Philosophy Feng SHui
Jan 17 2010, 08:43 PM, updated 16y ago
Show posts by this member only | Post
550 posts Joined: Dec 2008 |
IS there a logic behind feng Shui?? oR it was just superstitious?? Is it real??? Is there a science behind it?? Most importantly, Could u philosophize feng Shui???
I am so curious |
Jan 17 2010, 08:59 PM
89 posts Joined: Jun 2007 |
believe got, no believe dun hab. haha simple and ez
Jan 17 2010, 09:46 PM
434 posts Joined: May 2005 From: Behind you O.O |
it's said that feng shui is a form of psycho-physics(i don't know the term but this is what i remember)
basically it's the use of stuff around you to affect your psychology subconsciously. |
Jan 17 2010, 10:05 PM
1,468 posts Joined: Nov 2004 From: Earth |
Basically it is a very very expensive placebo.
Jan 17 2010, 10:08 PM
992 posts Joined: Aug 2006 From: Bolehland |
Ask Joey Yap or Lillian Too
Jan 17 2010, 10:53 PM
6,914 posts Joined: Apr 2007 |
its about how the environment affects you.....
basically its common sense plus some superstition |
Jan 18 2010, 12:28 AM
685 posts Joined: Apr 2007 From: malaysia |
expensive way to add clutter
Jan 18 2010, 10:03 AM
1,192 posts Joined: Jan 2009 From: Malaysia |
it depends on you.
Jan 18 2010, 10:19 AM
976 posts Joined: Jun 2009 |
It's an ancient Chinese statistics about how things around you can affect you, but no official/systematic recording were really being written down, only observations.
For those who don't believe it, don't trash it until you have ample knowledge on reading and understanding ancient Chinese writings. Go learn it for yourself and see if you can understand it. I'm not fluent in ancient Chinese writings, but from what I understand, there are some truth behind it. Nowadays people tend to bash Feng Shui simply because they don't understand it and lack of scientific proofs, but most importantly TOO MANY BLOODY LIARS CHEATING PEOPLE AROUND WITH HALF-ASS KNOWLEDGE IN FENG SHUI. Nuf said... |
Jan 18 2010, 12:55 PM
10,429 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
same like religion...also have people abusing it for their own agendas like those extremist.
Jan 18 2010, 01:01 PM
20 posts Joined: Apr 2009 |
wanna knoe about feng shui??go genting area..esp casino place...see a lot feng shui designed 2 eat all our $$$..u will see a lot mirror above casino & mirror everywhere...
got reason y fengshui can make us gamble until lose $$$ de.. |
Jan 19 2010, 12:24 PM
10,429 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
The gambling system designed in casino is such that the banker always have higher odds. Therefore, overall banker will always win. This is nothing to do with fengshui or devil worship.
If need to depend on fengshui for casinos to make money then places like las vegas will be gone already. Fengshui is more psychological than science and magic. |
Jan 21 2010, 09:02 PM
243 posts Joined: Nov 2009 |
something that cause a magnetic field that can make someone more positive...eg.visiber
Jan 21 2010, 09:25 PM
4,027 posts Joined: Oct 2004 |
QUOTE(abubin @ Jan 19 2010, 12:24 PM) The gambling system designed in casino is such that the banker always have higher odds. Therefore, overall banker will always win. This is nothing to do with fengshui or devil worship. gambler are gambler because they dont understand odds, the house however have it all figure out, all the odds have been prearranged, of cause there is people will win big from time to time, but if they keep on playing the odds will take over and house will surely win.If need to depend on fengshui for casinos to make money then places like las vegas will be gone already. Fengshui is more psychological than science and magic. the fengshui today is full of con man giving BS advice for large fee, there are some part fengshui that i believe work because it basiclly good design for house to face some direction to get the morning sun and have good air circulation, but most of the other stuff or just BS add in by con man to make money. Added on January 21, 2010, 9:30 pm QUOTE(winniebb @ Jan 18 2010, 01:01 PM) wanna knoe about feng shui??go genting area..esp casino place...see a lot feng shui designed 2 eat all our $$$..u will see a lot mirror above casino & mirror everywhere... casino are design to keep you playing, the design will no make u lose money, the game itself will take all your moneygot reason y fengshui can make us gamble until lose $$$ de.. QUOTE From a design/experience perspective, casinos are fascinating places: 1) There are no windows. Gamblers have no idea whether it’s light or dark or sunny or rainy outside. 2) There are no clocks. Dealers are forbidden from wearing watches. Time becomes meaningless. 3) There’s intentionally poor navigation. They are built like mazes meaning it’s usually tough to find a way out. 4) There’s a constant barrage of noises. Slot machines spin, games ding and dong, coins hit metal, there’s the pitter patter of the people running the games, etc. Many of these sounds, like the ringing of the slots, is there to give you a false sense of hope (“If all of those bells are ringing, somebody must be winning!”). 5) Loose slot machines — ones that pay out more often — are placed near highly trafficked areas (e.g. the aisles, change booth, restaurants, etc.) so more people witness winners. 6) There’s constant research on all aspects of the sensory experience: scents, colors, interior design, and the angles of lights (e.g. light that hits people’s foreheads is a no-no because it apparently drains gamblers of energy). 7) The attire (or lack thereof) of everyone who works there contributes to the atmosphere (e.g. dealers in uniforms, pit bosses in suits, servers in skimpy outfits, etc.) 8) Free booze is delivered to gamblers without them having to get up. 9) It’s not a passive experience. Gamblers are made to feel like they influence the process. And when a gambler feels they can affect the outcome — by throwing the die, choosing a roulette number, or deciding when to split at blackjack — a feeling of control develops that keeps them gambling longer. 