N'gog is the worst striker I ever seen.. hopefully he will get better soon.
English Clubs Liverpool Football Club- The Kop Talks 2010, Lille next!
Feb 8 2010, 11:17 AM
174 posts Joined: Aug 2008 |
N'gog is the worst striker I ever seen.. hopefully he will get better soon.
Feb 8 2010, 11:24 AM
1 posts Joined: Feb 2009 |
NGOG = boNGOG = boNGOK....
it's related each other.. hmmmm |
Feb 8 2010, 11:28 AM
174 posts Joined: Aug 2008 |
don't know what was our scout saw in him..
Feb 8 2010, 11:39 AM
QUOTE(sahathai @ Feb 8 2010, 11:28 AM) actually ngog got talent and potential.. but he is not ready yet to pay full match for us.. he stil young n inexperience, somemore most of our games is crucial n pressure.. i think best way for ngog is make him a supersub becos he's good on that job.. revert kuyt back to striker as solution for Torres absence... there's no way for rafa to put 2 striker in his tactical and he will never do that, and that's the problem now.. |
Feb 8 2010, 11:42 AM
6,112 posts Joined: Sep 2006 From: Earth |
An absolutely crucial 3 points in our quest for a 4th placed finished. Our rivals for that spot did us a favour by either losing or drawing.
A cagy affair by and large and I feared the worst when Kyrgiakos foolishly lunged with two feet at Fellainin with his studs showing. Didn't matter that the Belgian stomped on his leg, the rules are clear on this and if you go in with both feet, studs showing, you're going to get a red. The derby lived up to it's reputation with a red card being shown every 2 games. My only regret is that Cahill didn't get his head kicked in, the way Kuyt almost did when unibrow swung his foot into his face after the whistle had gone. Good to see Agger come to the fore after Anichibe shoved Stevie in the chest. Reina was also spotted amongst those in the scuffle. I don't condone violence but I still think it's a positive because it showed solodarity amongst the lads. All in all I think our star performers were Dirk Kuyt who worked tirelessly upfront making a nuisance of himself at every opportunity, Mascherano being himself (anyone remember the two important tackles he made in the box in the space of 10 seconds?) and Insua for keeping Pienaar rather quiet. In general I think the whole backline has to be given credit for keeping Everton at bay especially after Kyrgiakos got sent off and we had to play for just under and hour with 10 men. In contrast, Maxi Rodriguez was invisible and I'm surprised he wasn't taken out sooner. Many were excited when we signed him but let's put things in perspective. He had trouble getting into the first 11 at Atletico who aren't playing particularly well at the moment. Can't help but wonder if sales of the i-pad would be affected if they got Maxi as an ambassador. |
Feb 8 2010, 12:14 PM
QUOTE(Duke Red @ Feb 8 2010, 11:42 AM) An absolutely crucial 3 points in our quest for a 4th placed finished. Our rivals for that spot did us a favour by either losing or drawing. no no dun judge maxi too early pls... pls be noted that maxi is just got his 1st full match against everton.. but still able to perform well with some quality passing n keeping ball possesion well.. and same goes to aqua as well.. both of them got their own quality to be suit with our playing style..A cagy affair by and large and I feared the worst when Kyrgiakos foolishly lunged with two feet at Fellainin with his studs showing. Didn't matter that the Belgian stomped on his leg, the rules are clear on this and if you go in with both feet, studs showing, you're going to get a red. The derby lived up to it's reputation with a red card being shown every 2 games. My only regret is that Cahill didn't get his head kicked in, the way Kuyt almost did when unibrow swung his foot into his face after the whistle had gone. Good to see Agger come to the fore after Anichibe shoved Stevie in the chest. Reina was also spotted amongst those in the scuffle. I don't condone violence but I still think it's a positive because it showed solodarity amongst the lads. All in all I think our star performers were Dirk Kuyt who worked tirelessly upfront making a nuisance of himself at every opportunity, Mascherano being himself (anyone remember the two important tackles he made in the box in the space of 10 seconds?) and Insua for keeping Pienaar rather quiet. In general I think the whole backline has to be given credit for keeping Everton at bay especially after Kyrgiakos got sent off and we had to play for just under and hour with 10 men. In contrast, Maxi Rodriguez was invisible and I'm surprised he wasn't taken out sooner. Many were excited when we signed him but let's put things in perspective. He had trouble getting into the first 11 at Atletico who aren't playing particularly well at the moment. Can't help but wonder if sales of the i-pad would be affected if they got Maxi as an ambassador. to me maxi is a good player, he understand gerrard well although that is only his 1st full debut.. he is not invinsible, watch the replay back after this and see how his 1-2 passing with gerrard (end up with Ngog's poor wide shot) shows how quality he is.. give Maxi n Aqua some times and they will pay us back with a gud performance after this.. |
