrong place. so hong leong 'assurance' offers the thing I want.

so if im looking for retirement plan, PB unit trust is not suitable for me ? I need 10 year commitment with 7~8% return. I understand being risk adverse the rate I get is only 5% (bond), but I'm still trying to search for it.

PS: I want a guaranteed rate of return, not as volatile as the unit trust =/ past performance is not an indicator for future price? hahah
not really the wrong place...u can build up ur retirement plan at unit trust...
but if u want the GUARANTEED, then u r really into the wrong place...hehe... tongue.gif

This post has been edited by rkg38: Mar 2 2011, 08:19 AM
SUSDavid83
post Mar 2 2011, 08:44 AM

52,874 posts

Public Mutual emerges as the Biggest Winner for 8th consecutive year

Public Bank’s wholly-owned subsidiary, Public Mutual bagged nine awards out of 32 awards, including the most prestigious “Best Overall Fund Group” award at the Edge-Lipper Malaysia Fund Awards for 2011, held at the Kuala Lumpur Convention Centre on 28 February 2011. This is the 8th consecutive year Public Mutual has emerged as the biggest winner at the annual awards event.

Public Mutual’s Chairman Tan Sri Dato’ Sri Dr. Teh Hong Piow expressed pride at the outstanding achievement despite uncertainties in 2010. “These awards reflect Public Mutual’s commitment in continuously delivering top value as well as meeting the diverse needs of our unitholders,” he said.

By winning these awards Public Mutual has to-date received a total of 169 industry awards. Tan Sri Teh dedicated these awards to Public Mutual’s Board of Directors, management, unitholders, unit trust consultants and staff for their unwavering support, loyalty and trust over the years.

The nine awards won by Public Mutual are:

No | Fund / Company | Category
1 | Public Mutual Berhad | Best Overall Fund Group
2 | Public SmallCap Fund | Equity Malaysia Small and Mid Caps | 3 years
3 | PB Asia Equity Fund | Equity Asia Pacific | 3 years
4 | Public Far-East Select Fund | Equity Asia Pacific Ex Japan | 5 years
5 | Public SmallCap Fund | Equity Malaysia Small and Mid Caps | 5 years
6 | Public Islamic Bond Fund | Bond Malaysian Ringgit – Islamic | 5 years
7 | Public Bond Fund | Bond Malaysian Ringgit | 10 years
8 | Public SmallCap Fund | Equity Malaysia Small and Mid Caps | 10 years
9 | Public Ittikal Fund | Equity Malaysia – Islamic | 10 years

Public Mutual is Malaysia’s largest private unit trust company with 84 funds under management. It has over 2,380,000 accountholders and as at 31 January, 2011, the total net asset value of the funds managed by the company was RM40.93 billion

URL: http://www.publicmutual.com.my/page.aspx?n...rls_110228_1400
nujikabane
post Mar 2 2011, 08:44 PM

United We Stand
3,212 posts

I am interested in investing in unit trust, but I have a few questions.

[1] Is EPF Tabung 2 can be taken up fully to invest in unit trust?

[2] What other charges are incurred when buying/selling the unit trust?

Please clarify, thanks!
cheahcw2003
post Mar 2 2011, 10:36 PM

5,379 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Mar 2 2011, 08:44 AM)
The nine awards won by Public Mutual are:

No | Fund / Company | Category
1 | Public Mutual Berhad | Best Overall Fund Group
2 | Public SmallCap Fund | Equity Malaysia Small and Mid Caps | 3 years
3 | PB Asia Equity Fund | Equity Asia Pacific | 3 years
4 | Public Far-East Select Fund | Equity Asia Pacific Ex Japan | 5 years
5 | Public SmallCap Fund | Equity Malaysia Small and Mid Caps | 5 years
6 | Public Islamic Bond Fund | Bond Malaysian Ringgit – Islamic | 5 years
7 | Public Bond Fund | Bond Malaysian Ringgit | 10 years
8 | Public SmallCap Fund | Equity Malaysia Small and Mid Caps | 10 years
9 | Public Ittikal Fund | Equity Malaysia – Islamic | 10 years

i read this one also, but then if u notice, P M loose out on the shorter term catagory, like the 1-3 years prizes. Is that because some other mutual funds already overtook P M?
kenny5978
post Mar 3 2011, 11:48 AM

164 posts

QUOTE(nujikabane @ Mar 2 2011, 08:44 PM)
I am interested in investing in unit trust, but I have a few questions.