10) There’s a constant rhythm. Everything happens at regular intervals. Dice are rolled. Cards are dealt. Wheels are spun. Bets are placed. And then it happens again. (Interesting note: Casinos have slowly phased out deck shuffling by installing automatic shufflers. Gamblers used to get a break while dealers reshuffled. Now it’s a constant flow of cards which increases the number of hands per hour — and that means more money for the house.) 11) There are players cards which get frequent gamblers free nights, food, and room upgrades. 12) There’s a palpable energy in the room. Money’s on the line. It’s a big night out. People are paying attention. Everyone’s engaged. 13) Some say casinos are pumped full of oxygen so gamblers feel more awake and energetic. (Others say this is just a myth that, if true, would result in a tremendous fire hazard.) 14) The funnel pours one way. There are thousands of places to hand over money to the casino. Every craps table, blackjack table, roulette wheel, and slot machine will take your cash. Yet there’s only one place to get paid out in bills: the cashier window. And to get there, you’ve got to pass all those other places that want to take your money. The result: a completely immersive and compelling customer experience. It’s no wonder some people don’t know when to stop. This post has been edited by robertngo: Jan 21 2010, 09:30 PM |
Jan 22 2010, 09:25 AM
369 posts Joined: Apr 2005 |
QUOTE(abubin @ Jan 19 2010, 12:24 PM) The gambling system designed in casino is such that the banker always have higher odds. Therefore, overall banker will always win. This is nothing to do with fengshui or devil worship. Yup agreed... Casino depends on higher odds to win customersIf need to depend on fengshui for casinos to make money then places like las vegas will be gone already. Fengshui is more psychological than science and magic. Customers who believe in fengsui in the end will still lose to casino |
Feb 21 2010, 09:44 PM
785 posts Joined: Mar 2007 From: Kuala Lumpur |
QUOTE(communist892003 @ Jan 17 2010, 08:43 PM) IS there a logic behind feng Shui?? oR it was just superstitious?? Is it real??? Is there a science behind it?? Most importantly, Could u philosophize feng Shui??? yeah, i'm really really interested to know as well. I am so curious nowadays even foreigner also learn feng shui. TV programme on feng shui, books/magazines on feng shui everywhere etc etc. i'm sure it "may" work for someone right? agreed with some of the forumers that alot of so called "feng shui sifu" BS around, hope that some forumers that experience "changes" through feng shui can share in this thread. |
Feb 22 2010, 11:56 AM
2,703 posts Joined: May 2007 From: where you need wings and awakened to reach |
Feb 22 2010, 01:05 PM
155 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Feng Shui have been around for more than 5000 years.
As long as we are still living in this earth. Feng- (Wind) Shui (Water) is de most important element in human kind. So it's not superstitious belief coz it's already Scientifically proven on how a Good Feng Shui changes on someone health and wealth. If u guys really wanna know more, of course, hiring a Master will be expensive. BUT there are always a cheaper way, JUST buy a book a learn it by yourself slowly. And yes, forget about LILIAN books...she is more focus on preaching feng shui. Get those books from HK Famous Feng Shui master, Mr. So Man Foong or our local boy, Mr Joey Yap. They are more practically explain on how to improved one person fengshui. Cheers and gong Xi Fa Cai |
Feb 22 2010, 01:16 PM
2,703 posts Joined: May 2007 From: where you need wings and awakened to reach |
QUOTE(shakiraa @ Feb 21 2010, 10:44 PM) yeah, i'm really really interested to know as well. I do believe this... feng shui is just another way of looking at natural phenomenon... where science is another angle too....nowadays even foreigner also learn feng shui. TV programme on feng shui, books/magazines on feng shui everywhere etc etc. i'm sure it "may" work for someone right? agreed with some of the forumers that alot of so called "feng shui sifu" BS around, hope that some forumers that experience "changes" through feng shui can share in this thread. I used to think feng shui was BS.. till I read about the four elements in Buddhism.... Earth, fire, water & wind where earth is symbol of solid, inertia, weight, soft, hard etc fire is heat, energy etc.... water is fluidity of things... (water, wind, blood, etc) wind is movement of air |
Feb 22 2010, 01:20 PM
4,027 posts Joined: Oct 2004 |
QUOTE(zoakies @ Feb 22 2010, 01:05 PM) Feng Shui have been around for more than 5000 years. which scientific study can you provide to prove feng shui have anything other than placebo effect?As long as we are still living in this earth. Feng- (Wind) Shui (Water) is de most important element in human kind. So it's not superstitious belief coz it's already Scientifically proven on how a Good Feng Shui changes on someone health and wealth. If u guys really wanna know more, of course, hiring a Master will be expensive. BUT there are always a cheaper way, JUST buy a book a learn it by yourself slowly. And yes, forget about LILIAN books...she is more focus on preaching feng shui. Get those books from HK Famous Feng Shui master, Mr. So Man Foong or our local boy, Mr Joey Yap. They are more practically explain on how to improved one person fengshui. Cheers and gong Xi Fa Cai |
| Change to: | 0.0383sec
5 queries
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 03:04 PM |