Feb 8 2010, 12:27 PM
QUOTE(azrulkamal240 @ Feb 8 2010, 12:14 PM) no no dun judge maxi too early pls... pls be noted that maxi is just got his 1st full match against everton.. but still able to perform well with some quality passing n keeping ball possesion well.. and same goes to aqua as well.. both of them got their own quality to be suit with our playing style.. On the contrary, this isn't a judgement call :-to me maxi is a good player, he understand gerrard well although that is only his 1st full debut.. he is not invinsible, watch the replay back after this and see how his 1-2 passing with gerrard (end up with Ngog's poor wide shot) shows how quality he is.. give Maxi n Aqua some times and they will pay us back with a gud performance after this.. QUOTE In contrast, Maxi Rodriguez was invisible and I'm surprised he wasn't taken out sooner. Many were excited when we signed him but let's put things in perspective. He had trouble getting into the first 11 at Atletico who aren't playing particularly well at the moment Rather, it's both and observation and a fact. I personally feel people were getting a little too excited and expectations need to be managed. Some posters have a tendency to envision every player coming to the club to he our messiah. When I say "invisible" it isn't meant to be taken literally. Honestly, what else did he contribute with the exception of that 1-2 play you are referring to? Just because I felt he did nothing, doesn't mean I'm calling him a lemon. If I were to rate his performance in that game, I'd give him a 5 simply because he was by and large, unnoticed and seldom involved. Here's a rating from goal.com QUOTE Maxi Rodriguez - 6 - Saw precious little of the ball in the first half, but grew in stature after the break.http://www.goal.com/en-india/news/2642/player-ratings/2010/02/06/1778894/premier-league-player-ratings-liverpool-1-0-everton Guess I'm not as generous. This post has been edited by Duke Red: Feb 8 2010, 12:32 PM |
Feb 8 2010, 01:36 PM
4,503 posts Joined: Jun 2008 From: The Far Away Venus Status: Being Insua-fied |
QUOTE(cherroy @ Feb 7 2010, 10:21 PM) Insua did make a vital mistake during second half, that he slipped when man-marked Everton striker just outside penalty box, which let Everton striker free room to shoot, which luckily Agger covered back fast enough which block off/deflected/tamed the shot/cross which Reina manage to scoop off. Yes, he did make a mistake or two.Overall, he was great.The fact that we are able keep a clean sheet with 10men speak for itself.Insua did his part.Not meant to pick bone from egg, but it did make a scary moment for Liverpool supporters. May be down to inexperience. Overall, Insua and all defenders are doing a good job and we see glimse of determination in the match, which is lacking for months, I see some old Gerrad back. The match is more like battle instead of football. In this match, we see some determination and battling performance, which is good, but still we don't see a lot good football, but a lot of time derby match is like that. With 10 men, and only Kuyt is only one Liverpool player in front of goal or six yard box, Kuyt still manage to score despite lacking height which I think Moyes will be furious about it, somemore Tim Howard should claim the ball as well. My view only. It is actually a surprise goal, come with nowhere with lot of Everton player to defend the goal and lacking Liverpool players to attack the corner. I actually like the part where he stole the ball off Donovan. Added on February 8, 2010, 1:38 pm QUOTE(sahathai @ Feb 8 2010, 11:17 AM) QUOTE(azrulkamal240 @ Feb 8 2010, 11:24 AM) He is good for someone of his age.Maybe not yet ready for starting games but he is definitely one of the better player that should be in the squad.He might be another Benayoun...Played well as supersub before breaking his way into first team.Give the lad a break and some time to breath. This post has been edited by solstice818: Feb 8 2010, 01:38 PM |
Feb 8 2010, 01:44 PM
5,231 posts Joined: Jan 2005 From: Pea Jay |
Regarding Maxi, I still long to see a team with full confidence consisting of Nando, Gerrard, Aquilani and 2 of Maxi/Benayoun/Riera. Mouth-watering stuff...