[1] Is EPF Tabung 2 can be taken up fully to invest in unit trust?

[2] What other charges are incurred when buying/selling the unit trust?

Please clarify, thanks!
you can only take out account 1 money.
Calculation is: (RM in account 1 - Basic) x 20%
utconsultant
post Mar 4 2011, 11:31 AM

Hi Jutamind, I can send Public Islamic Bond Fund historical NAV to you. Please send your email to me: utconsultant@gmail.com

jutamind
post Mar 4 2011, 07:37 PM

2,429 posts

QUOTE(utconsultant @ Mar 4 2011, 11:31 AM)
Hi Jutamind, I can send Public Islamic Bond Fund historical NAV to you. Please send your email to me: utconsultant@gmail.com
thanks for the offer. dont need it anymore.

SUSDavid83
post Mar 5 2011, 12:13 AM

52,874 posts

Dear Unitholder, We are pleased to attach the market wrap and bond market review for the week/fortnight ended 25 February 2011 for your information. Regards Customer Service e-mail proclaimer This e-mail and any attachment is intended for the addressee(s) only and may contain information that is legally privileged and confidential. If you are not the intended recipient, you are hereby notified that any dissemination, distribution or copying of this communication and its contents is strictly prohibited. If you have received this email in error, please notify us immediately by return email or our hotline 036207 5000 and delete the document. This communication has not been transmitted via a private or secure link or in encrypted form and is therefore subject to the usual hazards of Internet communications, nor can it be guaranteed that this communication has not been the subject of unauthorised interception or modification.
cheahcw2003
post Mar 7 2011, 08:41 PM

5,379 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Feb 19 2011, 01:14 PM)
Sharpe ratio for past 3 year period for 
i) PB Islamic Bond (PBIBF) = (7.24 - 2.86)/2.70 = 1.62
ii) Public Islamic Select Bond Fund (PISBF) = (4.67 - 2.86)/1.80 = 1.01

The higher the ratio the more risk adjusted better performing the fund.

So PBIBF is a good one that is still open for subscription. Kindly take a number and queue up at your nearest Public Bank to subscribe.

Xuzen
SO Xuzen, hv u invested in PBIBF?
xuzen
post Mar 8 2011, 12:07 AM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(cheahcw2003 @ Mar 7 2011, 08:41 PM)
SO Xuzen, hv u invested in PBIBF?
No. Since I am an agent of PBMutual, PBIBF will not give me any commission, it is not justified for me to go PBIBF.

Xuzen
SUSDavid83
post Mar 10 2011, 08:41 PM

52,874 posts

Public Bank's new fund to invest in mid-to large-cap stocks in Asia Pacific

Public Bank is launching a new fund, PB Asia Pacific Enterprises Fund (PBAPENTF) on 8 March 2011. PBAPENTF is an equity fund designed to allow investors to capitalise on the long-term growth potential of a diversified portfolio of companies with market capitalisation of US$1 billion and above in domestic and Asia Pacific markets. PBAPENTF is managed by Public Bank’s wholly-owned subsidiary, Public Mutual.

Public Mutual’s Chief Executive Officer Ms. Yeoh Kim Hong said PBAPENTF provides investors with the opportunity to invest in mid-to-large corporations which are better positioned to benefit from the resilient activities in the Asia Pacific region due to their financial strength and dominance in their respective industries. As such, these companies tend to have leading positions and established market shares which will enable them to perform well during favourable and challenging market conditions.