QUOTE(sahathai @ Feb 8 2010, 11:17 AM) QUOTE(azrulkamal240 @ Feb 8 2010, 11:24 AM) QUOTE(sahathai @ Feb 8 2010, 11:28 AM) WOW, are we talking about the same striker who has bagged 6 goals in all competitions so far? I don't know if you guys have high expectations or what, but he's only 20 fyi.Added on February 8, 2010, 1:52 pm QUOTE(cherroy @ Feb 7 2010, 10:21 PM) With 10 men, and only Kuyt is only one Liverpool player in front of goal or six yard box, Kuyt still manage to score despite lacking height which I think Moyes will be furious about it, somemore Tim Howard should claim the ball as well. My view only. 2 reasons: Man-marking -if any- executed poorly. And Howard failing to deal with the cross. Probably distracted by Kuyt as well.It is actually a surprise goal, come with nowhere with lot of Everton player to defend the goal and lacking Liverpool players to attack the corner. This post has been edited by led_zep_freak: Feb 8 2010, 01:52 PM |
Feb 8 2010, 03:27 PM
42 posts Joined: Sep 2008 |
Ngog is a really interesting player - played well during pre-season, was poor whenever he played during the season until the recent three games. Yes, he doesn't look like a natural scorer now but he really improved in terms of ball control and holding.
He's a little bit of Heskey (because of his built and strength) and a little bit of Crouch (because of his height and surprisingly good ball control). I felt it was a mistake replacing him with Babel. Even if Ngog's tired, he could still be relied upon to trap the ball when others pass to him and hold it till someone comes. Babel .. was just running around like a headless chicken - couldn't even control the ball properly .. sigh! |
Feb 8 2010, 03:28 PM
729 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
I like Ngog very much, I'm pretty sure 1 day he will turn out a good player if not the next Thierry Henry. Give him time.
Just last month, some has been bashing Lucas and this time around, he's improved. Most players need time to hit the right button to get going. Very little are like El Nino who gets started in just 3(is it 3?) games on a debut Anfield appearance with goal against Chelsea. High expectations have been set since the arrival of Torres, but in reality, we have to accept that he is a rare gem. Many were gutted because Rafa chose Lucas instead of Aqua during the bad times. With Lucas & Greek improving, seems like now we have a very good line up with very good subs on our bench (Maxi, Aqua, Aurelio, Benny, Degen, Babel). Can't wait for Torres & Johnson to come back and see what the line up is like and with motivation and fighting spirit we've seen in the last 5 games, it's gonna be a interesting season. All in all, we have a very good squad now, and we just need to have that motivation, belief and fighting spirit to win as many games as possible. |
Feb 8 2010, 03:28 PM
222 posts Joined: Apr 2008 From: KL |
Feb 8 2010, 03:54 PM
13 posts Joined: Jul 2009 |
QUOTE(koolspyda @ Feb 8 2010, 03:28 PM) need to check with bookies la, nanti aston villa ter'score' 3 "own-goal" lagi, I hope draw. works best for everyone hehehehe. At the end of the day, doesn't matter what people's results are if we are not getting our 3 points. Big game, this next one. Arsenal will be looking to bounce back, Sotty K should be suspended and Insua will have to work hard to keep the likes of Walcott/Sagna at bay :Sini martin's AV always 'never' menang against his mentor's team. |
Feb 8 2010, 04:14 PM
35 posts Joined: Nov 2008 |
QUOTE(Mysterious Dr X @ Feb 8 2010, 03:54 PM) I hope draw. works best for everyone hehehehe. At the end of the day, doesn't matter what people's results are if we are not getting our 3 points. Big game, this next one. Arsenal will be looking to bounce back, Sotty K should be suspended and Insua will have to work hard to keep the likes of Walcott/Sagna at bay :S I think the partnership of Agger/Skrtel and Carra in the center works better against Arsenal's slick 1-2 passing more than Agger/Skrtel and Soto...Can we try putting Darby/Kelly back in RB? I hope Aquilani plays and do something against Arsenal, since he was in consideration from Arsene Wenger for the past few seasons but he never made a move on him. |
Feb 8 2010, 04:27 PM
25,802 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Penang |
QUOTE(skydive @ Feb 8 2010, 10:52 AM) Agree. He looked a lot tougher in that game, and not easily brought down by the defense, not even by Distin. Created a few problems for Everton, positioning was ok. However, he needs to work on his finishing. Added on February 8, 2010, 10:55 am What we need is Villa to lose point in the next game, and City the next two games (one of them is against us), and 4th spot is ours to lose. But we need to win against the Arse, otherwise we need to start all over again. A win this Wednesday will bring us within 2 points from Arse. QUOTE(azrulkamal240 @ Feb 8 2010, 10:56 AM) If not mistaken, this wednesday (Thurs early morning), Ngog at least know how to position himself and time the run to avoid offside trap, can see from replay, he bent his run a few time to stay inside and create space for others to pass for goal opportunity. 10 February - Liverpool vs Arsenal... Crucial match... if we win this match, we will getting closer 2pts to Gunners... and if we continuosly win until end of season, we will able to achieve 3rd place or even 2nd place if 1 of the top 2 flop down... or even 1st place... hehehe I don't share the optimism, |
Feb 8 2010, 05:04 PM
1,970 posts Joined: Oct 2007 From: CheRaS, KL |
we got 17 points out of 21?
Feb 8 2010, 05:07 PM
Just to add, I like some posters here cannot help but scoff at comments suggesting that Aquilani wasn't used against Everton because the game was "too physical" for him. What is he? A bloody pansy? If it is really true, why the hell did we buy him anyway considering most English sides, are by nature, physical? Neither Lucas nor Benayoun are built like tanks are they?
Feb 8 2010, 05:15 PM
201 posts Joined: Dec 2008 From: Los Angeles |
QUOTE(Duke Red @ Feb 8 2010, 05:07 PM) Just to add, I like some posters here cannot help but scoff at comments suggesting that Aquilani wasn't used against Everton because the game was "too physical" for him. What is he? A bloody pansy? If it is really true, why the hell did we buy him anyway considering most English sides, are by nature, physical? Neither Lucas nor Benayoun are built like tanks are they? yeah, i kindda agree wit u but its rafa the one who monitoring his fitness level week in week out n u can never understand rafa when he making decision, but take nothing away from him, aquilani could start against arsenal, just could.. |
Feb 8 2010, 05:16 PM
35 posts Joined: Nov 2008 |
QUOTE(Duke Red @ Feb 8 2010, 05:07 PM) Just to add, I like some posters here cannot help but scoff at comments suggesting that Aquilani wasn't used against Everton because the game was "too physical" for him. What is he? A bloody pansy? If it is really true, why the hell did we buy him anyway considering most English sides, are by nature, physical? Neither Lucas nor Benayoun are built like tanks are they? Agree 100%The English game is never not physical in any ways...I remember Luis Garcia saying he got grounded by a whack from Rio Ferdinand from his 1st game with Man U, and Rio just told him "Welcome to the EPL" |
Feb 8 2010, 05:23 PM
13 posts Joined: Jul 2009 |
I guess the reason we didn't play him is because Lucas is better than he is XD frankly i don't blame rafa for not starting him. While he may not be a pansy, but neither is he as defensively oriented as Lucas and Masch. And you need to be defensive in the midfield against the likes of Fellaini, Cahill, Arteta. Unfortunately, his best position is already occupied by none other than Captain Marvel himself.
| Change to: | 0.0180sec
Time is now: 25th December 2025 - 12:31 AM |