“After a strong rebound in 2009, global and regional equity markets continued their uptrend in 2010 amidst improving economic activities. Despite the recent spike in oil prices, regional equity markets are expected to remain underpinned by reasonable valuations and resilient economic growth prospects over the medium-to long-term. Although monetary policies of selected markets are anticipated to tighten in 2011, real interest rates are envisaged to remain low to sustain investment and consumption expenditure,” she added.

To achieve increased diversification, PBAPENTF may invest up to 98% of its net asset value (NAV) in selected Asia Pacific markets which include South Korea, China, Taiwan, Hong Kong, Philippines, Indonesia, Singapore, Thailand, India, Australia and other permitted countries. The equity exposure of PBAPENTF will generally range from 75% to 98% of its NAV. PBAPENTF is suitable for investors who wish to participate in the long-term growth prospects of a diversified portfolio of mid-to large-cap stocks listed on domestic and regional markets.

The initial issue price of PBAPENTF is RM0.2500 per unit during the 21-day initial offer period from 8 to 28 March 2011. The minimum initial investment for the fund is RM1,000 and the minimum additional investment is RM100. During the offer period, there will be special promotional service charges as low as 5.00% of the initial issue price per unit. Investors who opt for Direct Debit Instruction with PBAPENTF during the offer period will enjoy a special promotional service charge of 5.25% of NAV per unit for as long as the Direct Debit is active. Terms and conditions apply.

Interested investors can contact Public Bank’s unit trust consultant at any branch nationwide or call Public Bank’s free-phone at 1800-22-9999 during normal working hours.

Public Mutual is Malaysia’s largest private unit trust company with 85 funds under management. It has over 2,380,000 accountholders and as at 31 January 2011, the total net asset value of the funds managed by the company was RM40.93 billion.

URL: http://www.publicmutual.com.my/page.aspx?n...rls_110310_1400
Akane Soma
post Mar 11 2011, 06:07 PM

308 posts

Anyone investing in PB Asia Pacific Enterprises Fund (PBAPENTF)? Or should we wait after the offer period over? Since today got earthquake hit Japan somemore not sure whether to dip myself in it. Any comments?
guanteik
post Mar 11 2011, 09:49 PM

2,659 posts

@Akane Soma
My take is always wait for the promotional period to over and especially during such hot times wink.gif
SUSDavid83
post Mar 14 2011, 06:49 PM

52,874 posts

Dear Unitholder, We are pleased to attach the market wrap for the week ended 4 March 2011 for your information. Regards Customer Service e-mail proclaimer This e-mail and any attachment is intended for the addressee(s) only and may contain information that is legally privileged and confidential. If you are not the intended recipient, you are hereby notified that any dissemination, distribution or copying of this communication and its contents is strictly prohibited. If you have received this email in error, please notify us immediately by return email or our hotline 036207 5000 and delete the document. This communication has not been transmitted via a private or secure link or in encrypted form and is therefore subject to the usual hazards of Internet communications, nor can it be guaranteed that this communication has not been the subject of unauthorised interception or modification.
rstusa
post Mar 19 2011, 03:05 PM

1,798 posts

UT in PM can do like FD with flexible month tenure like 1 month, 2 months or 3 months?
SUSDavid83
post Mar 19 2011, 05:41 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(rstusa @ Mar 19 2011, 03:05 PM)
UT in PM can do like FD with flexible month tenure like 1 month, 2 months or 3 months?
How flexible you want? You intend to sell (cash out) even though you're not in profit?
rstusa
post Mar 19 2011, 09:51 PM

1,798 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Mar 19 2011, 06:41 PM)
How flexible you want? You intend to sell (cash out) even though you're not in profit?
Sorry, I thought UT like FD with interest return, now i realized UT like share market calculate by unit price.

Besides, I plan to invest POGF, the latest fund. What you had on mind?

126 Pages « < 54 55 56 57 58 > » Top

0.0343sec    0.32    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 09:02 PM